I'm the cheapest movie star in the country: SRK
In an exclusive interview with CNN-IBN Entertainment Editor Rajeev Masand, superstar Shah Rukh Khan talks about global meltdown affecting films, stars and their big price tags and a meeting with one of his idols Robert De Niro. The actor also gets candid about turning 43, the Salman Khan controversy, his views on gay characters in films and his forthcoming film Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi.
Rajeev Masand: Shah Rukh, the words that we hear being used most frequently these days are cost cutting and recession. How badly has the Indian film industry been hit by the global meltdown?
Shah Rukh Khan: Normally what happens is in any strata of economics when there is a boom, the first ones to benefit from it is the upper class. And strangely when a recession takes place, the upper class doesn't get affected as they have their savings. But I've always believed the lower class doesn't get affected either. Because the poor guy remains poor, so even if the economy is booming and they say it will trickle down, it never happens.
I think the people who are affected the most are the middle class people. So, I think the middle filmmaker will be the ones affected by recession in the industry — the filmmakers who are used to making small-budgeted films as they are already used to making them in small budgets. Whereas, the upper filmmakers will only lose out on some profits, though it won't get them into loss. So the films made with huge budgets will get cut down and become realistic.
The person who I think will be affected will be the one making that middle-budget kind of film, which used to be based on the fact that he used to borrow money. On the edge, where if it's a hit only then the money comes back which is taken on high interest from the banks or corporate. So it's the middle filmmaker and producer who is going to get affected.
Unfortunately, I think I fall into the higher bracket, at this point of time. So, I'm not going to be affected as a producer or actor. Also, I've been an economics student, so all my life I've been very clear on the way I price myself as a movie star. I'm the cheapest movie star in the country.
Rajeev Masand: Is that the truth?
Shah Rukh Khan: It's the honest truth. The fact is the stars cannot burden a film. Films makes stars, star don't make films. There is this opening game every Friday, Saturday and Sunday – which is all right. But actually what did I become a star because of? There is a vehicle called movies which I was part of. One of them did well for me, then the second one did well for me and then people started giving me credit.
So this basic truth should be remembered, that one becomes a star because of the movies, movies don't become great because of the stars.
Rajeev Masand: So you don't think that stars become too big for their own films sometime?
Shah Rukh Khan: They do and that is the reason that it's the one thing I can control is the economics of the film. So, I would never put the burden on a producer including myself.
Rajeev Masand: So you try to keep it viable?
Shah Rukh Khan: Yes, I'd say make a fantastically expensive film. But let that be the part of the film expense, not the movie star expense. And I always work like this whether it's Om Shanti Om or Chak De. I'm affordable in both the films as an actor to both the producers, Red Chillies or YRF. Then you can spend it on the film and still keep a margin of profit, and sell it and still not seem too expensive.
We were very fortunate of having Om Shanti Om at the highest peak of economy. It was the highest-priced film and it did rake in the money back. After that there's been a slump and one has to reconsider that.
Rajeev Masand: There's this popular belief that stars like you and Akshay Kumar will now have to slash their prices, you don't think that is necessarily correct?
Shah Rukh Khan: To be really honest I don't know how much anybody else charges. I've never asked anyone. I won't have to take a slash, as I've never had a high price. I've never had a fixed price for a film. I've never discussed a price with a producer and that is the reason a lot of people can't work with me.
I always say to everyone that 'I'm priceless' and I say it without intending any pun. If a producer comes to me and I like the film, I would never discuss the price with them, whoever it may be. Whether its new producers, or old friends like Karan (Johar) or Adi (Aditya Chopra) — they give me the contract after the film is shot and I sign it without looking at the cheque and I keep it in my bank and the accounts office says I've got this much at the end of the year.
So, I've never had a price like that. I've ranged in Chak De from Rs 2.5 crore to my highest price in Om Shanti Om which is Rs 6 crore. That is my range and if you want to cut more than that, I'm okay with that too.
Rajeev Masand: And that was not counting profits and backends?
Shah Rukh Khan: I don't participate in profits of a film, even my own companies. It's nothing personal to me, it goes to my company. We did make profits in Om Shanti Om. I've taken part in distribution rights or participated in profits of any film. As a matter of fact Karan has been offering it to for the next film. He says "Bhai, I can't afford you because all the other stars are taking so much for the film", but I said you don't have to do anything for me. I don't participate in anybody's profits or distribution rights ever.
I've done 62 films and I've never done it for even one. If you are the producer of the film, it's your risk taking me in it as well. So, you should be benefiting, if there is any benefit. And many a times it has happened that a producer has come to me with a film of mine and said, "I'm sorry I can't pay you" and I say okay. I'm the king and I can't be asking for money. I have to give the money and I actually believe that.
Rajeev Masand: On a completely different note, you met Robert De Niro recently in Dubai. He one of your idols?
Shah Rukh Khan: Yes, as Thomas Hardy said in The Mayor of Casterbridge— "Now I can pass away and die." I have seen him, so now I can pass away and die. It was one of the most beautiful moments. I'd met him in Cannes once when we'd gone with Devdas. And I tried to remind him, but I'm sure he didn't remember. But he was kind enough to say "Yeah, yeah".
He's such a wonderful person; I met him and touched his feet. And I kept on trying the joke and talking to him. But he wasn't listening to the joke. I met his wife and kids. His family is beautiful. We've been in touch since then. We've been messaging each other. And I'm hoping to meet him and show him some films when he comes down, honour him at the house by having good Italian dinner with him.Rajeev Masand: So much has been written about your fight with Salman Khan. Was it awkward for you to explain to your kids – who, I'm guessing, have read about it in the papers, or heard about it in school, or television – why their father is supposedly involved in this fight?
Shah Rukh Khan: Without blaming anyone I'd first like to say that it's not an important part of my life at all. I've been in situations where I've disagreed with people before. And I think this got blown out of proportion because Salman had some movie interviews the next day where he mentioned that he's not my friend. I think he clearly stated that he's not my friend because we're two very different people and it can't be just one way. I've never thought that we had very much in common to be that friendly, but I really like him and I liked him. I hold no angst towards anybody ever, when I say something courteous about him or his family, they think I'm being sweet but I'm not, I'm just being courteous and decent.
And when I hear things about me that he doesn't like me, it's okay by me because I'm sure a lot of people don't like me and I'm okay with that. It doesn't touch me. And I'm very pompous about it. I tell everyone the same thing — "If you like me raise your hands, if you don't raise your standards."
The only negative thing about this, which I felt for the first two three days, was that I felt very little. I felt very little that I'm 42 years old and I have to explain to my kids that I get into brawls. Is this what I'm going to be remembered for? No, I've worked my butt off for 20 years. I've normally tried always to be on the right side of goodness. And these kinds of things happen with people. I've disagreed with people a lot of times and I've had a lot of disagreements with the people I'm working with. And certain things that were written about what I said… there is the reason I never opened my mouth about it, neither will I ever.
Let people say what they say — that I plant stories. I'm way beyond all this. Like I keep saying, at my stage and my age I'm not a party to this. But yes it's a bit embarrassing to explain to my kids. And a lot of people also tell me that I'm an icon to the youth and the kids so I'm really sorry to all the children who are watching this. Please try and remember me by the bad films I've done, dislike me for the bad films I've done, dislike me for the fact that I keep acting the same in every film. And love me for times that I've made you smile. But don't remember me for the fact that I got into an overgrown boys' little tiff for 10 minutes. And I think it's the most incidental, small part of my life.
However, on a personal level I think I could've been a little more patient at that party. I'd been invited to somebody's house. I think I'm educated and well brought up enough to have more patience. And I'm sorry to Katrina (Kaif) and I'm sorry to everyone. I was leaving and I should've left. It was the last five minutes and I think I lost patience and I apologise. Though there was nothing that I said that was untrue or bad or ugly, it's just that I felt a little bad that you don't invite me to your house and talk nonsense with me. I don't like it. And I don't do that to anybody. But I guess if you are doing it, then I need to be more patient. And I did wrong, but not to anyone else, to my kids because I had to hold my son and daughter and tell them that "listen, I got a little angry and that is why they're saying all this."
And with the wonderful media blast that happened, it really looks like there was a big fight, it was a five-minute disagreement maybe. I'd like it to be put behind me and to move ahead.
Rajeev Masand: Do you see yourself being able to put this behind you and perhaps reconcile?
Shah Rukh Khan: I think Salman said a very wonderful thing that we are two very different people and that we don't have any common ground. We live on the same lane but we have different houses. We talk, walk, work, love and respect differently. We have no common ground to have a conversation also. I always knew his family, knew him, they were and still are very nice to us. And I became nice to people who were nice to me when I came to Mumbai and they always were. I've always been very courteous and kind about that. But beyond that I realised that we have nothing in common to say to each other.
Rajeev Masand: You turned 43 recently, what is the best way for man to handle himself when he's getting older?Shah Rukh Khan: When you're taking a bath, take a look at yourself. If you like what you see in the mirror when you're standing naked in front of it, then you'll never have any problem. And if you don't like it, do something about it.
Now I wake up in the morning and take a look at myself, I don't have the six-pack any longer, may be just two or three left. And I look at my self and don't really like what I see. I like the earlier one, so I'll work out. Just think good thoughts and have a lot of fun with your children. And believe that this is the best age to be.
Rajeev Masand: On surface, the plot of your new film Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi, revolves around a simple, plain man who decides to become hip and trendy so that his wife finds him more attractive and interesting. I remember you telling me, what drew you to the film was the subliminal message of the film.
Shah Rukh Khan: I've been trying to tell people for years that it's really nice to be cool, though I'm not cool myself in my personal life. I'm a very simple middleclass kind of guy who got educated and came here. From the outside I seem like a movie star but I'm a very simple guy. I'm like what I was on KBC ( Kaun Banega Crorepati) or Paachnvi Pass(Kya App Paanchvi Paas Se Tez Hai?). I'm fun, I like to make people laugh and I've got a nice enough heart. I'm like a normal guy. I'm a normal father, husband and friend. But when you're working 18 hours a day, creating super-normal abnormal things, then it gets difficult to explain to people that deep down inside I've never been anyone else. But I've had this desire to be someone else like all of us do.
Each one of us wants to be a superhero, or do something special, but we don't get that chance. I got that chance because I got into movies and by some quirk of fate I've become a big star. I believe that every normal guy has a hero inside him. I've always said this and I truly believe that it's not special to be special but it's special to be ordinary. I wanted to start telling and selling to people that it's not really cool to be Raj (his character from Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jaayenge) or Rahul (his character from Kuch Kuch Hota Hai), it's special to be you.
Through my movies I've always shown you the model but the engine inside I haven't shown you yet. Raj ka jo denting, painting hai, bahut acha hai. Usko denting painting karke bahut cool banadiya hai humne. Ferrari banadiya hai. (The outer appearance of Raj is very cool because we've shown him to be like that. We've made him as cool as a Ferrari). But deep down inside we haven't shown his engine because engines normally don't look very attractive. Engines are not very pretty sights. But it's the engine that drives you. I myself have decided that let's show the engine. Let it not be attractive or cool physically. Let it be very simple and ordinary physically.
And let's undo what we've done with Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jaayenge. We've shown you the exterior, now we'll show you the interior. And the interior comes without any frills. He's someone you won't like in a second, but Haule Haule Ho Jaayega Pyar Chaliye.
I personally feel that we are going to make all those people who walk into the auditorium watch themselves and say "hey, it's really nice to be me. I don't need to be Raj or Rahul, It's really cool to be me." I want every wife, sister and daughter to love their father for who they are. Like my kids love me, they think I'm very uncool in real life, but they still love me. Because they see something in me which is appealing to them, like every wife sees in a husband, simple hai, dikhne mein acche nahi hai par acche hai, mujhe bahot pyar karte hai (My husband is a simple man, not good looking, but he's a good man and loves me a lot).
Rajeev Masand: The general impression is that Shah Rukh doesn't use his stardom to tell stories or make films about thought-provoking issues, like maybe Aamir (Aamir Khan) does more often. Are you satisfied with that argument?
Shah Rukh Khan: I do what I get. I'm not deeply inclined towards creating what I think should be shown to people. I deeply inclined to working with people, like you believe strongly this should be told to the people, I go with your belief.
I'm an actor I get turned around and moulded into what you want me to be assuming. I like what is being tried to showcase. I think anyone who comments about the fact that Shah Rukh does not do thought provoking cinema, should reserve that, and hold it back till I'm done.
I would just like to tell everyone, I'm not done yet. There's a lot of time that I have, maybe I'm a late gainer of thought provoking things. So I've not got them yet. But it'll come to me. I'm a little slow but it'll come to me. It'll come in the next 20-25 years when I'm still working and if it doesn't come, that is also okay because I made you laugh. I don't really sit down and say, you know, "What should we do now? We should do a film on terrorism. That would be nice." No, I don't think like that. Karan wants to do a film on terrorism and the effect it's had on Muslim people and he'll make a film called Khan, and I'd say that is really nice man, and I'll come along. If tomorrow somebody offered me a film about an autistic child, I'll do it. But I should have time and be inclined and they should be nice to me.
I like people to be smiling and making a film with happiness, but I really don't sit down and think of what to tell next. I'm an actor you tell me the story you want to tell next and I'll become a part of it.
Rajeev Masand: Your Kanta Ben track in Kal Ho Na Ho, is credited with inspiring the premise and the story of Dostana. Did you see Dostana? What did you think of it?
Shah Rukh Khan: Yes, I did and I thought it was really nice. I thought Abhishek Bachchan rocked. He was really good in it. And so were Priyanka (Priyanka Chopra) and John (John Abraham). They were very funny. Boman (Boman Irani) and Kiran Kher were really funny. I think it was a laugh riot.
Obviously it gets pushed a bit, by that I mean the humour. And I can say this because it's Karan's film, it's my film. I think the premise of two men always being found in a kissing position or supposedly getting into an erotic pose, the joke dies after some time. But beyond that I think it's really nice of them to have made it into a two-and-a-half hour film.
I've done gay characters before. I'd done one in a play called Black Comedy. Hadel Gorange is the character. It was a very interesting one. And I share a chemistry with Saif in Kal Ho Na Ho. You need to be very comfortable. And I think John and Abhishek were very easy with each other in the film. If you are very confident with the way you are then you can do roles like these. I'm specifically talking about Indians. Guys in the west don't have any problem.
So I thought it was really funny and the last kiss was good. But I think they should've really kissed on lips. They should have.
Rajeev Masand: Would you have?
Shah Rukh Khan: Yes, I would have. I've actually done it in Karan's film KANK (Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna) with the coach but that portion got cut. The scene is that I'm supposed to be getting very happy and there is this fat coach who I kiss on the lips. I think it's okay. It's no big deal as an actor. In a fun film if you're playing the role of a homosexual it's okay.
But I don't kiss my heroines so by that logic I won't kiss my heroes either. But I would be shy to do it. Otherwise I thought if you're doing it so you should have done it.
IBNlive.com