Comments and corrections are welcome and appreciated!!! 😃 Please let me know what you think or even what you would like to see next 😉
an AbhiGya Short Story in 4) parts
by dekhiki AKA Mina
(Part 1) (Part 2) (Part 3) (Part 4)
The drive to the hospital passed in silence. Pragya sat with her hands folded in her lap, quietly leaning against one corner of the car. Abhi sat hunched forward, his head in his hands as he tried to clear his thoughts. The first thing is to find out what's wrong with Daadi, he thought. I will get there in time, he repeated to himself until he almost believed it.
When they arrived at the hospital, Abhi rushed out of the car without waiting for Pragya. He did not see her instruct the driver to wait for them and didn't bother to tell her where he was going. Pragya caught sight of Abhi's direction just before he turned a corner and disappeared from view. She followed him to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU).
In the waiting area outside the ICU, they found Aaliya, Akaash, Raj, Tauji and Taiji.
"Bhai!" Aaliya cried out in relief when she saw Abhi. "Thank God, finally you're here!"
Abhi swept her into a fierce hug. "I'm here. I'm sorry." He gently let her go. "Tell me what happened."
"They said that Daadi's heart function has been compromised by stress. It looks like organizing the wedding and all was too much for her," Aaliya explained.
"Or maybe our new bride has brought us bad luck!" Taiji added, but everyone ignored her.
"What! But this wedding was supposed to make her happy," Abhi said, his voice full of frustration.
"Woh, beta, the doctor said even happy stress is stress," Tauji said.
Pragya had quietly taken a seat near the group of Mehra relatives, not wanting to put herself forward in such a difficult situation when she was still new to the family. She had been startled by Taiji's accusation, but she thought it was better not to argue with such an illogical statement when everyone was so tense. She now frowned to herself at Tauji's explanation; she had never heard of happy stress causing heart problems before.
"Well, can't they do anything for her? Why is she in the ICU?" Abhi demanded.
"Bhai, there is a treatment that should have a quick effect, but there's a problem," Aaliya said. Abhi looked at her expectantly and she continued, "It's about the payment."
"What? How can there be a problem with payment? No matter how much it is, I can pay it!" Abhi insisted with impatience.
"No, the problem is releasing the funds. Bhai, they need Purab's authorization," Aaliya said almost apologetically.
Oh, just great, Abhi thought. As if I need any more drama tonight! "Are you sure I can't just sign it myself Aaliya? It's my money after all!"
"For such a large amount, it has to come through your business account with your manager's authorization," Aaliya answered.
"But Purab is out of station!" Abhi objected. And whose brilliant idea was it to send him away when he controls my money? Abhi thought bitterly.
"Just phone him and tell him to arrange it, Bhai," Aaliya suggested. "That's the fastest way to get it done so they can start Daadi's treatment."
Phone him? But I don't want to talk to him! Abhi thought to himself. There must be another way. After the long events of the night, including the hot and stuffy wedding with its endless rituals and the loud and wild party at Taanu's place afterward, Abhi was not exactly thinking straight. That was the only way to explain the decision he suddenly made. "I won't call him," Abhi stated.
All of his family members looked at him in shock and were about to open their mouths to protest. "I won't call him, because he might not listen to me. But I know who he will listen to," Abhi continued, turning around to pin his gaze on Pragya. "Excuse me? Come out to the hall with me," he said to her. Then he abruptly turned and walked out of the waiting area.
Pragya looked towards the Mehras in confusion. "Did - did he mean me?" she asked.
"Yes, obviously! Hurry up and go to him!" Aaliya replied, pointing to the door in exasperation.
Pragya felt puzzled, but given the urgency of the situation she did as she was told. Gathering her lehenga so that she could walk more quickly, she hurried out to join Abhi in the hall.
***continued in Part 3***