Uma2010 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

I love observing how the forum’s views on Salman keeps changing every year and in this case within 24 hours 😳depending on the WKV report cards of the contestants 😆 Contestants may come and go, but Salman has always been the constant. He’s best fit.

Edited by Uma2010 - 6 years ago
NepaliArtist thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: aaditi123

Which other A Lister would host the show?)Only Salman can deal with the social media outrage after every WKV, every damn season.

You could get a guy like Arshad Warsi to do it( best host ever) but then you lose your competitive edge and become one of the 10's of other reality shows like Splitsvilla.

Unfortunately (because I totally dislike Salman both as an actor, star, and a host), this post makes a great point. Among all the big stars in the country, Salman has a very weird aura and image. He is somehow scary for people in person, yet so adored like he is part of the family for people among fans. This is something that in my opinion, in the age of social media and elevated 'wokeness' on social issues - will never happen again. He is a very unique star that is on par with the greatest Bollywood actors ever (in terms of success and starpower), yet has objective horrible acting skills and a self-confessed lack of script sense. He himself says it all the time. "Dile mein ata hoon, dimag mein nahee." Even though he is nowhere near my personal dil haha, this statement sums up his stardom completely.

Which brings the problem of if not Salman, then who? Like Aaditi123 said above, the only thing separating this trashy, voyeuristic, schadenfreude show from others like Splitsvilla, Roadies etc is the fact that it is hosted by an A-lister. And there are not alot of people who can replace Salman,

- SRK is WAY too classy for this show (maybe he isn't in real life, but his so called created brand image is. Look at him recently feature on the Dave Letterman show on Netflix. Can you see someone with that image do this show, and stand there listening to how Sana asked for orange, but Asim was cutting apples? 😆)

- Aamir is not even gonna touch this show. And frankly, he shouldn't because his vibe is way too serious and this show requires alot of silliness, esp the shit Salman pulls off like the shower task, thappad chair etc only he can act so dumb in front of millions and still be an A-lister LOL

- Akshay is a really good candidate to replace him, but the thing that he lacks is the 'bhai' type personality, which intimidates the contestants into taking him seriously enough to give him justifications and admit when they mess up etc. Akshay has a really friendly, happy go lucky, hilarious self-deprecating comic type image. Plus with all this deshbhakti shit he's up to, I have a feeling he wants a post-acting career in politics. So the last thing he needs at this stage is people bashing him on social media.

- Ajay wouldn't touch this, or any reality show. lol

- Ranbir, Ranveer, Varun, Kartik etc. these guys are all way too young in their careers to get involved in something like this. They should focus on building up a huge body of films (like the Khans; which automatically give them an 'image') before getting into this stuff.

- Priyanka and Deepika I think are the only two female stars at this comparable level. Both would be a horrible fit for this show, and frankly, the way they have managed their careers, it wouldn't fit the tone at all. Someone like Taapsee or Bhumi might be a much better fit, but they are too young in their careers at the moment.

So, unfortunately, as much as I hate to admit it, by elimination we are left with Sallu. He's not a good host, but he's the best with what we have. And if (WHEN) he leaves, the show will completely lose its special aura and will be just another trashy reality show on TV. 😭😆

Edited by NepaliArtist - 6 years ago
Terenaina thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: 2RsFan

More than being biased, I just dont understand why channel isnt taking Shukla's physical violence seriously ?

please the channel and the team is going to be the same. They didn’t want to evict Sid.
Uma2010 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: NepaliArtist

Unfortunately (because I totally dislike Salman both as an actor, star, and a host), this post makes a great point. Among all the big stars in the country, Salman has a very weird aura and image. He is somehow scary for people in person, yet so adored like he is part of the family for people among fans. This is something that in my opinion, in the age of social media and elevated 'wokeness' on social issues - will never happen again. He is a very unique star that is on par with the greatest Bollywood actors ever (in terms of success and starpower), yet has objective horrible acting skills and a self-confessed lack of script sense. He himself says it all the time. "Dile mein ata hoon, dimag mein nahee." Even though he is nowhere near my personal dil haha, this statement sums up his stardom completely.

Which brings the problem of if not Salman, then who? Like Aaditi123 said above, the only thing separating this trashy, voyeuristic, schadenfreude show from others like Splitsvilla, Roadies etc is the fact that it is hosted by an A-lister. And there are not alot of people who can replace Salman,

- SRK is WAY too classy for this show (maybe he isn't in real life, but his so called created brand image is. Look at him recently feature on the Dave Letterman show on Netflix. Can you see someone with that image do this show, and stand there listening to how Sana asked for orange, but Asim was cutting apples? 😆)

- Aamir is not even gonna touch this show. And frankly, he shouldn't because his vibe is way too serious and this show requires alot of silliness, esp the shit Salman pulls off like the shower task, thappad chair etc only he can act so dumb in front of millions and still be an A-lister LOL

- Akshay is a really good candidate to replace him, but the thing that he lacks is the 'bhai' type personality, which intimidates the contestants into taking him seriously enough to give him justifications and admit when they mess up etc. Akshay has a really friendly, happy go lucky, hilarious self-deprecating comic type image. Plus with all this deshbhakti shit he's up to, I have a feeling he wants a post-acting career in politics. So the last thing he needs at this stage is people bashing him on social media.

- Ajay wouldn't touch this, or any reality show. lol

- Ranbir, Ranveer, Varun, Kartik etc. these guys are all way too young in their careers to get involved in something like this. They should focus on building up a huge body of films (like the Khans; which automatically give them an 'image') before getting into this stuff.

- Priyanka and Deepika I think are the only two female stars at this comparable level. Both would be a horrible fit for this show, and frankly, the way they have managed their careers, it wouldn't fit the tone at all. Someone like Taapsee or Bhumi might be a much better fit, but they are too young in their careers at the moment.

So, unfortunately, as much as I hate to admit it, by elimination we are left with Sallu. He's not a good host, but he's the best with what we have. And if (WHEN) he leaves, the show will completely lose its special aura and will be just another trashy reality show on TV. 😭😆

I don’t agree with the fact that Salman is not a good host, but I absolutely loved reading this! 👏 He redefines with hosting means though 😆 And I agree with some of the points you have put up. Very interesting.

Like you mentioned, SRK is on another trip with Letterman and Ted Talks and his university visits. BB would torpedo the post Bollywood international career he is trying to craft.

Aamir would be a joke on the show himself- one has to be outrageously spontaneous and impulsive to host BB and Aamir is a thinker. So, no.

Akshay’s doing well for himself with the nationalist projection for himself I believe though I doubt the sustainability of a political career for him given his strong, politically differently willed partner. He just might be able to assume the role, but it would need to be seen if he could command respect and still indulge in tomfoolery. Salman’s aura is way too different too.

Ajay would command respect, but Salman’s entire persona would be too big shoes for him to fill and Ajay’s too camera conscious for reality shows.

Priyanka could be good- she can be strong and ridiculous at will. Can she be a Salman though and add to WKV? May be not. All the others are too young- the girls and guys. Taapsee maybe in 10 years. I am surprised you didn’t consider Kangana though- I wouldn’t want to be even caught dead at the other end of her wrath ever 😆

So, Salman it is. Like you said, there’s been none on the Bollywood horizon like him ever who can get away with any circus and still command love and respect. I love what he brings onto the show irrespective of whether contestants I support get thoroughly thrashed by him or not. BB hosting is as tailor made for him as his hosting is for BB.

naaznin thumbnail

It's not salman it's colors fault

Salman clearly looks frustrated because he don't want to show favouritism but still has to

He looked irritated with sana to when she was laughing

A star like Salman will have time to watch BB n also analyse it's clips?

He is so busy that he comes late to shoot. Will he have time to watch all episodes n unseen videos with all camera angles..it's script what he reads

He is under contract so he has to follow what channel says

All his words like his image is getting tarnished because of housemates behaviour n fans watching wkv shows how unhappy he is to take side of ppl like shukla n his fans will also blame him

When talking about fans he said aaplog k bhi fans honge meri tarah n paras said about two percent..n he went sarcastic like 2% bhi honge

His repeated comments on police taking them into jail shows what his real views on contestants are

Anyone at salman place will have to follow the script n salman is doing this show for money

For one day he is getting 7crore as per reports n one film shooting takes 6months to 1yr

U can see how profitable BB is

Shaitan-Haiwan thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail 14th Anniversary Thumbnail + 8

I usually don’t care for Salmans bias and involvement but yeah - this time it’s ruining the game.

Demoralizing contestants like Paras or even Himanshi when she started opening up is not going to help the show.

NepaliArtist thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Uma2010

I don’t agree with the fact that Salman is not a good host, but I absolutely loved reading this! 👏 He redefines with hosting means though 😆 And I agree with some of the points you have put up. Very interesting.

Like you mentioned, SRK is on another trip with Letterman and Ted Talks and his university visits. BB would torpedo the post Bollywood international career he is trying to craft.

Aamir would be a joke on the show himself- one has to be outrageously spontaneous and impulsive to host BB and Aamir is a thinker. So, no.

Akshay’s doing well for himself with the nationalist projection for himself I believe though I doubt the sustainability of a political career for him given his strong, politically differently willed partner. He just might be able to assume the role, but it would need to be seen if he could command respect and still indulge in tomfoolery. Salman’s aura is way too different too.

Ajay would command respect, but Salman’s entire persona would be too big shoes for him to fill and Ajay’s too camera conscious for reality shows.

Priyanka could be good- she can be strong and ridiculous at will. Can she be a Salman though and add to WKV? May be not. All the others are too young- the girls and guys. Taapsee maybe in 10 years. I am surprised you didn’t consider Kangana though- I wouldn’t want to be even caught dead at the other end of her wrath ever 😆

So, Salman it is. Like you said, there’s been none on the Bollywood horizon like him ever who can get away with any circus and still command love and respect. I love what he brings onto the show irrespective of whether contestants I support get thoroughly thrashed by him or not. BB hosting is as tailor made for him as his hosting is for BB.

Hm interesting point about 'redefining' hosting. By all traditional measures, he's a terrible host, but I must admit he makes whatever he does fun (when he wants to put some effort lol), so ya, there is something about him. Plus, you're absolutely right, nobody can be zero fs given like him and do dumb shit like the shower/thappad task, and stand there for 10 mins listening to stories about how oranges and apples caused world war 3, and still not even lose an inch of his superstar aura. In that way, he is a really special star. Plus, I might have been a little harsh on him hahah, he was a pretty decent actor before he turned into bhai. All those early Prem movies are long and overdrawn by today's standards, but were great at the time and he was perfect in them. Plus, Andaz Apna Apna is my favorite movie ever so automatically he gets 5 points for that. LOL

And OMG I don't know how I forgot her but you have nailed it: if, for any reason, Salman leaves and there is no way to convince him to host. The ONLY remotely appropriate replacement is Kangana Ranaut without a doubt. She'd actually be perfect. The silliness would be dropped a few levels, and the intimidation factors would probably be raised a few notches as well, but yep - she'd be so good for this show.

Finally, I loved your last point about the show itself evolving to adapt to Salman's personality. This is too true, and perhaps the biggest point that can be made in this entire debate. The Big Brother concept originally was a social psychological experiment, and the show was based around group dynamics and 'confession room' interviews with confessions (I don't even know why this is called that anymore no one confesses anything hahah). Then, in India, it became about masti, which was totally not the original show. Arshad was a great host for the masti element. Then, Amitabh Bachchan came on, who I thought was a totally horrible fit. Unlike Salman, AB has the perfect hosting skills in the traditional sense, but the vibe just didn't fit the show at all. He's great at KBC, etc. this needs something else. Then, Sanjay Dutt, who I thought was a step in the right direction, but also kinda weird cus he has zero improv skills and just looks dumstruck half the time with zero impulsive humor/reactions. Then came Salman and it not only fit, but the show evolved to fit his role in it. So, yeah, at lthis point, it'll be tough to follow up a season without him because he is basically synonymous with the show now. Kangana is a GREAT shout though! And also, lets be real, she would NOT stand for Sid's bullshit no matter how much channel insists, so that drama would also be fun to see 😆

Edited by NepaliArtist - 6 years ago
Tacacs thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: sunshine333

Salman sees himself reflected in Shukla. This season he is his fave. Every season he picks his fave and then badly bashes whoever indirectly/directly is against his fave.

Aaj Paras aur Mahira ke saath unka rawaiya 180 degree changed tha. Sallu mia aap please retire ho jao aur araam farmao. Nahi ho pa raha he toh kyo itni takleef karte he. Hamesha rote rehte he aur dhadalle ki dialoguebaazi karte he. Aur akhri season ki dhamki dete he jaise ki humpe koi ehsaan kar rahe ho. You are NOT God. Aur aap free me ya charity me show nahi kar rahe ki itna dhos dikhate he aur aisa jatate he ki koi favor kar rahe.

Sallu takes 200 crores to host the season. Maybe more. The highest paid contestant Rashmi is reported to have a contract for around 1 crore. Definitely NO ONE makes more than 2 crore.

If Salman leaves imagine how many BIGGER celebrities they can rope in if they increase contestant fees.

BB log salman ke liye NAHI dekhte apne entertainment ke liye dekhte he.

Salman is NOT the show. The contestants are.

Warna think think think why the trps change every season. The TRPs would be constant na every season and every WKW if its FOR Sallu. No TRPs change on the basis of contestants and story line. No thanks to Salman.

Call him biased. If you want.

Yes he appears biased. Because of two reasons. 1. Big boss hired him. And they want trp.

2. It is not possible to be related to this game and not to be biased. I have given challenge to everyone. Every contestant does mistake. If anyone claims to be neutral. Show me one's post criticizing every contestant's mistake. Then that person is neutral and a good judge. People selectively come for few incidents and give their comment. Then just keep justifying that by bashing other contestants.

Now about Salman.

Salman is a superstar, he has big fan following. Many people consider his movies as commercial. But this big boss is also not some classical piece of art. This format is ghatiya, this show is disgusting, rules voting, selective editing, all are lower class. This is just a commercial show. So it has more audience which likes those commercial movies.

Salman is fit for this show.

I like Salman here, because he is not afraid of any TV channel. He boasted I liked that. I strongly believe that he doesn't follow everything which channel wants him to narrate.

I don't know any other hosts whose fan like this type of show in such a larger number.

I don't know any host who is not afraid of channel.

I don't know any host who can create fear in contestants' heart.

If you change host then you can bring only commoners in the game.

TV scene has changed. I don't watch any serial or program on any of these channels. Other then comedy sometimes.

They need a larger show to pull me. Salman makes this show big.

If there were commoners with a some retired hero as host. So much buzz will not be there on Twitter, media or in this forum.

The people who criticise Salman or this show. Or write hateful opinions with anger or abuses are actually just enjoying the process.

There is an audience who likes to criticise x instead of praising y. This is why there is so much interest in this show.

For that audience, biasedness has been introduced in this game.

jhalak7 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Big stars mean Akki, AMir, SRK, Ranbir, Ranveer, AB, Anil etc. Akki and SRK probably will stay busy flirting with galz. Amir will never work here. Ranbir will leave as he is not that greedy. Aniljee will be busy with his own look. 😆Ranveer may work, but he will not bash like Salman . May be act like Paras. Channel can never dominate AB senior and junior is a very decent guy, will never bully or bash anyone. Sanju baba may act like Salman ........but he will never come . As already he is under lots of badnams, he doesn't want more. Baki bache chote mote stars.

Arshad Warsi is my all time favorite as he was the narad muni. 😆Jhagra lagake fasanewala. Becoz of him BB1 was so entertaining. I wish he could come

But Salman is very greedy . He will never leave BB. I guess till 70/80 he will keep working here. 😆And every year he will make fun........I am 90. Is 90 an old man. 🤣

Edited by jhalak7 - 6 years ago
Tacacs thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Terenaina

The reason why I started watching big boss was because of salman. There are lots of episodes of the contestants that makes you angry and depressed but then Weekends come and salman puts me entertaining show and I feel like contestant listen to him because they are scared of him.

Yes many people watch because of Salman. In Twitter many people are becoming famous just by criticizing Salman. These Twitter trends are liked that. To increase followers or to get retweet just use those hashtags.

The people who don't like Salman. I have this much to tell. You are right. But you are able to watch this show because colors is able to afford to run this show for profit.

If to satisfy you, they bring a retired Supreme Court Judge as a host. And make rule to stop fighting screaming abusing stupidity etc. Show-name will change and, only few you people will watch it on Doordarshan.