Feigning nonchalance, he asked her " So Miss.Nandini Moorthy, tum yahaan kya kar rahi ho? " Suddenly his eyes widened as he realized his earlier thought of imagining her in car was not imagination at all " Wait a minute ! did you sneak in through the back side of my car and traveled all the way here? Were you spying on me? "
Nandini nervously looked around before looking back at him " Uh Manik.Listen its not what you think.I - I wasnt spying on you "
Manik hid his smile,folded his arms across his chest and said sarcastically " Oh really? then what are you doing here?Farmhouse dekh ne aayi thi? Did you or did you not sneak in my car ? "
Nandini thought worriedly her eyes looking upwards 'Aiyappa kahan phas gayi hoon main.Now what will i tell Manik? Should i tell him about Soha?Will he believe me? '
Manik smiled at the adorable way she was mumbling to herself.No doubt talking to her Aiyappa, probably complaining about him for acting like a jerk.
Why is he even complaining? He is glad to see her.Finally deciding to let her off the hook, he cupped his hands on her cheeks and smiled at her "Forget it.I dont really care what made you follow me but am just glad you are here.I just wish you could have taken up my earlier offer and drove along with us instead of sneaking through the dickie door.You could have gotten hurt Nandini.It would have been so uncomfortable to travel with all those bags in the back side.Are you Ok? " He looked at her checking for some kind of injury.
Nandini smiled hearing the concern in his voice "Manik am fine.Kuch nahi hua mujhe.But that soha - " Manik interrupted her by placing a finger on her lips.
He shook his head "Don't Nandini.Don't spoil it.You were right.Soha is downright creepy.But i really dont want to talk about her now.Its just us tonight" He lovingly carrased her face and moved her long hair away from her face and placed it behind her ears gently "Do you have any idea how much i missed you? The thought of not seeing you for 3 days was seriously driving me crazy "
Nandini smiled at his heartfelt words and placed her hands on top of his, which was holding her face "I missed you too Manik.It was hard for me to say good bye to you earlier.Knowing i wont see for you for next three days.But because of that Soha i had to come.She is -- "
She stopped midway once again when Manik lightly kissed her nose and whispered " No not again.I dont want to hear one more word about Soha.She doesn't matter anyways "
"But Manik --" she stopped yet again when Manik kissed her forehead lovingly.For one endless moment they stood staring at each other lost in the other's eyes.
Suddenly realizing how close they were standing, Nandini stepped back blushing.She finally looked around ,her gaze falling on the bed and the reality of being locked with Manik alone in the room for the night hit her.
"Ma- Manik i - i should go " she stumbled unable to look at him in the eye.
Manik smirked sensing her sudden shyness and he couldn't help teasing her.He playfully carressed her arms with one hand "Go where ? Cabir just said Chachi gave you permission for night out.So you are staying here tonight with me "
Nandini's eyes widened " No ! I- i cant sleep in here with you "
Manik chuckled " If not here then where will you go? Do you want to share a room with Soha? or maybe Alya or Mukti? " he asked shooting her a evil grin.
Nandini shuddered hearing Soha's name.She glared at him" I will find some other place am not really sleepy" She said and proceeded to leave the room.
He held her hand and stopped her " Miss.Nandini Moorthy where do you think you are going? Do you want everybody to know that you sneaked in? " Nandini's eyes widened and she looked away thinking.
"As far as i can see you dont have any other choice but to bunk in here with me tonight.Waise bhi dont you know that its normal for friends to share a room ? " he said giving a smirk and a wink.
Nandini rolled her eyes " Really Manik?"
Manik Shrugged " Yep cabir bunks with me everyday.Friendship mei this is a must.So no more argument my Fraand " he said mocking a brow at her.
Nandini shook her head.This guy never leaves a chance go by.Every since she insisted on being friends he found one way or the other to be more close to her.Sometime she cant help but think he was playing her along by agreeing to their just friends pact.Not that she is complaining.Being close to Manik makes her feel alive and glow from within like the fireflies she adores.
"Fine " she replied grudgingly.She looked around the room and spotted a small couch at the end of the room.She moved towards the couch "I will sleep on this couch you take the bed" and once again Manik held her hand stopping her.
"God Nandini why are you so stubborn? This bed is large enough for both of us.And besides you had travelled the whole day on the back side of the car among the luggages.Your body must be aching.You cant sleep comfortably there" He said trying to make her see sense.
Nandini bit her lip knowing he is right.Her legs have been aching like hell from all the scrunching she had done to hide among the bags earlier.Infact her whole body seemed to have cramped.She looked at the bed doubtfully then back at him.
Manik sensing her uncomfortableness touched her shoulder gently and smiled " Nandini you dont have to feel uncomfortable.You - can - trust me "
Nandini smiled and touched held his hand in hers " Manik of-course i trust you.I trust you more than i trust myself "
Manik's heart skipped a beat at her absolute sense of trust in him.He cupped her face in his hands once again and after kissing her forehead softly yet again, he placed his forehead on hers and closed his eyes in contentment.
After few seconds he whispered softly " Nandini you dont know how much your trust means to me "
Nandini smiled and standing on tiptoe she gently pecked him on the cheek and whispered back " I know Manik "
Manik looked at her romantically and bent his head closer, his eyes straying to her full lips.When he was about to kiss her on the lips, he yelped suddenly from the punch Nandini playfully landed on his stomach.
"Hey no cheating.Am feeling sleepy so good night " She went to the other side of the bed trying to hide her smile at his frustrated expression.
"And haan Manik this is my side and that is yours got it? No crossing the border " she said doing an imaginary border between their sides.
Manik shrugged and lay down on his side.When Nandini turned to her side to close her eyes and sleep , Manik moved over her.Nandini yelped in surprise and hit him on the shoulder " Manik you cant cross the border ! "
Manik smiled " Come on now.We are not India and Pakistan.I just wanted to say good night to you "
Nandini rolled her eyes " I already said that.Good Night once again "
Manik tsked her " Che che che itna suna suna good night.This is our first night together Nandini it had to be special " With that he slowly kissed both her eyelids lovingly and finally tapped her nose whispering huskily " Good Night Miss.Nandini Moorthy "
Nandini's breath caught at his words and her heart was playing veena when he showered her eyes with soft kisses.She managed to squeak out " Good Night Manik" Manik smiled satisfactorily and moved to his side before switching off the light.
For few mins they both lay silently on their respective sides.Each unable to ignore the presence of the other on the bed.Manik began fidgeting restlessly.He found it impossible to sleep with Nandini hardly lying few feet from him.
With a frustrated sigh and making a quick decision, he moved to her side and pulled her into his arms tucking her head on his shoulder.Nandini uttered a startled "Hey! " and looked up at him " Manik what are you doing? "
Manik just shrugged " Dont be so cruel Nandini.I cant sleep this close to you and not have you in my arms.I promise i will behave myself.I just- I just want to hold you that's it.Please " He asked her permission shooting her a boyish smile.
Hearing the great monster Manik saying please made Nandini smile at the adorable way he pouted his lips looking at her eagerly for her permission.Throwing caution to the wind she nodded yes shyly.Manik grinned widely and cuddled her closer.They soon fell into a deep blissful sleep feeling safe in each other's arms.For now none of the other things matter except being held by each other.