20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago

An endearing slice of lifestory

piyushroy Posted online: Friday , February 29, 2008 at 1449 hrs
PrintEmailTo EditorRate this article
Avg. Rating:0
Radhaa Ki Betiyaan Kuch Kar Dikhayengi
Monday 8.30 pm; NDTV Imagine
Let me start with an incident from one of its latest episodes featuring two of Radhaa's younger betis the bubbly Ragini and the sissy sister Ruchi. It was a college ragging scene where one of the guys made a 'below-the-belt' comment at the duo saying, 'being girls, anything is within reach for them; they just have to bend a little (read reveal their cleavage) to conquer all.' And instead of cowering, crying or fuming silently, Ragini marches up to the wannabe Romeo with a confident smile and says, "Actually you can make better use of that excuse if you go for a sex change and you should because you will look really cute!" A kick ass scene, laced with contemporary campus lingo and youthful spunk. When was it last that one heard such in your face lines in our archaic serials that continue to play on in worlds only of their own? Radhaa and her betiyaan rock, if one ignores the cry baby Ruchi. And the story of a migrant family from the Hindi heartland, who arrive in Mumbai to disconnect from a sorry past and seek a new life in India's ultimate dream full-filling city couldn't have come at a better time. Their spontaneous wows of the Mumbai skyline on their first sighting of the Marine Drive, those stolen lonely soirees of taking stock of life off a crowded Juhu beach, the family's first interactions and ride through the city in a friendly bhaiya's cab and their inherent genuineness and faith in values, et al somewhere tug a fond connect. The show for sure (as of now) has its heart in place and it endears because of its relatable characterisation and writing, riding on an undercurrent of enthusiasm and optimism. While Supriya Pilgaonkar seems all set to take on the mantle of one of tellydom's most loved mums from her onscreen Tu Tu Main Main 'Sasu maa' Reema Lagoo, Vasu as her eldest daughter Mohini comes with another well written role after Millee. However, it's Radhaa's middle daughter, the chubby and cute, but garrulous Ragini, whose rib-tickling audacity and spontaneous verve is something one just can't get enough of. Apoorva Agnihotri as Mohini's potential love interest, as of now seems to be waiting in the wings for the romance track to take off, while the rest of the ensemble cast is adequate.
Verdict: Savour it for its optimism and also because its format needs audience encouragement to stay. Its hour-long weekly episode status is a much awaited format experiment by Imagine soaps with its producers Deeya and Tony Singh admirably redeeming their reputation at telling endearing slice of life stories post their recent me-too Jassi launches Annu Ki Ho Gayee Waah Bhai Waah! and Jhoome Jiyaa Re.

http://www.screenindia.com/news/An-endearing-slice-of-lifest ory/278172/

Michelle

sami01 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
all i can sa is it looks interesting so apu i snpw waiting in wings so that romance track begins wow....kya kehne....isi liye he left best role of dev wow....i guess it was not amazing role as that of shekhar apu u really confuse me.....but mich thanks for the article....
gambi thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Thanks Mich! 😃 Now, I just want to see my Apu in RKB for a lonnnggg time, rather than just 5 mins!! 😭 😭