1123225 thumbnail

Originally posted by: malikakas

Okay maybe I misunderstood your statement. Apologies for that. But the problem as I see it is that there are assumptions on why the boycotters (as a multifaceted group) are boycotting instead of understanding the issue in depth. From what I have seen in the recent trend is inherently not about the few scenes within PK. It's about the pattern of selective activism both on screen and off screen. Hirani doesn't have that as a specific offscreen issue. Alia doesn't have that specific off-screen issue either (even though her parents might). However Bollywood, in general, is getting that reputation. So I feel it is more pronounced here because of that.

We agree that the larger audience usually doesn't care. Dangal was also a hit, post PK, as you mentioned Sanju was. But I think more and more people are starting to see a pattern of selectivity of Bollywood which I think is having an impact now. Gangu despite being a decent Alia/SLB film is not even close to the highest grosser of the year so far. That honour goes to TKF which was a non-entertaining niche film. Given recent events, I just don't see how we can overlook the socio-political overtones making a dent. This is not to deny all the other relevant factors you mentioned.

As for people's egos, tbh I am not concerned about anyone's ego. Bollywood has traditionally held more power than any other group and I don't think it would take much for them to regain that power. But they need introspection on a whole host of issues.

ETA: To respond to the comment you added. Again I just don't see the boycott gang as this monolith. Some maybe out to control ppl. But I have been on a lot of spaces on twitter recently and heard some of them and that's not the predominant issue. The issue is how freedom of expression is only reserved to target one particular group while the problematic issues of other groups are ignored or even enabled.

I get a *little* upset about people twisting my words, so I'm going to put both of what I said about boycotters possibly being fools here:

Originally posted by: HearMeRoar

Boycotters, by definition, certainly know who the makers are.

Or they are fools, targeting the ACTOR instead of the filmmaker smiley36.

First, I didn't call the cinema goers fools. I called boycotters who don't really know who they're boycotting fools.

I mean, if you're angry about scenes in PK, logical thing would be to be angry at the person who wrote it and the person who allowed it on screen. If they're instead angry at the actor...🤷‍♀️

There is a big difference between the above, which is what I said in prior post as well, and what you claimed. Please don't put words in my mouth that I didn't say. I'm no Aamir Khan for it to benefit the boycott gang. Or any other gang.

This can hardly be misunderstood as calling cine audience fools.

Once again, I don't like having words put into my mouth, so reiterating this.

As far as the rest of it is concerned, we will have to disagree. People will line up to see the same Bollywood if it actually produced something worth watching.

colossial2015 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Male actors even flow ones are charging over 30 crores. But a super hot leading lady cannot even charge 25 crores. First and foremost do not over pay old men. Secondly no one wants to see lecherous old men romancing bare 25 year old. It looks like pedophilia.

Most people have moved one from June 2020. Nowdays audience has moved to OTT and regional films.

Superstar era of 90s and early 2000s is gone.

catchm-ifucan thumbnail
Rocker Thumbnail 5th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Lol. How? It came as a solo release with more number of screens still couldn’t even muster a full 10 crores opening.

1243545 thumbnail

Originally posted by: mz.gigglez

Dealt with? Its ppl like you who ruin the environment of a public forum where others opinions are treated as threats to them. Geez grow up you can present your opinion without commenting on everyone elses too.

O ji mazaak tha itna senti kyu rahe ho ji thoda relax ho jao ji

Maaf kar do devi ji agar galti se kuch jyada bol diya ho toh..

hotchoco thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: colossial2015

Male actors even flow ones are charging over 30 crores. But a super hot leading lady cannot even charge 25 crores.

Super hot leading ladies get 3 crore openings. Aamir at his worst got a 4 times bigger opening. Actresses have nothing to lose either when a movie flops. Nobody is going to say anything about Kareena but Aamir will get harassed for years until his next movie. If it’s a hit though, actresses and their PR run to take credit. 😂

malikakas thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

I get a *little* upset about people twisting my words, so I'm going to put both of what I said about boycotters possibly being fools here:

This can hardly be misunderstood as calling cine audience fools.

Once again, I don't like having words put into my mouth, so reiterating this.

As far as the rest of it is concerned, we will have to disagree. People will line up to see the same Bollywood if it actually produced something worth watching.

I was being polite when i apologized giving you the benefit of the doubt. But this comment of yours is needlessly aggressive. You made a comment that boycotters are being fools for not knowing who made the film. You didn’t clarify who you meant by the boycotters. And since you don’t think the film was boycotted (in general) my assumption was you meant the general audience as reference to the position I was taking. Just because you think it’s clear doesn’t mean it is automatically clear to the other person. You clarified, I apologized. Then what was the need for this post?

Edited by malikakas - 3 years ago
heavenlybliss thumbnail

Love Legion

Movie is actually quite good, just a bit too long

idk why its getting trolled so much

642126 thumbnail

Khans are now in same space as AB was in 50s.

His good films like Agneepath flopped but are considered cult classics now. He was also dragged in political controversies like 1984, Bofors etc.

He went underground, ABCL failed, went bankrupt, had flops and returned with makeover in KBC. Regained lost glory.

Flops do not affect Khans as they have already cemented their place in history. However they better be prepared for downfall unless they change tracks and learn from AB and swear off commenting on social or political issues or religious matters. Or else they will find it hard to have even second innings as filmmakers or in dad or prof roles.