sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
There is also the most obvious explanation, my dear, that no one here knew the Sri Krishna Tulabhaaram story, but Jodha should have known it.

Your other explanations do not really hold water; here the ring thing was very deliberate and pointed and very slowly done for emphasis.And one can hardly equate a Jalal-Jodha scene to any other.

This apart, what is this with Sujamal's sword? When was it?

As for Jalal, it would be good it Jodha got a solid dose of benign neglect from him for now. I did not at all like him fawning all over such a disdainful female in the last 2 episodes.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: lashy

Aunty, I think many overlooked it because of three aspects (including the Ruq-Jalal-Jo equation and spoilers obviously)

Though adorable, it wasn't really the first time its being shown - seeing how
1) A similar thing happened in the serial before too - with Sujamal's sword(I could be wrong) doing the same trick
2) A similar scene's been shown in the movie too

Also, Jalal's confusing expressions left me confounded...had there been anything akin to the divine intervention you'd referred to - I would have expected a slightly more 'lost-in-each-other' expressions between the two. Again, I'm not referring to love here - but, that glossed-over gaze that happens when you feel a 'deja-vu' or some strange connection with another person that you can't quite put your finger on.
Jodha's behaved far worse in the past in return for far more pleasant behaviour from Jalal. This being her birthday, I felt his expressions were strangely unemotional (especially seeing how he seemed very excited about buying the cake and blowing the balloons the previous day).
I don't mind if it was one or the other as long as there's justification. When there's no proper explanation or justification as to why one behaves so soppy one day and so aloof another, other aspects like - deeper delving into the analogies - as you've mentioned, might have taken a back seat.

Anyway, only the CVs know what they're doing and what lies ahead...

Originally posted by: sashashyam

Lashy dear,

I think Jalal's detached look had already started in his rooms, when he says he will see Jodha in the evening and leaves her there and pushes off. Maybe he is irritated by her constant suspicions and her hectoring questions at every single meeting. All his earlier enthusiasm might have evaporated at that latest accusation that he was having her spied on.

At that point, he does not mention that he is going to see her at the tulabhaaram ceremony.

What one can deduce from that is that no one told him about this ceremony till later, for after all it is Hamida who mentions it to Jodha, and he might have been informed of it only in the nick of time, Maybe he feels it is too much, which it is. Maybe he thinks he should not look overly pleasant and invite some other snub from Jodha. There is only so much the male ego can stand, that too an imperial ego.

I am totally exasperated with those lines; I retyped them all over again and STILL they come out all awry. So I have left them as they are, hoping the beauty of the words will compensate for the higgledy piggledy appearance!

Thank you for missing me, sweetheart. I was astonished that no one, bar that one member, even noticed the real significance of that scene, which is tremendous. I hope that at least some people read this post and realise it. Jodha's lack of understanding of this parallel foxed me; I would have expected her to be on to it first thing!

Shyamala Aunty

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you, Nandini, but after you have seen it, do tell me if you agree with me.

Shyamala

Originally posted by: nandinidavid96

Beautiful Analysis Shyamala...As always treat to read

I haven't watched the episodes so nothing from my side

sara5471 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
After looking at so many irritated and frustrated posts on that cheapo and fake pregnancy track, your post comes across as a breath of fresh air. Leaving aside the frustrated souls, there are still people stuck on Jalal's impromptu declaration of Jodha as a 'Mallika'.
I really liked your post. But being surrounded by my sisters at that point of the episode we only made stupid jokes on the weight of the ring. Nevertheless, I realize the beauty of the scene right now. Jalal's feelings and emotions for Jodha outweighed the wealth of others. Aptly worded
The nazm is indeed beautiful . I am not proficient in Hindi, Urdu to dur ki baat hai but I got the meaning of it. Wonderful 👏!
The Jalal-Ruqs equation has been discussed at length here. I remember William Penn's saying 'The jealous are toublesome to others, but a torment to themselves.' Same for Ruqs. It is like when you give food to a dog, you can't even touch it. Same for her. (sorry if the words came out a bit twisted )
Really wonderful 👍🏼!

sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you,my dear!

You know, this time, for once, Ruqaiya is not thinking in terms of making Jodha wear her utaran. She is delighted at the boost that Jalal has given her, and she is feeling benevolent even towards Jodha. The necklace is obviously a very precious one, as she calls it Shahi and it is a genuine gift. Moreover, it will be as from Jalal, not from Ruqaiya.

In any case, Jalal will not give that. I think he will give her a finely illustrated Persian manuscript. Let us see.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: ...Poojie...

Fabulous write-up aunty.. 😊

I loved the tulabharam scene 😳😳.. but thanks for pointing out such an important analogy...but Alas Jodha didn't see that..

I wish Jalal gifts her something else too like the payal.. other than Ruquiya's uttaran..

lashy thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: sashashyam

There is also the most obvious explanation, my dear, that no one here knew the Sri Krishna Tulabhaaram story, but Jodha should have known it.

So much of insight from her wrt Shehenshah's relationship and hers? Even if it is Krishna's story on one hand - it is Shehenshah and hers at the end of it. She's strangely prejudiced when it comes to accepting anything between her/Jalal (even if it involves Lord Krishna!). Its taken her months to recognize his nobility of NOT having taken advantage of her or utter a meagre 'woh itne bhi bure nahin hain'...this would be much to expect from her at this stage 😆

Your other explanations do not really hold water; here the ring thing was very deliberate and pointed and very slowly done for emphasis.And one can hardly equate a Jalal-Jodha scene to any other.
No no I understood the significance of the ring instantly - actually forget understand - I EXPECTED that something Jalal'd place would tilt the scales and bring a parallel to the mythological tale. What grabbed my attention even more was his state of mind though.

This apart, what is this with Sujamal's sword? When was it?
In the beginning of the serial when her previous birthday was celebrated????🤔

As for Jalal, it would be good it Jodha got a solid dose of benign neglect from him for now. I did not at all like him fawning all over such a disdainful female in the last 2 episodes.
I don't mind him neglecting her as long as they show me really WHY he's doing so...😆 You and I both don't like majnu Shehenshah anyway...I just need proper reasoning/justification which this serial has ALWAYS lacked! Her questioning him in the morning was nowhere in the same rudeness league as some of the things she's asked him previously...it seems odd he'd be sulking throughout her birthday for something as trivial as that...

Anyway aunty, we'll have lost our hairs dissecting and trisecting these tracks...the CVs shall only be too happy to hop on to the next story 😆At this point, viewing the treatment the story is getting - I feel we're definitely more emotionally invested in it than they are.

Shyamala Aunty

Edited by lashy - 11 years ago
sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you so much, my dear Sara. I am delighted that I was able to get across exactly what I wanted to, and I am so pleased that it made you re-evaluate that scene.

I agree completely about Ruqaiya, and I feel very sorry for her.And I miss the old sensitive, vulnerable, fascinating Ruqaiya.It is a great pity, what she has been reduced to just to boost Jodha.

As for the posts about those issues, I get very tired of such stuff, so I avoid it altogether.

Shyamala B.Cowsik

Originally posted by: sara5471

After looking at so many irritated and frustrated posts on that cheapo and fake pregnancy track, your post comes across as a breath of fresh air. Leaving aside the frustrated souls, there are still people stuck on Jalal's impromptu declaration of Jodha as a 'Mallika'.

I really liked your post. But being surrounded by my sisters at that point of the episode we only made stupid jokes on the weight of the ring. Nevertheless, I realize the beauty of the scene right now. Jalal's feelings and emotions for Jodha outweighed the wealth of others. Aptly worded

The nazm is indeed beautiful . I am not proficient in Hindi, Urdu to dur ki baat hai but I got the meaning of it. Wonderful 👏!

The Jalal-Ruqs equation has been discussed at length here. I remember William Penn's saying 'The jealous are troublesome to others, but a torment to themselves.' Same for Ruqs. It is like when you give food to a dog, you can't even touch it. Same for her. (sorry if the words came out a bit twisted )
Really wonderful 👍🏼!

sashashyam thumbnail
I hope so too,my dear Gayatri, and I am glad you liked this post.

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: ngayou

Though the tulabharam scene did show what Jalal s one teensy ring did to the scales & show what his value was going to be in Jodha s life, I didnt place too much significance to it. Thanks for bringing its import out so beautifully . I had indeed forgotten Rukmini & Lord Krishna s story on it 👏 .

And regarding Jodha pondering on it, hope one day soon, they show one introspective scene where Jodha thinks about what all has transpired post her marriage & especially Jalal s behaviour to her, post her suicide attempt, & she s shown to realise & rue her behaviour atleast in a small way. I ll be more than satisfied if it s shown as a short scene too 😊

Mallika-E-Bhais thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

I am hoping he gives her her old paayal with the identical one, freshly minted from Shaahi-Khazaana! On a bed of jasmine flowers.'😳. I've a good feeling that those might just be Jodha's personal favourite.

The Tulaa-daan scene was fine. But what ruined it a bit for me was the strange, close faced expression that Jalal had on his face. It couldn't only have even because she doubted him.😕 She does that all the time!!

Or maybe, it being her birthday & the fact that he alerted his mother about it & Jodha was all upset about just that fact; something within Jalal snapped? But it still doesn't sit well with me..

The Krishna-Rukmini story is what leapt out at me when I was watching this scene!!

I seem to be in the minority, who loved the Jalal- Ruqaiyya scene! I loved his mollifying & pacifying of Ruqaiyya.

I do not for a minute, think that he was deliberately deceitful in his behaviour towards Ruqaiyya. Ruqaiyya has been his childhood friend, his Gatti since the time they were little children. They've shared enough trials , tribulations & adventures running across Rajasthaan saving their little lives, to make a lifetime!

For him to suddenly be cold or in-different such a childhood friend would be dis-tasteful & would lower my opinion of Jalal, that too for a woman who he has known & been obsessed with for a few short months! It isn't necessary that because he will have an Epic Romance with Jodha & form the bond of Soul-Mate with her: he needs to dis-associate with his Dearest Friend.

As for Jalal knowingly mis-leading Ruqaiyya- Jalal is un-sure as to what exactly is it that he feels for Jodha. He has begun to consciously acknowledge that he cares deeply about it, but the fact that he might just be in Love with her hasn't struck him as yet. What he has been sure of is exactly what he tells Ruqaiyya(and even Jodha, in her rooms when Ruqaiyya was no-where near) No-one can take away your position of being my Dearest Friend. No-one can come in between us. You are my Begum-E-Khaas & you always will be. He was sincere when he said that.

Where then, does the question or point of Jalal mis-leading or holding a makhmali rumaal against Ruqaiyya's eyes, come in?

And if he reiterated her Position by calling her Begum-E-Khaas, that is because he is only too aware how much she loves her Position! So he placated her , in alignment to her personality. And I see nothing wrong with it, whatsoever.

I admire Jalal for his treatment & till now, his separate yet equal treatment of these two very, very different women- Ruqaiyya, and, Jodha.

In time what Ruqaiyya will realise is this- Hamesha Haq jaata ne ke liye, Haq ko cheenana nahin padtaa. Kyunki woh Haq, naahin Aapka hain, aur naahin, Aapko diya gaya hain. 😳

Apart from the Tulaa-daan scene I loved the snatch of an expression on Jalal's face when he saw the shaahi-haar that Ruqaiyya intends on gifting Jodha from his, Jalal's side.

That expression was superbly done in its spontaneous dis-taste! Jalal seeing that must've instantly (and all too accurately) known that Jodha would've taken one look at this priceless necklace & would've gently set it aside. Months later, a baandi would be rubbing the dust off those precious stones. 😊

P. S. Which is why I hope he gifts her her old paayal. A memento from the past, personal & only between these two. Ruqaiyya would scoff at such a silly gift & why not.

The significance only Jodha will understand, and better, sweetly smile at. 😊

Your idea of a book in the Persian manuscript is very good too. Especially now that he knows how much she loves reading & gaining knowledge!

Or, how about an exquisite door-been for sukoon Chand ko niharnaa?
😳

P. P. S. Yes, this one time Ruqaiyya wasn't insulting a Begum esp one she feels is her Enemy No. 1 . She genuinely believed (not bothering to know anyone beyond herself & in smaller scale, Jalal) that Jodha would be delighted on receiving such a beautiful necklace by Jalal. And it was all due to Jalal's immense charm. 😊
Edited by Mallika-E-Bhais - 11 years ago
sashashyam thumbnail
Thank you so much, Ela dear. I wanted to highlight that beautiful and very significant scene.

As for why Jalal looked so detached, my take on it is in my response to Lashy above, but it is not really satisfactory even to me.

Shyamala

Originally posted by: elasingh

Wonderful analysis Shyamala...

Jalal didn't look all that pleased with Jodha during tuladaan...I think it was becoz Jodha had told the truth abt night to Ruku...I think he again felt rejected and also was proven to speak a white lie to Ruku...

I also didn't like what Jalal said to Ruku while consoling her...The gesture of consoling Ruku was sweet but the words coming out of his mouths were not...

aashyagh thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
I think Jalal realised what gift Jodha will like when he saw the shahi haar, as he had witnessed how happy Jodha was when she rcvd the hand written card from Rahim!! I feel Jalal's expression was perfect during tulabhar scene, it was like he knew how important his contribution is!!! He was thoughtful