Taiyo thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: skeptical

Numes still hasn't left her comments and my next update is ready. She is a busy lady!!

Skepti, I am so sorry 😔 ... I read and then I do not read for a long time, plus was quite occupied with work for the last one month or so. However, today, the first thing... I read your story. And, I have only one thing to ask, "When is the next part coming..."

I just love names, I find them magical... and the names you have selected for your characters are just beautiful and well thought of. Love the way, you are slowing revealing and yet holding the real, that makes me curious and at the same time, I am wondering, what are you holding back...

You have real innate talent and a strong grip on narration, and before I forget, strong imagination. The story is still running in my head like a photo slide--and this rarely happens--and I want to read the next part ASAP...!!!

Thank you a lot for sharing your creativity with us... 😊
Dawn Idol thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
There was only one word for it ...............
MAGICAL .............⭐️👏
Great going Skep, Keep it up .............
Waiting eagerly to see how Keya-Vish are united ................
jyoti06 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 8

Originally posted by: skeptical

Thanks once again for the tip regarding my sketch. I shall surely try it out the next time. I shall also try to put colour into it. But most of my sketches are off the cuff in pencil. Besides, I am no artist. I just try and draw with my heart. 😉

Skepti that sketch of your is superb yaar👏..thats why I asked u to resize it because its looking lovely even without colours👏😳...u don't always need to put colours in sketches if they r drawn in such an amazing manner right from your heart😳
Waiting for your next part now😳
skeptical thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Hi all,
Let me firstly thank you for your words of encouragement. I have always considered Lorna Doone as the best romance ever to be written. R D Blackmore you have done the world such a big favour by writing it. It remains No 1 on my list for always. My POV.
I have been completely enthralled by the following writers and obviously my writing is highly influenced by them. This is only sharing my thoughts with you.
1. Daphne du Maurier
I have been spellbound by her books. Her detailed description of the moors (Jamaica Inn) and Mandalay Estate (Rebecca) will remain evergreen for me. Besides, that thread of mystery never allowed me to keep the book down.
2. Victoria Holt
I have read every one of her books. The romance between the leads was hardly ever written in detail but the passion oozed. The awareness and the chemistry that she created for the reader was absolutely fascinating. And she too was the diva of mysteries. Her books were set in far off lands and in England too. Her heroines were the kind who followed their hearts and tried to solve the mystery and invariably either upset the heroes or acused them. But love triumphed in the end.
3. Agatha Christie
My all time favourite. Her sense of timing whether it be dialogues or actions was perfect. Romance was not always at the forefront of her stories instead often took a back seat. But her English was superb.
4. Baroness Orczy
Scarlet Pimpernel. Aah! Sir Percy Blakeney and Lady Margeurite. No jodi like them, yaar.
5. Georgette Heyer
My most beloved writer as a schoolgirl. Period romances - I am still a sucker for them. Hence my involvement with MRD. Can anything be more fantastic than Beauvallet, These old Shades and The Devil's Cub??
The list is never ending. But Moonbeams has drawn its inspiration from one or the other from above.
skeptical thumbnail
Its been a long time since I have updated. But here goes. And do leave your comments.
Part 5

Vish dropped me home since I didn't stay very far away. I was staying in a rented, poky little flat. But I had no choice. I had come into the city in order to find a publisher for my little poems. Instead I got a job of sorts with an NGO as a writer. The NGO dealt with environmental issues and we were referred to as the "green army".

Here I met Neelima who today is my best friend. I became friends with her at once. She was a demure, young woman. She had soft brown eyes - just like a doe. She was very kind hearted and immediately made me feel at home in the new office. She realised that I had led a very sheltered life and I realised that she had too. But she was forced to work since her family needed her support. And she worked very hard. She would save money so that she could send it home to her grandmother. Her mother had died of malaria when Neelima was just a tot. Her father had remarried. Neelima's maternal grandmother Neelambari preferred Neems to stay with her. She was very protective and did not want Neems to suffer at the hands of the new mother. That view was not correct. Tearing away a child from its parents even for the best of reasons is not always wise. Neems often met her father, stepmother and two younger sisters. The three sisters were very fond of each other. Even her stepmother Jyoti was a nice person. I had met the sisters and we had spent some happy times together. Actually I don't think there was a soul on earth who wouldn't like Neems. Her hair was usually groomed back from her pretty heart shaped face. Her hair was loosely tied with a band or a clip that matched her dress. Her ready smile which always reached her eyes made you trust her completely. It was no wonder that Jyoti never got a chance to complain. But one had to hand it to Jyoti, for she had made efforts to bridge the gap and her stepdaughter had reciprocated equally to this endeavour. However Neelima's grandmother remained rigid in her belief. She insisted that things were hunky dory because Neems lived away from Jyoti. And Neems very sensibly never brought up the subject of Jyoti or her sisters in front of her grandmother. Her grandmother felt her son in law had betrayed Neem's mother by remarrying. She knew but never admitted that life never really stops for anyone and the key to secure a good future is to move on.

I met Neems over lunch the next day and told her all about what had taken place at the site. I told her about the sea and about Vish. Neems was curious and wanted to know more about Vish. But how could I enlighten her when I knew so little about him myself? I told her about the beautiful view from across the balcony.

She laughed. "Oh Keya, I have lived by the sea all my life, yet I am not as passionate as you are about it."

I shrugged my shoulders. "Well, when will you take me to your home?"

"You mean to Chitrapur?"

"Yes."

"Maybe during the next festive season?"

"Sure, and please make a proper plan. I am looking forward to it."

"Oh! Ok," said Neems. "We'll have a great time."

That night it was very still. It was a bit hot too. I looked out of my window. Sigh! There was nothing worth watching outside. I drank a glass of water and sat down in my rocking chair. I thought I would write down a few lines. I became restless and began to fidget. I decided to concentrate on my visit to the little apartment that I had set my heart on. The thought of the sea made me smile. Gloom lifted away as by magic. I began to write. It was aimless, but I always preserved all my little notes. They were quite useful for my writing.

"Whenever I need a breath of fresh air I always go to the seashore, which is quite close to my house. I enjoy the sea because it's peaceful and quiet…….."

I didn't know exactly when I began to doze. But I can still remember my dream so clearly.

The beach was sandy with long green grass growing some distance away. People were always there either wading or swimming in the water. Some were fishing or catching crabs. At a quiet corner some distance away were the sea-birds. They were trying to catch a meal of fish. What great hunters they were! They were patient and stalked very well – some tried to pick up some delicious crabs from the rocks!

And then the boats came in. Some passengers alighted. The sails were billowing in the wind. The entire scene was so beautiful. I loved the sound of water. And all sad and depressed thoughts were dispelled from my mind instantly. I could never really feel the passage of time when I was near the sea.

There were regular walkers there. They were there at sunrise and sunset. They exercised there and even prayed to the Sun God. The sea always looked beautiful to me. Its blue waters gave me peace. The repeated sound of the waves washing the shoreline was so rhythmic! It seemed to hum continuously. The huge green palm trees stood tall on the sea-shore. Sometimes leaves were floating while the foam made castles in the water. The boats could be seen sailing with their oarsmen. I wondered how far the sea stretched. It seemed to go on forever and ever.

I never get tired of being near the sea. But I liked my quiet corner even more. This is because I want to be near nature and away from noise, the crowds and the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

I was sitting on my mat with my chin on my knees near some weeds a few feet away from the lapping water. I picked up a handful of soft sand and let it fall slowly on my toes. My toes were tickled and I smiled. I repeated the action. At a distance I heard the call of birds. I looked towards the sounds. I saw a flight of birds in the sky. They lowered and flapped their wings. I kept looking mesmerised. They skimmed the water's surface once, twice and thrice. Six beautiful white birds now stood at the water's edge. They dawdled over the sand and reached me. Their beaks were golden and were shimmering in the rays of the setting sun. I put my hand out. They flapped their wings and retreated. I picked up a handful of sand and let it fall through my fingers once again on my toes. The birds came closer as if to inspect what I was doing. One dipped his head and touched the mound of sand around my feet. I looked down. The sand had turned to silver dust. It glistened and glowed. I couldn't believe it. I lifted my hand towards them again. They backed away. Their expressions seemed to be one of amusement. Suddenly they heaved and went up one by one.

"Wait….. please wait. Tell me from where have you come?" I asked them.

But they had soared into the air. They turned and flew away.

"So this is where my mermaid has vanished to!"

I turned my head to look at who was there. Vish was standing behind me his brown eyes laughing. I looked down at my legs. They were covered with the silver sand. He was right. My legs did look like the tail of a mermaid with silver scales.

But what was Vish doing here?

I gasped and jerked out of my dream. My chair rocked. Why did Vish intrude into my private world? How come he was smiling when he hated the sea?

----------------------------------------------

jyoti06 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 8

Skepti ** Muazzz**🤗...I m so happy that u finally continued😳...Aww loved the entire story of Neems as well👏👏,..Achha tell me did u thought of Jyoti as the name of the stepmother beforehand only or was it an afterthought sinse mayb I hv some similarities with her character😆😉...Oh but I agree to what u said..even if she is a stepmother,but her grandma had no right to separate her from her father and family at such a young age even when the stepmother seems to b a nice womnan..

And it looks like finally Keya is falling for this mystry man😆😳..she is seeing him even in her dreams😲..who is this Vish and whats the mystry here ??😕...is it related to reincarnation or something kya ??😕..oh no my curiosity is rising now Skepti..do continue soon😭😆..
And this time I m not going to praise u😃..u need to take this for granted now that u r a terrific writer😛..
skeptical thumbnail

Originally posted by: jyoti06

Skepti ** Muazzz**🤗...I m so happy that u finally continued😳...Aww loved the entire story of Neems as well👏👏,..Achha tell me did u thought of Jyoti as the name of the stepmother beforehand only or was it an afterthought sinse mayb I hv some similarities with her character😆😉...Oh but I agree to what u said..even if she is a stepmother,but her grandma had no right to separate her from her father and family at such a young age even when the stepmother seems to b a nice womnan..

I decided to call the stepmother after you. Yes. Because like you she too takes everyone under her wings and loves everyone. Its a tribute to you, my soulmate.........😉
And it looks like finally Keya is falling for this mystry man😆😳..she is seeing him even in her dreams😲..who is this Vish and whats the mystry here ??😕...is it related to reincarnation or something kya ??
If I tell now, there will be no mystery left. So be patientttttttttttttttttt.
😕..oh no my curiosity is rising now Skepti..do continue soon😭😆..
I will. I will not wait for a month this time.
And this time I m not going to praise u😃..u need to take this for granted now that u r a terrific writer😛..

Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy? I love it when you guys praise me. Maybe it's because I am a.......
Dawn Idol thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
At the riskof repeating myself Skep ..............
this part was as usual
MAGICAL ...............
you have described the dream beautifully ..........
Is Nilima a take off on Nirmal ?
I'm already loving that character .............
And tell me Skep, how much of you is reflected in Kyra ????
It is a known fact that the some of the protoganists' is usually modelled on the writer .............. Is this true in your story ???
Please continue ...............
skeptical thumbnail
Oh Ektay, I didn't know you were following the FF. You have never commented before. But thank you and I will continue shortly. 😆
adoremevirgo thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Really nice story....keep it up