antiquegold thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Napster!
We are all testing the waters with our pedicured feet, delicately, chattering away as we adjust our suits, caps and goggles. Remarking on the turbidity of the water. And you dive in cleanly, cutting through this turbidity with the characteristic razor sharpness of your thoughts cloaked in the whisper of your elegant language, lay it out like it is, and suddenly the whole pool is sparkling, crystal clear. Lanes demarcated. And we can swim laps!

Forgive this crazy, oblique metaphorical nonsense! Its really hot here, a swim and clarity of thought - I cannot tell which one will cool me off more!

The thing is - Rudra knows exactly what you are saying - he knew it that day when he asked her - Maasa kyun keh rahi hai use? And saw that picture. It all fell into place for him. And he launched his khoobsurat aurat dogma at Paro with renewed fervour and ardour. (Big deal, he married her in a couple days anyway, and tied her dori, deposited her wet and shivering on his bed, yaada yaada.. on the way)

The question is - did that knowledge hasten his realization of his visceral connection with her or did it hinder it? At whatever level?

JJKKL thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
MSIN,

I agree with you. RR never showed Mala as such a powerful influencer in Paro's life - till now. Maybe they will show more flashbacks now to stitch it back to the writing of NapSa.

But funny part is they never showed who influenced Paro - whether it was her mother, Nandu Jija, her MamiSa, her father ?
Edited by JJKKL - 11 years ago
Dream_on thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Wow! thats a completely different perspective.. and a very interesting one at that.. Mala is responsible for shaping both of them into the way they are.. and now we wait for her to return :)
napstermonster thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: shona_arhilover

I respect your view, navin ji. ...and yours is the post I really look forward to..

I agree with your every point. ,...but still the question is bugging me... a mother can be justified in leaving her son???

should a mother leave her child all broken and wait for some girl to enter her child's life to undo her wrong
????

The interesting thing to me, when you think of everything we have seen of Mala is--she doesn't even realize the EXTENT to which her leaving Rudra has affected him. She thinks she can come to see him for tea and pakoras one day, and he will welcome her back. She does not understand at all how he has changed from the child she used to put to bed with warm milk and music into-- the Jallad.

I am not defending her--like you, I don't think there is any defense for such child abandonment, no matter what the circumstances--but logically, a part of this astonishing blindness might be Mala not knowing how Dilsher reacted after her running away. Dilsher loves Rudra. Its obvious. But his reaction to his wife leaving him, was to also abandon their son, in every possible way. His reaction was more about being an outraged, insulted and devastated husband than a caring, protective father to a completely shattered little boy. Mala could not have predicted how, instead of staying with his family and brother and her own sister, Dilsher would take Rudra away to Jaipur.

She does not know that he, Rudra's own father then brought up her naughty, sweet, lovable son to be completely isolated and filled with rage and bitterness. She returned for Rudra a month after leaving Dilsher, and then lost complete touch with her son/husband since even Danveer had no contact with his brother during this entire time.

In her head, the Rudra she left that evening after putting him to bed and the Rudra of today--the gap of 15 years is just a time lapse--not a complete shift in who he has become. I am waiting to see how she deals with what Dilsher has done to their kid, and for her to realize that it was HER cruelty and her selfishness that resulted in this twisted, bitter and broken man standing where her adored little boy used to be.

No defense of Mala here. But I like to equally distribute my blame for what these two people did to mhara Rudra. Just like how Dilsher is admitting not just that he abandoned and damaged his son, but also his responsibilities -- and how he is trying to regain his role in his family --that of being the one to control Mohini, to help Danveer--similarly, Mala has to be given the chance now, to try to make up for an unforgivable mistake.
Edited by napstermonster - 11 years ago
SingaporeFan thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
Hmmm...interesting perspective...am sure Mala had a big influence on Paro's upbringing...why else would she call her Thakurain masa? Mala was always in either Rudra or Paro's life...she has shaped both their lives. It will be interesting to see how Paro views Mala after knowing she is Rudra's ma...continue to love her or hate her for what she has done to her Rudra...knowing Paro..she can't hate, will try and understand her POV too...
-Zesty- thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: napstermonster

The interesting thing to me, when you think of everything we have seen of Mala is--she doesn't even realize the EXTENT to which her leaving Rudra has affected him. She thinks she can come to see him for tea and pakoras one day, and he will welcome her back. She does not understand at all how he has changed from the child she used to put to bed with warm milk and music into-- the Jallad.

I am not defending her--like you, I don't think there is any defense for such child abandonment, no matter what the circumstances--but logically, a part of this astonishing blindness might be Mala not knowing how Dilsher reacted after her running away. Dilsher loves Rudra. Its obvious. So how, instead of staying with his family and brother and her own sister, he took Rudra away to Jaipur.

She does not know that he, Rudra's own father then brought up her naughty, sweet, lovably son to be completely isolated and filled with rage and bitterness. She returned for Rudra a month after leaving Dilsher, and then lost complete touch with her son/husband since even Danveer had no contact with his brother during this entire time.

In her head, the Rudra she left that evening after putting him to bed and the Rudra of today--the gap of 15 years is just a time lapse--not a complete shift in who he has become. I am waiting to see how she deals with what Dilsher has done to their kid, and for her to realize that it was HER cruelty and her selfishness that resulted in this twisted, bitter and broken man standing where her adored little boy used to be.

I agree with your POV, navin ji..
I am glad to hear that you are not defending the mother- mala...
Yes, a woman here can be defended BUT a mother can never ...
She came to see her child...but to have a heart to leave your child in the first place is what matters..
I am really waiting to see Paro's POV on this matter...But more than that what i am really looking forward to is...how Rudra sees all this...a woman who had abandoned him, taking care of a girl, who now is his wife...I know that he is aware of their relationship...but his take in all this really confuses me...
antiquegold thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
Shona dear!
The only person in RR who has all the pieces of the puzzle is Rudra - he knows his mother married the Thakur, knows that Paro looks up to and reveres the Thakurayin and knows that Paros value system was and is shaped by Maala. Today, Paro will come to know too!

He has accepted Paro, knowing this about her. He trusts her, he cannot see her unhappy, he protects her, and yes he loves her too, And he has done all this, knowing that Paro knows his maaSa.

Does that indicate, that a grown man now stands in place of that lost child, that this man wants to at least, give a woman, whos life lies in his, a chance, no matter if she is beautiful or not?

I think Rudra's take might be quite clear. He confessed once that he always wanted to move on in life, but his past kept catching up with him. I do not think he holds Paros past against her any more.

All this of course, until the day she leaves him! Eeeks!
Edited by Oldestfan - 11 years ago
JJKKL thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: napstermonster

No defence of Mala here. But like how Dislher is admitting that he abandoned not just Rudra, but also his role in his famile--that of being the one to control Mohini, to help Danveer--similarly, Mala has to be given the chance now, to try to make up for an unforgivable mistake.

I know you are not defending her but the statement in bold is not fair to Dilsher. We cannot put the whole blame on Dilsher. Even Mala cannot. She has to take an equal if not more blame.

• Let us say Mala fell in love and left. And did not want to take the kid with her. Fair enough. But shouldn't she have given closure to her husband and kid ?
  • Let us say DIlsher was a psycho and she was running away - does it not make sense to take the kid with her ?
  • Let us say Mala made a deal with God and left. Should she then not be pining for her hubby and kid ? Why the life with Thakur ?

And in any of the above cases she should have informed Thakur about her son. Why didn't she ?

I guess we all also need a closure on the story 😉

Edited by JJKKL - 11 years ago
shamyj thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
What a refreshingly different approach to Mala. After reading your post I tend to agree with you that Malas' absence made Rudra who he is and Malas' presence made Paro who she is ...each a part of a whole ...incomplete without each other!
-Zesty- thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: Oldestfan

Shona dear!

The only person in RR who has all the pieces of the puzzle is Rudra - he knows his mother married the Thakur, knows that Paro looks up to and reveres the Thakurayin and knows that Paros value system was and is shaped Maala. Today, Paro will come to know too!

He has accepted Paro, knowing this about her. He trusts her, he cannot see her unhappy, he protects her, and yes he loves her too, And he has done all this, knowing that Paro knows his maaSa.

Does that indicate, that a grown man now stands in place of that lost child, that this man wants to at least, give a woman, whos life lies in his, a chance, no matter if she is beautiful or not?

I think Rudra's take might be quite clear. He confessed once that he always wanted to move on in life, but his past kept catching up with him. I do not think he holds Paros past against her any more.

All this of course, until the day she leaves him! Eeeks!

That clears my confusion a bit...My problem is when paro told that she knows his maa-sa, at that time he thought paro is the woman who tried to hurt is father, and still we got no expected reaction from him...and after that ...that thing that paro knows his mother was like forgotten...and last night i was surprised to watch him confessing that...

But now as you said ...now he know paro as whole...he knows paro now...and this may be his reason of accepting paro..

and yes, i too dread the day Paro leaves him...it will more destructive than leaving his mom