Welcome to yet another Reflections, this is ofcourse the Maha Episode week .. so will the do the weekly round up on saturday instead of friday ... Today its the day for Q & A . Before i head there .. lemme say the discussion on the FARAK PADTA HAI track were most interesting .. stimulating .. & fun ... if the makers ever peeped in here .. they shud be tickled pink with the number of versions & the no of visions .. As a viewer & fellow writer .. i have always felt that CONTENT which is GOOD always touches the heart .. now the way it touches the heart is different .. So be it a romantics vision be it a prosaic vision .. be it a flowery vision .. be it a staid vision .. the fact is that this content touched us all .. & it connected with our heartstrings ... it CANNOT be wrong or right .. So please feel free to discuss divergent views ... makes us relive the moment & add what touched us as well.
PS: guys if u wish to continue the discussion of DC 91 just a suggestion pls cut paste the last discussion here so that its not to difficult to hunt the post
So q & A session here we go
SHIKHA'S QUERY
I have a question sorry for asking so many questions
During Diwali after remarriage - Diwali gift which Arnav gives to Khushi is - pic from Red saree photo shoot - why ?
Is it coz Arnav wanted to tell her that he fell in love with her during this photo shoot or ?
Was'nt it that if he had given Khushi their joint picture she would have been much more happy or
their joint photo which was taken during Preeto's marriage which he had angrily broken ?
What is your POV on this ?
How do u come up with this .. honestly i would never pick up on this ... if my answers make u watch the episodes again .. ur questions make me think hard ... thats the reason i take time to answer
Ok lets look at the pic .. The red saree day .. the day he FELT something momentous .. the day he realised what real beauty was ... the day she trumped him with her simpleness .. the day a young low worker stood up to him for what was RIGHT ... the day he realised that purity of heart was reflected in the eyes of a person .. & shone thru in the radiant beauty of a person ... the day he realised ... HE WAS MADDENINGLY ATTRACTED TO THIS STUNNINGLY SIMPLE GIRL ...
The red saree .. evoked some tumultuous emotions in Arnav .. so much so that he went out of the way to PUNISH her .. to MOVE HER FROM HIS ORBIT .. to PUT HER IN PLACE .. coz thats the day he wanted to PLACE HER IN A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT PLACE ...
And on Diwali post marriage he had her in that PLACE he was seeing her that DAY ... BY HIS SIDE .. .AS HIS ... the red sindoor on her head a testament to his possession ... wasn't it then a fitting present for Khushi
Now that was explanation 1 .. the simplest explanation .. the other one is .. Arnav always gave Khushi gifts which were in a WAY a sorry .. & in a way a reassurance of what her place in his life was ..
Lets look at the presents ...
--- > Bangles ... the thot of bangles did not strike him .. it was in retaliation of NKs thinking he had the right to buy bangles for KHUSHI .. so he bought her the bangles .. & what he stressed was .. THEY WERE THE RIGHT SIZE ... basically telling her ... THE RIGHT TO U IS MINE .. the ONLY way to U IS ME ... a precursor to what was to happen .. Shyam the wicked evil was lurking waiting to pounce ... but even to contemplate reaching KHUSHI's orbit he had to go through Arnav ...
--- > Now for the next gifts .. the bday gifts ... now go back to the dialog when Khushi & arnav are planning payash milan .. he tells her .. i will send Akash with some expensive gifts to woo ur sister ... & thats what he does with her ( khushi) .. he gives her expensive gifts .. CAUSE HE WAS TRYING TO WOO HER ... he was trying to HOLD ON TO THE SINGH RAIZADA in her name ... Here he showed his classic signs of TO HAVE & TO HOLD .. hence the rough bday cake cutting ... Finally he gives her a ROSE .. a rose from his MOTHER's rose garden .. a final acceptance & a START TO THEIR MARRIED LIFE ..
--- > Then the RAKHI gifts ... ( actually do read the DC where i covered the gifts in its original run .. its pretty comprehensive) ... the rakhi gifts is his way of APOLOGIZING to KHUSHI ... ACCEPTING KHUSHI ... & REPAIRING THE BREAK HE HAD CAUSED IN THEIR RELaTION ... the simple gifts ... he has realised a packet of channas are a guaranteed smile over a designer bag ... its his way of saying your AUKAAT the snide i always troubled u with is what i EMBRACE ... the pearl dori he broke .. when on the first day he insulted her on her aukaat .. he repaired & whats more he made it into a BEAUTIFUL ORNAMENT to be worn WITH PRIDE ... his way of saying i not only embrace u .. ur background .. ur simpleness .. ur innocence all this I EMBRACE ...
---> Then the marriage bracelet gift ... well the earlier fianc had gifted her a bracelet to right? .. & he had overheard La saying .. by putting a ring on left hand he has caught her from there .. & now taken her from right with this bracelet .. basically saying she was his ... & thats exactly what Mr.Raizada wanted .. SHE WAS ALL HIS .. every part of her .. every bit of her .. every little bit of her soul was his .. This was just after they had consummated their relation ... what better way to CELEBRATE HER BEING HIS ..
--- >Then come the KC gifts ... the business ... a way for Arnav to set her free from him ... NO DEPENDANCE .. NO NEED TO BE BEHOLDEN .. cause what brought her to him was MONEY .. the need to see her FAMILY settled ... today there was no need for any such thing to hold them together .. they were together cause of their Love .. what better way to prove his love to her .. than by setting her FREE ... knowing that she would be with him anyways .. another testament to every INSULT he ever gave her ... & whats more .. a wonderful way for Arnav to say I RESPECT UR DUTIES & LOVE TOWARDS UR FAMILY ... I EMBRACE THEM AS PART OF U
--- >Then comes this DIWALI gift -- Red saree photo ... the diwali gift is on the backdrop of a SHITAL who tried to separate the 2 ... a KHUSHI who was willing to go away cause she thought she was IN BETWEEN ... but whats more .. He saw KHUSHI struggling to FIT in .. he saw her INSECURITIES rise to the fore .. she felt .. SHITAL the modern babe was a better FIT ... was there any better GIFT ARNAV could've given her .. BUT the PICTURE THAT WAS PRINTED ON HIS SOUL on HIS HEART .. this was the WOMAN of His dreams .. this was the WOMAN .. who resided in his heart .. this was the woman whose SOUL WAS MERGED WITH HIS ... a brilliant reassurance of the fact that IT WAS HER SIMPLE NESS .. HER INNOCENCE .. HER PURITY .. which HE LOVED ... a celebration of her SELFLESS LOVE FOR HIM ... this is followed by KHUSHI going out to become the Mrs. India .. the insecurity that had arisen in her .. only to be assuaged by the crown ...
There are so many interpretations to the gift ... but i am going to share just the 2 .. hopefully others will jump into the bandwagon & share their versions of the RED SAREE PIC GIFT ...
PRETTY NEBULA's QUERY ...
I have a Question to Ruby and all.
Why Arnav never told Khushi the reason of marriage that night or onward till the Gupta terrace scene before Khushi suicide.
GIRL U HAVE OPENED THE PANDORA'S BOX ON THIS ONE .. numerous times i have flirted with this answer here on DC ... in fact i have asked people a lot of times to think on this line ... cause this gives way to the answer of the real reason for the shaadi ...
Ritti .. u brought up the Anji Arnav dialog of not loving Khushi when he married her .. lemme explain that here as well ...
Isn't it strange .. Arnav sees Khushi in Shyam's arms .. he questions SHYAM .. cause SHYAM was committing ADULTERY ... he gets a version from Shyam .. on how both KHUSHI & HE were in LOVE ... he warns SHYAM in numerous times to STAY away from KHUSHI ... he cuts his allowance .. he insults .. he threatens ... BUT BUT BUT ..
He only MARRIES KHUSHI ... thats it .. he does not Illtreat her .. except making her sleep for a few days near the poolside .. a fact for which he atones by himself sleeping in that place .. he gives her the RIGHT TO HIS ROOM .. he gives up his bed .. sleeps on an uncomfortable recliner in his own house in his own room .. he stands up for her each time someone .. he sees that she is forcefully accepted into the household ... knowing the rest she will win her way through ... HE NEVER THREATENS her to STAY AWAY FROM SHYAM .. HE DOES NOT TAKE HER AWAY FROM SHYAM .. but brings her CLOSER to him ... even after the HEER RANJHA fiasco .. after seeing Shyam & Khushi together .. he does not threaten her to stay away ... in fact as soon as he realises the reason she was with Shyam he becomes contrite ... Whats more the way he monitors Shyam during his marriage .. he does not do the same for KHUSHI ...
So lets retrace the steps to the terrace ... A near death experience again .. 2 in such a short period of time .. both times he is jolted .. but what happens with his sister .. makes him realise that what he felt when he thot Khushi was hurt was similar to how he felt when Anji was hurt .. his life came crashing all around him .. Thats his realisation ... SHE WAS AS IMPORTANT TO HIM AS HIS DI .. thats the day he PLACED HER ON THE SAME PEDESTAL as his Di ...
& Thats what the walk to the terrace was all about .. a possible I LOVE YOU DAMMIT ... he is seething mass of emotions ... on that walk .. only to see KHUSHI IN THE ARMS OF ANOTHER ...
now once again focus on the 2 things he sees ... one he sees KHUSHI in the arms of Shyam .. & 2 he sees her shrugging off those arms .. & he over hears what she says ... if u don't VALUE THE RELATION .. LEAVE ANJALI ...
lets take the dialog .. here was proof she was not committing Adultery .. she was challenging him to leave Anjali to be with her ( thats what Arnav thought) ... she shrugged out of his arms .. it was not Shyam who separated himself .. he also overhears SHYAM's undying love for KHUSHI .. now focus here .. Shyam is committing Adultery ..
lets take the visual now .. Khushi in Shyam's arms ... a visual which shakes his very belief ... cause khushi was reserved for his arms only .. or thats what he thought ...
lets digress for a bit .. lets go to the dialog which arnav tells anji when they discuss khushi engagement .. "Jisse pyaar nahi karti" Its his belief that she LOVES HIM ... he has seen the LOVE during DIWALI .. a love he rejected .. a love he was running scared from .. it took him so much time to reconcile & accept that love .. thats what this walk on the terrace was all about .. HIM ACCPETING HIS & KHUSHI's love ...
But what he sees is KHUSHI in the arms of another MAN ... & saying if u want me LEAVE UR WIFE ... the jolt is SHE IS IN LOVE WITH ANOTHER MAN ... a fact which is soon ratified by Shyam himself ...
hence the dialog ... "AUR JO DARD TUMNE MUJHE DIYA HAI"
So the reason Arnav does not ask Khushi about what he saw that fateful night was cause he COULD not .. & DID not want to HEAR FROM her that SHE WAS IN LOVE WITH ANOTHER MAN ... SHE WAS NOT IN LOVE WITH HIM ... cause the lover was struggling with his feelings for her ...
Now lets look at the reconciliation of the lovers ... on the terrace he tells her u have NO CHARACTER ... cause .. here she was busy giving him all the signs of being in love .. she was dancing closely with him .. she was on the poolside very much part of the almost Kiss ... but she was also pataoing Shyam .. thats what shocked him .. how he could be so wrong about her .. thats what he says in his anger to her .. but but but .. when he goes back to GH .. note all the FBs he gets .. he sees post marriage the love .. & he hears the HOLI talk .."dhadkne waali" finally when she speaks out the truth to him .. & then she goes all out to woo him .. he is reassured of her love for him .. hence the turn back at the airport ...
Now lets look at what made Arnav the way he was ... his belief was TWO PEOPLE COULD NOT BE IN A RELATION FOR LIFE ... hence when he sees Shyam & khushi in a clinch the brother does not hesitate to go to his sister & want to break it off .. & the fact that he keeps Shyam around is for a short period of time .. till his sister delivers .. hence the 6 month marriage clause ..
He also always BLAMES THE MAN ... cause like what happened with his MOM .. in this case as well .. SHYAM WAS IN A COMMITTED RELATION ... SHYAM WAS COMMITTING ADULTERY ... his feelings regards all this for KHUSH is just that she did not return his love ..
Now to understand all this better ... all u need to do is see the scene after the terrace hug (shyam & khushi) of Arnav's drive in the middle of the road .. while he is lamenting the HURT HE WILL CAUSE HIS SISTER .. for himself there is a HURT AS WELL .. a HURT OF A LOVE UNREQUITTED .. a LOVE WHICH IS NOT RETURNED ... A BROKEN HEART ..
RITTI this ones 4 U ...
Ritti that day when he spoke to Anjali with his head cradled in her laps .. yes he was flirting with the truth .. when he said he did not love Khushi when he married her ... what he was saying then was ... The entire household was made to believe this was a LOVE MARRIAGE .. thats the impression Arnav wanted to give ( what a way to protect his wife's & his love's dignity right) ... and thats what he tells his sister .. what u people thought that day .. That we eloped cause we were in LOVE WITH EACH OTHER thats not how it was .. When he married her .. his reason for marrying her WAS NOT LOVE Yes he flirted with the truth .. but he was being sincere sharing the pain his sister was going through ... he was bridging the gap of the 2 most important people in his life .. both of whom he could not hurt or abandon ... this was his way of reassuring his sister that he would be HER STRENGHT always .. but he did this all WHILE PRESERVING THE DIGNITY OF HIS WIFE .. HIS LOVE .. & HIS SISTERS FEELINGS OF ABANDONMENT ...
I know u recall this is the scene (along with the kidnap return head on lap scene) .. were the scenes i wanted to see most .. my one time prediction on redux .. these were simply the most beautiful scenes of the show .. such depth in feelings .. just hope the forum had understood the character called Anjali .. & accepted her like Arnav with warts & faults .. then the REAL BEAUTY of this scene would totally bewitch u ...
phew this one turned out really long ... Nebula & Shikha .. have tried being succinct here .. incase u need any further clarifications do let me know ..
Guys please feel free to share ur opinions on the above .. would love to engage in a discussion on this ..
ENJOY READING
CU AT THE IPks ..
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pbVwj01KwXI[/YOUTUBE]
You are simply awesome girl!!! how do you give these kinds of explanation day after day, anwering all the questions. Your response to each of these queries is so apt that it gives you another angle to look at the scene and also understand the character. Thank you!!
So here is my question to you
After the kidnapping when Arnav calls for the first time and tells her "I love You Khushi" Stop crying I am fine. At first Khushi is shocked on hearing that and then next she thinks is that something is definitely not right, as ARnav said those words to her. Did she really believe him when he said that after what had transpired once she found out why he married her? He does ask her how did she find out that all was not well with him, when she first discovers him.
Secondly Khushi being the sanskari girl knew about all the rituals of marriage etc . She always knew that how she got married to Arnav and was fine living with him in the same room. So why all of a sudden one find day she realizes that her wedding is incomplete and needs to perform all the rituals. She did not want to consummate her marriage as they had not done Saat pheras. You know what is funny that they do actually consummate before they got married. To me it seemed that she would have been okay with her once he tells her that he is doing all these because he loves her. Also note, that she also voices her feelings only after he blurted them on her face.