New Entry : Manit Joura
Abhira & Geetanjali
A Missed Opportunity
Akshara’s karma
War 2 Set To Finish As The Lowest YRF Spy Grosser Domestically
Shilpa Shetty's Bandra Restaurant Shuts Down
Mihir - The d*uchebag
Baaghi 4 - Reviews And Box Office
Did Trump Just Remove ALL SANCTIONS on India ? (Doubtful news)
Bigg Boss 19: Daily Discussion Thread - 4th Sep 2025
Now people I am actually nervous with all of you anticipating a deviation, I don't know whether it would meet your expectations. For now just some old school.
Chapter 11: Gravity
"Mohan stop the car here, these are the old narrow roads of east Delhi, I don't want to trouble the pedestrians with my car. I'll go on foot to the wholesaler." Akash Singh Raizada politely told his driver and got down from his Mercedes. The driver reluctantly obeyed, wondering how his master would reach his destination, treading on a path where stray dogs, cattle and humans, all squeezed together to make their way. Mohan considered parking the car a little inwards the market for his master's convenience and came to a screeching halt when a little boy came in front of the car. A young woman rushed to him and threw her arms around the kid pulling him away just in time, saving him from being hit by the car. The kid began to weep, the girl tickled him to make him laugh, "see, you are not hurt." she said softly.
"I am sorry." said Akash as he hastily walked to the site of the could-have-been accident. "Why should you be sorry? He should be sorry" she said glancing angrily at the driver. "Why do people bring such big cars to these narrow lanes, can't he see there is hardly any place here?"
Akash opened his mouth to explain but something in him refrained. He simply stared at her, he hadn't seen anyone talk so softly in anger. It was adorable. There was an air of sincerity surrounding her, a sincerity that felt soothing. She felt soothing. "You pull up the glasses of your windows to avoid the sounds from outside reach you, but that doesn't mean there is no world outside your car's closed windows..." Payal continued her soft rant. None of her words really registered with Akash, she said something about world, hello? Was there any world beyond those light brown eyes? Not for Akash Singh Raizada at the moment. Payal suddenly blushed with embarrassment, "Sorry, I think I spoke too much..., I just got a little frantic...I mean the kid could..."
"No, no, please, don't say sorry. It w..was so nice..., so nice to see you speak like that..." Akash blurted.
"huh?" Payal said looking flustered.
"Please say something...anything." he entreated.
"huh?" Payal turned and hurriedly walked away.
"Hey, at least tell me your name," said Akash slowly, "my...name w..was A...kash." he whispered almost to himself. He stood there watching her disappear in the crowd, she wore a plain, simple yellow salwar kameez and her light brown hair was tied in a ponytail, he hadn't known anyone so simple to look so attractive. An auto-rickshaw honked at him, "Oye hero, side hoja", Akash didn't realize he was standing in the middle of the road. Side? Which side, he wondered and simply walked in the direction where the girl went. He found her soon, followed her dreamily, she stopped at a road side vendor selling dopattas. She tried a few and stopped at a magenta one. The color suited her so well, she looked fairer, the dopatta swayed in the wind, "how much for this?" she asked the vendor. "Five hundred." Her face fell, she gave the dopatta back to the vendor and went away. So simple. Akash found himself buying the same dopatta the next moment, he gave the vendor a thousand and left. So simple. But would she take it if he gave it to her? Not so simple. "Sir your change." the vendor cried from behind. Akash ignored his call. Payal was gone. He couldn't see her anymore. He felt like laughing at himself...
Khushi was lucky to have spotted a tea-stall in CP. She downed two cups and gave the vendor fifteen rupees and went happily to work again. When she reached the office tower she was surprised to see about five uniformed men mopping the shining granite, "how many times do they clean here?" she asked the receptionist who still had every hair in place, just like she had in the morning. "Oh, the fire alarms went off, there was water everywhere a few minutes ago." she replied.
"Fire? Where was the fire?"
"Can't be sure, they suspect, perhaps somebody lit that lamp over there." she said pointing at the far corner. "It'll be confirmed in the cc tv footage, anyway."
Khushi gulped. She decided not to touch anything of this strange place and hoped not to be caught in the cc tv footage.
When she walked into the west side, Pam and the likes had a plan for the novice. "Hey, Glitters, we ordered Pizzas and pastries for lunch, join us." said Sim. "No thanks." said Khushi despite her growling stomach. "Oh c'mon Glitters it's your first day." Khushi joined them reluctantly in the cafeteria, she had never been fond of pizzas, 'boiled veggies on bread' she called it.
Khushi gaped at others who ate multiple slices with such ease. She couldn't even manage one slice, that mozzarella seemed to stretch forever. Her ten minutes ended soon enough, "thanks for the treat," said Sim placing the bill in Khushi's hands. "But why are you giving me the bill?" "Don't tell me Glitters, you threw the party, it's a custom every newcomer throws a treat on his/her first day." Khushi stared at the bill, 1500 for that yuck! She had only thirty rupees left in her purse. She looked around helplessly. "Quick Glitters the delivery boy is waiting outside. "
"But I don't have 1500 ..."
"Why is everyone still in the cafeteria?" demanded Lavanya Kashyap as she barged in unannounced.
"Look La, your new assistant throw us a party and then refuses to pay the bill." said Pam. Lavanya shook her head, snatched the bill from Khushi's hands and threw the money on a table. "Pay the guy and get back to work."
The room dispersed quickly, the cafe operator watched them all with disgust. "Would you like to have some muffins?" she asked Khushi in the sweetest tone she had assumed in years.
"No, I don't have money to pay." she said plainly.
"I won't charge anything from you. Come here, it's not every day that Manju gives something for free." A crestfallen Khushi sat slowly in a chair next to the cafe operator. Manju placed four muffins in a plate in front of her and smiled watching her gobble them hungrily. "You look young, how old are you?" "'m twenty one." Khushi replied.
"Hmm, youngest in this office, why should you work at this age?"
"Family problems, I have to support my aunt..." Khushi told Manju about her troubles in brief and how she landed at AR. Manju thought for a while, "I think I can help you." she said finally, "you know I am one of the senior most employees here. I have been working here since AR used to be a rented office on just two floors above this cafeteria, I know everyone here inside out." she said recalling the days when she had her own business of supplying Tiffin to nearby offices in Connaught Circle, when a twenty three year old boy from U.S. had come to set up his business in Delhi with a handful of employees and had rented two large rooms, one above the other in the same building. The boy ordered hardly any food for himself, but around thirty mugs of black coffee every day. Manju once went to his office and thumped her espresso machine on his table. That was the only time she had seen him smile. Soon he had bought the entire building and revamped it. The office was now the headquarters of AR conglomerate - awarded the most stylish office of the year by Business Today and the boy was none other than ASR.
"Now listen to me carefully and don't take my advise lightly. You asked me in the morning, why was everyone in a hurry here, didn't you? Well they are in a hurry to prove themselves if they want to survive in this office and the only way to survive here is to be in the good books of ASR. The west side where you work is the smallest part of this office that only deals with the events happening year long. It is under Lavanya, ASR doesn't care about what happens here much."
"Who's ASR?" asked Khushi eager to know more about the name she had been hearing since morning.
"ASR, the founder, CEO, the almighty in this office. Lavanya's employees aren't appointed by him, so you see they all are on a temporary basis, did Lavanya give you any written appointment?"
"No."
"See, these girls won't let you breathe easily, you know why?"
"No, I am scared now."
"Don't be, you are different. Be yourself. In capacity of the senior most employee, I can have Chirag get your appointment letter. You go straight to ASR and get it signed by him." Khushi looked blankly at her.
"Don't worry, tell him that I sent you, he'd sign your appointment. And when he does, none of these girls here would have guts to trouble you." Manju said and dialed a number.
Chirag appeared in five minutes, Khushi recognized the guy with an imperial, wearing a white shirt with blue checks and a blue tie as one of the very few people who had helped her with directions. He produced a letter. Manju gave it to Khushi, "now all you have to do is to get it signed by the boss."
Khushi thanked both of them profusely but there was one thing that troubled her. "By the way, aunty, was there a fire in the front hall a few minutes ago? I hope there was no loss."
"Oh no, there was a minor spark or something. I don't know really, perhaps somebody smoked, although smoking is prohibited inside. It could be anybody's negligence that triggered the alarms. It didn't cause any harm but it's just that such a thing was very unusual to happen in AR." said Chirag.
"At least the bored workforce got some topic to talk on." said Manju. Khushi's eyes lit up, "Ya, I mean all I have heard the girls talking about is liposuction, Botox and using silicon to make their small things big." she said flatly. Manju laughed and Chirag stifled a smile.
Khushi was greatly relieved that she hadn't caused any great harm. "There he comes, go after him Khushi." said Chirag pointing at the man who briskly climbed the stairs to a glass cabin which overlooked the entire ground floor.
Khushi hesitated, she got slightly nervous and walked towards the stairs.
His door was slightly ajar, Khushi didn't knock. He stood on the opposite corner, talking on phone, with his back turned towards her. She entered on tip-toes, silently.
"No that's not our modus operandi." said ASR over phone, "I want everything in perfect order."
Khushi's elbow hit a small photo frame, kept in a sleek crystal glass rake with Anjali's photo in it. Khushi caught it just in time and placed it back; in the process the papers in her hand fell. They went under the table. Khushi's heart pounded, as she stealthily ducked under the table. ASR felt something move behind his back. He turned with a start and walked towards the table, there was something, he couldn't be mistaken.
Khushi didn't see him, she saw his shoes of Norwegian construct. She could never forget the last time she had seen similar shoes. Her insides recoiled. He removed an armchair and bent to see what was it, beneath his table. His chocolate brown eyes widened and disbelief captured his features. Her walnut eyes popped out and her jaw dropped as she saw him staring at her.
"What the... f**k!" he exclaimed.
Khushi crawled away, her head hit the top of the table, "ouch!" she cried. He stood up. So did she, but not quite with the same firmness.
"What are you doing in my cabin?" he demanded.
"Your cabin? This is ASR's..." she stopped short, breathless as it dawned upon her, "A-S-R that is Arnav Singh Raizada!" she gulped.
"I didn't know you have made it your profession to follow me." he scoffed.
"I am not following you, I work here."
"The only place for you here is outside the door. You may leave now." Khushi didn't budge. "What?" he said disdainfully, "won't you leave unless I humiliate you."
"I wondered what's wrong with this place, since morning. Now I get it, all the wrong in the world is standing in front of me."
"I SAID GET OUT." ASR thundered, hitting his fist on the table. Downstairs every one heard it. Khushi stomped her foot. " 'M leavin'. I have no interest to work in your office." she said raising her voice as she threw the papers on his table and turned to leave.
"One moment." said ASR, his expression changed subtly into one of cunning. "Who was the fool to install you here?"
"It was all my mistake, I am goin' now." she reached the door. He swiftly placed his hand on its handle, blocking her. "All mistakes aren't rectified so easily."
Khushi swallowed hard. She feared he could hear her heart beating violently in her chest. He looked malicious as he trod closer to her. Her legs trembled in nervousness as she remembered his last assault on her at Sheesh Mahal. Unthinkingly, she stepped backwards as far as she could from him, her leg hit the glass wall, damn, she realized it wasn't a wall, it flung open, she toppled over the pane. He grabbed her hand just in time, saving her from falling down from the first floor.
With her toes still unable to balance on the pane, she hung, clutching his hand, clinging on to her life as she looked down from there, twelve feet below was the hard, pure granite. She looked back at him and below. Arnav held her hand in that position, calm as ever. Not even a slight whiff of worry on his face.
"I told you," he said coolly," I write my own destiny and also write the destinies of those around me. So I give you a chance to do the same. Tell me, should I pull you up for you to continue your nonsensical life or should I let you go, i.e. wherever you go from here." and gestured at her hand.
Down, at the ground floor everyone stared upwards, what they saw was unprecedented at AR. The novice hanging halfway from the CEO's cabin.
Khushi was smarting under his effrontery. Her pride was enough to kill. "I'd rather die than be saved by you." she cried hoarse.
"Your wish." he loosened his grip on her hand, the smug look never leaving his face. Khushi's heart missed countless beats. She stared below- twelve feet down, that dreadful shining, austere granite. All right, she didn't mean it. Was he really going to throw her?
"I forgot," he said a sly smile coming to his lips, "it's in your disposition to fall."
He let go off her hand. Khushi threw her hands in the air, flailing frantically, trying to grab anything that she could, all that came in her fists was air. Gravity did what it does the best.
Chapter 12: Welcome To Hell
Either the pain she felt was beyond human comprehension or she was already dead because she didn't feel any pain at all. Nothing like she had imagined broken bones to feel like. At. All. She felt a sticky liquid on her neck towards right, blood perhaps? She scarcely opened an eye and found where she had landed.
Sprawled upon a neat deck of paper cartons, she had her right ear, right shoulder and neck smudged with turquoise wall paint. She barely lifted her gaze, ten feet above her (two feet subtracted because of the height of the cartons) stood the tall frame of Arnav Singh Raizada, that unequivocally detestable smirk wide on his handsome face. For once she wouldn't notice how that smirk enhanced his handsomeness, all she wanted was scratch all the features from his face and dunk his head into that wall paint bucket that lay on her side, responsible for spoiling her favorite dress.
Satisfied, ASR stepped back in his chamber and shut closed the misleading glass wall. He went back to his table and flapping open his macbook, resumed his work. Not a crease on his forehead. Nothing, that could suggest that he had just dropped a girl from the first floor of his office.
Khushi heard a muffled laughter among the workforce as they all went back to their work, afraid that their employer might shout their heads off if he didn't find them in place, at the moment. Even those who felt sorry for her couldn't dare to come near her. Tears rushed out of her eyes. Tears of humiliation, insult, indignation.
Manju came rushing to her, so did Lavanya. She knew her boyfriend could be unpredictable at times but this was totally uncalled-for. She threw Khushi a glance and ran upstairs.
"I know you saw the boxes ASR, but you didn't have to throw her like that." she said entering his cabin. He didn't look up from his screen. Right, she realized he was pissed at the girl for some reason and she would not defend Glitters at the cost of her beau. "Well I guess that was pretty cool what you did." she said suddenly, flashing her gorgeous dimples as she seated herself in an armchair opposite him, "I myself couldn't tolerate the thought of a girl like that, anywhere near you, let alone your cabin."
He looked up this time, "Lavanya, discussing an idiot isn't worth my time. Can I have the Park's report."
"Sure." she said getting up.
"Wait. I think I need to know, who got that girl appointed in this office at first place." he said looking straight into Lavanya's eyes.
Lavanya shuddered. He already had the answer. "Ace...I mean...I think..."
"I'd appreciate a straight answer more than what you think." He snapped waspishly.
Manju helped her up. A sharp pain shot through Khushi's back, it wasn't like falling from twelve feet didn't hurt at all, even if you landed on paper cartons. The cafe operator offered her a glass of water which she didn't decline. She sipped it slowly in between her sobs, she had cried enough. Her tears had now reached till her neck and the mucus membranes in her nose threatened to get excited. She snorted lightly, curses on that ASR, she tried to mutter but all that came out was a whimper.
Lavanya stormed back to her cabin, finding her minions at the door. "If she's still here then hit her with her termination notice and throw her out." she barked.
Minutes later her favorite bimbos, Sim and Pam appeared at the cafeteria, placing a letter on a table in front of Khushi. "Now Glitters you were quite an event," chirped Sim, "in and out of AR the same day."
"By the way, whatever did you do to ASR," said Pam winking suggestively at her, "that he's so pissed at you."
Khushi clenched her teeth, grabbed her termination from the table and tore it to pieces. She got up from the chair and despite the ache in her back strutted towards a bin and threw the shreds of her termination into it. She scratched with her nails, the portion of her neck where the blue paint itched, leaving red marks. "I need not talk to slaves." she grunted glaring at Sim and Pam. She then stormed out of the cafeteria with her back further straightened. A few heads turned to see the colorful little girl, even more colored than before.
She huffed as she moved into the larger hall taking everyone by a surprise as they saw her scurry towards the stairs. Once up, she peeped through the glass walls of ASR's cabin, not finding him there she took right and approached a large door marked Conference Hall -I.
"Stop, there is a meeting going inside." said a guard blocking her way to the door. She ducked under his arm and pushed open the door, entering a large room with walls painted in fawn and mahogany. About twenty heads sitting around a large oval shaped table turned to look at the intruder. They stood up from their seats, startled, all of them except ASR. The guard standing outside the door alerted more security and about five men reached in twenty seconds to pull a frail girl out of the room.
Arnav raised his hand and slightly moved down his fingers, motioning everyone to be seated, his jaw tight. He also gestured the security guards, who reached the door entrance to keep out.
"I came here to tell you that I am not going anywhere." began Khushi in a firm voice, "I am not leaving this job. I heard that you are considered as Almighty here, and I'd say I am tempted to prove otherwise."
"Anything else that you'd want to say?" said Arnav brusquely, "I seldom give the opportunity."
Khushi stared at him. He stared at her harder, intimidating, even as he sat about twenty five steps away from her. For a second she felt her stomach crumble and then somehow reclaiming her resolve, "I said I will not be leaving this job."
"What will you do then?" he said already sounding bored.
Khushi closed her eyes for a moment, images of torment danced in front of her eyes; his brutality that night in Sheesh Mahal, no matter how hard she tried, he refused to believe her and punished her like that...something about which she was too embarrassed to tell even her sister. Her sister's marriage was broken and she was held responsible for it! Her father hadn't been able to pay off the debts yet and as if that wasn't enough, he in all his malevolence had reduced her to ignominy by airing her deliberately misconstrued video. Her anguished features cringed remembering how her mother had struggled to shield her from the thugs as their dirty hands swiped her pure ones - a moment where she had certainly preferred death. Hadn't it been for a god sent angel to save her that day, she'd have lost all her dignity - all because of one man, Arnav Singh Raizada. Because of him she had to leave Lucknow, leave her parents to save herself from public shame and loathing by people around whom she had grown up. What had she done to deserve this? What had her parents done to deserve this? Her inner voice called out for her, 'Stand up for yourself Khushi."
She faced him with determination, "In the past few days, my life has changed. I have suffered for no fault of mine, my entire family has suffered for no fault of theirs, we suffered just because you wished so. But my life is not a game whose rules you'd make", she said angrily, "I had a few things in my mind when I took this job, that I'll work hard, that i'll earn and support my family. This is your company, you can fire me from this job, but not without a reason. You threw me down... all this while you have been wrong. I hate even the thought of working for a man like you, but I know, if I quit this job today, I'd never be able to prove that I have done no wrong, I'd not be able to live with the guilt that I couldn't stand up for myself, that I could let somebody hurt my self respect."
ASR furrowed his eye brows, his frown deepening, the girl had some guts, he wouldn't deny.
"I do fear, you, your power, your pride but I don't run away from things I fear, I face them. When I had done nothing to deserve an unfair treatment", she continued, "I'd do what I came for. Work."
"And that's exactly what you're incapable of." he snapped and got up from his armchair, as if amused by the entire argument, he strode towards her. He glanced at her feet, expecting her to back off as she usually did but she surprised him this time. As he approached her, she too took a step forward, looking up straight into his eyes, determined not to be unnerved however daunting he appeared.
ASR wasn't pleased at all. "Ah, so you are that desperate to work in my company." he mocked, "got a hell lot of aspirations, haven't you? To make money, to work. Well then, let's fulfill this wish of yours. But just remember, you won't be able to survive me for a day." pulling out his i-phone, swiping the screen to make a call, he whispered barely audible instructions into it making Khushi grimace. On the other side of the line, Chirag listened to his boss' instructions with a sigh.
He entered the hall three minutes later with two copies of the same document. He looked apologetically at Khushi.
"Here's your new appointment," said ASR, "but you won't be working under Lavanya, you'd work under me. I have put another clause in this contract, if you leave this company within the next fifteen days, you'd have to pay the company a compensation of Rs. One Lac."
Khushi shuddered at the mention of the compensation amount. "W..what if you sack me before the end of fifteen days." she asked sounding unsure.
"Then I am prepared to lose anything." he said sharply and added, "I won't be sacking you anyway, you'd quit by yourself."
"For me, a single penny of debt is more burdensome than a Lac of hard work. I just want to return your twenty five thousand." she said emphatically.
Without further delay ASR scribbled a scrawny 'A' surrounded by a couple of hasty strokes of his pen- his casual signature, on both the copies. He then held the documents out for Khushi. A puzzled expression flitted across her face, was it wise of her to sign a contract with Arnav Singh Raizada?
Her hesitant state wasn't missed by his prying eyes. A triumphant smirk emerged again. "What? Scared already?" he jeered, "you still have a chance, you can escape" he said gesturing towards the door. She snatched the documents and pen from his hands and signed her full name neatly on the two copies and gave them both back to him. He slightly tilted his head down to read her signature name. "You may leave now, see you tomorrow sharp at 10 am." he said handing her one of the two copies, "this was your first and last day in office." Khushi stared at him bemused. What did he mean by last day in office?
He tilted his head up from the papers, facing her again, a lopsided smirk playing on his lips, "Welcome to hell, Ms. Khushi Kumari Gupta." he said at last.
"OM JAI JAGDISH HARE..." Madhumati blared her cacophony at maximum volume, violently ringing the hand held bell while offering her evening prayers in front of the annual calendar that had Lord Vishnu's image on it. Her charade was disrupted when she heard the sound of utensils behind her back. She turned to find Payal, "What are you cooking?" she asked.
"Buaji, today was Khushi's first day at work, I thought why make some besan ke laddoo for her, she'd be tired when she comes back." said Payal. Madhumati slapped her forehead. "Arre bitiya, all this job and work is not her cup of tea. Her excitement is because of her heady age, she'd go to the office, blabber and when reality will bite, she'd faint at the sight of papers and responsibility. Take it from me, if you don't find that lazy bum sleeping open mouthed, till 12 noon tomorrow, my name is not Madhumati." she grumbled.
"Oh no buaji, Khushi isn't that irresponsible. Don't you remember how she used to help babuji in the shop? "
Madhumati smiled remembering what Payal said. She silently prayed that all went well with her little niece.
Khushi...
Facepalm#1! What did I just do?
Facepalm#2! I signed a contract with the devil! Knowing how much he has harmed me in the past few days. What if I lose? What if I am forced to quit?
Facepalm#3! Where will I bring all that money from? Tell me Devi Maiyya, what else would I have done? Gone back home with a crying face and hurting back and tell jiji that he insulted me again? Humiliated me in front of his entire office. He threw me down from his cabin, deliberately, made me a laughing stalk. Again. Why am I at the receiving end of shit always? Why should everything I venture into become so royally screwed? I hate that man. Period. I didn't want to work in his company, I wanted to leave the moment I saw him, I was leaving when he did this to me. I couldn't take it anymore. I will have to fight. What so ever, I will fight for myself, for my self respect. Hey Devi Maiyya, please help me, I need you to help me.
^^^^
Her thoughts trailed as the rikshaw approached Madhumati's house. She paid the rikshaw - puller and walked wearily towards the door, thumping on it once she reached it. Madhumati opened and her eyes fell wide open on Khushi's side that was smudged in turquoise wall paint. "Whatever happened, did you trip again?" she asked. Khushi nodded slowly. "Haye Sanakadevi, if it were in your hands you'd make tripping the national game of India." Madhumati said shaking her head. "Get inside now, wash and eat something after that."
Khushi came out of the bathroom, patting her hair dry with a small towel, looking lost when she smelled hot food. She looked around to see Payal holding a tray for her, wearing an expectant look. Khushi grabbed the food tray from Payal's hands, jumped on the bed and began to munch on it, still looking lost. Payal frowned in concern, "Won't you tell me how was your first day at work?" she asked. Khushi glanced at her, a blank expression on her face, she turned her gaze back to the plate. "What is it Khushi, " Payal said placing a hand on her sister's shoulder, "why aren't you talking, you speak a lot usually, is something bothering you?"
"Nothing jiji, I was just tired and hungry..."
"Fine. I get it," sniffed Payal, "you are old now, you have your own life, you don't need your sister to discuss things with anymore. As if I don't know that your mouth works like that only when you are troubled. Fine, don't tell me anything." she said looking away. Khushi held her sister's hand and took out the contract papers from her bag, "this happened on my first day jiji." she said, thrusting the papers in Payal's hands.
Vitality of life desires the freshness of experiment. It desires change, desires challenge. Arnav Singh Raizada's over-achievements in recent years had yielded him in command of his life- a state, he wouldn't tolerate to see change. Such was his obsession with perfection, that his life had become virtually mechanized. He was surrounded with people who lived in constant fear of his authority, his dismissal; they would dare not defy him lest they'd be faced with dire consequences. His was a gradual journey towards the morbid mundane and he was loosely becoming aware of it. When he had come close to expect that nothing could possibly go awry in his secure environs, the new entrant found it hard getting a role assigned in the scripted play. He couldn't be sure whether Khushi Kumari Gupta was just a feisty teenager inviting unwarranted trouble in her life, all he reckoned at the moment was that he welcomed the slight inconvenience she was causing him. She might have happened to him by a fluke but now that the control was in his hands, he was slightly curious to know what sort of an adversary would she make or whether she'd even merit to be called an adversary.
A discreet knock on his door pulled him out of his thoughts, "May I come in Sir?" asked the uniformed man standing at his cabin door.
"Yes."
"Sir here's the cc TV footage of what caused the fire today. As we suspected, the alarms went off because somebody had negligently lit the lamp." said the man holding out a CD for him.
"Keep the CD on the table and leave." said ASR gruffly.
He wouldn't need to look at the CD, he had realized the culprit the moment he had seen her, yet as if to just confirm his suspicions he placed the CD in his drive and opened the appropriate file. There she was; she came, she joined her palms and bought them to her forehead and back, twice, opened the glass cabinet, lit the lamp and forgot to place it back in the cabinet or intentionally didn't.
She'd be made to make up for that anyway.
He shut the flap of his computer. "Ace...?" he heard Lavanya's soft call behind his back, but didn't turn to look at her as he got up from his chair.
"What am I hearing, you have signed some contract with that girl? I mean, I know you are ASR and you know what you are doing but don't you think you are giving too much importance to that not-so-important Glitters?"
ASR placed a few files in his briefcase, "What makes you think I owe you an explanation for what I do and what I don't in my professional life sweetheart?" he remarked sardonically. Lavanya shrugged. They left the office without much a word. ASR offered to drop her home that she gladly accepted.
Akash
Bhai will kill me tomorrow! I stare at my computer screen and staring is all I do. I have to prepare the final lists but I just can't concentrate. Wherever I look, I see her hazel eyes, I see her eyes on my screen, I see them on the door, I see them even in my own reflection in the mirror! I shut my computer in frustration. This couldn't be happening, I am going crazy and I have seen her only once. God, I don't even know her name...and it just strikes me, wasn't her hair the same colour as her eyes or it's just my imagination? Yup, I have gone crazy. Is it what they call love at first sight? No way, I can't be in love with her, I don't even know her. I don't even know whether I am ever going to see her again and it makes me feel pathetic. My hand reaches the zip of my laptop bag, unthinkingly, I pull out this magenta dopatta. I stare at it remembering how beautiful it looked on you. How it swayed with the wind when it graced your shoulder, how you raised your hand and had almost jumped to catch it, before a gust of wind could blow it of your shoulder. How happy you looked with it on you. I can't believe I am talking to you in my mind! I get up from my chair and reach my drawer. I take out a lollypop, it's silly but I chew it every time I am nervous. I wonder whether you like them as well. Now where did that come from? I look at the magenta dopatta in my hands again, "I wish I could give it to you, whoever you are?" I say out loud, just then I realize I am not alone in my room.
^^^^
"You'd give it to whom Akash?" Anjali asked eyeing her brother suspiciously, "whom were you talking to?"
"Uh?..No one Di, when did you come in?" he said looking embarrassed.
"See somebody too busy with himself to notice his sister's presence." she sniffed. She looked cute in her dark brown track pants and a long sleeved, fawn colored top clung to her slim figure as she limped towards her brother. "What's that in your hands?" she asked looking in surprise at the dopatta.
"This? Oh nothing just a dopatta." he fumbled.
"I know that, I mean what are you doing with it, do you plan to gift this to somebody."
"No..no, I got it for myself." Akash said nervously.
"What?" Anjali exclaimed in bewilderment, "Are you going to wear it?" she gasped.
"Of course not Di, I mean...I got it from...from Kailash matching centre...you know the wholesaler, to check the fabric quality. You know we purchase raw materials from there." he made up hastily.
"You mean you'd purchase this sort of material." said Anjali disapprovingly as she felt the garment with her fingers.
"Umm, no, you didn't like the quality? Fine I'd not purchase anything from here." he said quickly.
Anjali grinned, "Now that you have rejected the piece, I don't think it's of any use to you and I really love this color, I guess I'll take this for myself." she said taking the cloth from his hands.
"No Di...you can't...I mean what would you do with this?" he sputtered.
Anjali stared at him wide eyed unable to hide her amusement, "Well I'll wear it." she said in an isn't-it-obvious-tone."
"Wear it with what? Are you going to match it with your track suit? You don't wear salwar kameez." he protested gently.
"So she wears salwar kameez." Anjali nudged her younger cousin.
"She was wearing one when I saw her." Akash whispered almost to himself, sounding lost.
"What's her name?" Anjali asked in an equally hushed whisper.
"Didn't tell." he said, now completely lost. He suddenly snapped back to reality, "Hey Di? What? I told you the name... some matching centre..."
"Kailash Matching Centre." reminded Anjali trying hard to suppress her giggle.
"Yeah, exactly. I'd return this there." he said adjusting his specs.
"Aaakaaash..." Anjali dragged rolling her eyes, "are you...oh my god, am I seeing my brother blushing?" she threw her head back in the couch and burst out laughing. Akash touched his cheeks, "am I?" he whispered. Anjali nodded, "God, first you buy yourself a magenta dopatta, then you blush, what else will Kailash Matching Centre do? Get you preggo?" she clutched her stomach and started laughing again, this time Akash joined in the laughter.
They became sober the moment they saw Manorma standing at the door. She looked at them skeptically. "What's going on?" she demanded.
"Nothing mom, just...just..." Akash looked at Anjali to speak something.
"What is that in your hand Akash?" Manorma shrieked looking disdainfully at the flimsy cloth.
"Nothing Mami, Akash got this as a sample from the wholesaler, you know material testing." Anjali tried to cover. Manorma shook her head unconvinced and haughtily walked up to the mirror, "Anyway, I came here to tell you that Tanya would be flying from Italy today. I want you to pick her up from the airport tomorrow morning." she said fixing her hair.
"Tanya? Tara aunty's daughter right? Is her course in fashion designing complete?" asked Anjali.
"But why should I go to pick her mom?" said Akash clearly ridiculing the idea.
"Why she'd love it if you do, you two are childhood buddies aren't you?" said Manorma.
"Friends? No way, I hate that girl, she's such a stuck up." Akash protested.
"Akash you are twenty five, stop behaving like a school boy. You'll do as I say." she scolded.
"But mom I don't want to, why can't her mother pick her up?"
"Who is the mom, Akash?" she asked sternly.
"You." Akash muttered.
"So who is right?"
"You."
"So your mom is telling you to pick Tanya from the airport and I want you to be nice with her." Manorma said and stomped out of her son's room. "By the way, Anjali, do you have a burgundy lipstick, I can't find mine and I am getting late." she said turning back at the door.
"Sure mami, it must be in one of my drawers." Manorma nodded and went away.
"Tanya coming to India, not a good news for poor Kailash Matching Centre." Anjali muttered shaking her head.
Akash leapt up from his chair and threw himself on his bed. "I have to think of a way to piss Sanya off, I am sure Bhai will excuse me for this reason." he said holding his head.
"Sanya?"
"Oh, Tanya...whatever." he grumbled.
"No way Khushi, there is no way you are going to that place again." said Payal as she ambulated in the verandah. Khushi sat on the steps watching her disconcerted sister. She had finally confided in her everything, all the needle tip sized details of all her encounters with Arnav Singh Raizada, and she'd admit she was feeling a lot better after that. The same could not be said about Payal though, she was incredulous at first, extremely disturbed next. Khushi stared at the night sky. Dark clouds had gathered, she could not see the moon. There was a gentle wind blowing her long tresses on her face. Payal finally stopped ambulating and sat on the steps beside her sister. "How could you sign such a contract Khushi? What were you thinking when you signed it?" she said shaking her head.
"If I was thinking, I wouldn't have signed. I was just too angry to think jiji." said Khushi.
"Knowing what that man is capable of, he's...some sort of an ego-maniac, he'd go to any extent to prove himself right. I cannot let you continue with this, you are not working for him Khushi, you hear me?" she said severly.
"Do I have a choice jiji?"
Payal sighed placing her arm around her little sister, giving her a gentle squeeze. "I know, that's why I am scared." she said.
"Don't be, look at the brighter side, I still have a job, we can still help buaji, we can get her a lawyer now to sort phuphaji's pension. In fact I told Shyamji about it. He said he had handled similar cases and was refusing to charge anything for handling buaji's case, but I told him that I'll pay him because I can't take any more favors from him." said Khushi
"Did you tell him about what happened today?" payal asked.
"Not all of it. I told him I had lost the appointment letter and had got a job in the main office. I had spoken to him before I had realized whose company I was working for. He sounded a little confused first but then congratulated me." Khushi looked at her sister's crestfallen face, "c'mon now jiji, at least we can enjoy the weather now."
"How much will they pay you?" Payal asked suddenly. Khushi's face went blank. She re-read the contract, there was no mention of the pay, it hadn't even occurred to her once. She shook her head afraid.
"Great." said Payal sarcastically, throwing her hands in the air, "What sort of work are you going to do Khushi?...Dunno jiji." she said mimicking Khushi's tone, "how much will they pay you?...Dunno jiji. Is there anything you know?...Dunno jiji. Wondered what will we tell Amma babuji when they call us back, which is definitely happening before the end of fifteen days?" Khushi grinned, "well I guess I know that, you'd go back and I'd stay here because buaji needs somebody to stay with her." Just then there was a loud bang of thunder in the sky, Khushi shrieked as she jolted into her sister's chest, hugging her tightly. "Look who's scared now." Payal said tapping her sister's head. Khushi chuckled looking up, "As long as god is on my side, the only person who should be scared is Arnav Singh Raizada."
Originally posted by: cineraria
I get it, predictability is boring, when I began writing it, AHF was merely a word document exchange of emails with 3 friends, (one of them is now watching the series and throwing me looks). I had never thought I'd be posting it on IF, I know there's hardly fun reading something that you already know. I posted the first update here only when I was sure where and how I will make AHF different from IPK. There are tweaks here and there but a major addition is the 25th chapter and the subsequent chapters. But the story will shift from the track much later.So yeah if patience is your playmate AHF may surprise you some day.😉Thank you.
Originally posted by: cineraria
Hi Reeshree, I am humbled by your comment and so glad that you are looking forward to it. And I am not going to change Arnav and Khushi's characters at all, I loved them the way they were. But I have added a few things to their backgrounds as you'll see in future updates.PS: MJ could also be Michael Jackson. 😉
Dreams feel real while we're in them. It's only when we wake up that we realize something was actually strange. ~Inception MY STORIES ARE NOW...
Hello people, This is me, Mrinalini , aka Mrina or Mina . And here is the Index of my stories. Now it would be easier for you all to find my...
From the author's desk : Welcome to thread 6! I started to write this story years ago when the show was live and now when I look back on what...
This story has been inspired by the 2002 Malayalam film Nandanam, and was written at the request of Jasminerahul. It is my humble attempt to...
A N A R H I F F ---- Iss Darr Ko Kya Naam Doon Summary: Khushi is an internet famous 27 year old fashion designer from Lucknow. She has a chirpy...