QOTW - Discussing word play (writing)

meghavi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Posted: 18 years ago

Heyy guys,

Well here's the quote for this week:

"At the touch of love everyone becomes a poet." - Plato

Well as you can tell from the quote and the title this week we're going to be talking about word play/writing. All of you must have written something 😛

1.) What are your comments on the quote? Have you heard it before? The quote's quite popular, naa?

2.) Essays 😆, stories... poems.. songs.. etc.. What have you written?

3.) How often do you write?

4.) What do you think about writing? Do you find it 'hard.'? Is it one of your hobbies?

5.) Have you ever tried writing something, but couldn't complete it? 😳

6.) Can you share something with us...that you've written? (nooo essays, please 😆)

7.) In general are you a neat or messy writer?

Remember guys, you don't have to answer all of these ques, it's just to get the discussion going. 😊

Edited by meghavi - 18 years ago

meghavi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: meghavi

1.) What are your comments on the quote? Have you heard it before? The quote's quite popular, naa?

We'll I've heard it lots of time. ;p I don't know how true the quote is... but it's a nice quote. hehe. I like it. =)

Yes, I've written essays (like all of us here) 😆...I've written poems when we've had to in English Class...but I've actually never written a song. hehe ;p I also wrote ONE shayari.

Not often. I usually, only, write.. whn I have to. (English class)

4.) What do you think about writing? Do you find it 'hard.'? Is it one of your hobbies?

hummm...I think it's pretty hard. Writing is not one of my hobbies, but it's not a thing, that I would hate to do, either. Sometimes.. (whn I have ideas flowing) I could write something really good.😳 Like I wrote this opinion piece on Unnecessary Animal hunting and I think it came out really good. =)

haha yahhh....I actually tried writing a story like in parts. You know... part 1, part 2.. etc. I stopped on part 3. 😛😆

6.) Can you share something with us...that you've written? (nooo essays, please 😆)

okay, but don't laugh. I wrote it some time back. It was my 1st time writing something in hindi...

Aapke aankhon

Aapke aankhon ne hume aise diwani kar de

Aapke aankhon ne hume aise diwani kar de ke

Ab hamare pass kuch deewanapan raha he nahin, sabh deewangi aapke aankhon per lutiye.

It depends what I'm writing. But usually I'm a pretty neat writer, and I write big =) On regular line paper, I fit like 5 words to a line. 😆

Edited by meghavi - 18 years ago
OnlyHope thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 3

Yep, heard it quite a few times, infact, I use it at many times too 😆

Who gets away with essays ? 😆
Stories...started a few, but never finished them
Poems...I write them all the time 😳

Whenever I feel like it. I don't have a mind set for when I wanna write..I just do whenever I feel like I have something in mind/heart which can be expressed in words or when I need a break from everything and bring out my feelings on paper 😳

I think the art of writing comes to me very naturally and it's not hard at all. It is certainly one of my hobbies 😳

Yes, happens once in a while.

Umm..none of my pieces are worth sharing, but here is one which I personally think is better than some others I wrote...😛

Jin alfaz ke koi mayine na hon,
unhen honton tak laaney ka kya faida ?
Dil mein tumhare agar na thi chahat,
to iqrare mohabbat ka kya faida ?
Tumhari baaton ka yakeen kar ke,
tumhen apne dil ka haal suna diya...
Per jis jazbey ka tumhen ehsaas hi nahi...
uske izhar ka kya faida ?

Definitely not a messy writer, but not the neatest writing either 😆

Edited by fariha17 - 18 years ago
albusdumbledore thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

The quote to say the very least is marvelous. It gives a wonderfull insight into the mind of one of the greatest thinkers of the 4th Century. Did anyone know that he was a student of the Great Socrates, and has mentored another gr8 of his time Aristotle.

No I haven't heard it before.

Must be quite popular since Plato wrote it.

I'm not much of a writer. but occasionally I do write a few lines of poetry, an an occasional shayari or two.

Very rarely.....only when I'm in a very romantic mood.

It isn't exactly one of my hobbies. Its only something that comes to me very natrually and very very very rarely.... it is like a small grain of intutive, creative genius that strikes a person once in a blue moon. only then am I able to write... so I cannot be a regular writer 😛.

'HARD' what is that?

nope.... I get a very clear picture of the thought that I want to transfer onto a piece of paper before I begin writing anything at all.

NO. I'm sorry. I can't do that. My style of writing is a window to my soul, my thoughts, my feelings, my trials, my tribulations ..... so sharing it would reflect my most intimate thoughts which I would not dare share with even my most trusted friends.... any one who has been through such phases in his / her life will vouch for me on that. Hope you understand.

As I said in the question before the previous one, if you have a very clear picture of how exactly you want to proceed, you will never be a messy writer.

Tc,

Tejas
Mano786 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

-I have a book full of quotes. They are quite nice and good.

-I have written essays...a lot...(On school😆) and stories. ...Poems?...hmmm. Yes have written many as homework from school😆

-...hmmmm...I don't get time to wirte, but if I havn't anything to do I wirte poems, quotes by other ppl in my diary..😉...Have my own collection..

-Writting is not my hobby. I don't find it hard but is isn't easy either...I search quote/poems around in the computer and wirte them I like best in my diary...(My collection)

-hmmm...No..😆

-
Jo lamhe saat me guzaare the
woh ek pal me bhool geye ho tum..
Dil me jo baat hoti khul ke bataate the
Tum bin hum kitne udaas rehte the, aur aaj bhi rehte he,
Hum jo tumse milne ki dua karte the, aur aaj bhi karte he,
ek pal me humhe bhool geye ho tum...

(I havn't written it, but finds it quite nice😭)

-I think neat...(?)

Sana.

pc84 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Noop..but love the way it sounds

Essays in Uni, Stories in High SChool..

When required😆

IT's cool.. but have no time for writing.. a nice hobby.. gets your creative juices rolling!!😆😆

PLENTY

No comment!! everything was written School based.. i once made a romantic drama into a murder mystery..but in HS!!

When i write i am a VERY VERY MESSY WRITER!!!!

this was fun!! thanx alot...........

luv pri
83587 thumbnail

Its a nice quote, I haven't heard it before.

I have written essays and poems for school & university but thats it 😆.

I never write, I only write when I have to.

Yes I find it hard finding the right information and putting down your thoughts precisely, its not one of my hobbies.

I have tried writing a story and poem for school and I completed it because I had to 😆.

I only have assignments from school and university 😆.

Normally I am a neat writer, just some days my writing may get messy or if I am really tired.

sweet freedom thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Heyy guys,

i hv heard the quote before, i think its quite sweet but, hearing it so many times kinda makes it annoying😳

essays at skool, stories at skool, poems...at skool and just on my own, songs...well ive made sum up but not wrote em down, i hate writing most of the time

only if i hv english work, or sum otha sort of hmwk to do

i find it hard...its definatly not one of my hobbies, sumtimes maybe a poem but thats it really, i even hate writing notes

all the time, mainly for skool, sumtimes at home ive cum up with an idea for a story but i cudnt be bothered to finish it im really lazy

okay this is my best poem, dont laff at it, its really long, even thoe im editing it to make it shorter.

Midnight dreams here to show
the peace the quiet the sadness the woe
a little sound gentle and sweet
showing in my dream that someday we will meet
together we stand for them all to see
how you and me suddenly turned to we
we stay, our hands held tight
us two together, it feels so right
the rain falls from the sky
i look at him and smile, let out a soft sigh
we dance together till it is night
the sun goes down and the moon shines bright
we watch the stars look down at us
i stand there watching wot he does
he finds pictures in the night sky
telling me that our love will never die
the darkness falls upon our sight
till we cannot see any light
but still we look into each others eyes
its so amazing that time flies
we stand alone in weather so cold
i felt so strong, so happy, so bold
he held my chin up to his own
he took a picture with his phone
on a wooden bench we quietly sit
showed me the picture and deleted it
the beauty is in my soul he says
no need of a picture to remember my face
he wont ever forget me he whispers in my ear
falls down my face a glistening tear
he wipes it away with his hand
oh my that felt so grand
your tears are too special to fall for me
his eyes fill up thats all i can see
for the first time i feel fear
of losing everything i have here
he tells me slowly that will love me
whatever i become, wherever i be
i never want to leave you, i said
and then crying i woke up in my bed
it was all a lie, all a dream
i wanted to cry, to shout, to scream
knowing that all i saw would never come true
got to carry on with life, do wot i need to do
midnight dreams here to show
the peace the quiet the sadness the woe

Henna 786 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3

Well as you can tell from the quote and the title this week we're going to be talking about word play/writing. All of you must have written something 😛

lol i havent heard it before actually, as you can tell im not a quote person 😆

2.) Essays 😆, stories... poems.. songs.. etc.. What have you written

all the above! thats wat you get when you take english as a course of study

it depends wat you mean, i write at least something a day, but something creative about 4 times a week

i normally day dream about wat i want to write then from there i get an image which i can describe, like the senses and colours and atmosphere..

i find writing really hard, but its a challenge i love!

haha, i remember for one of my english stories i couldnt be bothered to continue it so i killed the writer off.. it was in a writers perspective...

then there was another time i wrote an article for a megazine [was actually my CW] i just couldnt be bothered to end it so i wrote 'Full story on page 3' 😆

dont try it whomever reads this.. its not healthy 😆

not really.. sorrie!! 😳

neat all the time!

wite_rainbow thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Ive heard this before and personally i dont agree with Plato (for once😉) as I write a lot of peoms but Ive never been in love. i let my head rule over my heart. ppl say the work is pretty impressive😕

Ive written stories, fanfics and shers ...mostly for practicing my urdu writing skills (mommy's orders). as for essays...OH LORD!!!😭

I used to write alot but ive stopped ever since i started uni...it was mostly out of frustration too so im confused y i stopped writing sinc eim more frustrated as ever before!😆

I think writing is an amazing hobby/past time...not only does it improves your writing it challenges your intellect! I personally find it hard cuz i cant focus...i have an attention capacity of a goldfish...restarts every 3 secs😆 its not a hobby, its never has been. it was something i was forced into by mom and dadi but stuck to it!

Multiple times...i suffer from ...oh i dunno wat its called but i start something with great enthusiasm and b4 i reach the end...its all gone kaput😕😕

i will defo share something as soon as i find my black diary...i keep it hidden (soo well protected...i cant even find it now)

Im probably the messiest writer ALIVE!!!😆 if u wanna challenge it..BRING IT ON😉😆