sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
My dear Lavanya,

I see that we agree on almost everything in this post, which simplifies matters for me! I loved that classic crack, Oonchi dukaan pheeke pakwaan! As we move on, with Jodha Begum moving closer and closer to the standard issue Ekta heroine, the pakwaan will become even more pheeke!😉

Which scene of Jalal biting into the mirchi are you referring to? If it is the only I have analysed, it is not that he is willing go so far to get used to Jodha. It is rather a bitter comment on their relationship, and the extent to which, as he believes, she is willing to go to hurt him and reject him.

Your take on Ruqaiya is spot on, and the reference to Moaning Myrtle was too funny for words!

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: Sabdabhala

SORRY FOR THE DELAY IN REPLYING AUNTY.

LIKE SANDHYA SAID, I TOO WAS ABOUT TO RUN FOR THE DICTIONARY FIRST :) BUT HAVING READ ON, I REALIZED THAT, AS ALWAYS, YOUR TITLE FOR THESE EPISODES IS PERFECT. TO ADD TO IT, DESI STYLE, I WOULD SAY THAT THESE EPISODES WERE A CLASSIC CASE OF OONCHI DUKAAN, PHEEKAY PAKWAAN. SO FAR ALL EPISODES HAVE BEEN PACKED WITH A LOGICAL ACTION-DRAMA, AND THESE SEEMED A BIT OFF, THANKS TO JODHA

ALL AMERIS KNEW THE CONDITIONS UNDER WHICH THIS ALLIANCE TOOK PLACE. THEY WERE ALL WITNESS TO THE PRE WEDDING SCENES THAT JODHA CREATED, AND THE PATIENCE THAT SHAHENSHAH JALAL PORTRAYED. IN THE CIRCUMSTANCES, WHY WOULD THEY EVEN HOPE TO SEE THEIR DAUGHTER SURROUNDED IN MARITAL BLISS? EVEN THOUGH MAINAWATI HAD THAWED A BIT TOWARDS HER JAMAISA, I AM SURE, AS A MOTHER SHE WOULD UNDERSTAND THAT JODHA IS IN THE PROCESS OF GETTING ADJUSTED IN HER NEW ABODE, AND THAT SHE AND EVERYONE ELSE AROUND HER WOULD NEED A CERTAIN PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE A NORMAL ROUTINE COULD BE ESTABLISHED. THEN WHY IS JODHA SO ADAMANT TO SHOW HER PARENTS THAT HER LIFE IN AGRA IS THE EPITOME OF HAPPINESS AND BLISS? HER LAMENTING FOR THE SAKE OF HER PARENTS' HAPPINESS SEEMS VERY HASTY, AT LEAST TO ME

AND FOR A PERSON WHOSE BIGGEST FEAR AND WORRY IS TAKEN CARE OF BY JALAL, HER ATTITUDE TOWARDS HIM IN THE HAMAAM IS ALMOST DISDAINFUL. LIKE HE SAYS, HE IS SUPPOSED TO AGREE TO ALL HER TERMS, BUT SHE CAN WRINKLE HER NOSE AT EVERYTHING HE SAYS, HOWEVER MINOR. AND LIKE U SAY, SHE CERTAINLY LACKS A SENSE OF HUMOR. WHEN JALAL AGREED TO LIE FOR HER, SHE COULD HAVE CHEERED UP AND TAKEN HIS SHART HEAD ON

THE ENTIRE MIRCHI SCENE WAS QUITE BADLY CONCEPTUALIZED, I FEEL. RIGHT FROM JALAL EATING ALONE TO NOBODY NOTICING HIS PLIGHT, TO JODHA TREATING HIM AS SHE WOULD AN UNTOUCHABLE. AND MAHAM N RESHAM POURING ALL THAT MIRCHI INTO THE FOOD WAS SO SO OTT THAT IT WAS ALMOST OFF PUTTING. A LITTLE SUBTELTY, ATTENTION AND A SMALL INSTANT PROBE ON JODHA'S PART WOULD HAVE MADE TE SCENE MUCH MORE FUN TO WATCH AND EASIER TO APPRECIATE

POST MIRCHI SCENE WAS, IF POSSIBLE, EVEN WORSE. JODHA HAD ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA ABOUT JALAL'S PLIGHT, AND EVEN WHEN SHE DID HER RETORT - HAMEIN AAPSE BHAY NAHI HAI- WAS, LIKE YOU SAID, THE MOST BIZARRE THING SHE COULD COME UP WITH. SHE SEEMED LIKE THIS SPOIL BRAT CAUGHT FOR SOME MISCHIEF, BUT UNWILLING TO EVEN IMAGINE THAT SHE COULD PARTLY BE AT FAULT 😡

AND THEN WHEN JALAL THREATENS TO DISCLOSE EVERYTHING TO HER PARENTS, SHE MOPES AND WEEPS LIKE MOANING MYRTLE :)

(BTW MOANING MYRTLE'S NAME IN THE HINDI VERSION IS MAAYOOS MEENA 😆, HILARIOUS, DONT U THINK).

THERE WERE TWO SCENES I LIKED IN THESE EPISODES, AND YOU HAVE DESCRIBED AND ANALYSED THEM PERFECTLY -

FIRST THE JALAL EATING MIRCHI SCENE - EVEN AFTER SWEATING PROFUSELY THROUGH THE ORDEAL JALAL STILL HAS THE NERVE TO TAKE A MIRCHI AND PUT IT INTO HIS MOUTN AND BITE IT. SINCE HE IS PROBABALY UNAWARE OF AMERI FOOD ( BUT IS HE ACTUALLY UNAWARE?) HE ASSUMES THAT HE WILL BE ABLE TO APPRECIATE IT BETTER IF HIS SYREM IS USED TO CHILLIES. TO ME THIS SCENE REVEALED JUST HOW MUCH JALAL WAS WILLING TO ENDURE FOR JODHA

SECOND THE ADHAM KHAN JODHA FLAG SCENE - IN THIS SCENE HIS EYES SHOW THAT HE ADMIRES HER THOUGHT AND EMOTION TOWARD HER MOTHERLAND, SOMETHING, I AM SURE, HE SHARES WITH HER. HE LET HER ADMONISH ADHAM FOR A WHILE AND THEN SENT HER OFF, AND THEN HIMSELF RIDICULED ADHAM. HIS IMAGINATION OF JODHA DURING THE BANJARA PERFORMANCE WAS ANOTHER CUTE GESTURE OF HIS FEELINGS FOR HER.

FINALLY, WHAT CAN I SAY ABOUT RUKKAIAH. SHE SEEMS TO BE THIS LETHAL COMBINATION OF ARROGANCE, IMPATIENCE AND MYOPIA, WITH A DASH OF FOOLISHNESS :)

hemakeerti thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Aunty.. a general question.. doesn't Rajputs wear Mangalsutra ? Isn't it a part of their custom? I haven't seen Jodha wearing one throughout the serial..
Sabdabhala thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Sandhya.A

Even more than her acting her dialogue delivery has been epic. She can speak the different dialects so perfectly. The crass Chennai Tamil, the lyrical Coimbatore Tamil, the classic form of the Language, the Chettinad Tamil, the Tirunelveli Tamil, the sophisticated Tamil, her character gets that touch of life and realism as much by her dialogues as her acting.

THERE WAS A MANORAMA IN HINDI FILMS, THE ONE WHO PLAYED THE WICKED STEP MOM IN SEETA AUR GEETA

AS AUNTY SAYS, SHE WAS BULKY. SHE PLAYED THESE VAMPISH ROLES WITH A DASH OF HUMOR, I GUESS

BUT HER RANGE OF ACTING WAS VERY LIMITED AND DEFINETLY NOTHING IN COMPARISON TO THE TAMIL MANORAMA

THE TAMIL MANORAMA WAS A CLASS ACT IN ALMOST EVERY ROLE THAT SHE ESSAYED. SHE WAS MORE LIKE A CHARACTER ARTIST
sashashyam thumbnail

My dear Hema,

I had raised this issue, as you might remember, in my Shahi Shaadi series. Also about the absence of the jayamala ritual. When I had posed these questions in 2013, someone more knowledgeable about individual Rajput clan customs. Piu (manzilmukul) had responded that the mangalsutra was not a 16th century wedding custom among the Rajputs. Let me try and locate her post for you and copy paste it here, for it was detailed and very interesting.

More curious is the fact that not once in the serial is Jodha shown touching her husband's feet. Now that was a standard issue custom for wives in those days, linked to the pati parameshwar concept. I have no idea why it was so blatantly omitted in the serial, whereas Jodha does touch Hamida Bano's feet time and again.

I have located it, but it is too long, I am giving the coords. Take a look at my response to her on page 2, and her point about the mangalya dharan or the mangalsutra, which was apparently not a Rajput custom at that time.

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/89593554

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: hemakeerti

Aunty.. a general question.. doesn't Rajputs wear Mangalsutra ? Isn't it a part of their custom? I haven't seen Jodha wearing one throughout the serial..

karkuzhali thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

In Sukanya's wedding, the exchange of garlands but no sindoor
ceremony is shown.

And, in the epi where Jalal pardons Shivani and Tejwant , and when Shivani touches his feet , he says, " If you bow down before me and touch my feet, it will be an insult to my begum..."!

Saraswathi.
Edited by karkuzhali - 9 years ago
karkuzhali thumbnail

Tamil Manorama acted in one Hindi Film, "Kunwara Baap' with Mehmood.
Saraswathi.
Sabdabhala thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

More curious is the fact that not once in the serial is Jodha shown touching her husband's feet. Now that was a standard issue custom for wives in those days, linked to the pati parameshwar concept. I have no idea why it was so blatantly omitted in the serial, whereas Jodha does touch Hamida Bano's feet time and again.

VERY TRUE, AUNTY

IN THE FILM JA THEY SHOW JODHA TOUCHING JALAL'S FEET AFTER HER POOJA, WHICH PROBABLY WOULD HAVE BEEN A DAILY OCCURANCE, AND ALSO WHEN HE MEETS HER IN AAMER

BUT HERE JODHA NEVER DOES THAT, WHICH IS QUITE STRANGE

SHE EVEN TOUCHES BHAGWAN DAS'S FEET BUT NOT JALAL'S

NOT THAT I WANT HER TO SHOW ANY SORT OF SUBJUGATION OR BENDING DOWN TO JALAL, BUT THE ABSENCE OF THE VERY POPULAR CUSTOM MAKES IT QUITE CONSPICUOUS, I THINK

REGARDING THE MANGALSUTRA, AS FAR AS I KNOW, RAJPUT CUSTOMS DO CERTAINLY SAY THAT WRISTS, NECK AND MAANG OF A SUHAAGAN SHOULD NEVER BE BARE, BUT I DONT THINK MANGALSUTRA IS A NECESSITY

ANOTHER OMISSION IS THAT OF A GHOONGHAT. JODHA IN THE FILM ALWAYS HAD A GHOONGHAT, TILL THE EVERY END (NEVER MIND THAT IT WAS MADE OF NET AND COVERED NOTHING) BUT IT WAS THERE. BUT HERE OUR JODHA HAD GHOONGHAT ONLY IN THE INITIAL EPISODES

Edited by Sabdabhala - 9 years ago
sashashyam thumbnail
Dear Akka,

Why should it be an insult to his begum? Tommyrot! It is an expression of respect towards someone,usually someone elder to you.

Jodha of course has no such graceful customs when it comes to her husband, otherwise it would have been de rigueur for a wife towards her husband in that age.

Shyamala

Originally posted by: karkuzhali

In Sukanya's wedding, the exchange of garlands but no sindoor
ceremony is shown.

And, in the epi where Jalal pardons Shivani and Tejwant , and when Shivani touches his feet , he says, " If you bow down before me and touch my feet, it will be an insult to my begum..."!

Saraswathi.

karkuzhali thumbnail

Shyamala,
I do not mean to support Jodha in this regard.
May be I am wrong in getting the meaning of the word "thouheen" in that episode.

Saraswathi.
hemakeerti thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: sashashyam

My dear Hema,

I had raised this issue, as you might remember, in my Shahi Shaadi series. Also about the absence of the jayamala ritual. When I had posed these questions in 2013, someone more knowledgeable about individual Rajput clan customs. Piu (manzilmukul) had responded that the mangalsutra was not a 16th century wedding custom among the Rajputs. Let me try and locate her post for you and copy paste it here, for it was detailed and very interesting.

I have located it, but it is too long, I am giving the coords. Take a look at my response to her on page 2, and her point about the mangalya dharan or the mangalsutra, which was apparently not a Rajput custom at that time.

https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/post/89593554

Shyamala Aunty

Thanks Aunty for the link.. It also clarified reason for Bharmal and Mainavati turning their heads during Sindhur daan.. I though it was due to agony, all thanks to Mainavati's expressions.. 😆 I didn't knew it was a ritual..

As per Jodha touching Jalal's feet.. she does it only once in serial.. post leap, during Holi celebration with commoners .. Except for that I don't recollect Jodha touching Jalal's feet.. or may be I missed it!!