"I want to rule the music industry"
- Emon ChatterjeeThe heartbeat of Indian Idol is eliminated. Everyone loved this prankster with a golden heart and a bubbly personality. Yes, it is Emon Chatterjee we're talking about. Hardly 18 years old, this powerhouse of talent showed amazing courage on stage by not shedding a single tear, while everybody else including Mini and Anu Maliik, cried for him. He came across as a brave soldier, who is ready to take the Indian film industry by storm.
You seem to have taken the verdict quite sportingly. Or are you hiding your disappointment?
I am not hiding anything. Definitely I am sad that I've to leave now. I'll miss everyone. But it's ok… it is a part of the game. It could have been anyone's turn this time. It could have been Prashant bhaiya or it could have been me. Now I'll go out of here, practice hard and become the best singer. I promise that to those who voted for me.
Did you expect it?
I did expect it today. We have come to a stage in the contest when anyone can be eliminated. It could have been Amit or Prashant, too. If I was shocked then I would have cried a lot and said 'I don't want to go'. I didn't say a single word. Today was my turn to go… it's that simple.
Does this verdict prove that Prashant and Amit are better singers than you?
I won't say better singers… but it is for sure that my training helped me a lot in my good singing, while Prashant bhaiya has never received training… still he sings well. This is a huge thing. Apart from this, he is a very good human being. He is the best person I've ever met… so honest and so down-to-earth. Even if he scolds me I like it because he considers me his younger brother.
About Amit bhaiya, from day one I said that he has the talent to be the Indian Idol. Everybody says that I look and sing like Sonu Nigam. But Amit is one guy who doesn't resemble anyone. He is original. No one ever said that he imitates anyone and he consistently gave good performance. He is an able candidate to be the Indian Idol.
Do you imitate Sonu Nigam consciously or it is just a coincident?
Absolutely not. I never consciously imitate him. And I don't believe I sound like Sonu Nigam at all. Two people can be similar in looks and voice… it can happen everywhere. It is just a coincidence. Why should I imitate him? After all he is already there in the music industry… why would people take me if he is already there… why should I imitate someone who is ruling the music industry?
Javed declared that you can neither make it as a playback singer nor as a stage performer. Are you willing to challenge him and prove him wrong?
I don't want to comment on that… I guess he was hurt or irritated by something… it's ok… he is an elder and he is the best lyricist in India… I'd rather not talk about his talent. But he advised me that I shouldn't sound like Sonu Nigam and I'll defiantly work hard to sound different. I have a dream that one day I'll sing a song written by him and composed by Anu Maliik. Hope, it comes true one day.
You said that you want to be a true Indian Idol. Tell us about it.
I meant that I want to be an Idol in the true sense. The real idol for the masses… the people of India. I've seen young guys and girls who are very talented singers, but because their parents don't encourage them, they can't pursue music. Parents still believe doctors and engineers are the only people who earn a good living. I want to change that… I want to take music career to new heights. I want to rule the music industry.
Who would you vote for? Amit or Prashant?
I'll vote for both. But otherwise I would pray that Amit bhaiya wins. It's not that Prashant bhaiya is not good. He is a good singer, but Amit bhaiya is even better. I want Amit Paul to be the Indian Idol.
What are your future plans?
I want to work a lot harder on my voice and be the best singer in India. After my board exams I want to come back to Mumbai to start my career in the film industry.
Will you try acting?
If I get a chance then I'll definitely give it a try. But the deal would be that I get to sing for myself in the movie. I would like to be like Kishore Kumar—who was a good actor, composer, music director, lyricist and producer all packed into a single personality. I would like to be a versatile performer.
One thing that you've gained here that you'll cherish for life?
The comments of the judges. Those golden words will be with me for life and that is the most important thing that I've gained here. They will help me improve my voice. Each word is worth lakhs of rupees. They are priceless.
'I think voting system should be 50% public votes and 50% judges' choice.'
- - Meiyang ChangMeiyang Chang has been every girl's favorite contestant, whether it is Mini or Alisha or the screaming teenagers sitting among the audiences. His good looks, coupled with a great voice and distinct style of presentation makes him irresistible as a contestant. His elimination was a rude shock for everyone, including himself.
Q. Are you angry that the public has voted you out despite your good performance?
Ans: I am not angry. I can't be angry with public, as there was a time when I was not singing well. At that time even I got ahead due to public votes. That's why I never said anything against public voting.
I can't blame anybody as the public has the right to choose whom they want to. At the same time, I feel it could have been a 50/50 voting system. 50% public voting and 50% judges' choice. But if that that was the rule then I wouldn't have been here today. Probably from the next time, they can consider this. It will help those who have worked hard to be better singers through the show.
Q. Your last performance was better than Emon's; do you think he should have gone instead of you?
Ans: If Emon had gone, then it would have been a total flop show. Emon is superb and he has to be in the finals. Honestly, Ankita should have gone. She was pitted against Puja, and she is till there. She was pitted against Deepali, and she is still here. Puja and Deepali are definitely better singers than her.
Q. So do you think Ankita should have gone, not you?
Ans: Maybe, maybe. Nobody is bad, somebody is good and somebody is a little weaker then that…. if you consider a person's voice, how good he is with music etc. I don't think I am that good. I am confident but I never put myself against some of the trained singers. At this stage, I am not that great. If I have to rate then I'll rate Prashant, Ankita and me at the same level. Each one of us has our strong points and our weak points. Maybe I should've gone ahead, but never mind.
I guess Ankita has something that others don't…. and public has voted her for her strong points. I wish her all the best!
Q. Do you think performance is more important or singing?
Ans: I'll give it an 80:20 ratio. 80 for singing and 20 for performance. In the audio-visual medium performance enhances the entire experience but it can never be at the cost of singing. You can't go off tune and perform well after that.
Q. Has Indian Idol changed your focus in life? You are a dentist, now you seem to have transformed into a full-time singer.
Ans: Yes, I've found my true calling, and at present I want to really work hard with my singing. I want to get good training and emerge. It's not that now that I got voted out, so I want to prove something to someone. It's just that now people have noticed me now. They like my voice so I want to make the most of this opportunity and grab the best of offers that I get.
Q. What is your future plan? Do you want to do playback?
Ans: I want to learn music from a good trainer. At the same time, i want to go and meet the music directors & struggle to make my place in the industry. Playback singing is very competitive. Before plunging into it, I want to improvise myself. Perhaps cut an album of mine and then I'll definitely be ready. But if someone calls me in the meantime with some offers then I'll definitely grab the opportunity. I just want to become better and better and better.
Q. Do you want to continue with your dentist practice?
Ans: At this point of time, it will take a backseat. My focus right now is to be related to the industry. I don't know how but I've to figure it out. I want to come back with a bang! I want to see what opportunities I will get out here. For instance, Suhit has done an ad for Kit Kat. People are getting breaks because of Indian Idol. I want to see if something good is waiting for me too.
Q. Alisha looks heartbroken that you're out. Will you miss her too?
Ans: Alisha madam has always praised me a lot. She is an amazingly sweet person. She even walked out of the stage when they declared I was out but I didn't want her to take such a drastic step. I was glad when she came back and gave me this cap as a memento. I will keep it as a precious gift for the rest of my life.
Q. Do you think they're being honest with their judgement?
Ans: With me, I've always felt that they have been honest. In fact, I can make out from their reactions only, if they like my song or not. If they like it, they praise openly, if they don't, then they don't want to break their heart. So they'll just say they're happy. By that only you can gage, what they're feeling. I am pretty happy with their response.
Q. Any message to the public?
Ans: Thank you very much for bringing me till here. There are just 4 people left now, so please vote sensibly and do not forget me. Please remember me till I come back as an even better singer.
"Compared to Deepali and me, Ankita is nothing!"
- Puja ChatterjeePuja's elimination came as a shock to everyone, including Puja and her parents who refused to believe the news. She was so shaken and hurt that we found the sweet and demure Puja transformed into a volcano of anger after the elimination. She spoke out against those who don't value trained singers and, instead, choose to vote for the stage performers. Excerpts from the interview:
Did you expect the elimination?
No, not at all. I was shell-shocked. My last performance was outstanding. I am really confused about how the public is voting. I hope they are voting for singing and not just because someone shakes a leg. I am scared for my friends now—Emon and Amit are the only two singers left in the contest. Hope the public does justice with them.
Do you agree with Ankita's statement that stage performance is as important as singing?
I want to talk straight now, I am not scared of anyone. I seriously wonder now, what is the value of the rigorous training I've undergone. The public is throwing out trained singers, who have knowledge of the grammar and punctuation of singing, and is retaining those who don't know the A, B, C of singing. It seems our hard work has no value.
I still think Ankita is wrong. Stage shows are important, but finally we have to do playback singing. We have to sing for albums. If your singing is not up to the mark no one will let you stay even for a minute. And for me performance is the expression of a song while singing. I have just one thing to say: if any music director calls her today, he will see if she can sing perfectly, not whether she can dance. And Anu Maliik himself said that if he had to choose someone for playback singing, he'll choose either Deepali or me. And for stage shows it would be Ankita.
What is your opinion about public voting?
I totally lost faith in audience voting after Deepali was voted out. Ok, I don't mind that I am out, but how can Deepali be voted out? She is a fantastic singer. Everybody called me Sunidhi Chauhan and Deepali Shreya Ghoshal. Compared to us Ankita is nothing. Honestly, Ankita is nothing as a singer. For singing even a single harkat she asks us if it is right. She doesn't have a clue about singing.
Any message for the public?
I want to request them to vote sensibly. They should listen minutely before voting because someone's career is at stake. I want to ask the audience if a person is not able to sing in sur after a week's practice, how will they perform after two hours of practice in a studio? People should vote for those who are singing well… not those who can dance or is well dressed is good looking. These things shouldn't matter. Nothing should matter other than singing.
Who has been your favourite judge and why?
My favourite judge is Anu Maliik. That is because he always supports trained singers like Deepali, Emon, Amit and me. He has also declared on camera that he will give Deepali and me a chance to sing in his next film. I am really grateful to him and look forward to working with him.
What are you future plans?
I plan to come back to Mumbai this month along with Deepali. We both will stay together and struggle to make it. We want to challenge everyone. We want to show them what we are capable of. Today, we have been eliminated, but tomorrow we will be back. If we have to knock on the door of every music director, we are ready to do it.
How did your parents react?
They still can't believe that I have been eliminated. They just told me to always believe in myself. We have to lose some to gain some. If singers like Lataji and Kishoreda can struggle, why can't we struggle? My parents are with me.
Among the remaining singers, who do you think are the strongest?
I think Emon and Amit are the only singers left now. The rest are just competing for the title. They're bent on winning. They don't sing from the heart. A true singer sings because he loves singing. You've to fall in love with a song to sing it from your heart.
Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?
I want to become the next Asha Bhosle. She is such a versatile singer, but does she dance on stage? Look at Lataji, does she dress up to sing on stage? No, they don't. I want to follow their footsteps and sing like them.
"It was the most shocking moment of my life"
- DeepaliA few minutes after her elimination, Deepali woke up to the fact that this was a final farewell. Her fans were heartbroken, so were the judges who had always favoured this multi-talented girl. But the aspiring RJ stood tall, trusting in her abilities. Ready to make a mark in media, Deepali vowed to come back with a bang!
How did you feel when you heard you were eliminated?
I couldn't believe it. I simply couldn't because my performance was very good, much better than the other contestants. When they announced my name I was dumbfounded. The voting system is so unpredictable that it is important for us to be prepared for any kind of verdict. In fact, I thought it would either be Puja or Ankita, whose performances were not good in the last Gala. But then you can't do anything about destiny.
Who do you think will be among the top three?
Amit will definitely be there till the end. He will most probably become the Indian Idol. The other two people who will be in the Top 3 will be Emon and Chang.
Will you miss Meiyang Chang?
Chang is a dear friend. There was nothing between us. The media created it all. It's always interesting to have some kind of romantic story in a competition like this. People like talking about those who are in the limelight. I request you to please let the rest of the contestants perform in peace. Don't bother them with such rumours.
Who is responsible for you going out—the janta or the judges?
I have no grudges against anyone. No one is responsible for this. This was my destiny. My fans have been with me throughout. They've been voting for me right from the beginning. I guess in the end they didn't know how many votes were needed. I thank them wholeheartedly.
What are your plans for the future? Do you still want to be an RJ?
Definitely. I am planning to shift to Mumbai soon and study Mass Communication. I want to the join media. I want to pursue a career in music, too, and want to work real hard for it. This is not the end for me, this is just a beginning.
You are a celebrity today. Who would you thank for this achievement?
I would just like to thank my mother and father for everything that I've achieved today. They pushed me for the Indian Idol auditions. And then there was no looking back.
What is the reaction of your parents?
I haven't met my parents yet. I know they're heartbroken because they wanted to see me as the Indian Idol.
Any regrets? Do you think you should have worked harder?
No matter how much we work, it is never enough. I definitely think that I could have done better. And, from now on, I will make sure that I give my best in everything I do.
Any message for your fans?
I just want to thank everybody who voted for me. I am overwhelmed by their love and support. I am grateful to them that they gave me this platform to sing. I have made my mark in the hearts of the people, now I have to take it forward.
"As an Army officer's son, I am a fighter"
- Parleen Singh GillParleen has been a favourite among the girls and his performances were almost always superb. So, naturally, his elimination came as a shock to his fans. We spoke to Parleen soon after the show. Quite surprisingly, he came across as balanced and in full control of his emotions.
We are very sorry. Did you expect this?
I didn't expect this at all. My performance was good, the judges had liked it, my manager and even the people on the sets had said it was good. This was totally unexpectedly, a total shock to me.
What went wrong?
At this moment, I am completely blank. I cannot think much. See, public voting has always been unpredictable, but the people around me said that in the last episode a lot of stress was laid on the public to vote for the girls. Maybe because of that a lot of votes went to the girls this time. As a result, one of the guys had to go and so I am the victim.
If not you, who could have been out today?
It is difficult to say anything. We thought it would surely be a girl even today. There were two girls in the bottom 3, but see what happened!
Did you expect to be among the Top 9?
Well, that is not something you can predict. I am a big fan of Abhijeet Sawant. I made up my mind to participate in Indian Idol 2 after I saw him win. In Indian Idol 2, I was among the top 50. After I was eliminated, I was even more determined to make it. I went for music training for a year in Ambala and this year, I made it to the Top 9. It is unbelievable; I think it is a great achievement for me.
Do you have any grudges against the janta?
From Top 28, the janta voted for me and got me into the Top 9. So how can I hold any grudges against them? Even if I was in the danger zone four times, it was because some people didn't vote for me. But when I think of the loyal fans who voted and saved me until now, all I want to do is thank them from the bottom of my heart.
What are your future plans?
I would like to make a career in singing. But I would also like to keep my options open and take up whatever opportunity I get, whether it is in acting or modelling. Basically, I will struggle to make it big. My life starts now. It's not the end; it's just the beginning. I am from Ambala. I'll go home now and meet my parents. But I will definitely come back to Mumbai with a bang!
People say your looks helped you come this far. Do you agree?
I know what people are saying, but I have sung tough songs like Ramta jogi. These are not easy to sing because they need a classical base to sing them. Also, when the Galas started, I had got hurt while shooting for Roobaroo. A camera fell on my head and I had to get stitches. For 10 days I couldn't wash my hair and I looked awful with hair flowing like Jaadu! But I still sang and people voted for me.
Do you hold any grudges against the judges?
No, I want to thank each of the judges personally. Their comments were very encouraging. They've always inspired us to perform better—Anu Maliik and Javedji with their straightforward comments, Alisha with her smiling face, and Uditji with his sweet comments. I'll miss everything related to Indian Idol.
Fans said they watched the show because of me!
- Charu SemwalIt was a shock for Charu Semwal's fans when she was voted out of Indian Idol. The girl herself couldn't believe it and begged the judges to give her another chance. Here is an exclusive interview with the singer:
Was the elimination totally unexpected?
I never thought that I would be out. There was no time for us to even think about what was happening. Before I could grasp the situation, they declared I was out. I was shocked. I still am.
Do you hold any grudge against the janta?
It is their love and blessings that has helped me reach this far. I was among the Top 10 in Indian Idol. People know me today. I don't think it was because of lack of votes that I got eliminated; I think my luck was not favourable.
When I returned to Dehradun, people received me with garlands and there was a huge crowd before my house. With the kind of love they've showered on me, how can I blame them for not voting for me?
What do you think went wrong? Do you feel you focused more on your appearance than your singing?
Not at all. I worked very hard on my singing. But as they say, 80 per cent is hard work and the rest is destiny. I think my luck was not in my favour. I never believed in this earlier. But now I do because I know I lost because of bad luck.
You mean you are satisfied with your performance?
No, I am not satisfied. If a singer is ever satisfied, he or she can never improve. I participated in Indian Idol so I could improve myself. I am satisfied that I did all that I could.
Moreover, I was ill most of the time. I never showed that on camera. I lost 6 kg while I was on the show. I visited the doctor many times and did my best to perform well. So I don't have any regrets. I did my best till the end.
The judges criticised you in the last round. They were not satisfied with your performance.
The judges didn't compare me with other contestants. My performance in the Piano Round was excellent. They were telling me that in the Galas I was not performing as well.
So what are your future plans?
I want to make singing my career. I have confidence thanks to my fans. When I was voted out, I met so many fans who told me they were watching the show because of me. They said they didn't like Deepali, Puja or Ankita and that after my elimination they didn't think any girl could become the next Indian Idol.
Many girls told me they voted for me regularly and it was because they loved my voice. I am determined to make a career in Mumbai now.
"My senior officers will decide my future"
- Prashant TamangVery rarely do you meet a policeman who can sing romantic songs. Indian Idol contestant Prashant Tamang, from Darjeeling, is a constable with Kolkata police who dreamt of becoming a singer. Though he never received any training, he listened to songs and picked up tunes. Once in the force, he joined its orchestra group and soon became popular.
Today, with the encouragement of his seniors and fellow constables, he is one of the 11 finalists of Indian Idol. Now, this soft-spoken policeman dreams of becoming a playback singer.
A singing policeman on the stage of Indian Idol. How did this happen?
I am a police constable. I joined Kolkata police force in 2002 and was in the special action force till 2006. At the end of 2006, an orchestra was formed within the department and I got a chance to perform in it. I gained a lot of confidence facing the audience there.
I never really watch Indian Idol, I never had the time. My seniors and colleagues encouraged me to participate and it is because of them that I am here today.
Despite being in special action force, did you secretly dream of becoming a singer?
Yes, I did dream of becoming a singer, but never thought it was possible. My father was in police and so my family expected me to become a policeman, too. But now I have the support of my colleagues.
Are you married? Or do you have a girlfriend?
No, I am not married. And I don't have a girlfriend yet.
How do you rate your chances of winning the title?
Every contestant here is talented, some of them much more than me. I can win only if I perform really well. I want to request the janta to vote for the best singers. True talent should come up. India needs good singers and the deserving one should get the votes.
I don't want to leave my friends behind just to climb the ladder. They're like my family now. It makes me sad when anyone is eliminated.
Will you give up your job if you win the title?
If I win the title, I will do is talk to my seniors in the force and consult them about what to do. I've to get their permission. Of course, I dream of becoming a playback singer, but at the moment there are tough decisions to be taken.
I cannot leave the police force. It is because of them that I am here today. We'll just have to see what happens later.
Which music directors do you dream of working with?
My favourite music directors are Jatin Lalit. If I win, and get a chance to sing for them, it will be a dream come true.
Who is your favourite judge and why?
Anu Maliik. He is very straightforward and says what is right, on your face. I don't feel bad about it—it is important that we know our flaws at this stage.
Why are the performances a little low key in the Galas?
Yes, I agree the performances are not up to the mark. I guess we all are very tense and under pressure. Performances will definitely be better this week. I am trying hard to improve my performance.
You looked good in your suit. Are you concentrating on grooming yourself?
If we look good, we will become popular and thus get more votes. That is the only reason for my interest in designer clothes. Now that we have designers working for us, I would definitely like to take advantage of the opportunity.
Any message for your fans?
I am the first Nepali to be on this stage. I am sure my achievement is a matter of pride for the whole Nepali community across the world.
"Designer dresses and latke jhatke are secondary"
- Puja ChatterjeePuja Chatterjee, one of the most talented singers on Indian Idol started singing at the tender age of four. A student of the singer Ajay Chakraborty from Kolkata, her control over her voice and rhythm is outstanding. She won many local and national talent hunt competitions till date. Though she stays in a boarding school at Indore, where there is no TV, her parents heard about Indian Idol and enrolled her for the auditions. Since then there has been no looking back for this powerhouse of talent.
What are your chances of winning the title among the other contestants?
I have been learning music since I was four. As a result, I can say I am the senior among the other contestants. [Laughs]. Here, most of the singers have either just started learning or have been training for the last six months or a year.
Of course, it doesn't mean I'm the best. But I am more experienced and I concentrate more on my singing. My expression of a song is the best among others and I hope the audiences are noticing the difference. Honestly, I do believe I should become the next Indian Idol.
How important do you think good looks and on-stage presentation are?
I don't pay much attention to my presentation on stage. For me perfection of singing and holding the right tune and rhythm is the single most important thing. I believe that one should understand the lyrics of the song and sing it with feeling; performance will shape up automatically. Dancing doesn't work when you're off key. I just pay attention to my expressions and my overall performance is enhanced by it.
What is your ambition? Who do you idolise when it comes to singing?
I wish to become a versatile playback singer and work with all the music directors in the industry. I don't want to take a single name like A R Rahman or Anuji… my ambition is to work with everyone. They all have different styles of presenting their music.
I idolise Lataji, Kishore Kumar and Asha Bhosle.
Your performance in the first Gala was a let down. Were you very upset?
It happens. No singer can perform without faltering. If you remember, Javedji said that Sachin can't make a century in every innings. Sometimes he gets out for zero, too. I scored a zero in the first Gala, but the next one will be a century for sure. And I'll make sure I keep on hitting centuries.
In case you don't make it to the Top 5, will you go back to Dhanbad?
In case my journey ends here, it won't be the end of the world. This is not my only aim—I want to be a playback singer. I'll definitely come back to Mumbai. I am sure many music directors are watching the show and have noticed my talent. Indian Idol has given me the platform I wanted. Now I've to leap higher. I will approach the music directors, knock on their doors. I'll struggle like other singers.
"Indian Idol is a turning point in Meiyang's life"
- Gaichen Chang, Meiyang's mother"I've never seen him so driven," said Gaichen Chang, Meiyang Chang's mother. She runs a beauty parlour in Dhanbad. Meiyang's father is a dentist and the reason why Meiyang never thought twice before joining the college of dentistry.
So when did a career in music come into the picture? Gaichen smiled and said she had never known Meiyang was serious about a career in music, till Indian Idol happened.
"You can say that Indian Idol is a turning point in Meiyang's life," she said. Meiyang had gone to Bangalore to take the MDS entrance, but then he called up to tell his parents that he had cleared the audition for Indian Idol. "We were surprised. We had seen the show earlier, but had never had a clue about how big it was," she said. "The people in Dhanbad are praying for Meiyang. He is a hero there."
Meiyang has always been multi-talented. He was a good painter in school. In college, he used to participate in music competitions and has won many prizes. Surprisingly, he never received any training in music. Gaichen had thought music was a passing phase for him. At Dhanbad, a music career was no career at all, and shifting to Mumbai was never an option. "But we'll support him in everything he does. We want him to make the best of whatever he wants to do," his mother said.
Meiyang has got a surprisingly huge fan following through the show. And it is not just because of his singing; his looks contributed to it as well. It seems he gets more votes from girls than from guys. Geichang smiled when she heard about it. So, does he have a girl friend? She shook her head: "Not as far as I know." But then if the girls keep chasing him, who knows?
What are his chances of winning? According to his mother, the contenders are quite strong. Charu and Deepali are very talented. But Meiyang is also among the best in the show. "Whatever the audiences decide, we'll take it sportingly," she said. "He should make the best of whatever God has given him."
"I've lost my faith in public voting"
- Bhavin DhanakBhavin Dhanak was undoubtedly one of the most talented singers in Indian Idol. His exit from the show left everyone shocked. But the guy himself is quite unshaken.
After his vote out, we found him sitting in the green room. Dressed in a blue striped shirt and cream trousers, he looked relaxed and, surprisingly, upbeat. When we asked him about his shocking elimination, he said with a sad smile: "Public voting se bharosa uth gaya hain."
Does he know why it happened? He said it could have been because he did not have a lively personality like Emon or Chang. Everyone noticed him only in the Piano Round. Although his performances were flawless (and he got amazing support and appreciation from the judges), the audiences remained oblivious to his potential. But this was not the end, he said.
So, what were his plans—going back to Dubai? No, he said, he has decided to stay back and fight it out—the mark of a truly passionate singer. So who was his idol? He said he would die to work with A R Rahman. But at the moment his aim was to return as a 'Wild Card' entry. "Let's see if I make it. If I don't, I'll go and knock on the doors of all the music directors," said the 23-year-old.
Would he consider doing stage shows? Yes, he said, it is a good way to meet your daily expenses. After all, staying in Mumbai by yourself is tough. Did he have any regrets? Bhavin looked sure when he said he did not want to change a thing. He was satisfied with his performance, but the next time, he said he would make sure that even the janta sat up and cheered.
"I'll go back to living a normal life"
- Suhit GosainIt's hard to believe that Suhit has never got any training in music. His lively voice, electric moves, immense stage presence and oodles of X factor had made him one of the most promising contestants on this year's Indian Idol. But when the time came for selecting the Top 10, the janta and the judges voted him out. But why?
We met Suhit in the green room, right after his elimination. He looked down and out. "I was never meant for a music career," he said. Does he feel so because of a single rejection? After all, there will be many other chances.
Suhit wants to do his MBA, and, most probably, rock the IT industry. He never thought he would make it to the Top 12. Music was never his agenda. In a way, he surprised himself. So why is he upset now?
"Well, as I started going up the ladder, I took it as a challenge. It always hurts when you're rejected," he said. "The judges discarded me. That's when I lost the game. But there is a second chance. Let's see then."
But one achievement he cannot deny is the female fan following he has across the country today. He smiled and said, "Well, I don't know about any girls being crazy about me, never came across one." That's being modest, isn't it Suhit?
"I walked out like an Indian Idol"
- Ankita MishraAnkita Mishra is a fiery performer—she sizzles, rocks and gets the audience on their feet. Little wonder then that an eminent lyricist like Javed Akhtar couldn't help but come onto the stage to dance with her.
But if she was, indeed, so immensely gifted, what went wrong? How could the audience choose a sweet Richa to the powerhouse Ankita?
After her elimination, Ankita was sitting quietly eating her lunch. She looked pale. When asked what was on her agenda next, she smiled and said she would give her best in the 'Wild Card' entry. A pragmatic girl, she said it would be great if she got through, but if she didn't then she would fight it out in the big bad world of Mumbai.
So she was planning to stay back in Mumbai? Yes, she nodded. She has always wanted to become a playback singer. It was time she struggled to achieve her dream. She said Indian Idol had given her an amazing platform and people now knew her. And considering she was just 17 with no formal training in music, it was a good beginning.
So how did she learn to sing so well? According to her, it was all thanks to Shobhan mandir and, of course, what she learnt along the way as she strived to enter the Top 10.
What was X-factor according to her? She said it was not just about looking good; it was also about how you perform and present yourself on stage. When asked if she had to face any politics on the show, she said 'not really'. But there definitely was rivalry. She said some acted like they were 10 years old to win public sympathy.
Was she talking about Richa? She changed the topic and said Chang or Parleen would win the title. According to her, among the girls, Charu had a fair chance. In the end, it's all in the hands of God, she said with a sad smile.