AreYaar thumbnail

Originally posted by: inlieu

No, simply being on the poster doesn't decide his value but I think it is a telling change from the PH's side. I honestly don't think they'd every dreamed HS would be a runaway hit (and neither did Aniruddh). That just gave them the avenue to explore his character in more depth. It is the belief of many here, including me, that they had given every character a proper back story and set up their past, which helped define how they have appeared on the show and how the actors have portrayed the many layers. This is why as they reveal new layers to each character it doesn't appear contrived.

For me, I have always seen it as a story of the trio, but the poster just puts it out there, you know. It could also signify that yes, mother-daughter started out on their own journey of self-discovery as they left home. They were enough for one another, but before they knew it HS sneaked into their lives and made a place in their hearts that no one had ever expected, and now he is a part of them as they are a part of him.

Really? I just find that hard to believe. I wasn’t here in real time when the epi aired but even catching up as a neutral viewer, his character made an instant impression, was given solid dialogues and nuanced scenes. And then Ofcourse Aniruddh played it all superbly too.

So to me it just seemed obvious that this will be a central character helping chart a new phase for the show as Babita and Mini move into his house. It was obvious he was going to be their future....and the future wouldn’t be a supporting character but a core element.

Yes, the writers do a very good job of giving every character big or small a lot of meat to develop but there is still a notable difference between HS and other supporting characters, and I don’t think it’s developed beyond their expectations....they always intended him to be a crucial part of B and M’s life. Ofcourse Aniruddh performance has elevated it further but the character of HS always seemed core. They brought in a whole world along with HS - Laale, Naeem Bi, the whole mohalla, so clearly they planned it significantly.

inlieu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: AreYaar

This! I totally agree. This is what I feel will happen too given what we’ve seen of Babita’s personality. She can absolutely turn into a tigress for the ones she loves and wade through any pain to be there for them. She needs a push sometimes but once she makes up her mind, she tackles the challenge head on.

She has to, because I have a feeling HS' demons are going to keep hurting him and leaving things raw to the extent that he can't enjoy a beautiful future with his family. Sure, Minnie brings him hope and has help a LOT in healing him, but there are some things that only Babita as a wife can do for him when the time comes.

inlieu thumbnail

Really? I just find that hard to believe. I wasn’t here in real time when the epi aired but even catching up as a neutral viewer, his character made an instant impression, was given solid dialogues and nuanced scenes. And then Ofcourse Aniruddh played it all superbly too.

So to me it just seemed obvious that this will be a central character helping chart a new phase for the show as Babita and Mini move into his house. It was obvious he was going to be their future....and the future wouldn’t be a supporting character but a core element.

Yes, the writers do a very good job of giving every character big or small a lot of meat to develop but there is still a notable difference between HS and other supporting characters, and I don’t think it’s developed beyond their expectations....they always intended him to be a crucial part of B and M’s life. Ofcourse Aniruddh performance has elevated it further but the character of HS always seemed core. They brought in a whole world along with HS - Laale, Naeem Bi, the whole mohalla, so clearly they planned it significantly.

They did, but it was planned cautiously. HS started to get more and more screen time gradually and his personal side came to the fore. Either way, I am super pleased. I fell in love with HS after accidentally catching one episode on Youtube, binge-watched from the beginning and have never looked back since. I am watching this show mainly for him, and secondly for his bond with Minnie. Perhaps because you've watched all 200+ episodes in a short time you've felt the full impact of the character in a different way, but the writers are very good at keeping things consistent so HS' growth and prominence seems natural no matter which of the show we started watching from. 😉

Edited by inlieu - 6 years ago
AreYaar thumbnail

They did, but it was planned cautiously. HS started to get more and more screen time gradually and his personal side came to the fore. Either way, I am super pleased. I fell in love with HS after accidentally catching one episode on Youtube, binge-watched from the beginning and have never looked back since. I am watching this show mainly for him, and secondly for his bond with Minnie. Perhaps because you've watched all 200+ episodes in a short time you've felt the full impact of the character in a different way, but the writers are very good at keeping things consistent so HS' growth and prominence seems natural no matter which of the show we started watching from. 😉

My read of the show is that they don’t put in scenes of characters to fill in screen time as other shows do.

And Same is the case for HS. He didn’t need token screen time to make an impact. He was given apt scenes as per the needs of the story development and that is why he made a solid impact. His screen time grew as his interactions with B and M grew in the haveli. In real life, you don’t interact with people a certain amount to check a box. You interact as situations happen. Which is why when the story needed to show Babita’s struggle with her supervisor job, that’s what they showed. And HS came in for scenes to advise or support, didn’t randomly land up at her workplace without rhyme or reason as other shows would do to give token screen space to a lead.

HS is an amazingly effective male lead character on TV precisely because the writers have used his character so effectively in the story rather than just making him appear in every scene or every epi for the heck of it.

That’s been my impression atleast 🤷‍♀️😆

inlieu thumbnail

That may be part of it, but not the whole story. Babita has many times shown immense respect and understanding for HS's love for Imarti.....so I don't think that's his main hesitation. He himself isn't ready to properly share Imarti's memories with another woman he has feelings for.

Bottom line is that he should eventually talk to Babita about Imarti.....it's a crucial part of the journey towards emotional intimacy or he will continue to have unresolved emotions in his heart....and without resolution, there will be no peace.

I'm in no hurry....I'm just saying I hope to see it happening eventually.....because based on the current story, that seems like the logical eventuality....Imarti is spoken about so much, there has to be some reconciliation for HS to directly address that loving Babita doesn't mean Imarti goes away from his heart. And that would be best resolved by him talking to Babita about his emotions for Imarti.

I am also in no hurry. Slow-burn is the best, and these people have sustained it for 200+ episode with no loss of interest on our side.

Babita needs to know that HS will never compare her to Imarti, and he himself needs to realize that he can really love again, but differently. I think he does already know this but hasn't taken the time to assess his feelings about this whole thing.

guddi01 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

I think that it started off being a Mother and Daughter but I think that it had a fixed number of episodes to finish there story as on its own it would not been interesting or lasted this long.

Without the entry of HS and Lally, who first appeared with there witty lines and Haryani were a instant hit and in some ways have made it what it is today.

I don't think that even the writer's had any idea how Arudrith made HS that bit special and he was just meant to be a side role, with another lead but it never happened as HS made it his and along with Lally made it so that people just loved them.

I think that it has evolved from the Mother and Daughter to what it is today. I think that it too was meant to finish with Ladies Special as well but because of the popularity it has lasted this long.

inlieu thumbnail

My read of the show is that they don’t put in scenes of characters to fill in screen time as other shows do.

And Same is the case for HS. He didn’t need token screen time to make an impact. He was given apt scenes as per the needs of the story development and that is why he made a solid impact. His screen time grew as his interactions with B and M grew in the haveli. In real life, you don’t interact with people a certain amount to check a box. You interact as situations happen. Which is why when the story needed to show Babita’s struggle with her supervisor job, that’s what they showed. And HS came in for scenes to advise or support, didn’t randomly land up at her workplace without rhyme or reason as other shows would do to give token screen space to a lead.

HS is an amazingly effective male lead character on TV precisely because the writers have used his character so effectively in the story rather than just making him appear in every scene or every epi for the heck of it.

That’s been my impression atleast 🤷‍♀️😆

Completely agree with all this, which is why it never felt as if HS was there as eye candy or just a love interest or to fill in the gaps or add spice to their lives. He wasn't 'placed' in scenes just to glorify mother-daughter or feminism - he is the biggest feminist on the show from what I can tell.

To me, HS serves as the mirror to various facets of society, the good, bad, and ugly and a strong reminder that life is what you make of it, not what you let it become.

inlieu thumbnail

@ AreYaar

I also wanted to take this opportunity to say a big thanks to you for your amazing posts. I feel as if your thoughts mirror mine on so many fronts and I find myself nodding constantly as I read through your take.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts in so much detail - it's such a pleasure to read all of it. 😃

AreYaar thumbnail

Waise since we are on the subject, the epi I chanced across that made me watch the whole show was the one right after the proposal....I had no idea about the context, but I chanced upon that scene of HS coming up the stairs, talking to Mini and telling her to never give up on her dreams. I was just struck by how naturally that conversation was conducted and the sweet dynamic b/w the two.

And then right after that was the Dil toh baccha hai ji scene 😆....and HS ki bike not starting after that, Mini teasing him and offering a ride on her scooty....then the earring scene in the end. I was just struck by the range of scenes in one epi and felt a curiosity to learn more about all these characters.

Bas phir kya tha...Rewind mode maara, found HS ka entry epi and there was no looking back from there. 😆

AreYaar thumbnail

Completely agree with all this, which is why it never felt as if HS was there as eye candy or just a love interest or to fill in the gaps or add spice to their lives. He wasn't 'placed' in scenes just to glorify mother-daughter or feminism - he is the biggest feminist on the show from what I can tell.

To me, HS serves as the mirror to various facets of society, the good, bad, and ugly and a strong reminder that life is what you make of it, not what you let it become.

Beautifully put 👏...that sums it up perfectly:)

None of the characters in show exist in a token fashion...nobody-male or female is degraded to be objectified as they are in most other shows on TV nowadays. That is what makes this show so lovely :)