{ Happy Halloween -Boo HeHe HooHoo HiHi }

OtakuGirl-Debo thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Late night in CC office.

Everyone is busy cleaning and preparing for a party which starts in 24 hours' time and nothing is ready!

Everyone is happy and excited except one. Yuvika, who hates this day because it is Halloween and every year she gets fooled by her teammates, especially Poo. This year too she sensed something fishy as Poo went around too excited. Yuvika was not happy and she expressed her annoyance very clearly. Ignoring her Annie said, "Cleaning is so boring! Let's do something that's more fun!" All started to think what to do when Ramya suggested that they discus Halloween-, what it meant and how it started.

To this Riya shouted, "Do you know Halloween is also known as Allhalloween, All Hallows' Eve and All Saints' Eve and it is celebrated on 31st October in many countries. It is widely believed that many Halloween traditions originated from ancient Celtic harvest festivals, particularly the Gaelic festival Samhain and such festivals may have had pagan roots. Many hold that Samhain itself was Christianized as Halloween by the early Church. Some believe, however, that Halloween began solely as a Christian holiday, separate from ancient festivals like Samhain." To this Poo said, " Wow Riya you know so much that I am shocked!". To this Riya continued with a big grin, " Oh this is nothing as compared to the vast sea of my knowledge. Do you know the word Halloween dates back to about 1745 and is of a Christian origin. The word Halloween means Hallowed Evening or Holy Evening. It comes from a Scottish term for All Hallows' Eve. In Scots, the word Eve is Even and this is contracted to E'en or Een. Over time, All Hallows Even evolved into Halloween. Although the phrase All Hallows found in Old English, All Hallows' Eve is itself not seen until 1556.". Everyone was surprised and Sam asked skeptically, "Riya, how do you know so much?"

Suddenly Ritzi said "Did you know that there is a similar festival named El Dia de los Muertos or Dia de Muertos celebrated in Mexico, particularly in the Central and South regions and also by people of Mexican ancestry living in other places, especially the United States." Everyone was amused and Pro asked her, "We don't seem to know about this. Can you elaborate?" So Ritzi began, "Dia de los Muertos or Dia de Muertos is a Spanish word also known as Day of the Dead is acknowledged by many other countries. The multi-day holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died, and help support their spiritual journey. In 2008, the tradition was inscribed in the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO.

"It is particularly celebrated in Mexico as a public holiday. Prior to Spanish colonization in the 16th century, the celebration took place at the beginning of summer. Gradually, it was associated with October 31, November 1 and November 2 to coincide with the Western Christian triduum of Allhallowtide: All Saints' Eve , All Saints' Day and All Souls' Day. Traditions connected with the holiday include building private altars called ofrendas, honoring the deceased using calaveras, aztec-marigolds and the favorite foods and beverages of the departed, and visiting graves with these as gifts. Visitors also leave possessions of the deceased at the graves."

Finally Ritzi finished. Yuvika said, "So basically both Halloween and El Dia de los Muertos is same with only some difference. This is really informative. I like this so much information and you guys know a lot. " To this Poo complained " This is too much. I am bored and tired. For me it is only wearing scary costumes, asking for treats, eating a lot and scaring Yuvi. That's it. " To this Yuvika rolled her eyes at Poo and ignoring her she said, "Thanks girls for this information. I will make sure to pass it on!".

Edited by -RD- - 8 years ago

MsChanadlerBong thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5

Sloan opened his eyes to find himself alone in a dark place. He looked around, squeezed his eyes to focus but couldn't see anything.
Where was he?

He had just been arranging his cupboard when a cookie jar came crashing down, hitting his head and the last thing he remembered was being pulled into an ambulance.

What happened after that?

"Oh you did wake up, sleeping beauty! Took you forever. I've been waiting for what seems like a hundred of years." A voice called out making Sloan jump back in surprize.

"Who are you? What are we talking about? And wait, how do you know me?"

"Well I don't have a name but I have been named hundreds of times. Every one knows me and I know everyone. Don't be surprised fellow, you know me too. How should I put in your words?" Sloan heard some silence.

"I'm what you people call Death!"

With this, the voice got a face and Sloan found himself standing against a man wearing all black and though it was so dark that Sloan couldn't even see his own feet, he could see the man. He carried some kind of aura and looked like...wait, was that a halo behind his head?!

"You are kidding right? You must be fooling around with me, this is probably Harry's idea! I know when he's playing a prank with me."

"Look here kid, I don't just joke around okay? I don't have time for that. And about Harry, well he just puffed his eyes, crying his eyes out in your funeral. So did the others who were able to attend. Turn back and you shall find the place you've been buried. See there, a turf resides over your chest and your head carries the weight of a stone."

Looking behind Sloan found himself staring at his own tombstone.

David Sloan
( 1992-2017)

"Let me get this straight then, I'm dead?"

The man looked at him for a second and then burst out laughing."Oh I'm sorry, it's just so funny that this one never gets old. That's the first thing everyone ask after they die. Of course you are dead!"

"So I'm dead? Like I don't breath anymore. And you are here!"

"To escort you to where you belong now."

"Wait, are you God?" Sloan hesitantly asked only find the man laughing again.

"It's a shame how you people always conclude I am. But no I'm not God. And you really think, God would come all the way down here only to escort you? I mean that's God, man! He doesn't have time for these silly jobs. He's got to handle big things. Things you tiny people can't even imagine about."

"You're not God? Then who are you?"

"His servant who deals with silly people like you and stupid questions like yours, every single day."

"Where are you taking me then? Heaven?" Sloan suggested before adding quickly in a worried tone, "Or am I going to hell?"

"There it comes again! The misconception you people have grown in your head. The hell and heaven thing. Let me tell you, this whole hell-and-heaven concept was developed by a man in order to make a world a better place. Scare people of not doing bad things. Otherwise we never have anything as such in our books. There is no heaven where beautiful chicks will feed you grapes and neither there is hell where you will be fried. Do you really think, God would discriminate among his children? Like good ones come stay with me, bad ones go and die! Just think, does a mother discriminate between her children? It's the same. "

"There is no Heaven or Hell then? Wow, I spent my childhood and adulthood believing in a lie. I can't take this much information at once."

Sloan rubbed his head before throwing another question, which had been in his mind for a long time,"I'm dead, so am I a ghost now?"

The man shook his head in disapproval, "No no. You don't fall in that category."

"What does that mean? How do you decide all that?"

"It's simple. Ghosts as you say, are those souls who have lost their lives having an incomplete desire, unfulfilled promise or are yet tied by earthy responsibilities. I can't go to them as they have not yet attained peace like you have. You had a great life, you didn't die out of misery and neither you have some incomplete work to do. Thus you are free and can enter the outer world. Whereas those souls who aren't in peace are left struggling between the Earth and the world beyond."

"They are bad souls then, right? They haunt people around and cause trouble."

"No soul is bad. Once the person dies, so does his good and bad qualities.The souls who are left behind are just trying to be free and in the process, they may sometime trouble the living but, they don't have an intention to. Once they attain peace, I take them where I'll take you now."

"I'm confused." Sloan complained.

"No surprize there young man. Look you have been wasting a lot of my time and I'm really getting bored of your questions. Like I said before, I'm very busy, shoot all your questions fast so that I can answer them and do my work. I have a lot of places to be, this old man somewhere in the north is breathing his last breath and I have to get there before he dies."

"Okay then. But what am I supposed to do after I get to the place you are taking me?"

"Nothing much similar to what you did here. It doesn't matter thou since you are not going to remember anything of this life."

"I'm going to lose my memory?"

"You are stupider than I guessed. Of course you are gonna lose your memory. Like I said before, once a person dies everything he has, dies with him and when you leave the Earth, you leave everything behind. Now let's go."

Sloan nodded his head before shooting his last question, "What's this world again?"

"It's the world beyond everything. The world where Death is the just the Beginning."

Edited by PanchaliKaArjun - 8 years ago
-Misek- thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

When Witches go riding
And Black Cats are seen
The moon laughs and whispers
'Tis near Halloween!

The Crazy Creatives are back this Halloween with another not-so-scarycontest.

This Halloween season, we are going to prove that 'mujhe sach mein dar nahi lagta' is a big-fat-lie! And to do so, we would need your spooky, wizardly creative writing skills.

Excited? Or should we say scared? 😉

This contest is as easy as the lyrics of Dhinchak Pooja's ear-deafening songs. All you need to do is write a spook-tacular, spine-tingling 'One Line Horror Story'.

And because we Crazy Creatives are spooking-ly fantastic, here is an example story for your help..

"I am the last person on the Earth and someone just knocked at my door."

Eeekks!

Rules

1. Stories have to be original and not more than 60 words.

2. Member who sends us the scariest story will receive a special Halloween Treat from Crazy Creatives.

3. PM your stories to crazycontests with the title 'One Line Horror Story'.[Do not post your stories on this thread.]

4. The last date for sending the stories is 5th November 2017.

Remember, Darna Mana Hai! 😉

wayward thumbnail
Happy Halloween! 😈😈😈
Phir_Mohabbat thumbnail
I know so much cause Google 😎
Beautiful write up girls. Happy bhootiya divas to all.
x.titli.x thumbnail
Spook-tacular thread! WU & tags are looking TERRIFIC AND SCARY! (I'm already scared😆)
Looking forward to reading the stories, plz join, we have many talented writers on IF😃
Neelum.drashti thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3

Edited by Neelum.drashti - 8 years ago
Sonserina_Reina thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rainbow Reign Pride Participant Thumbnail + 2
Happy Halloween...

Fantastic thread 👏

2filmy thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail Commentator Level 2 Thumbnail