priya1804 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Contrary to popular opinion, I really enjoyed the show today. Why? Because we got to see the flaws and depth of the character's and their bond. I'll go in order:
1) Nishu: Yes she is stubborn, yes she is selfish, yes she didn't budge till the end. But for the first time, I saw her vulnerable. She wasn't "Captain Jugaadu", running around solving everyone's problems. If you see her character description on the Starplus website, it describes as being reserved and not confiding with people about her own problems. She is so caught up in the act of being a tomboy and going to everyone's aid - whether it be Jwala, her dad, mom or other cousins, that she doesn't even realize how to solve her own problems. She did what a lot of people do - run away. Her weird dream and everyone praising her for looking pretty and beautiful was something I found really interesting. I can't pinpoint it exactly but ... its quite interesting to see how uncomfortable she was with the idea of wearing a lehenga and receiving everyone's praises. I am looking forward on this development. There is clearly something that's bothering her. And when Saurabh came and tried to knock sense into her - You could see it had an impact on her and she finally did manage to reach for the welcome dance (lets forget the aftermath). I also noticed how she completely closed off by telling Saurabh repeatedly to leave her.
So.. my point is yes she kind of did screw it up... but I honestly think her flaws add to her character and she isnt the perfect brave kid who goes around saving the day. And it leaves room for character development. Its a coming of age story and I am really looking forward to how she gets rid of her insecurities and hopefully starts to confide in people.

2) Umesh: I think.. he has just about had enough. Living in constant fear of his father and grandfather, constantly hearing their criticisms has finally made him reach the breaking point. And I can understand that. Its the typical gender roles hypocrisy - Can't a man be good at making food? Why does he have to receive hate and complains for cooking which is his deepest and fondest passion and being emotional? People describe as being 'girly' but I think Umesh and Nisha are wonderful characters who defy those typical gender roles and I applaud NAUK for portraying that. As for what happens in the precap - Like I said, he finally reached his breaking point. He has had enough. And it DOES NOT excuse his actions or whatever he will do but I can try and understand where he is coming from. And as for the cousins fight - I think its very natural that living in a joint family with cousins around your same age group will end up in dramatic fights and what not. I can recount so many of mine and my own cousins stupid fights and we aren't even that close as Umesh and Suketu are. Tempers will rise, Umesh will lose it, and relationships will be tested and I am really really looking forward to how they will emerge from that, and how their bond will strengthen as a result. But I must say, I was really shocked hearing Umesh has a girlfriend 😲
3) Ramesh: I LOVED how he got them out of this mess. It was amazing 😆. Again I am really looking forward to how he emerges from his drinking problem and makes his life turn around. Ramesh is such an amazing character - He is real and supportive, who doesnt come without his own set of problems - People with drinking problems are usually shown as abusers or creeps or basically, terrible and frightening people - But I loved how there is so much more to him. His struggle evokes such a strong sense of pity and empathy in me. There is so much scope for character development.

Ok sorry, I realized it got a little too long but just in defense in some of the characters here. There is so much scope for character development, so much potential in EACH and EVERY character of NAUK - whether it be Nisha, her father, Jwala etc all the other cousins to Dadaji and Umesh's father. Its a great show revolving around modern times, real struggles and problems.
Sorry If I offended anyone, I really didnt mean to and I would love if you guys shared your thoughts on this! 😊

Shwets1502 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 2
I was one of them who didn't like the episode😆
First of all, very nicely written. You have put forward your points very clearly.

I agree to your point that there is a lot of scope for character improvement. I have been telling that these flaws in Nisha makes her a real character. But the problem is, whatever Nisha did today cannot be justified. She has made a mistake and she cannot get through with it.

I had problem with the entire dance drama. There was no reason for Umesh to put on the lehenga and dance. They could have come up with a better witty idea. They wanted to save Nisha but not at the expense of the family reputation. More responsibility needed from the cousins.

Ramesh. He has been a very loving character. I liked the scene yesterday where he was trying to apologise to Lakshmi for what he had said the previous night. Not many would do that.

I am looking forward for the gradual improvement in the characters. I just don't want the CVs to justify a wrong thing even if it is for fun
cherry_1293 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail
nice analysis👍🏼
waiting for umesh and nisha charactes to unfold
priya1804 thumbnail
My thought in blue 😊

Originally posted by: Shwets1502

I was one of them who didn't like the episode😆

First of all, very nicely written. You have put forward your points very clearly.

Thank you 😃

I agree to your point that there is a lot of scope for character improvement. I have been telling that these flaws in Nisha makes her a real character. But the problem is, whatever Nisha did today cannot be justified. She has made a mistake and she cannot get through with it.

I agree. She did do a mistake and I dont think she will be let of that easily. Dadaji was watching her during the entire proceedings and I have a feeling he knows exactly what she has been upto. I also think Nisha has her own set of personal problems, They have shaken her up so much just for a simple lehenga - Lets wait and watch how this ends up. One thing I am also wondering is that this was one small function, I wonder what she will wear in the actual wedding 😆.

I had problem with the entire dance drama. There was no reason for Umesh to put on the lehenga and dance. They could have come up with a better witty idea. They wanted to save Nisha but not at the expense of the family reputation. More responsibility needed from the cousins.

Hahaha despite it being a real show, they have to add drama somewhere 😆 In my opinion it was just used as a device to set the ball rolling on Umesh's whole problem - If they had resorted to another technique, it probably wouldn't have dealt with Umesh's problems. As for family reputation - thank god for Ramesh. He dealt with it very well 😆 But yes the cousins do need to take decisions wisely and I am looking forward to how this coming of age story unravels.
Ramesh. He has been a very loving character. I liked the scene yesterday where he was trying to apologise to Lakshmi for what he had said the previous night. Not many would do that.

Yes exactly!

I am looking forward for the gradual improvement in the characters. I just don't want the CVs to justify a wrong thing even if it is for fun
I do agree with that. I hope they dont get caught up in it being modern but not justifying wrong actions like Sukku taking exam papers. For now I think they are trying to lay down the problems and then fix it one by one.

Shwets1502 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 2
@priya
Yes. Nisha could have her own problems. But as I said before, she needs to fight it out instead of thinking everyone is behind her. Hoping Dadaji will talk to her on this matter.

Could be. Umesh's track had to be started and the dance drama might have been used as one. But still I didn't like it 😆 The cousins have risked the reputation of the family. Nisha's anger, while wearing the lehenga at the end, she could have done it in the beginning 😆 Things could have been more smooth. It's not a dance competition where she will be judged. Kirti had taken the spotlight. She could have just been there pretending to dance.

ButterflyChaser thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 6
Nicely written n u explained it properly.. But i am still disappointed with Nisha.
i do not know what description is written on star plus as i never bother to go there. As daily soaps are the most inconsistent thing in this world and they changes the character with a blink of eye.

i disliked Nisha today not coz she ran away but she dint consider others feeling before running away. She dint try whole heartedly. She is not the person who can bear the limelight and i am ok with it but just for herself she is ready to make fun of whole family... She has her own flaws and i am ready to accept that. The thing i like in her is not typical daily soap lead bt still she is a lead.. isn't she supposed to be bit braver?? Not braver but at least face the situation like umesh did. umesh knew that it can cost him a lot n he may get scolding from his dad.. which actually happened but still he did it for others... instead of running away I was expecting Nisha to stand there in jeans only. That would have saved umesh's humiliation. One more thing... No talking about traditional attire but here i thought her dress wasn't nice as compared to the boys one..A plain white t-shirt with black jeans is deffo not a way to dress up in ur sis's wedding. But m leaving it coz she was supposed to wear lehenga n in all the mess she came in whatever she wore whole day.

N what this gender thing?? is she ashamed of herself being called as a girl?? I disapprove the way Jwala calls her Bro and she feels disgusted on seeing girly things..

i liked Umesh a lot today n gave +1 for him. He proved himself to be a loving brother who was ready to wear lehenga for the his sis. Though Like shwets said i too disapprove the situation as they could have found a better solution to it. But still umesh is nice. And i have no problem with him for working in kitchen... i in fct want them to show him taking part in some cooking competition n winning it. I do not care about gender biasness but all i care about is respecting our gender. A boy can cook in the kitchen and a girl can ride the bike but she needs to accept that she is a girl and she is proud of it.

One more thing I forgot to mention in others post... i liked dadaji-Jwala scene. I liked his modern thinking that Daughters are imp or both families... wahtever reason he gave... M glad that he loves his granddaughters.
Edited by fairylover - 10 years ago
BettyC thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
I jus disliked Nisha today nd she was helluva irritating nd stuburn nd evn after almost bringing a shame to their reputation she was arguing with dj nd it was obvio she was nt at all guilty too for what she did!i knw these are her character flaws nd i dislike her for her acts jus like i dislike kriti for bieng beauty obsessed !
wonderful post!
i jus loved umesh bhaiyya nd ramu dad tho is my fav<3<3
priya1804 thumbnail

Originally posted by: fairylover

Nicely written n u explained it properly.. But i am still disappointed with Nisha.

i do not know what description is written on star plus as i never bother to go there. As daily soaps are the most inconsistent thing in this world and they changes the character with a blink of eye.

i disliked Nisha today not coz she ran away but she dint consider others feeling before running away. She dint try whole heartedly. She is not the person who can bear the limelight and i am ok with it but just for herself she is ready to make fun of whole family... She has her own flaws and i am ready to accept that. The thing i like in her is not typical daily soap lead bt still she is a lead.. isn't she supposed to be bit braver?? Not braver but at least face the situation like umesh did. umesh knew that it can cost him a lot n he may get scolding from his dad.. which actually happened but still he did it for others... instead of running away I was expecting Nisha to stand there in jeans only. That would have saved umesh's humiliation. One more thing... No talking about traditional attire but here i thought her dress wasn't nice as compared to the boys one..A plain white t-shirt with black jeans is deffo not a way to dress up in ur sis's wedding. But m leaving it coz she was supposed to wear lehenga n in all the mess she came in whatever she wore whole day.

I agree. Nisha did mess up. I just think she is a reserved character who prides herself in being able to solve other's problems that she becomes completely blind seeing her own. Her insecurities run deep and I hope she opens up a little and talks to her cousins about it. I do agree she was selfish and did not realize the consequences but at the same I think, she is much more vulnerable than the other cousins and in an attempt to avoid causing problems like she mentioned to Saurabh she ends up causing many. Reminds me of Manvi from Ek Hazaron Mein 😊 I hope she sorts herself out soon.

N what this gender thing?? is she ashamed of herself being called as a girl?? I disapprove the way Jwala calls her Bro and she feels disgusted on seeing girly things..

I think for Nisha, 'girl' is personified by Kirti - and I dont think she wants to be that. I am a tomboy at heart and dont get me wrong - I am a hard core feminist, but I dont think Nisha wants to be associated with what people call the "girlier" aspects like dressing up, shopping, romanticism and being emotional. Since she shows no interest in either of those things, people tend to call her a 'boy' since typically boys are associated with rationality and toughness. I dont think she is ashamed of herself being called a girl - not at all. But she doesnt want to be what Kirti is - pretty, flirtatious etc. As for Jwala calling her bro.. isnt that like modern slang? Me and my friends call each other by that all the time - I think its a modern show so the team wants to add modern jargon like "Facebook" etc.

i liked Umesh a lot today n gave +1 for him. He proved himself to be a loving brother who was ready to wear lehenga for the his sis. Though Like shwets said i too disapprove the situation as they could have found a better solution to it. But still umesh is nice. And i have no problem with him for working in kitchen... i in fct want them to show him taking part in some cooking competition n winning it. I do not care about gender biasness but all i care about is respecting our gender. A boy can cook in the kitchen and a girl can ride the bike but she needs to accept that she is a girl and she is proud of it.

Like I mentioned, I think the dance drama set the ball rolling to Umesh's track. Another solution perhaps wouldnt have dealt with his problem.

One more thing I forgot to mention in others post... i liked dadaji-Jwala scene. I liked his modern thinking that Daughters are imp or both families... wahtever reason he gave... M glad that he loves his granddaughters.

Yes that was a really nice scene.

Thanks, loved hearing your opinion 😊
ButterflyChaser thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 6
@Priya... i agree she ends up causing problem but she needs to realize that running away won't solve the probs either. She needs to realize her folly and make sure that she doesn't repeat it instead of arguing with Dadaji. I want a realistic Nishu with carefree nature..
But she has Dolly and jwala too around her than why she always thinks that Kirti is only girly. Nisha herself said to jwala to be happy in whatever they are not to pretend to be anyone else than why is she pretending to be a boy.. She can stay the way she is by accepting the fact that she is a girl.
I am the type of girl who doesn't wear traditional attire at all n I always talk in male gender with my parents like auga jauga.. Not coz I want to be a boy but my parents were working and max of the time i used to spend with my neighbor kids and i adopted the way they used to behave.
Yaa.. we all use bro n buddy on internet but i dnt feel it's like a slang for Jwala... Else she would have said Dolly bro but no, she is Dolly di.. So it's to point out that Nishu is a like a bro. Even in Nishu's scary dream Sukku was saying "chalo aj pata chala k bhai ni behan hai."So that proves that they consider her as bro which i do not like. I wish they show some reason for this behavior of hers as why she started behaving like this...May be she always felt inferior to Kirti in childhood and stopped dressing like a girl or she used to play only with boys or something like that.
Edited by fairylover - 10 years ago
P.D.S thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
I agree with your part on umesh. 😊