Marriage of Un-equals with no future!!!!

aprilsunrise thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 2

I know a lot of discussions are happening since yesterday's episode where Tej reminded all of us the stark truth regarding the marriage that we had closed our eyes to, after the CVs dished out pink cotter candy in the last two episodes.

I have a looong post with many questions.

I have always believed that Shivika don't belong together.
They are worlds apart.
I still remember that 'Gobar hurling'episode where SSO tells Anika, that if the world is a building then he is on the top floor and she is at the very bottom.

We Shivika shippers, the hopeless romantics, along with GK have come up with the concept of 'opposites attract' to make them a couple.

The gap, the so called building is so tall (more than 1000000 floors with no lift) that both have to travel towards reach each other. Shivaay has to climb down where as Anika has to climb up.
But first , there has to be the willingness to do so.

My 1st Question- Is there the willingness? Do both Anika and Shivaay WANT to be together?
Both do not believe in love due to different reasons.
Shivaay has made clear a numerous times that he is looking at Tia like qualities in his partner, which obviously Anika does not possess. She does not posses the poise, fineness, knowledge of the upper class society norms, education, business acumen (I doubt that Tia possessed it), even basic knowledge of English.
Asya always calls SSO as the alpha female, so can Anika be the alpha female, his mate, the woman who can rule along side him?
Don't get me wrong , she has the heart of gold, which is calling out to Shivaay but what about SSO the business tycoon? ( that is the reason some of them are calling Anika his indulgence...his secret) . But as dadi once very wisely said after the wedding when she was reprimanding both of them that ...Ishqbaazi aankh mila kar ki jati hai chori chupe nahi.

Ankia also was not ready to marry SSO, she was a reluctant bride. She is doing her 'duty' as a wife because she is very traditional in her thoughts and beliefs. The wedding trama could not get her to remove her mangalsutra. She is such a practical girl who thinks that 'love' is not for her. She also knows that there is no future for this marriage.

So I do not see any willingness from both the sides to stay in this marriage. I still do not understand the reasons for SSO still not signing the divorce papers other than feeling that staying in this marriage is right now convenient for him because Tia will not have any legal claim over the Oberoi money and will not be able to take him to the cleaners.

Compatibility wise, this marriage is doomed.
Then why should Shivika stay in this marriage. That brings me to my 2nd question

My 2nd Question- (for love) Do they love each other?
I still believe the Shivaay's outburst during the Daksh kidnapping Anika fiasco was triggered by guilt and not love. I know many SSO fans claim that he is emotionally challenged and hence unable to voice his feelings.
If the near death experience where SSO had almost lost his so called love could not get SSO to confess his LOVE, I don't know what will??

As somebody rightly said in some other post, A marriage can only succeed if the couple have love, trust, respect or friendship/ equality between them. He might care for her...becaue protection come naturally fro him. There is definitely no love there.
Trust?? Anika had and still has blind trust in SSO and now post Daksh , SSO has promised that trust to her. Friendship/ equality, That can be debated.
RESPECT?????

That brings me to my next question.

My 3rd Question- Do they respect each other?
Anika, no doubt respects SSO, but what about SSO?? If he would have respected her would he have done all those things to her pre and post marriage. He, or for that matter even we might justified his actions by quoting the MU. But even after the MU cleared, he has let Tia insult her, even yesterday Tej's facts were demeaning as far as Anika was concerned!!!!
I am forced to ask whether Anika respects herself? With all that has happened... she is still going on!!!!

My last but most important set of questions-
What next? -
Are they in love?
If yes, Are both willing to change for the other (either their beliefs in case of SSO and the lifestyle to suite the position of Alpha Female in the case of Anika)?
Where is this marriage headed?

MrDarcyfan thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Great post and very insightful. I think it was established from the start that Shivaay and Annika are not equals. At least not in the eyes of Shivaay. For him background and lineage matters a lot. Yes it comes across snobish to say the things that he does, maybe even to think them? But that is his idiology. He has been clear that for him the marriage with Tia was a marriage of convienience with an equal and other than an occasional hestitaion, he was fixated on the idea. Om and Rudra were acting as his nay sayers trying to convince him Tia was a bad idea, but he was firm on it. Even proposing to Tia in the wake of Annika telling the ACP that she spent the night with Shivaay to save him. (That started the unraveling of Annika IMO. She showed that despite how Shivaay kicked her out of the job, she was willing to put her reputation at risk to save him).

But coming back to the relationship of equals, no it is not equal and no there is no real respect. At least Shivaay does not respect Annika as his wife. Maybe as a friend now. But the fact remains he beleived Daksh's lies with little to NO verification. That was a huge let down and showed that maybe subconsiously he wanted to beleive this story becasue that gave him an excuse not to accept her. Then he married her by force and then rejected her again. First in front of his family and then in front of society.

Personally I think by making herself so available to Shivaay, and by tolerting her insult from everyone she is really devaluing herself. Like she doesnt matter at all, it's all about saving Shivaay from Tia and her plans. Shivaay does suspect Tia, but Annika was willing to put up with everything even when he was not. It looks like she wanted and does want the title of Mrs SSO.

I think this relationship has little to no chance of survival the way it is now. Mutual respect is the most important thing in a relatioship and that is not present here. But in some ways I dont blame Shivaay for rejecting Annika. She is a nice girl with a good heart. But when it comes down to it, HE is an Oberoi and a major pillar of the Oberoi group. A man who to not loose face for himself, his family and company will marry someone he thinks is beneath him. But how will he reconcile himself to staying married to her? Like you pointed out, she does not have ANY of the qualities HE looks for in a wife. She doesnt even know how to speak properly, and uses slang all the time, which Shivaay hates. Can he introduce her to his high society friends, business partners and rivals as his "Wife?". Can we blame a man in his position for not wanting to do so? Realistically we cannot. But idealistically, we ALL want him to accept her in front of everyone. But frankly that is not reality. This stuff is all good in a fantasy. But in the real world, there is little to no chance of a man like SSO accepting a girl like Annika as his wife. It's the bitter truth. Tej voiced what everyone was thinking.
Edited by MrDarcyfan - 9 years ago
LTLFan thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
I thnk thats what shvika journey is about. Longer distance to cover for shivaay. How reaches the stage where he truly respects anika and accepts his love for her with pride. Only recently he had shown attraction acc to me.

I wont compare with real life. In real life nobody is given so many chances to even know each other, specially ppl from completely different backgrounds. If mallika did not dump him expecting dreamy love, he would be aleady married.
vivacious_gurl thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
bang on...its a marriage of unequals...
we as shivika fans want shivaay to accept anika ... but in reality when each one of us even thinks before we make frnds with people... let alone marriage...in arranged marriages [parents do look at status , family background etc before thinking about an alliance. shivaay has certain standards of his partner and whatever happens anika can never fit those standards... anika is a nice girl but she isnt educated and classy enuf to match SSO...

u voiced out all the points beautifully...
FlauntPessimism thumbnail
Liked the post awesome in itself
I liked your point in the sense that not only Shivaaaye but also Anika needs to head towards Shivaaaye which her constant try to reach out to him n shouting about truth isn't an attempt

I think first and foremost she should stop using those slangs it seems indecent.
Sakkiyah thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Awesome post..
The shivika marriage the questions you asked is relevant.
We fans always love them together...
It will be tough journey both Shivaay and Anika to reach their destination.
The inequality we discussed here..
But they have some common characters.
1; Shivaay and Anika both love their family,Anika is a orphan,but she loves his little brother sahil...
2;They are ready to sacrifice their happiness for their loved ones..

Krantikari thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Very interesting & insightful post.

Agreed that if we think realistically, ShivIka don't belong together at all. But then again, IB is a fictional show so I don't look for realism here...and tbh judging the show by it's current state, it shouldn't be taken seriously at all.😆

Re. your first question:

Annika wants to be with Shivaay. I think that has been made pretty clear by her accepting her marriage with SSO. If you go back and watch old episodes, like episode 93 in the sherwani scene, she asked him to reconsider his decision to marry Tia. Obviously hinting that his decision to marry Tia upset her greatly. And then skip forward to the aftermath of Dev illegitimate drama...there was a ShivIka scene in the kitchen where Annika expressed her disappointment at Shivaay when he said that he would never form an alliance with a person without NKK. Here she reinforced her desire to marry him. She always did want to marry him, so now that she has finally married him, she will obviously accept it without factoring in actual premise of the marriage before making such a lifelong decision. She wants to stay in this marriage and despite knowing that there is no future to this marriage, she is clinging on desperately to this bubble (6 months contract period) because she can happily play the role of his 'wife' till then. I am not judging her for accepting the marriage, just stating my reasons why I think Annika wants to be with SSO.

And no, she is not staying back to SAVE his life. That's just an excuse, and I don't buy it. Chalo toh maan liya, she has accepted the role of his wife (because she loves him and has accepted him with all his flaws). At least a TINY bit of dignity can be shown while playing this role, no? Why constantly running after him forever, only to be dismissed in the end each and every time? Telling Tia off, patni vs sautan, MERA pati. 😕 Why declare to the world that he is YOUR pati after he has declared another woman as his wife? All this leaves a bad taste in the mouth. And I try not to judge Annika harshly because I figure this might be done for TRPs. Still Annika's character takes a hit every time...And please don't say she is doing all this for HIS family. I think yesterday's episode pretty much made it clear that only he matters to her truly.😛

But yes, SSO does not want to be with Annika in the LONG run, for sure...he hasn't signed the divorce papers cuz he likes having her around and literally chokes at the thought of her leaving. But he has no intentions of giving a proper name to their relationship AT ALL. He is still very much hanging on to his NKK beliefs.

Re. your second question:

I think both are in love with each other but both are at different stages of love. Annika seems to be ahead of SSO.😊 Annika's love for Shivaay is completely unconditional, his love for her is not. And they both do trust each other, NOW...after Daksh MU was cleared. And yes, there is mutual respect. But I don't think there is any equality cuz Annika willingly lets SSO have the upper-hand every time (maybe because she loves him). He takes all the decisions in their relationship so she can't be his equal here.

Re. your third question:

He did respect her before the marriage as well, but never as an equal. But as a special 'someone' who he was harboring secret feelings for. But that MU did shatter his respect for her which he has now gained back after MU was cleared. Now with the newly gained trust, I hope that he does not let his respect shatter as easily & quickly any more. He was passive when Tia was insulting Annika cuz he is at a vulnerable position (he believes) wrt Tia, he can't afford to openly call her out/criticise her atm (I can't understand his reasons for this but it might be cuz she is preggers). What Tej said was demeaning, but it was the bitter truth. And a good reality check for both Shivaay & Annika. Especially Annika, who is living in a bubble right now.

Re. your last questions:

1)Yes, both are in love but at different stages.

2) No, SSO is not yet ready to accept Annika without her NKK. But yes, I think Annika might be willing to change herself for SSO.

3) I hope for a divorce/separation but I know at the back of my head that is not happening, so hopefully towards mutual acceptance and SSO declaring Annika as his wife in front of society & not just taking her for granted as his secret indulgence.
NidhaA thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Let's highlight one fact first : This is TV , next this is a Gul Khan show and lastly this is story is also going the tried and tested route no matter how much we deny it.
Shivaay and Anika are as starkly opposite as possible. Neither of them are perfect. Though I did enjoy the dung slinging thar is no way for a dignified lady to react. Breaking the glass would also be considered unruly in the real world. As far as respect is concerned any real woman would have long ago walked away from Mr Shivaay Oberoi because he has no respect for any human being he consider below his stature no matter how good that person is.

Please do not tell me in TV shows there is no need for logic because stories are a reflection of reality. Yeah a rich man can fall for a middle class girl. But a middle class girl with self respect, who is resourceful and who has created her own way through life will not take all the insults and yet choose to be with that man.

I am sure many of you watch English series. There might even be shows without logic there but most shows I have watched I have found it well connected with reality especially where love and feelings are concerned.

I belive that our writers have exemplary talent but in the raise for trp all that is lost.
blackorwhite thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Interesting post.. My comments below

Originally posted by: aprilsunrise

Disclaimer: This post does not mean am condoing any of the stupid SSO behavior

My 1st Question- Is there the willingness? Do both Anika and Shivaay WANT to be together?
Ans:
Now, there is.. Anika wants to be with Shivaay for sure as it has been established time and again post marriage
Shivaay is conflicted - no surprise there - He wants Anika because he subconsciously NEEDS her but he does not want to be with her because his head says that his image will suffer if he is associated with Anika.. The stupid NKK😡
Anika does have the potential to be his alpha female.. In addition to standing with him against the big bad world, she also has the power to stand up to him and question him - bas TRPs beech mein aa jaate hain 😭.. But if you remember, since the beginning she has always questioned SSO and stood up to him..
Also, they have this secret language that only these 2 can understand - no not taddi but the way Anika can read SSO's eyes and the way he tries to communicate with his kanji eyes.. 😆
They are compatible in a very incompatible way.. If you just at them at face value, nothing works.. but watch them interact with each privately and give them a chance to forget everything else around them, they are just perfect together.. 😊

My 2nd Question- (for love) Do they love each other?
Interesting.. Nope I don't they love each other right now.. Both of them only know 1 pure form of emotion - Love for their sibling.. I doubt that they know what this wala 'Love' is 😊& they both don't even believe in it..
They are on their journey to discover love right now
Level 1 has been crossed - Trust has been gained.. They have understood each other importance in their life.. They have seen the other than person in their best, worst, weakest and strongest moments.. They know they can rely on the other person if they need help..
Now, they are in Level 2 - Respect and Right(HAQ) which we will discuss further in your next question 😊
If the near death experience where SSO had almost lost his so called love could not get SSO to confess his LOVE, I don't know what will??

I had the same question after the kidnapping drama.. If a near death experience can't make him realize them what will.. And the answer again is that subconsciously he knows but he is conflicted and until all the conflicts are resolved, love can't win..
Are they friends? Naah I don't think so.. They are more than friends and they know it.. The HAQ that they show.. 😊
Are the equal? Unfortunately no... Shivaay has made most of the decision in this relationship.. He has dealt and played all the cards... and Anika has just responded to his moves.. My big complaint with this relationship - there is not balance at all - Shivaay is at fault and Anika is not at fault.. Shivaay is black & Anika is white.. This relationship can't work this way.. I think now the CVs are showing some Anika faults(her impulsive nature) and Shivaay's strength(how he deals with his family) and trying to bring back the balance.. 😊

My 3rd Question- Do they respect each other?
Do they respect each other?
Anika respects Shivaay.. She always has.. Unfortunately, post MU clearing Shivaay respects her but publicly, he is still constrained by his stupid NKK principles.. So no he does respect her.. He would have stood up for her if he did.. I will actually give him thoda benefit of doubt.. Maybe he had not introspected on their marriage as is the case with emotionally stunted character and Tej's speech will now make him think & the next time something like this happen, he will stand up for his wife's respect.. let's see. 😊
With Tia - I think he is still calculating all the moves he has available and hence keeping a poker face and not letting her guess what next? Am I hoping for too much from Billuji?😆
My last but most important set of questions-
What next?
Respect & HAQ/right
Ego & principle clashes
understand why the other person is the way they are
Experiencing life/future together
Grow old marooing taadi 😆
Are they in love?
Answered above.. Not right now but on their way to understand love..
If yes, Are both willing to change for the other (either their beliefs in case of SSO and the lifestyle to suite the position of Alpha Female in the case of Anika)?
I want SSO to actually understand the impact of NKK on Anika and their relationship and then evolve and fix the problem due to it.. He will be willing to change once he understand Anika > NKK.. Uske liye time hai..
Anika is the more understanding among of the two and IMO, she is already the Alpha female.. 😆just needs a bit more finesse..
Where is this marriage headed?
Hopefully a well-deserved separation to repair the cracks due to the forced marriage and then a journey with ups and downs to discover love together ...

Edited by blackorwhite - 9 years ago
Krantikari thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: UmIbrahim

Please do not tell me in TV shows there is no need for logic because stories are a reflection of reality. Yeah a rich man can fall for a middle class girl. But a middle class girl with self respect, who is resourceful and who has created her own way through life will not take all the insults and yet choose to be with that man.

I am sure many of you watch English series. There might even be shows without logic there but most shows I have watched I have found it well connected with reality especially where love and feelings are concerned.

I belive that our writers have exemplary talent but in the raise for trp all that is lost.

I am sorry, but there is no comparison of English TV shows/sitcoms with Indian TV wrt logic. Indian TV shows are mostly illogical & English series are (usually) not. Since this is IB forum, I would assume that people are talking about Indian TV shows when they say TV shows don't have any logic. There is always a need of logical progression in any story, but there is no point in having any such expectation from IB because it is bound to result in disappointment.