amrapali2 thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: mango.falooda

yes I enjoyed it -- like all ITV, the first season was done well. then it went downhill. 😂. then ratings fell and they wrapped it up quickly but at least everything made sense. I did recommend it to a few non-desi online drama friends (from kdrama circle) and they also enjoyed it. I think it depends on your taste. it is one of the few ITV dramas I have re-watched. bepannah really was raw in terms of the characters finding out they were cheated on and how they deal with the aftermath. and the confusion of being the only two who get each other. ❤️

what I loved about the story was that zoya and aditya loved passionately but they were a bit of a failure when it came to being a good spouse though neither was aware of it till after. so those are not the type of themes you would see in ITV -- to acknowledge that FL and ML are not mahaan and suck? that itself is unusual if you think about it.

otherwise, ITV tends to glorify these characters and never acknowledge their flaws. in most dramas, the cheaters are always shown as negative and bepannah tried to be more humane and show that marriage is a complicated dynamic and it is not black and white when it comes to a breakdown in relationships. so lots of things that were different and still feel fresh in some ways.

it was also mature FL and ML -- neither are in their early 20s and being silly. they had already lived a life and then we meet them at their very lowest. normally it is about the ML resuing the FL from some sort of misery. here, both are swirling in a storm when they meet. so yea lots of stuff I really enjoyed; the chemistry was superb! 🥰

in terms of the viewing experience, it was my first IF drama forum and I had a real blast. we laughed a lot, trolled away, dissected and simply swooned at other times. so that made it that much more enjoyable.

I haven’t seen the show (KA is the first Hindi show that I’m actually regularly watching) but the concept seems intriguing. I find Jennifer Winget so talented and she doesn’t hesitate to take up unique concepts in ITV shows, even in Beyhadh. Want to see her acting again.
amrapali2 thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: pomegranate

Viaan looked so awkward saying this. Adnan does nuanced acting really well.

https://twitter.com/HarRaatYaadonKi/status/1600155278921453568

I agree Adnan is such a good actor. Even the scene in which he asks for the ONS was flawless according to me. He delivered a disturbing scene is such a nuanced way.
From_Pluto thumbnail
5th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

yes I enjoyed it -- like all ITV, the first season was done well. then it went downhill. 😂. then ratings fell and they wrapped it up quickly but at least everything made sense. I did recommend it to a few non-desi online drama friends (from kdrama circle) and they also enjoyed it. I think it depends on your taste. it is one of the few ITV dramas I have re-watched. bepannah really was raw in terms of the characters finding out they were cheated on and how they deal with the aftermath. and the confusion of being the only two who get each other. ❤️

what I loved about the story was that zoya and aditya loved passionately but they were a bit of a failure when it came to being a good spouse though neither was aware of it till after. so those are not the type of themes you would see in ITV -- to acknowledge that FL and ML are not mahaan and suck? that itself is unusual if you think about it.

otherwise, ITV tends to glorify these characters and never acknowledge their flaws. in most dramas, the cheaters are always shown as negative and bepannah tried to be more humane and show that marriage is a complicated dynamic and it is not black and white when it comes to a breakdown in relationships. so lots of things that were different and still feel fresh in some ways.

it was also mature FL and ML -- neither are in their early 20s and being silly. they had already lived a life and then we meet them at their very lowest. normally it is about the ML resuing the FL from some sort of misery. here, both are swirling in a storm when they meet. so yea lots of stuff I really enjoyed; the chemistry was superb! 🥰

in terms of the viewing experience, it was my first IF drama forum and I had a real blast. we laughed a lot, trolled away, dissected and simply swooned at other times. so that made it that much more enjoyable.

I see your points & agree. What somewhat keeps me at bay regarding it is how Zoya was written. When a drama doesn’t have two equally rootable characters, I feel a little lost as a viewer. She seemed to be okay with Yash’s emotional infidelity but truly broke down when she came to know of PooSh’s baby 😆 So physical infidelity is where she drew the line. That’s why Aditya’s views felt more real (although I felt his misplaced anger in initial stages was not justified & later glorified as him helping Zoya overcome difficulties). I can’t watch a show just for one character, even though I love jen 😆 Makers probably tried to show some contrast, which compromised one character & her growth.

I love your point about all four characters being grey, though!

Yes, I used to stalk BP forum as well :p. Probably my best stalking experience 😆

From_Pluto thumbnail
5th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: pomegranate

Nothing in life is black and white, even cheating.

I usually don't watch ITV serials, so never watched bepannah despite the intriguing concept. although I always wonder, why did the characters cheat on their spouses? they seemed so in love.

Zoya had a very sheltered life since childhood, so Yash (who fell in love with her & they eventually had to break away from their families to get married) had to take responsibility of providing her the same comfort her dad provided earlier. Z loved Mussoorie (her hometown) for whatever reason, so he had to travel from Mussoorie to Mumbai (where he worked) every week. All this was quite hectic + he had massive financial problems but he couldn’t share it with Zoya (because ‘he’ felt that she wouldn’t understand & didn’t want to break her bubble of them being mutually happy). Saviour complex or call it whatever, but he never saw her worthy enough of dealing with problems.

Aditya & Pooja we’re childhood besties. Pooja felt Adi never grew up & their married status didn’t bring any change in how he ‘saw’ her. She had to almost babysit him (well, he’s not as annoying as she describes him lol). She wanted some passionate romance probably which she didn’t get ig 😆 Eventually Pooja & Yash met. They got along due to similar interests & gradually fell in love. They had decided to divorce their respective spouses as well but died before they could do that lmao.

In the episodes where Zoya tried to reestablish Yash’s company, you can see the honesty & sincerity with which she dealt with problems, despite being a crybaby & having to learn a lot of hard facts about life. Sometimes you feel like slapping her & protecting her at the same time for all that innocence. Yash thought of her as incapable of dealing with problems & I’d put that on him tbh. He just never gave her a chance & conveniently blamed Zoya for the distance in their relationship.

About Aditya’s inadequacies, I found that backstory rather flimsy. Or maybe I don’t remember the episodes 😆

Paulaonohi thumbnail
3rd Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

This is my POV. Viaan is a person who is closed off and has managed to only make one friend, Ehsan who has been by his side for many years through the good and the bad. In a way, he is dependent on Ehsan for companionship and he cherishes their friendship because he doesn’t need to hide when his with him. And up till now, we have seen this - a mutually encouraging dynamic between two men who have been best of friends since childhood and now partners. But now that Ehsan’s character is slowly turning negative, I wonder why the ruckus because I am not actually surprised. Even though we have only seen this good friend and funny guy for the past weeks, his quick spiral to showing up and Katha’s place unannounced or spilling Viaan’s past tells one a lot of the true nature of this friendship. Unlike Viaan, Ehsan is more extroverted, has no self conflict or depression issues, and is more likely to have a social life apart from Viaan. In this relationship, he is the savior. He is the one whom Viaan can trust and the person who Viaan can let get away with things because of all their years together. Viaan needs Ehsan for strength, so he doesn’t complain even when he puts in all the actual effort and Ehsan may not, because at least, he won’t be alone. What if Ehsan knows this? I know this, so why can’t Ehsan? Perhaps, underneath his friendliness is a latent jealousy of Viaan. Viaan may have a lot of personal issues, all stemming from trauma, from external hurt, but the man himself is pure gold. Anyone can see it if they look harder. We see it, even with his trust issues, we can see how sincere and upright this man is in everything he does. Those qualities are something that Ehsan no matter how bright he is, wouldn’t have. He sees it and he feels jealous. But that was not to say that the friendship for many years was fake. Ehsan has been sincere to Viaan, advising and listening to all his worries, but that was bolstered by the importance and easy access Viaan has given him. He gives Viaan advice. Viaan is used to sharing his thoughts with Ehsan, and after so many years, there is no way that Ehsan wouldn’t feel sincerity to it. He is also aware of his position, that he can get away with a lot of things, and in his way, his strong friendship is more than enough, and Viaan tells him over and over that it is more than enough. He is just grateful for his presence. But all this changes with Katha. Viaan starts to build thoughts, his own actions that Ehsan isn’t privy to. Note that Ehsan asks but doesn’t press, because it’s like ‘I will likely be told later’. Perhaps, it’s also the image he has of Viaan - he can handle any stress. It’s only when he is sure he likes Katha, and he starts seeing links between him and Viaan, it’s stresses him out because deep down, he knows that even though Viaan might be a recluse, he is the one with the strong qualities that would touch a woman like Katha. Even worse, Viaan is changing himself, smiling more, being more open minded. Ehsan’s role is gradually reducing and on the other hand, the jealousy buried deep over years is beginning to show. A more open Viaan would be deadly for Ehsan. So he doesn’t mind trying to tackle on Katha and win her or spilling the beans about Viaan to her. I feel like his spill is symbolic of how he can relegate their friendship as he pleases, and it is also a calculated move to push Katha away from Viaan. It would be too much of a burden to get involved with such a complex character. That’s the message he wants to give. His push into Katha’s space and even trying to use Aarav as a raft to her without genuine concern for the boy at least reveals all these details of him little by little. From the bts, he goes nuts when he sees the thank you card. He is openly jealous at that point because even he can sense that Katha and Viaan are sharing something on a deeper level and Viaan, especially the new one, is not a man that is hard for a woman like Katha to love. His invite to her to his place is also a message to Viaan. He wants to tell him that he and Katha are that close already and counting on his morals, he would try to hide his feelings more and stay away. Ehsan might not be aware of that night, but he knows that Viaan is not all unresponsive to Katha and she for some reason, places him in a different box. So why the surprise that he is negative? I feel like everything makes sense now that his true face is coming off. If Viaan was still dependent, he is a good friend. You know they are some friends that are only friends until you become better than them?

pomegranate thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

ehsan most likely senses something between katha- Viaan, hence the erratic behaviour. His interest in katha does not aggravate me, it is his entitlement to be in her life. Is this even about his crush or a competetion with Viaan?

PS: I love your POV, but kindly seprate the post into paragraphs so it is easier to read. 😊

mango.falooda thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail 7th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: From_Pluto

I see your points & agree. What somewhat keeps me at bay regarding it is how Zoya was written. When a drama doesn’t have two equally rootable characters, I feel a little lost as a viewer. She seemed to be okay with Yash’s emotional infidelity but truly broke down when she came to know of PooSh’s baby 😆 So physical infidelity is where she drew the line. That’s why Aditya’s views felt more real (although I felt his misplaced anger in initial stages was not justified & later glorified as him helping Zoya overcome difficulties). I can’t watch a show just for one character, even though I love jen 😆 Makers probably tried to show some contrast, which compromised one character & her growth.

I love your point about all four characters being grey, though!

Yes, I used to stalk BP forum as well :p. Probably my best stalking experience 😆

I actually did enjoy zoya's naivete and the way she clung to her belief that yash really didn't cheat on her -- it was amusing to watch especially with aditya's zingers. 😂

so there was lots of growth in zoya's chart and she remained dynamic. from being super naive to having her world tilt that indeed her husband wanted to divorce her. finding out about the baby was the final nail in the coffin - she understood then that she had lost yash long ago but she had not known about it.

so both the actors did a great job of portraying two sides of emotion when it comes to people finding out something terrible. aditya was all about anger while zoya was all about denial. since the actors gave it their all, the initial episodes were such powerhouses of emotion. it never felt unequal but rather a clash of thunder between two different ways of coping. so much push and pull - it was fun to watch.

and yea, bepnnah forum was a total blast. I had tons of fun being snarky there. (had a different DP name though; can't remember what I had used; when I came back to IF after a gap, figured I needed a new name) just like here, we laughed even though it was at times a serious drama. basically I like when we have a masala type experience. 😆

Edited by mango.falooda - 2 years ago
Shri_12 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Easter Egg Contest Winner (2023) Thumbnail + 6

some of the turkish shows has really great BGM. I always wonder why ITV is lacking in that regard given the talent we have. for some reason, we are more focused on songs rather than creating good instrumentals that add to the mood. why not have different music for each drama? instead, many like EK just stick to dhoom tana tana. 😆

Girl, ITV original songs are better than the serials themselves 😆

I can list so many ITV songs that I love.

mango.falooda thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail 7th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Shri_12

Girl, ITV original songs are better than the serials themselves 😆

I can list so many ITV songs that I love.

ah good to know; most of the serials I have watched haven't had original songs at all. they generally use bollywood gaana for the big moments. sometimes it works. sometimes it fails miserably.

Shri_12 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Easter Egg Contest Winner (2023) Thumbnail + 6

ah good to know; most of the serials I have watched haven't had original songs at all. they generally use bollywood gaana for the big moments. sometimes it works. sometimes it fails miserably.

I think it depends on the budget of the show. From lyrics to score to singing everything costs. A low budget show can't afford these overheads so they use ready made songs. As far as I have observed, all mid to high budget shows have their own songs.

If I had to choose one song then it would be O Jaana from Ishqbaaz. 7 years and 3 mobile phones later, it's still on my phone. Just search top hindi serial songs on YouTube. There's a video of 40 songs starting right from kahani Ghar ghar ki to 2018 serials.