Do you agree with how this profession is portrayed in movies?

Bazinga. thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
In many of the recent movies that I have seen, Engineering is portrayed as or talked about as if it is one of the the worst profession that anyone could pursue in India..
People who work in IT, is mainly because they are forced to by their parents.. you are stuck in an average lifestyle if you continue with it.. 9 to 5 jobs kills dreams, people are wasting their lives doing it..
Does everybody feels the same?

One of the reasons India is considered as a growing superpower is because of its IT sector, but still it is the most abused profession, do you think it is fair to portray it like the way it is?
I agree many parents force their will on kids to go for engineering, but there are many who pursure it because they are genuinely interested in it.. and y is it so wrong if some one goes for it just because it is an high paying job and not because they are really passionate about it.. India ki aadhi se jyada janta is middle class, if they see 9 to 5 job as a way to break out of it and earn some extra bucks then usme galat kya hai..
I am not saying that Engineering is the only job that one should aspire for.. but whats wrong if people go for it.. nowadays its uncool, kyunki engineering toh koi bhi kar leta hai aaj kal.. usme kya badi baat hai :\

nigahen thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Everyone is studying engineering/medicine. That's why doctors/engineers are earning hardly 10-15 thousand pm as starting salaries. Esp doctors.
astha36 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Yeah come to think about it, it is usually shown in a negative light. But the thing is, they aren't wrong. It IS a professions which is forced on people. They just should show it in a positive light as well. I mean like how in Hollywood, people from Comp Science background are shown as cool and often crucial to the plot college going kids, I think that can be shown more so that it gets balanced.

But I don't think they can show it in a positive light from the money point of view, cuz that would just be boring. IDK. But yeah you're right, it has become a sort of punching bag for movies which talk about passion and repressed dreams.
Yes.
It deserves more abuses than what it have gotten until now.
Ardhanarishwara thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: nigahen

Everyone is studying engineering/medicine. That's why doctors/engineers are earning hardly 10-15 thousand pm as starting salaries. Esp doctors.

@bold
Really😕..I dnt think so.
In our area we get paid Rs.2500-3000 daily for 6hrs job.

And about engineering most important factor is the college where you studied.. people studied in prestigious government colleges get good jobs with salaries in lakhs.
roni_berna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
There are many who look down upon Engineering but let them do it themselves and then talk. Studying continuously for 4 years non-stop with barely 3-4 days break between semesters is no joke.
ponymo thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: roni_berna

There are many who look down upon Engineering but let them do it themselves and then talk. Studying continuously for 4 years non-stop with barely 3-4 days break between semesters is no joke.

Really? 😆

I hardly ever studied during engg. Used to study exactly one day before the exam but still passed with flying colours.
Singularity thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
About engineering being an unfulfilling and mundane profession, I guess it depends a lot on where you pursue your undergraduate education.

My college for instance provides us amazing opportunities to pursue inter-disciplinary courses in other departments, which gives us a lot of freedom to pursue subjects we are actually interested in.

So it isn't strange for us to have someone majoring in Architecture to have a minor in Mathematics and Computing, or for a student majoring in Civil Engineering preparing for case interviews for BBBM! 😆

I guess being in one of the national engineering colleges provides you more freedom to break the confines of your course. Don't know what the situation in the private colleges is.

Edited by FireNIce - 7 years ago
Singularity thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: ponymo

Really? 😆

I hardly ever studied during engg. Used to study exactly one day before the exam but still passed with flying colours.

OMG same! Most people in our college cover the syllabus of the entire semester a day before the exam and still manage to get decent grades! 😆
maal_u_have thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: roni_berna

It becomes a joke when extc, electronics, mechanical and instrumentation engineers all line up for IT jobs during placement time. Can't blame them as there are just not enough jobs in their core field but shows the quality of comp sci students too, sab ko ghanta aata hai.