Bee222 thumbnail
Posted: 5 months ago

Originally posted by: heavenlybliss

Yeah well the problem with fics is that you dont which ones are written well and which ones are not, and then I think why read fics when there are SO many novels out there to read? Too many books, not enough time.smiley6

Waise, even though Wattpad is cringe and I stopped checking it years ago, but I believe a lot of well known novel authors started with wattpad and later got their story published or even continue writing short stories after becoming well known. I know Colleen Hoover wrote Too Late on wattpad first and then later on went on to publish it as a book.

And the fics which you are talking about, if the writers are so talented, why aren't they writing and publishing actual books instead of writing online? And are these stories OGs or fan fictions based on shows/movies? Just curious.smiley36

Yeah like I said, there's a lot of garbage on every fic site, but atp I can tell by the summary and the tags whether a fic is gonna be good, and if I'm gonna enjoy it. At least, on ao3 I always know. On the other sites, the navigation and sorting is just not that clean. Wattpad too has some rare jewels, I know it, but they're so much more difficult to come across unless someone recs you directly. It's why I've never used it much. I always preferred FF.net for the navigation, but once ao3 came into the picture everything else drifted away 😅 I still read FF.net sometimes but it very rare now.

1-2 intend to publish someday, but most fandom writers are just not interested in that. Most of them are busy with uni or their careers or their family, and writing is a hobby/outlet for them. They do it for fun and bcz they're passionate. They're looking to write and share, they're not looking to monetise. It's why their writing feels like a privilege to enjoy smiley9

Ao3 has fics on shows, movies, dramas, video games, RPF, crossovers... basically anything that you're a fan of, you can write about. Any couple you wanna write about, you can. So anything you wanna read about, chances are you'll find something on ao3 smiley36 it's called archive for a reason. Original fictions are also there, but obviously they're not as popular as fandom works.

If I could read all my fic TBRs and book TBRs, I would. But it's never gonna happen, there's just too much 🥺 Too many books, too little time is a genuine, universal problem for every reader 😪

It's why being a mood reader is convenient. I just read what I want when I want and stop thinking about the rest smiley36

Bee222 thumbnail

Originally posted by: LizzieBennet

Yeah made that change this month since many requested. Check the first page for the rules. You can read smalller fics as long as 5 of them can total to 18 K+ words/ 60 + pages (max 5 are allowed as one entry in your log)

Thank you for making this change though, I really appreciate it ❤️ I love that it's possible to include the smaller fics as well now smiley42

If only I'd peeked at the other team logs a bit, I'd have realised the change much earlier 🙈smiley36

heavenlybliss thumbnail

Originally posted by: Bee222

Yeah like I said, there's a lot of garbage on every fic site, but atp I can tell by the summary and the tags whether a fic is gonna be good, and if I'm gonna enjoy it. At least, on ao3 I always know. On the other sites, the navigation and sorting is just not that clean. Wattpad too has some rare jewels, I know it, but they're so much more difficult to come across unless someone recs you directly. It's why I've never used it much. I always preferred FF.net for the navigation, but once ao3 came into the picture everything else drifted away 😅 I still read FF.net sometimes but it very rare now.

1-2 intend to publish someday, but most fandom writers are just not interested in that. Most of them are busy with uni or their careers or their family, and writing is a hobby/outlet for them. They do it for fun and bcz they're passionate. They're looking to write and share, they're not looking to monetise. It's why their writing feels like a privilege to enjoy smiley9

Ao3 has fics on shows, movies, dramas, video games, RPF, crossovers... basically anything that you're a fan of, you can write about. Any couple you wanna write about, you can. So anything you wanna read about, chances are you'll find something on ao3 smiley36 it's called archive for a reason. Original fictions are also there, but obviously they're not as popular as fandom works.

If I could read all my fic TBRs and book TBRs, I would. But it's never gonna happen, there's just too much 🥺 Too many books, too little time is a genuine, universal problem for every reader 😪

It's why being a mood reader is convenient. I just read what I want when I want and stop thinking about the rest smiley36

I checked out ao3, and maybe im dumb, because i cant figure out how to find the tags im looking forsmiley36 i wanted original characters + dark romance. The darker the better.smiley9

Bee222 thumbnail

I checked out ao3, and maybe im dumb, because i cant figure out how to find the tags im looking forsmiley36 i wanted original characters + dark romance. The darker the better.smiley9

Nahi, don't start out like that smiley36 ao3 tags are a labyrinth of their own, it'll be easier if you start out with some fandom works so you get familiarised with them. Og fics are often not well tagged.

Also, you can't just search dark romance and expect to find stuff - I don't think there's even a dark romance tag actually, it's just "dark". And you should also fine tune your search a bit. Do you want stalking, kidnapping, drug usage, dubcon, noncon, manipulation, possessiveness, jealousy. There's tags for everything (literally everything). Include or exclude tags as you want (include 1-2 at a time instead of selecting a bunch bcz that makes it easier). Keep the rating to mature or explicit.

Just like, go to any fandom you like and observe how the works are tagged. There's a slight learning curve for the tagging system, but once you get the feel of it, it's easier 😅 but you gotta start your ao3 journey with a fandom you love, otherwise it's not gonna be very fulfilling 😅

Edited by Bee222 - 5 months ago
925059 thumbnail

"He has outlived the trees. He is like an old tree himself, gnarled and twisted. I have the feeling that if he falls asleep in the orchard, he will strike root here, sending out crooked branches. I can imagine a small bent tree wearing a black waistcoat; a living scarecrow."

"I remember sitting beside him on the veranda steps when I noticed the tendril of a creeping vine that was trailing near my feet. As we sat there, doing nothing in particular—in the best gardens, time has no meaning—I found that the tendril was moving almost imperceptibly away from me and towards my father. Twenty minutes later it had crossed the veranda steps and was touching his feet. This, in India, is the sweetest of salutations.

There is probably a scientific explanation for the plant’s behaviour—something to do with the light and warmth on the veranda steps—but I like to think that its movements were motivated simply by an affection for my father."

"I walk across to the trees and notice that a number of parrots have come to live in them. A koel challenges me with a rising who-are-you, who-are-you…

But the trees seem to know me. They whisper among themselves and beckon me nearer. And looking around, I find that other trees and wild plants and grasses have sprung up under the protection of the trees we planted.

They have multiplied. They are moving. In this small forgotten corner of the world, my father’s dreams are coming true, and the trees are moving again."

Edited by Shirsha - 5 months ago
heavenlybliss thumbnail

Nahi, don't start out like that smiley36 ao3 tags are a labyrinth of their own, it'll be easier if you start out with some fandom works so you get familiarised with them. Og fics are often not well tagged.

Also, you can't just search dark romance and expect to find stuff - I don't think there's even a dark romance tag actually, it's just "dark". And you should also fine tune your search a bit. Do you want stalking, kidnapping, drug usage, dubcon, noncon, manipulation, possessiveness, jealousy. There's tags for everything (literally everything). Include or exclude tags as you want (include 1-2 at a time instead of selecting a bunch bcz that makes it easier). Keep the rating to mature or explicit.

Just like, go to any fandom you like and observe how the works are tagged. There's a slight learning curve for the tagging system, but once you get the feel of it, it's easier 😅 but you gotta start your ao3 journey with a fandom you love, otherwise it's not gonna be very fulfilling 😅

Yeah, i didnt find any dark romance tag either. But I googled dark romance books and on reddit people had recommended some, i checked them out but they didnt interest me.smiley36

Fanfics parhne ka mera mod hi nahi hai, even if i do, i doubt i will find the kind of plots im looking for :(

I want stalker or kidnapper romance. I mostly read heroines falling for their toxic heroes/captors after being tortured. Basically stockholm syndrome. Yeah im a sadist iksmiley37

Bee222 thumbnail

Yeah, i didnt find any dark romance tag either. But I googled dark romance books and on reddit people had recommended some, i checked them out but they didnt interest me.smiley36

Fanfics parhne ka mera mod hi nahi hai, even if i do, i doubt i will find the kind of plots im looking for :(

I want stalker or kidnapper romance. I mostly read heroines falling for their toxic heroes/captors after being tortured. Basically stockholm syndrome. Yeah im a sadist iksmiley37

Ao3 has a stockholm syndrome tag too, you can search it and see if there's anything you like. There's also tags for torture, trauma, abuse etc (both physical and emotional/psychological). I was just listing out some commonly used tags for darker fics

But yeah, agar fanfics nhi padhne to ao3 pe jaana doesn't really make sense 😅 The whole thing exists bcz of fandom love and creativity. Besides, if you're happy reading novels, you should continue doing that. Happiness is what we read for smiley36smiley27

heavenlybliss thumbnail

Ao3 has a stockholm syndrome tag too, you can search it and see if there's anything you like. There's also tags for torture, trauma, abuse etc (both physical and emotional/psychological). I was just listing out some commonly used tags for darker fics

But yeah, agar fanfics nhi padhne to ao3 pe jaana doesn't really make sense 😅 The whole thing exists bcz of fandom love and creativity. Besides, if you're happy reading novels, you should continue doing that. Happiness is what we read for smiley36smiley27

The only fandom ive really been into were Damon-Elena but uski bhi fanfics nahi parhni mujhe. I prefer OCs invented by the writer.smiley9 Which is why I am happy with my adult books.smiley36

You said ke there are some authors you follow and all their stories are good, isliye I thought you may have some suggestions.smiley36

Do you use webnovel too?

925059 thumbnail

I

The only fandom ive really been into were Damon-Elena but uski bhi fanfics nahi parhni mujhe. I prefer OCs invented by the writer.smiley9 Which is why I am happy with my adult books.smiley36

You said ke there are some authors you follow and all their stories are good, isliye I thought you may have some suggestions.smiley36

Do you use webnovel too?

I like Delena very much! Their chemistry was so good! I'm talking about the show. Were you talking about the show or the books? I tried to read the first book of the series. But Damon's eyes were black in the book. So, I couldn't read it. smiley36 I can't imagine Damon without blue eyes. I saw Ian Somerhalder and his blue eyes for so many seasons.

Edited by Shirsha - 5 months ago
heavenlybliss thumbnail

Originally posted by: Shirsha

I like Delena very much! Their chemistry was so good! I'm talking about the show. Were you talking about the show or the books? I tried to read the first book of the series. But Damon's eyes were black in the book. So, I couldn't read it. smiley36 I can't imagine Damon without blue eyes. I saw Ian Somerhalder and his blue eyes for so many seasons.

I was planning to read the books just for delena, but then I lost interest in vampires. Got bored of them. Plus the last few seasons were so boring.