*IF-IDOL - Vote for the next Sensational Singer - Round 2* - EXTD

-RD- thumbnail
Hogwarts Championship 2025 Thumbnail Gulaal-e-Jung Thumbnail + 9

Voting - Round 2

We are delighted to announce that out of the 20 beautiful entrieswe got for the first round! All of them (provided you sent in your entry ) have made it to Round 2. Congratulations to all those who participated and were able to send in their entries & to those who have made it this far- we truly appreciate your efforts!

Before we start scoring/judging, here are few rules and guidelines which members are requested to keep in mind when scoring.

A few rules and guidelines we hope members will follow before they start to vote:

Voting should be done on the basis of singing. If you identify the participants by their voice, please remain neutral and judge the entry as if you didn't know who it was. Please be fair while voting. Listen to the overall performance and vote.

Vote for 2 entries only. Please provide a short/detailed critique for the entries you have voted for. You are welcome to do this for other/all entries as well. This will be very much appreciated as it provides constructive criticism for all the contestants.

Entries will be judged by the audience (i.e. I-F members) and an anonymous panel of judges. The weighting will be 50-50.

Please do not vote for your own entry - it will lead to disqualification.

Do not vote based on the popularity of the song. Vote for the one you think deserves to win based on talent, selection of the song, vocal range and quality etc.

It takes a lot of courage for the contestants to participate so please do give feedback to all or many as possible outlining the positives and areas where they can improve.

Please refrain from promoting your entry or a specific entry via PM or other mediums - it will lead to DISQUALIFICATION.

Should you have an inquiry regarding the contest, please contact us through PM.

Keep this thread free of chitchat, spam and other irrelevant off topics so its easy for us to keep track of the voting.

If you have questions regarding the voting process, please drop us a PM. All questions answered via PM will be posted under the FAQs below so everyone remains on the same page.

Last date for round 1 voting is
6th April 2015

Voting Process

Write the entry numbers you will be voting for along with a review/feedback (things to add in your review: the contestant's voice, taal, lay, modulations and expressions). Without a proper reason, voting may not count so please give feedback.

Reminder - you are to vote for 2 entries!

Please check the below post for the entries .
Edited by gk_09 - 10 years ago

-RD- thumbnail
Hogwarts Championship 2025 Thumbnail Gulaal-e-Jung Thumbnail + 9

This link has all 20 entries consolidated in the form of a playlist!

https://soundcloud.com/if-idol/sets/if-idol-2015-round-2

Should you have any questions or queries pertaining to the voting round, please feel free to drop them below or PM -RD-, *Shruti*, Aahaana or gk_09 .

_.serendipity._ thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

First of all, well done to all the contestants! Please don't get disheartened if you do not get votes/ good comments. You should be very proud of yourself for having participated, which, I think, is very, very courageous! Even though I have received training, I just can't imagine recording myself and putting it out there on a public forum for everyone to comment on (and I'm sure I'm not the only one). So for that alone, you're all superstars! ⭐️ Sing on, people!

My comments on the different entries:

#1: You have a very sweet voice, but I think what you lack is confidence. If you listen to your recording, you will notice that your voice trails off, especially where the pitch is high. You also lose your breath at times but I'm sure with more practice you will improve! Good luck!

#2: Very courageous choice of songs, esp given that you had to sing without music! That is a feat in itself, and also you pulled off the songs really well, esp Maiyya Maiyya. Your voice is very expressive, and the modulations you make are just astounding! This was one of my favourite entries :D Very well done!

#3: I can imagine you as one of the younger contestants, and I found your entry very cute because you clearly enjoy singing and go off into your own world when you sing! That being said, there is room for improvement, esp with regard to pitching. The singing is a bit flat. Keep practising, you will get there!

#4: Your voice has quite some range and a good understanding of sur-taal. I thought this was a good effort! I think you can improve by singing more openly. I feel that your voice is a bit suppressed (dabbi hui) as of now, which is why the voice becomes nasal at times. But that's nothing that practice can't fix!

#5: Wow! You have a very good mastery of notes and handle both low and high notes equally well, which is brilliant! I absolutely loved your entry. It was flawless, I thought. I could listen to it on repeat, because your singing is just so soothing! Also one of my favourites!

#6: Good effort! You have a very soft voice which is lovely to hear! I sensed however that you are perhaps not comfortable with high notes, and you don't allow your voice to enter that range. I'm sure that with more practice, your range will improve, you will gain more confidence and your voice will open up further. Good luck!

#7: Firstly, nice merging of the songs - almost seamless! I liked that about your entry. But I felt that there were places in the Sun raha hai portion where you went off-tune. But good effort!

#8: You have a very expressive voice! I feel like you sing dil se and put your own personality in the song. I think that makes your singing very beautiful. I sensed that the notes got shaky in places - eg in the alaap of the Galliyan - but other than that, good job!

#10: Everything about your entry was just so beautiful! You have a great control of the notes and a beautiful, melodious voice. Banarasiya was just magical, although I picked some tiny tiny mistakes! This was definitely one of my favourites! Brilliant!

#11: Good effort! You have a good understanding of music and chose beautiful songs. However I feel that you need to work on your pronunciation which is also an important part of singing. I think some of the faster bits of Mast magan were slightly off-beat too. But no worries, just keep practising, you will improve!

#13: You have a very sweet voice, which is just lovely to listen to. Good job on the fast bit of the Thoda sa pagla song, which is quite difficult to sing! I really liked your entry. Only thing, I feel that your voice gets a bit shrill where the pitch goes high. I think it happened more for the first song than the other two. But with some more practice, your voice will open up more, and that won't be an issue.

#14: You have a very expressive voice, and sing with a lot of feeling. I loved that about your entry! I think it's a great quality because it makes listeners connect with your singing. Your speed was slower than that of the original songs, but that's okay. Only little glitch, I felt, was in the Let it go portion, where I feel that you lowered the pitch. It's a difficult song to sing at its original pitch, so kudos for even trying! That being said, I would have preferred if you had attempted to sing at the original pitch. But very good job nevertheless!

#15: You chose very difficult songs, that are almost classical in nature, with lots of alaap, etc, which was very courageous of you indeed! I feel however, that with less difficult songs, your singing would have shone brighter. With these songs, your singing paled off slightly, because you were not able to pull off all the modulations that the songs needed, esp for Phir le aya dil. However, the effort you made was definitely commendable! And you did sing very beautifully! I think if you practise, you will be able to perfect these songs, because I can sense that you have a lot of potential!

#16: I hope you are seriously considering a career in playback singing! I'm not even joking, you really should!! Or at the very least you should have a youtube channel or something. You have such a melodious voice and sing so effortlessly, you are my absolute favourite! Thank you for participating!

#17: I smiled throughout your entry, because you sing with so much happiness! At least that's what I felt. There was just so much masti in your voice, it was really enjoyable! Only thing, I think you went out of breath at times, which is understandable, given the choice of songs. But keep practising!

#20: Also one of my favourite entries! You have a very rich and textured voice, that just feels intoxicating to listen to. And you chose songs that complemented the nature of your voice really well. The songs all had a classical base, and are not easy, but you did complete justice to them! Really, very beautiful singing!

It is really, really difficult to vote, because there are several entries that I like equally! :(
If I could, I would've voted for #2, #5, #10, #16 and #20.

But given that we have to choose 2, I vote for #16 and #20.
Edited by _.serendipity._ - 10 years ago
_TheBlackRose_ thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
My views:

#2 - I quite liked ur entry, esp ur choice of songs... I loved the way u sang the first stnz of Mayya Mayya... loved the overall feel... Good job

#3 - Singing was good, but I feel u need to work on the pronunciation n feel the songs more... it might be bcoz of language probs, but that was what I felt... Same goes for #4 (Sorry if what I said was offensive)

#5 - Really sweet voice :) I loved ur singing as well... only one thing, I felt that the antara stanza of Aoge jab was a bit rushed, but I liked it a lot overall :)

#6 - Nice attempt, but I felt it was a bit rushed

#8 - Another one I totally loved!! Two of my fav songs and u totally rocked them!! N them being my favs makes it harder for me to be impressed, actually, so u did a very gr8 job!!

#10 - Beautiful :) Ur singing was awesome, also loved the way u merged the songs.

#13 - Nice attempt. Ur voice was too low, I had some difficulty listening at first, but apart from that, it was quite good.

#16 - Sweet voice :) I liked the way u sang, and again my fav songs :)

#20 - Liked ur voice and singing, also the choice of songs

Sorry I haven't commented on some entries, I didn't find anything to say 😳 and forgive me if I offended anyone.

Final votes to #8 and #10 😊 😊
Also liked #2 and #16 a lot 😊
Edited by _TheBlackRose_ - 10 years ago
ChalJhoothi thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
I liked #8 #10 #13 #16
My vote goes to #10 #16
Edited by RockingPixies - 10 years ago
DurgaS thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3
Some of the entries that I really liked

Entry #2: Awesome flawless singing. Maiyya maiyya was too good. Love the way you moulded your voice throughout the track. 👏

Entry #5: Both the songs are among my favourites. Needed a sweet heartful rendition for these and you did just that. Lovely voice. But I felt the momentum uneven at times while singing Aaoge jab ...

Entry #8: A breathless performance. Beautifully sung with all heart. The alaap was beautiful, but the repetition of alaap could have been avoided and some more lines could have been sung instead.

Entry #10: Great singing. Clear example of why a trained singer can make all the difference. Banarasiya was superb. 👏

Entry #16: Gaaona, please continue to gaaona. Enjoyed listening to this entry. Feel like listening to again and again. All the three songs were flawless. 👏

Entry #17: Wonderful attempt. What was interesting was the overlapping of voices at times. Great idea, gives one a feel of a well made mix. But, that would mean that the song wasn't sung at one stretch. I hope that's allowed.

Entry #20: Lovely singing and not very easy-to-sing songs too. Nice voice.

My votes go to Entry #2 and Entry #16, mainly because I enjoyed listening to them and also because I felt they were almost flawless compared to others.

Edited by DurgaS - 10 years ago
-RisingAsh- thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
First of all, kudos to everyone who participated.. Efforts appreciated... Great attempt by everyone 👍🏼 Felt so good listening to all lovely voices here...
My review on all entries... I am just going to pen down briefly what i felt listening to each of these... 😳
All the very best to everyone .. N kindly take these as my friendly suggestions ...

#1 sweet voice..nice effort to merge songs like that.. I just felt u could have been more energetic.. It would have sounded more lively then.. Plus i feel u can open ur mouth more to get a clear voice as a result :)

#2 u have got a different voice that i like .. Plus.. I loved how u merged the songs really nicely.. Suited ur voice... Maiya Maiya.. U sang really nicely.. Just i felt as a whole , as if it was a bit rushed.. N that u need to work on ur high notes.. U can do them even better to make it the best :)

#3 nice.. Different choice of songs.. I felt that u can work on ur high notes.. That-is-to-say upper n lower notes were not clear.. Their should be a difference between the two.. So tht the song doesn't seem straight.. :)

#4 melodious voice.. Nice choice of songs.. Just .. A few words were not that clear.. (Could be ignored) :)

#5 beautiful is the word.. LOVED the way u merged n then sang the songs so nicely.. Suitable for ur voice.. Really liked ur start :)

#6 nice choices.. I feel that u just need to open ur mouth a bit more.. It will make ur voice more confident .. N that it sounds a bit rushed.. When u start a new song.. U should finish the last one a bit slowly.. It would sound prettier :)

#7 nice effort.. Just i wish the voice could be more clear..(the recording i mean) plus.. I think u need to work on the articulation while singing..itz an important part i feel.. :)

#8 melodious n sweet voice u have.. Plus loved the way u have merged both the songs.. Awesome.. It was clear n audible.. Liked it as a whole :)

#10 u have got a beautiful polished voice.. I loved it.. Plus the way u have merged the songs.. We won't say there r multiple songs in it.. It sound like a single.. Thtz the best part.. N the classical touch.. Was really nice.. Awesome as a whole :)

#11 nice .. Choice is good... I feel that u can sing more effortlessly.. :)

#13 nice choice... I wish it was more audible .. First two r nicely sung.. Last song was a bit rushed.. I would like to suggest u to open ur mouth a bit more while singing.. It will give a big change in the final result :)

#14 nice choice as well as ur voice... Liked the way u merged them all.. :)

#15 nice.. Sweet voice.. I feel it would be better if u open ur mouth a bit more.. U'll notice the change :)

#16 wonderful voice.. As we say.. Suitable for different kind of songs as it reflects in ur choice as well.. Thtz wht i liked the most.. Plus.. I loved the way u merged all three songs.. Loved it as whole :)

#17 awesomely sung !! Beautifully merged.. Ur high notes r clear as well as ur low notes.. U articulated super well throughout the song.. Thtz the best part for me... All in all.. Awesome :)

#20 lovely voice.. Liked ur choices.. U sang them really nicely :)

As i said earlier, i wrote wht i felt as soon as i listened to each entry.. If i hurt someone then i apologize...

my vote: ENTRIES #16 n #10 : coz i felt these two have chosen songs of different style from each other n that too suited their voices.. So as a whole, gave a wonderful impact 😳

P.S. Special mention to entries #2, #5, #8 n #17 ... Loved them.. Was difficult for me to choose between these.

Edited by RisingAsh - 10 years ago
gk_09 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Voting has been extended by one week to April 6th, 2015.
Ammrita thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
My perspective:

1. Tempo of the song is slow for both the songs. You can open up your voice more. You have the voice.
  2. Great tempo, lyrics sounds clear. Just felt you can open more, just a throw in your voice is missing. Other than that great job.
  3. Going off the tempo though great attempt.
  4. I feel wording could be more clear. You made a great attempt.
  5. Nice feel to the song and you merged all the song very well. There is a very soothing quality to your voice. Well done! Just on "sasonon ki leh madam chale" voice became little shaky and tempo was little fast, but you caught well on time and ended the song really well.
  6. There was no feel to the song, it sounds monotonous. I am sorry; I am just saying what I felt.
  7. I think you can connect the song well. It just sounds very scattered and all over the place. There were many pauses in the beginning but then you picked up well.
  8. You have a great voice, choice of the songs were really good. I could relate to the feel of the songs. Well maintained tempo throughout. One thing I can suggest is to work on breathing.
  9. Great rendition of all the songs. Well balanced voice and throw is nicely worked on. Keep practicing; I think you will rock it in near future! Loved it the way you sang "chaal chalaki" -- not easy!
  10. Selection of songs was well thought of, but you can open more while singing. The words didn't sound so clear.
  11. Nice singing. Just open up more so you can reach the high notes with ease.
  12. Your first songs sounds very straight, just add more feel to the song, so that way you would connect more to the audience.
  13. You have a very nice texture to your voice but I felt the songs had many lose ends.
  14. For me this was a best entry. Almost flawless singing and I must mention the nice selection of the songs as well.
  15. You have a great voice. First song was great but I felt second could have been better, specially the high notes. Merging was overlapping in the songs.

Amazing entries! Kudos to all the participants for their great efforts!

My vote goes to 9 (#10) and 14(#16). I just tried to give a positive criticism, forgive me if I offended anyone.

Edited by Ammrita - 10 years ago
..starryeyed.. thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Entry 10 and 16, merged and sang well 👍🏼

~ Starry
Edited by ..starryeyed.. - 10 years ago