mpks1 thumbnail

Also being a Tamilian, Lathaji has sung very few songs and all of them for Ilayaraja and without a question, all have been superhits. She is very fond of him and has praised his musical skills several times. All these songs were sung in the 80s and I have been amazed at her diction, sings as if she is a native singer. Till date I cannot find even one fault with her pronunciation, diction and clarity in a language that is unknown to her Such is her dedication👏

Lathaji came down to Chennai in 1988 and she recorded three songs within a span of 2 days for 3 different movies,

Most famous duet with SPB - Valaiosai from the movie Sathya ( 1988) - Illayaraja insisted that he wanted only Lathaji to sing this duet with SPB and asked the producer to get her. And the producer was none other than Kamal Haasan and he immediately obliged.

https://youtu.be/hDjDDkuSS80

Engirundho azhaikkum En Jeevan from the movie En Jeevan Paduthu ( 1988) - She recorded 2 versions of this song and both are in the movie. - one solo and the other one is a duet.

https://youtu.be/kT9GDDMOHSQ

https://youtu.be/M2VtmnYiA_A

The third song - Aararo Aararo from the movie Anand (1988) - her solo song

https://youtu.be/JH3YcCbBspg

Edited by mpks1 - 3 years ago
mpks1 thumbnail

Originally posted by: LizzieBennet

C. Ramchandra

Lata has sung some great songs for CR, and it's well-known that CR preferred Lata for all his female songs. In fact it was even rumored that he wanted to marry her and proposed, and when she rejected him, they had a falling out. He tried to sabotage her wedding to Jaikishen (Now these are all accounts I've read, am not sure of their veracity). Be that as it may, they created some beautiful songs together.

Mohabbat aisi dhadkan hai - Anarkali (1953)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BXWzBGg4mE

Dil se bhula do tum hume- Patanga (1949)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFuidskMT00

Kaise aaoon jamuna ke teer - Devta (1956)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Js7LosaknB8

I agree C. Ramachandra and Latha ji’s combination have brought out some of the best industry hits which is hard to beat even to this date. Those songs send you to a different zone and I find the same expierence with those 3 songs Lathaji sang for Ilayaraja.

SoupyTwist thumbnail

Salil Chowdhary

Now Salilda was a self-professed Lata loyalist. His male singers varied but for the females he rarely ever strayed away from Lata. And his songs were usually so complex and imbued with variations that it seemed like only Lata could take up the challenge and do justice to them.

Mila hai kisika jhumka - Parakh (1960)

Although O Sajna has my heart, I'm posting this lesser known one which is no less dear to me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8oc_k4NV1Y

Zulmi sang aakh ladi - Madhumati (1958)

Again, Aja re Pardesi is such a stunning, haunting melody that it overtakes all the songs in this movie, but am posting a less popular song that deserves as much love

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvWnq8346KA

Jaago Mohan Pyare - Jaagte Raho (1956)

What to say about this masterpiece? I just bow to Salilda, Shailendra and Lataji for granting us this sublime song. 😭

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uGNJ1xnSEWI

Edited by LizzieBennet - 3 years ago
SoupyTwist thumbnail

Naushad

Naushad and Lata teamed up to give so many successful songs, it's hard to pick favorites but I'm posting the lesser known ones here.

Panchhi ban mein - Babul (1950)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkTsijg_b1M

Ae dil tujhe kasam hai - Dulari (1949)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LihbgPClEp0

Haal-e-dil main kya kahoon - Uran Khatola (1955)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5LDFYEgvvM

SoupyTwist thumbnail

Madan Mohan

Now he was an unapologetic Lata loyalist and although their soundtracks like Woh Kaun Thi, Adalat, and Mera Saaya etc are the famous ones, I've tried to post the not-so-famous songs from this team.

Mere Piya se koi jaake keh de - Aashiana (1952)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zfg9ZyDobFQ

Lagan tose laagi balma - Dekh Kabira Roya (1957)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pSp9ckm2Gs

Bairan neend na aaye - Chacha Zindabad (1959)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWuA5EgfdLo

SoupyTwist thumbnail

Sajjad Hussain

Now he was an extremely exacting MD and was known to be a tyrant to work with. Lata herself said so in one of here early interviews. He would find fault with even the most flawless rendering and had famously labeled Kishore Kumar as "Shor' Kumar and Talat Mehmood as 'Galat' Mehmood. But Lata impressed him so much that he had it written in his contract that he would only work with her. He composed music for very few soundtracks, his infamous temperament making it difficult for him to survive in the industry. But his songs are nothing short of brilliant.

Woh toh chale gaye ae dil - Sangdil (1952)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4RiE8jzesNo

Ae Dilruba - Rustom Sohrab (1962)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WU8Jbpyqne0

Aaj mere naseeb ne mujhko - Hulchul (1951)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I4agkmZ_k60&t=52s

SoupyTwist thumbnail

Shankar-Jaikishen

Lata was of course a staple in S-J soundtracks and in particular the RK camp so I'll avoid the RK banner songs here. Lata was reportedly infatuated with Jaikishen when she first saw him when he came over to sign her for Barsaat, mistakenly believing him to be RKs office assistant, and told her sister Meena that the Kapoor's employees seemed to be as handsome as them!

And of course she always said that they exploited her ability to sing in higher octaves to the fullest, giving her several high-pitched songs to sing!

Tune hayye re mere zakhm-e-jigar ko choo liya - Nagina (1951)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BbyESu53q-g&t=40s

Kisine apna banake mujhko - Patita (1953)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWA-0bsSvfE

Sajan sang kahe neha lagaye - Main nashe mein hoon (1959)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6YDWUduzQo

SoupyTwist thumbnail

S.D. Burman

Burmanda was probably one of the MDs that did not depend solely on Lata for his female solos and duets, he often would pick Geeta Dutt and Asha Bhosle too. They also famously had a rift that lasted 5 years during which she did not sing for him. Burmanda allegedly gave an interview (perhaps he was misquoted) in which he said he made Lata's career and that angered Lata. They were both temperamental artists. Later, his son, Pancham mediated and brought them together. Her songs for him remain unforgettable, nonetheless.

Phaili huyi hai sapnon ki baahein - House No. 44 (1955)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PfEGOOObjA

Dil jale toh jale - Taxi Driver (1954)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jelsbk76ImI

Thandi hawayein - Naujawan (1951)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1TtVax2t-s

EuphoricDamsel thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 7

Thank You Riya Dee for your kind words and reading whatever I attempted with the piece above.

I was SUPER nervous before posting and still feel its a bit scattered but your kind words make up for it anyway. ❤️

Early Lata is a different thing altogether.

It is almost magical how you can listen to her voice garner experience and evolve during every decade up until the 2000s.

EuphoricDamsel thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: Viswasruti

Ritu, a well-written tribute to Lata .🤗

Most of all those songs you mentioned are my all-time favorites. ❤️

Everyone poured out their heartfelt feelings with stirred emotions.

Actually, I believe that this thread is worthy of becoming a Global Thread.

Thank you so much Madhu!

It means the world to me. ❤️

This thread is the best thing that happened to me in a long while. ❤️

All thanks to Lizzie. 🤗