I use award trophies as doorstops: Rishi Kapoor

touch_of_pink thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 8

I use award trophies as doorstops'

Rishi Kapoor bemoans the current state of film awards

Subhash K Jha

Rishi Kapoor is outraged by way popular awards are being doled out to all and sundry. "I couldn't believe it when they recently gave an award to Parineeti Chopra for losing weight. Can someone please give me an award for gaining weight?" quips Kapoor.

Says Rishi, "I never did believe in popular awards. It's gotten much worse now. I use award trophies as doorstops in my home. What they have done to film awards is truly tragic. They've reduced them to trivia. Shameless. Agar sabko khush karna hai toh phir award ka matlab kya hua?"

Rishi laments the commercialisation of the awards. "It's all for television now. One or the other of these awards keep playing in some corner of the world. I've personally seen our awards functions being televised in Mauritius, New York, Los Angeles and many other parts of the world."

This year, Rishi Kapoor has received another lifetime achievement award. "It's my fourth or fifth lifetime achievement award. They pleaded with me to accept it. They think my work is over, so they keep giving me lifetime achievement awards. But my work continues irrespective of whether they give me an award or not."

Published Date: Jan 28, 2016

http://epaper.dnaindia.com/story.aspx?id=86625&boxid=36860&ed_date=2016-01-28&ed_code=820004&ed_page=1

-Vaishvi- thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Rishi Kapoor is outraged by way popular awards are being doled out to all and sundry. "I couldn't believe it when they recently gave an award to Parineeti Chopra for losing weight. Can someone please give me an award for gaining weight?" quips Kapoor.

🤣

This year, Rishi Kapoor has received another lifetime achievement award. "It's my fourth or fifth lifetime achievement award. They pleaded with me to accept it. They think my work is over, so they keep giving me lifetime achievement awards. But my work continues irrespective of whether they give me an award or not

grounder thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Hmmm .. why did he accept those awards then? 🤣
Hypocrite much!! Everyone has become a politician these days, they all do shit but when they talk to media, they talk the stuff that goes with the popular public trend.
fivestars thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
^^ LMAO

blue-ice. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
"I couldn't believe it when they recently gave an award to Parineeti Chopra for losing weight. Can someone please give me an award for gaining weight?" quips Kapoor.
🤣🤣 🤣
ani_gr thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail
😆.. thats really funny... how he is trashing awards.. then why did he come and accept the award... If they begged him to take the award, he could have refused it instead of using them as h is door stops...😲😆.. wow..
grounder thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: ani_gr

😆.. thats really funny... how he is trashing awards.. then why did he come and accept the award... If they begged him to take the award, he could have refused it instead of using them as h is door stops...😲😆.. wow..

Guess RK's 38 crores per film wasn't enough for them to buy their own doorstops ⭐️
643898 thumbnail
Then why do u accept them or encourage these functions? Take a stand like Aamir,Ajay
Edited by Deathstroke - 9 years ago
Spillthetea thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Give me a award too! I just shaved my arms😆
ImagineMe thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Each year the backlash is getting stronger... this year so many articles on this topic. Almost put all the recent victories underwater.🤣

I watched a few snippets of recent awards online... MAHA BORING. The recipients bored, the live audience bored and then of course - Us, the people... skip the show. 😆

Kudos to all those who stay away from this mess 🤢 🤢 🤢!