Sukanya_Datta thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Padma Puran-Patal Khanda

Once, Arjuna was seated beneath a tree, along with Lord Krishna, on the banks of the River Yamuna. Arjuna said, "O Lord, please tell me something which is unknown even to Lord Brahma and Lord Shiva. The wives of the cowherds are very dear to You. How many are there, and of how many different kinds? Where do they stay and what are their activities? Where do You eternally engage in pastimes with them?" Lord Krishna replied, "How can you expect to understand such things, which are unknown to even Lord Brahma and Lord Shiva? Therefore, you should desist from your questions.Upon hearing this, Arjuna fell at the Lord's lotus feet, begging forgiveness. Lord Krishna then affectionately lifted Arjuna up and embraced him, saying, "What use is there in My telling you these things?Now, you will directly experience them! First, you must worship the goddess Yogamaya. Without her, I cannot show you what you desire.Thus, Arjuna approached the goddess Yogamaya, seated upon a golden throne. The goddess told Arjuna to go with her female attendent and bathe in a certain lake, and then return. Arjuna did as he was told,and after coming back, the goddess had him recite some mantras and perform some rituals. She told him, "Worship me as I have directed.Only after 1 am pleased, will you be able to sport with Lord Krishna as you desire.Arjuna continued the worship of Goddess Yogamaya. After some time, the she told him, "Now go into the interior of that house, along with this girl.Thus it came to be that Arjuna entered Vrindavana, the abode of Lord Krishna, in which the festival of rasa-lila was continually going on. Feeling indescribable ecstasy, Arjuna fainted. Thereafter, when he regained consciousness, Arjuna asked the girl what else he should do.The girl then took Arjuna by the hand and led him to the south.

They came to a beautiful garden, and the girl told Arjuna to bathe in the lake there. Upon plunging into the lake, which was decorated with various kinds of lotuses, Arjuna found himself transformed into a beautiful girl, in the prime of her youth. Indeed, he completely forgot about his former masculine body.Coming out of the water, Arjuna stood there, not knowing what to do. A voice from the sky then said, "Go along this path and you will find your friends there. They will help you fulfill your desire.After walking some distance, she (Arjuna) saw a group of young girls, all of whom were fascinating in appearance, speech and mannerisms. One of the girls, Priyamuda, came and asked, "Who are you? Whose daughter are you? Who brought you here? Whose beloved are you?Arjuna replied, "I do not know who 1 am, or whose daughter 1 am. I came here on my own, being sent by a goddess. Who are you, and whose daughters are you?Priyamuda said, "We are daughers of cowherd men and we are the beloved of Lord Krishna.Priyamuda then introduced many of the gopis. She took Arjuna (now called Arjuni) to a lake and made her bathe, and then gave her a mantra to chant. The goddess Radhika then appeared, and Arjuni fell at her lotus feet to offer obeisances. The goddess had a gopi, Priyamvada, bring Arjuni close, so that she could further instruct her in the science of pure devotion.They next went to where Lord Krishna was staying, and it so happened that the Lord called for Arjuni. Arjuni approached the Lord and fell to the ground, to offer obeisances. Finally, after opening his eyes with difficulty, Arjuni saw himself in a wonderfully beautiful place.There was a desire-tree, and under it was a jewelled throne. On that seat was an eight-petaled lotus. On the left and right were Shanka and Padma. In the four directions were desire-yielding cows (kamadhenu), The breeze was scented by lovely flowers of all kinds and was cool because of containing drops of honey. The humming of intoxicated bees could be heard, as they swarmed to taste that honey. There was also the sounds of parrots, cuckoos and other birds. Here and there were dancing peacocks.

Arjuni saw Lord Krishna, whose black hair was very glossy and curly. On His head was a peacock feather. His cheeks shone like mir-tors, and His forehead was decorated with tilak. His lips were charming like bimba fruits, and His gentle smile inflamed the passion of love. A nice garland of flowers hung on His broad shoulders, and a Kaustubha jewel hung on His powerful chest, which was also adorned with the mark of Shrivatsa. His arms reached to His knees, and His navel was very deep. The Lord was decorated with many ornaments, and He was dressed in yellow garments. Indeed, His lovliness seemed to conquer millions of Cupids.

Lord Krishna, the knower of everything, then seized Arjuniya by the hand and began sporting with her in an isolated forest. Finally, putting His arm on her shoulder, the Lord told the gopi, Sharada, "Have this lady, who is fatigued, bathe in the western lake.After bathing, when she came out of the water, Arjuniya found that she was once again a male. Seeing Arjuna dejected, Lord Krishna touched his hand and said, "Dhananjaya, you are My dear friend. There is no one else in the three worlds who knows this confidential secret of Mine. Do not reveal your experience to anyone else!Being highly delighted, Arjuna thereafter returned home, remembering his pastimes with Lord Krishna.

For citation : http://nitaaiveda.com/All_Scriptures_By_Acharyas/Puranas/Padma_Purana/PATALA_KHANDA.htm

CatcherInTheRye thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 2
hey pretty lads...vts goin on????
well i guess all hvin a gr8 tym here...rofl
regarding parth n madhav...right..???
Sukanya_Datta thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
@Reet...
Please read the article that I posted.
Mujhe pata hai ki tumhe lambi stories padna accha nahi lagta but ise please pado..
Bohut interesting hai.. 😊
sohiniluvsmusic thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
@sukanya i've read Arjuni's story sukhanya though not from Padma Purana bt i loved it!!
Edited by sohiniluvsmusic - 11 years ago
--Royal-- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: ...sandhureet..

@nishu...amazing OS nishu...really a good hit buddy😃😃

loved reading it...😆...n yeah ...i forgive u for typos😆😆

Dhanywaad 😃
rofl..rofl...vt a story it was...rofl..
but i dint get nything...rofl
Medha.S thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Sukanya_Datta

Ok guys, kya tum logo ne kabhi Padma Puran pada hai??
Uske Patal Khanda me ek bohut hi interesting story hai Krishna-Arjun ko lekar?? 😳

are you talking about the arjuni gopi story?
yeah it is in padma puran ... actually, the first ever post i made here, well i posted the story in the thread, but a shorter version in my words. 😳

Originally posted by: Sukanya_Datta

@Reet...
Please read the article that I posted.
Mujhe pata hai ki tumhe lambi stories padna accha nahi lagta but ise please pado..
Bohut interesting hai.. 😊

😆😆who told u that i dun like reading long stuff???
well read that...was interesting..but dint got vt krishna wanted to show arjuna???
i m really dumb at that
nytime darl😆😆
--Royal-- thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 2
Suki- thank for d article 😛 maza aaya read karne m 😆