8th August: New Steps; Old Mistakes

...Maham... thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Hi everyone, 🤗

So I finally got my laptop back today. A LOT happened in the last week and I am sorry to all those people who requested a write-up. Err would it be okay if I umm... don't revisit? *ducks*

Coming to today's episode... very good stuff. It's a new chapter in the lives of our protagonists as they begin to explore new territories with Sona & Ishwari almost equally apprehensive and our Dev babu happily oblivious to the delicacy with which one should handle this change in status quo.

Dev's confrontation with Riya and Nikki was amusing. "Aapne meri friend, ko girlfriend bana liya." 😆 I hope we get a follow up scene about this. There is no way his sisters would let him off the hook so easily. Thank you RR for keeping yourself in check for once and mentioning Sona as the "Doctorni". Smh. How the writers decided to skip a grill session for Sona on the hands of RR today is beyond me. Khuda kare humein aise din aur dekhne ko miley. 😆 Please keep focusing on scenes that move the story forward. 😳 Riya exhibiting a maturity that we hadn't quite seen yet was very nicely done. It's a natural step, what with Neha no longer there... Interestingly a lot of Riya's understanding of her Mother comes from her taking note of everything her Neha di used to say about Ishwari. It was great to see Riya speak out today about Ishwari wanting to go shopping with Dev alone. Will come back to that scene in a bit.

Ishwari and Sona's scene was incredibly sweet. Sona tries to act as if nothing has changed when infact everything has.. How would you address this stuff anyway? Like 'Hi Aunty ji, I fell in love with your son whilst taking care of you and I hope you are okay with the idea of me being your future daughter-in-law. Okay bye!" 😆

On a more serious note, somehow Ishwari addressing Sona directly by her name instead of Nutrition' was as significant to me as the time Dev took her name during the confession. I know it's not the first time but there was something in the tone of her voice, a sort of gentleness maybe that acknowledged the new reality of their relationship more than an open conversation could have. Sona & Ishwari have a certain understanding of their own in this respect. Sometimes Ishwari speaks her heart out to her. Sometimes a few words are enough. Moving on... Ishwari's guilt and her discomfort in communicating the same were very evident. I liked how she struggled to hold Sona's hand initially but when Sona said that it must be due to one of her own faults that Ishwari was harsh with her that you finally see her grasp it. It's like I said... sometimes a few words are enough between these two women to understand what the other wants to say. Sona quietly saying thank you to Ishwari for accepting her and their relationship was beautiful; loved the subtlety of the moment.

And then the bombshell... Sona is to accompany them on this shopping trip. Dev Dev Dev... Go a little slow. It's only been a day since you came clean about everything to your Mother. Lets not overwhelm her with too many things shall we? Knowing her temperament, It really won't end well. The only thing I was relieved about was that he gave a reasonable explanation for taking Sonakshi along instead of being all hum-ho about the idea and expecting his Mother to feel the same. Thank God for Riya otherwise that is exactly what would have happened. Ahh, this Mother and son duo and their over-reliance on the impeccable understanding' they are supposed to share (Ghanta understanding I tell you. Yeah okay sometimes the English language doesn't give me the same satisfaction and I had to use that word. 😆)

It's not easy for Ishwari but you see her try yet again. That look on Sona's face though when Ishwari takes hold of her hand and insists that she come - Awww! The way she just lights up... Beautifully expressed by Erica. You can see how much Sona wants to be accepted whole-heartedly by her and get atleast a little bit of the same love she feels for Ishwari. On a slightly different note, I do hope we see something along the same lines for Dev and Sona's family. I know they already like him but I'd like to see him learning to love the people who are such an integral part of Sona's world too. It would be healthy for Dev to experience things Bose-family style without feeling he has stepped into an alternate universe. And just like Dev wants his Mother to know the woman he is in love with, Sona's family should also learn more about the man their daughter is in love with.

Anyway, enough on that... Coming to the final scene of the day: You see how all three of our protagonists struggle and fail to achieve the real purpose of the trip. Sona, perhaps still too wary about encroaching upon Ishwari and Dev's personal space heads off to take a look at some bedsheets alone. Ishwari, slipping back into her comfort zone, gets busy in the same with her son by her side as always. Mr. Dixit being Mr. Dixit is naturally bored as he has probably always been on all previous shopping trips and decides to go chat up his girlfriend instead which doesn't go down too well with his Mother. What really should have happened is that Sona should have resolutely stuck by Ishwari's side, learning a little about her choices, followed by her and Ishwari fondly berating Dev as he'd receive the inevitable phonecall, the whole thing culminating with Ishwari making the effort to include some of Sona's own likes and suggestions without the feeling of too many changes happening too fast. Instead ofcourse, like I said... Both women pick out stuff individually with Dev being dragged in as the decision maker. This wasn't supposed to involve Dev at all you know? It was supposed to be only about them. I'm not saying Sona should continuously bend herself according to Ishwari's needs, I admire her free spirit too much to suggest that but relationships, especially new ones, are very delicate and building and working on them is far more important than a couple of bedsheets.

Sona needs to understand that she can't hide anymore. She's going to have to be a little brave and take a few initiatives of her own to push her equation with Ishwari forward. It might not always end well but she won't know until she tries right? (Throwback to Sona directly confronting Ishwari about whether she was mad/upset with her and even when she asks her about why Dev doesn't believe in God; she was bold there and it helped) Only with trial and error can there be progress. You can't expect Ishwari to try too much honestly... She gets overwhelmed very easily. Dev, on the other hand, is hopeless. Sona is the more perceptive one. She understands that this can't possibly be as easy for Ishwari as Dev believes it to be, her job therefore is to help Ishwari settle into these changes with a little more ease. Sona isn't the enemy or the competition here. She's to become a part of this family and add to all that's missing within them. She's yet to see how big a role she can play here... It's natural ofcourse, this is all very new to her as well and today was only the first day. That's why this scene was particularly symbolic... It depicted a situation where everything could have gone a lot more smoothly thus showing us how far there is still to go for these characters when it didn't.

BTW I am also not suggesting that all the hardwork should ultimately come down to Sona, Dev should be right in the middle of it too and he will be but the problem with Dev is, the moment he senses that everything may not be as perfect as he thinks it is and Ishwari might not be entirely happy, his first instinct is going to be to keep the two women away from each other. Dev doesn't realize that things will need to get a little ugly before they can get better. He's protective of both Sona and Ishwari and will fail to understand that in this instance, they don't need to be protected from each other. They need to communicate to sort their differences out. All three of them do.

Coming to the precap: Dev.. Family photograph? Really? Technically speaking, you aren't even engaged yet. Aishh... This guy. First he was taking too long to tell everyone, now he's rushing into everything. It's sweet ofcourse, for him Sona has been a part of this family for a long time but Dev... Take other people into count too. Okay I'm reminded of one of those signs on the road... Speed kills. 😆 Bad joke I know. 😆

Let's see what happens tomorrow then. On a final note, feels good to write on this show again. I missed it. :)

Until later! 🤗

Edited by ...Maham... - 9 years ago

JyotiBThakur thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
Amazing analysis yet again Maham.👏

Loved it... As always it was a beautiful episode and same goes with your write up. In the coming episodes i want to see some Sona and Dixit sisters scenes... Also i would like to see Dev trying to bond more with the Bose family. It'll be a treat to watch.😊
404_NotFound thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail + 7
Great analysis ..it's a pleasure reading your post...I wanted to share my views on two scenories. ...
Regarding photo session it was a tricky situation, since it was happening at home it would have been awakard if they had not included Sona...it would be like treating her as mere employee which is not true.When you introduce your GF to your family things start getting complicated in Indian families. You are either a family member nor a stranger. So no one is wrong in this situation ...for Dev rituals, customs holds no value and for him Sona is already part of him n his family so if you think from his PoV he is not wrong...accepting someone is important for him than any tradions...at the same time it's just a photo why make a big deal if she is included in some of the photos

Now coming to the bedsheet problem., I felt bad for Ishwari .Both Dev and Sona were insensitive .Dev should have spoken to his mom before inviting anyone .When you are new to the family it's not a good idea to try and change things at home or to introduce new traditions...also she could have stayed with Ishwari and helped her instead of selecting her own sheets ...this was an opportunity for her to bond with her future Mil.The purpose of this shopping was not to choose bedsheets for Ishwari mansion...

mayu1982 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
Very well written post once again 👏

How do u manage to to write it so well🤔. I can write only 4 lines that too after too much efforts😆

Anyway coming to the point- Yesterday whatever it is shown is more realistic. It may looked very rushed or speedy but it is realistic. In real life no one gives time to their mother after introducing his future would-be. The entire process is very fast and that is reason most of us ( daughter in law and mother in law struggles to keep a healthy relationship😕🤔)

See the difference -

Is communication is the solution of this problem🤔? May be yes but practically it doesn't happened this way.

My personal experience and observation -famous insider story- I can't share the name- but that actor is in love obviously with girl😆( aajkal kuch bhi ho sakta hai😆) but that actor's family was very traditional and wants their daughter in law in full traditional avatar and following traditional rules and regulations very strictly. But actor like his Gf in western avatar , but the very first day he told his Gf to come with him wearing western clothes only. She went wearing western clothes, family were shocked. For almost 2 -3 years family struggled to accept this western avatar bahu, but eventually accept her in western avatar

See my intention to tell this long story is - there is no right time or correct time . Ishwari will still suffer and will feel bad even if - "CHalo Shopping together -together " happens after 1-2 months.😳😆

But yes photography-shotography is beyond my knowledge and understanding

But agree with Nitu for this photography part 😆😆😆

P.S. Sorry for saying some crap .. Virutal killing is still illegal 🤔

Edited by mayu1982 - 9 years ago
desigirl987 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Maham missed ur write-up especially last week, glad that you got ur laptop bak , now we get to read ur fabulous analysis ... 😊

Originally posted by: ...Maham...

Hi everyone, 🤗

So I finally got my laptop back today. A LOT happened in the last week and I am sorry to all those people who requested a write-up. Err would it be okay if I umm... don't revisit? *ducks*

Coming to today's episode... very good stuff. It's a new chapter in the lives of our protagonists as they begin to explore new territories with Sona & Ishwari almost equally apprehensive and our Dev babu happily oblivious to the delicacy with which one should handle this change in status quo.

Dev's confrontation with Riya and Nikki was amusing. "Aapne meri friend, ko girlfriend bana liya." 😆 I hope we get a follow up scene about this. There is no way his sisters would let him off the hook so easily. Thank you RR for keeping yourself in check for once and mentioning Sona as the "Doctorni". Smh. How the writers decided to skip a grill session for Sona on the hands of RR today is beyond me. Khuda kare humein aise din aur dekhne ko miley. 😆 Please keep focusing on scenes that move the story forward. 😳 Riya exhibiting a maturity that we hadn't quite seen yet was very nicely done. It's a natural step, what with Neha no longer there... Interestingly a lot of Riya's understanding of her Mother comes from her taking note of everything her Neha di used to say about Ishwari. It was great to see Riya speak out today about Ishwari wanting to go shopping with Dev alone. Will come back to that scene in a bit.

I always thought she is the most sensible one among Dixits , good thing is unlike Neha she doesnt have any baggage which prevent her to openly speak for her mom when she realizes Dev's behavior may hurt her mom.

Ishwari and Sona's scene was incredibly sweet. Sona tries to act as if nothing has changed when infact everything has.. How would you address this stuff anyway? Like 'Hi Aunty ji, I fell in love with your son whilst taking care of you and I hope you are okay with the idea of me being your future daughter-in-law. Okay bye!" 😆

On a more serious note, somehow Ishwari addressing Sona directly by her name instead of Nutrition' was as significant to me as the time Dev took her name during the confession. I know it's not the first time but there was something in the tone of her voice, a sort of gentleness maybe that acknowledged the new reality of their relationship more than an open conversation could have. Sona & Ishwari have a certain understanding of their own in this respect. Sometimes Ishwari speaks her heart out to her. Sometimes a few words are enough. Moving on... Ishwari's guilt and her discomfort in communicating the same were very evident. I liked how she struggled to hold Sona's hand initially but when Sona said that it must be due to one of her own faults that Ishwari was harsh with her that you finally see her grasp it. It's like I said... sometimes a few words are enough between these two women to understand what the other wants to say. Sona quietly saying thank you to Ishwari for accepting her and their relationship was beautiful; loved the subtlety of the moment.

I loved how writers always made Sona to act so sensibly when it comes to Ishwari , she knew Ishwari was struggling with the guilt but made the situation lighter without making it more hard on her . Reminded me of the situation where Sona came back after Ishwari misbehaved and was struggling to say sorry . And that hand holding said a lot more than words ... If you remember the scene in which Ishwari giving earring to Sona and the conversation that follows , the eye talk between them , after Ishwari said I know she is not a kid , thats one of my favrt Ish-Sona moment . And todays Ishwari's gesture was close enough ...

And then the bombshell... Sona is to accompany them on this shopping trip. Dev Dev Dev... Go a little slow. It's only been a day since you came clean about everything to your Mother. Lets not overwhelm her with too many things shall we? Knowing her temperament, It really won't end well. The only thing I was relieved about was that he gave a reasonable explanation for taking Sonakshi along instead of being all hum-ho about the idea and expecting his Mother to feel the same. Thank God for Riya otherwise that is exactly what would have happened. Ahh, this Mother and son duo and their over-reliance on the impeccable understanding' they are supposed to share (Ghanta understanding I tell you. Yeah okay sometimes the English language doesn't give me the same satisfaction and I had to use that word. 😆)

Oh tell me about it , I even made a post last week regarding this . The good thing is Sona is very much aware of the implications of this . As per the character sketch of Dev , he was supposed to do the damage control after knowing he was the reason for his mother's irrational behavior ,just like halwa incident . I really felt it was rushed , and the photo frame I really felt it was out of character of him saying the photo is not perfect since Sona is not in it, that too in front of his mother . As u said they are not even engaged ... I think last week's Sona's behavior really shook him , he couldn't even tolerate the thought that she doubted his love , so now he is trying to overcompensate. .

It's not easy for Ishwari but you see her try yet again. That look on Sona's face though when Ishwari takes hold of her hand and insists that she come - Awww! The way she just lights up... Beautifully expressed by Erica. You can see how much Sona wants to be accepted whole-heartedly by her and get atleast a little bit of the same love she feels for Ishwari. On a slightly different note, I do hope we see something along the same lines for Dev and Sona's family. I know they already like him but I'd like to see him learning to love the people who are such an integral part of Sona's world too. It would be healthy for Dev to experience things Bose-family style without feeling he has stepped into an alternate universe. And just like Dev wants his Mother to know the woman he is in love with, Sona's family should also learn more about the man their daughter is in love with.

Anyway, enough on that... Coming to the final scene of the day: You see how all three of our protagonists struggle and fail to achieve the real purpose of the trip. Sona, perhaps still too wary about encroaching upon Ishwari and Dev's personal space heads off to take a look at some bedsheets alone. Ishwari, slipping back into her comfort zone, gets busy in the same with her son by her side as always. Mr. Dixit being Mr. Dixit is naturally bored as he has probably always been on all previous shopping trips and decides to go chat up his girlfriend instead which doesn't go down too well with his Mother. What really should have happened is that Sona should have resolutely stuck by Ishwari's side, learning a little about her choices, followed by her and Ishwari fondly berating Dev as he'd receive the inevitable phonecall, the whole thing culminating with Ishwari making the effort to include some of Sona's own likes and suggestions without the feeling of too many changes happening too fast. Instead ofcourse, like I said... Both the women pick out stuff individually with Dev being dragged in as the decision maker. This wasn't supposed to involve Dev at all you know? It was supposed to be only about them. I'm not saying Sona should continuously bend herself according to Ishwari's needs, I admire her free spirit too much to suggest that but relationships, especially new ones, are very delicate and building and working on them is far more important than a couple of bedsheets.

Sona needs to understand that she can't hide anymore. She's going to have to be a little brave and take a few initiatives of her own to push her equation with Ishwari forward. It might not always end well but she won't know until she tries right? (Throwback to Sona directly confronting Ishwari about whether she was mad/upset with her and even when she asks her about why Dev doesn't believe in God; she was bold there and it helped) Only with trial and error can there be progress. You can't expect Ishwari to try too much honestly... She gets overwhelmed very easily. Dev, on the other hand, is hopeless. Sona is the more perceptive one. She understands that this can't possibly be as easy for Ishwari as Dev believes it to be, her job therefore is to help Ishwari settle into these changes with a little more ease. Sona isn't the enemy or the competition here. She's to become a part of this family and add to all that's missing within them. She's yet to see how big a role she can play here... It's natural ofcourse, this is all very new to her as well and today was only the first day. That's why this scene was particularly symbolic... It depicted a situation where everything could have gone a lot more smoothly thus showing us how far there is still to go for these characters when it didn't.

Oh you perfectly described how it should have been . I loved the look on Dev's face after his phone call looking at the two women he luv the most , and feeling content , totally oblivious to what was brewing inside Ishwari ... I really hope during these days we would get some good Ish -Sona moments , but from SBS segs and spoilers , looks like Dev is being so reckless and pushing it so far ...

BTW I am also not suggesting that all the hardwork should ultimately come down to Sona, Dev should be right in the middle of it too and he will be but the problem with Dev is, the moment he senses that everything may not be as perfect as he thinks it is and Ishwari might not be entirely happy, his first instinct is going to be to keep the two women away from each other. Dev doesn't realize that things will need to get a little ugly before they can get better. He's protective of both Sona and Ishwari and will fail to understand that in this instance, they don't need to be protected from each other. They need to communicate to sort their differences out. All three of them do.

Coming to the precap: Dev.. Family photograph? Really? Technically speaking, you aren't even engaged yet. Aishh... This guy. First he was taking too long to tell everyone, now he's rushing into everything. It's sweet ofcourse, for him Sona has been a part of this family for a long time but Dev... Take other people into count too. Okay I'm reminded of one of those signs on the road... Speed kills. 😆 Bad joke I know. 😆

Let's see what happens tomorrow then. On a final note, feels good to write on this show again. I missed it. :)

Until later! 🤗

Thank you once again for a wonderful analysis , looking fwd to read more ...

Snehavinaya thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Wonderful !! Maham, as always u have brought out all the minute details.
Was waiting since last week for your analysis.
U need to write daily to keep us sane as the story line progresses.
Tension is killing me.
I think it is all because of those first promos.
If they had not shown that then it would have been nicer to watch.
Now can't even enjoy devakshi scenes, because in the background always thinking they are going to part.
Looks like waiting for the inevitable.
Still my pov is that Dev is not giving enough time to sona to understand her / know more about her.
As he had promised on the first day.
Isn't that a major drawback ? Things look rushed to me with iswari in the picture, the chances of misunderstanding is high. Don't forget RR - she will also instigate.
So with a visibly weak bond between them , this was bound to happen.
Now neha & her problems also---

where they get time to understand each other?
Most importantly Dev is not worried about Sona's family's acceptance.
In this day & age isn't that important or still boy's family only is important ?
A new concept show should have included that from the beginning -
Rather than my mother / my family.
Sorry for the long rant
I hope maham , u would share your pov on this
FLW70 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Great analysis ...as usual...you write so beautifully...keep writing everyday...missed your write ups last week...thanks Maham!!
Samanalyse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Wonderful post as always, Maham! 👏

Even though it makes me feel like I might be in the minority here (😛) I really love the way the character arcs of Sona, Dev and Ishwari are unfolding. And of course, can't forget my favourite Neha! Each of their stories is in conversation with the other's and that is what makes this phase of the story so gripping to me. Over the past few episodes, there is one sentiment that keeps occurring which I think is the core problem. Ishwari and Dev keep repeating that her happiness lies in his happiness, but the way I see it, that is simply not true. Being in denial of the fact that her happiness is something different from Dev's is what is causing so much of Ishwari's personal turmoil.

Today was the perfect example of that. Dev's happiness lay in Sona coming with them and getting to bond with his mother while Ishwari's lay in spending time alone with Dev. Unfortunately, this is where it becomes more complicated than just an issue of communication. To Ishwari it is unthinkable that something that makes Dev happy should be the very thing to take away her happiness. After all, if her entire emotional being is not wrapped up in her son, doesn't that make her a selfish and terrible mother in her own esteem? That's where Neha's direct approach with Ranveer was a breath of fresh air! She sensed Ranveer's silent plea and instead of playing along, opened it right up and brought it to the table. She may not sound as righteous, but at least she is able to communicate with honesty, both to herself and to Ranveer. It's one of the great tragedies of the story so far to see Ishwari trapped in the impossibly high standard she has set for herself, unable to express so simple a desire as an afternoon with her son.

Equally tragic is Dev's complete oblivion and the destruction he is unwittingly causing. As usual, he takes everything at face value, believng that it is entirely his responsibility to build a relationship between Sona and Ishwari, because they are to be related through him. He's unaware of the organic and powerful bond that already exists between the two as evidenced by the scene you so beautifully described. They need so few words and gestures to communicate, and yet so much is said and understood between them. This is the piece of the puzzle that Ishwari has yet to connect; with Sona in the picture (literally with the precap!), her relationship with Dev may change, but it will be complemented by the relationship she will have with Sona! And we've already seen how beautiful that can be: Ishwari and Sona naturally adore each other when everyone is clear about their respective roles. Dev is eagerly smudging the boundaries but as a result is creating awkward and inorganic situations for both women.

I absolutely loved your reading of Sona's actions at the store, and how it fits in with her general tendency to fall back instead of acting on her feelings! I guess it goes to show that I think a lot like her because I completely agreed with the way she did things until I read your post. I figured she was just giving Ishwari and Dev the alone time that she could sense the former wanted. But you're so right. In backing away, she actually exacerbated the either/or-ness of the situation where her usual assertiveness with Ishwari (when Dev is not in the picture) would have worked much, much better. The ticket would have been to exclude Dev (I'm sure he wouldn't have minded!) which Sona could have easily accomplished had she seen Ishwari as her patient and auntyji rather than Dev's Ma. Sona knows just how to put Ishwari at ease, often much better than Dev, but this pressure-cooker of a situation probably stopped her from thinking like her usual self. 😆
Edited by Samanalyse - 9 years ago
Ammuty thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Great analysis👏 how accurately described every single emotions... u r very talented... keep on writing.. would love to read...
amaypranay thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Your writing is so crisp... Wow!

You should write more often...