Nihira Vs Himani (Song-Level-Score)

bigmac thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago

Friends

I listened to each song sung by Himani and Nihira that have been posted thus far on both the following sites:

http://www.voiceofambition.com/voa/content/view/24/50/

http://as01.cooltoad.com/go/music?user=dizzybanana21x& go=1

After listening to each song on a hi fidelity headphone, I gave the song a score (1 to 10) based on a multitude of factors:

Musicality

Voice

Tone

Sur

Variations

Difficulty

Technicality

Style

Pronunciation

The Average Score for Nihira from all her songs calculated out to: 7.30 / 10
The Average Score for Himani from all her songs calculated out to: 6.71 / 10

The scoring was done unbiased and entirely based on the "audio-only" and not on video-and-audio.

On the whole I foung Nihira's voice to be much sweeter than Himani's for playback to support a leading actress. Himani sang quite well certain songs that will go well with the Rajasthani, Punjabi and Folk style of music since Himani has a heavier huskier voice that is also at times quite sweet. Nihira though had a voice that had "mithaas". I had not done a song-to-song level comparison earlier especially on a headphone level audio analysis, so I did that this time and was surprised by what I discovered.

If you disagree with my scoring, I respect that. This is only my opinion although I have been completely unbiased and objective in the evaluation.

As regards, my qualifications to adjudicate, you can check them out and listen to sound bytes for whatever they are worth at: www.AnuragHarsh.com (personal hyperlink)

Please don't shoot me personally if you disagree. Obviously you are entitled to your opinions and I respect that. Should you wish to inquire about why I gave a particular score to an individual song, feel free to message me. For lack of real-estate online, I didn't bother posting a song-level commentary, but have posted my scores instead.

Here are my song level results:

Song (Nihira) Score (Out of 10)
Aaja Ve Mahi 6
Aiye Meherban 9
Chup Chup Ke 6
Dheere Dheere Is Dil 6
Didi Tera Devar 8
Dufli Wale 8
Ek Bhagiya Mein 6
Ishq Khudaii 7
Kajra Re Kajra Re 7
Kala Shah Kala 6
Main Sitaron Ka Tarana 5
Pyar Hua Chupke Se 8
Rahen Na Rahen Hum 9
Roz Shaam Aati Thi 9
Saathi Re Bhool Na Jaana 8
Sara Jahan Kahe Ishq Hai Jhoota 7
Tere Bina Jiya Jaye Na 9
Chalka Chalka Re 8
Ikadajeba 6
Kuch Na Kaho 8
AVERAGE NIHIRA SCORE 7.30

---------------------------------------------------------- ----

Song (Himani) Score (Out of 10)
Aaj Ki Raat 6
Ab Jo Mile Hain 8
Ae Zindagi Gale Laga Le 8
Aitraaz (Rock Me Baby) 7
Baghban Rab Hain 8
Baras Jaye Badal 8
Bhaage Re Mann 6
Chale Jaise Hawa 7
Chitthiye 8
Der Na Ho Jaye 5
Hulle Hulla 6
Huzoor-e-wala 6
Jiya Dhadak Dhadak 7
Kaise Paheli Zindagani 7
Main Yahan Tu Wahan 6
Mast 6
Morni Baaga Mein (Chudiyan Khanak Gaye) 6
Ni Main Yaar Mananani 6
Que Sera Sera 6
Rangeela Maro Dholna 8
Rangeela Re 6
Sabki Baraate Aayi 7
Saiyan Dil Mein Aana Re 6
Tere Bina Nahi Jeena 7
AVERAGE HIMANI SCORE 6.71

Edited by bigmac - 19 years ago

bangboy thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Der na ho jaaye definitely deserves 10..Please listen to it once more and tell us if there is any change in marks
raghav64 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Anurag/bigmac,
What made you change your opinion? I do not doubt your credentials but hi-fidelity or not, you should be able to make out all the qualities you marked them on. I am not questioning you but would like to know.
bigmac thumbnail
Raghav

The changes occured due to two reasons:

1. Song level analysis and score. This was not done in the past. Most of us including me go with a common denominator of songs which we remember the most that we liked from a particular singer. And then we take those songs and the feel we got, and rate the singers based on that. The problem is that human memory retention only goes so far. So I penned down every song posted through the forums (MP3s and online) and then listened to each of them in detail over a pair of headphones in a closed room with no disturbance. I then scored them individually and took averages for each. Basically kept it consistent across the board for all participants.

2. Listening to an MP3 on a hi fidelity headphone such as a top of the line Bose Acoustic Noise Cancelling Headphones ($US 300), is a whole different acoustical experience. Try it :). Thats why they give the judges those kinds of headphones (noise cancelling headphones are very different to normal ones). Also if you forget the participants' faces and how they were acting on stage and judge the song on its audio merits alone (for example try to imagine a movie scene where the song could have played), then you will get a totally different experience.

A song by song analysis makes the performer's results consistent across the whole show right fromt the beginning. When they sing bad, they are penalized in the averages, and vice versa. Averages do not take only the "best songs" (unlike what we do) and then go gung-ho over the participant. Averages are very uncompromising! You snooze, You loose!
Edited by bigmac - 19 years ago
raghav64 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Thanks, Anuraag!! When are you coming to NY for a concert? If you want, I can arrange something. I am serious. We are big group of people who would love to hear you.
I am going to get those headphones 😉
maanas thumbnail
Whatever you have done is great but there is no comparison between Nihira and Himani.

Although Himani is a good singer she is not even close to Nihira who has definately more control and balanced voice besides Himani can only sing certain types of songs like Punjabi songs with little folk base whereas Nihira can sing any type of songs with ease.

This has been also analyzed by one very senior Classical Singer and Guru........I do not wish to name him but all I can say is that he is final authority as far as Music is concerned.

Cheers
saregama thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Nihira and Hema are the real best singers. And I am thankful to SRGMP to give us two best singers for the music world.........I just look forward to listen to these both in the future. I am glad that Aadesh shreevastav has given an opportunity to both Nihira and Hemachandra to sing in his film called ALAG which will be releasing next month.

BEST OF LUCK FOR HEMA AND NIHIRA.