Rita.C thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
Hey there Shal,

enjoyed reading your post as usual. like the fact that though you wholeheartedly love the serial (or at least that is what i guess from your fb and these posts), you are still neutral enough to criticise when you see it.

I still have not finished watching the last episode... but the little I watched seemed like we are moving forward and its getting better - sorry I don't mean to offend, but I did find March and April rather unbearable to watch ... but I can sense that the writers have indeed decided to improve the storyline.

but i am still disappointed by the romance / romantic scenes - it seems like we have two different characters in place of Arnav and Khushi - these two used to combust if they came within 2 km of each other and suddenly they peacefully (well somewhat peacefully) share a narrow bed ?? to me that is simply incomprehensible.

my only conclusion is that the current team is different from those who managed the June- Dec scenes - this team does comedy quite well but is uncomfortable with romance. Possibly this is the wrong conclusion but I cannot understand the disconnect / completely different treatment of romance> the recent romantic scenes are forced and look for all the world like someone has said - "oye, sun, aur ek rabba ve daal na padega nahi to woh IF wali 8 million ladkiyaan hamaraa dimaak chategi" (trying out my understanding of the mumbai lingo, I hope I am not doing too badly there, 😆) and bang, we get one insane last minute put together rabba ve moment bunged in... with all due respect to those who enjoy them, I would rather not have a romantic moment at all than these ones - these are positive insult to the memory of the intense ones from 2011 or even mid Jan - mid Feb 2012.

Team members like Ved Raj etc. seem to think Gul's vision as almost silly - remember that interview where he said Gul is like a 16 year old who still believes in fairy tales?
"Gul ( the producer )is still a 16 year old when it comes to romance and believes passsionately in such characters ( he says fondly ).The characters we write on screen are often larger than life which is why people take to them so fondly. We are only filling colours into Gul's dream of wanting to show a fairy tale romance where the boy is harsh and the girl is a jhalli. "http://www.rangmunch.tv/index.php/kaelidoscope/writer-menu/item/632-khushi-is-weird-arnav-attracts-ved-raj-writer

we have a problem here - the guy writing the scenes for the hottest serial in Indian telly in history (pardon the hyperbole) does not believe in the concept, to all intents and purposes despises the basic story and thinks these characters in real life would be intolerable. You cannot possibly write intense passionate romantic stories if you don't believe in the characters or the story ... just my pov. I really do get the feeling that he would almost despise Arnav if he met him in real life.. " If you ask me characters like Arnav do not exists in real life .If Arnav would exist , people would run away from him. Such people tend to start getting irritating to handle beyond a point. These characters are hence best fitted only in Mills & Boons."
He also writes for 3 more serials - I guess that is a great testimony to his capability. I have no idea how successful those serials are but is it humanly possible to write brilliantly for 4 different stories at the same time every day? I would be amazed if it was possible. No wonder the OTT comedy and the silliness of Khushi has increased everday, it is not easy but it is certainly easier to write OTT comedy than passion scenes that sizzle with unspoken desire - did you read that interview of the director of 2005 P&P where he points out that though P&P was written in 19th century, the passion and the desire practically jumps through the pages? that is what used to happen in IPKKND in the good old days...

There is amnesia between episodes and loops keep opening unendingly and never are closed like Abhimanyu's chakravayu...

Sigh... sorry, I don't write all that much these days but somehow your post seemed to get me out of my disinterest.. to rant on.

keep writing..

Shalini76 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 3
Thanks a ton for your comments, Buddies :)
Surag thumbnail
Thank you for your fabulous analysis! I just watched Friday's show and loved it! Of course it helps that I read your analysis before I get to see the show.

Not sure why a lot of folks on the forum disliked it, I know everyone is waiting for the MU to get cleared but the writers are building up to it. What most people don't realize is that the writers have so much creative freedom. There are schedules and guidelines to be followed. And I think that they are doing a fabulous job!

Kushi is Kushi. She has always been filmy and does crazy stuff. This is so in her character. 2+5=25. And she must be the one to solve everyone's problems. She must act. So she jumps to conclusions and decides to end her life. Everyone knows that she is not going to die. But bravo to the writers for handling this sensetive topic in such a unique manner. And what does Kushi do when she decides to end her life? Think of others. And gives some more.

Kushi has no support system. She has no one to confide in. No one to support her. She has absolutely no support system. Even when she is acting odd, her family blows her off. That's just Kushi. But Arnav is watching her. And he is the one who keeps asking her if she is OK. Well done writers.

Best line of the show for me:

Arnav Singh Raizada... Naam to aise hai ki tope se udanyge. Le aye pechkas. (Arnav Singh Raizada. The name is so big that one would think they he would bring a big gun. And he shows up with a screwdriver) Hilarious! I had to watch it numerous times.

Loved:

Hariprakash sobbing for Kushi.
Laxmi of course.
Bukh-hartal at ASR's office
WT? from Arnav
Payal's new hair style. You go girl! Looking hot and glamorous! I hope they give you a stronger role!
The BED! Pink mosquito net and orange sheets. Arnav sleeping on it. Enough said:)

Who says the characters are being demolished? The writers are staying very true to the characters.

Note to IPKKND viewers:

Give the cast a break. Unlike USA serials, this one has a very small cast. So you will see some fillers. SI and BS are working very hard. They know that this show cannot be aired without them in the show. But they need a break too. So let's be more tolerant about other characters. This is a journey. Not the destination. Enjoy it.

Phone breaking

I have to confess that I have tried to break my phone on purpose and it is not that easy!

Sorry this is so long!

Shalini76 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Surag

Thank you for your fabulous analysis! I just watched Friday's show and loved it! Of course it helps that I read your analysis before I get to see the show.

Not sure why a lot of folks on the forum disliked it, I know everyone is waiting for the MU to get cleared but the writers are building up to it. What most people don't realize is that the writers have so much creative freedom. There are schedules and guidelines to be followed. And I think that they are doing a fabulous job!

Kushi is Kushi. She has always been filmy and does crazy stuff. This is so in her character. 2+5=25. And she must be the one to solve everyone's problems. She must act. So she jumps to conclusions and decides to end her life. Everyone knows that she is not going to die. But bravo to the writers for handling this sensetive topic in such a unique manner. And what does Kushi do when she decides to end her life? Think of others. And gives some more.

Kushi has no support system. She has no one to confide in. No one to support her. She has absolutely no support system. Even when she is acting odd, her family blows her off. That's just Kushi. But Arnav is watching her. And he is the one who keeps asking her if she is OK. Well done writers.

Best line of the show for me:

Arnav Singh Raizada... Naam to aise hai ki tope se udanyge. Le aye pechkas. (Arnav Singh Raizada. The name is so big that one would think they he would bring a big gun. And he shows up with a screwdriver) Hilarious! I had to watch it numerous times.

Loved:

Hariprakash sobbing for Kushi.
Laxmi of course.
Bukh-hartal at ASR's office
WT? from Arnav
Payal's new hair style. You go girl! Looking hot and glamorous! I hope they give you a stronger role!
The BED! Pink mosquito net and orange sheets. Arnav sleeping on it. Enough said:)

Who says the characters are being demolished? The writers are staying very true to the characters.

Note to IPKKND viewers:

Give the cast a break. Unlike USA serials, this one has a very small cast. So you will see some fillers. SI and BS are working very hard. They know that this show cannot be aired without them in the show. But they need a break too. So let's be more tolerant about other characters. This is a journey. Not the destination. Enjoy it.

Phone breaking

I have to confess that I have tried to break my phone on purpose and it is not that easy!

Sorry this is so long!

Thank you for this wonderful post! 👏
i absolutely AGREE with you 😃
arnshi thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 3
The most sensible and amazing analysis of khushi's behavior.
Loved it.
-SI- thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
wow Shalini that was beautifully written.. she is indeed broken down just hope arnav would realize sooner.
UV_Arshi thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Hey..that was awesome..the analysis, the correlations..each part of it was well thought out and well-written. Khushi's many deaths was very good..i hadn't thought of it that way..but it's an apt symbolism. Arnav's oblivion, the partly-seen, partly-heard, partly-misunderstood was also meaningful. It illustrates their lack of understanding and the restraint from trusting each other. Khushi's will was my favourite! How she thinks about others when she herself has hardly any materialistic wealth. Loved how she thinks about her new family first and then her own. LOVED how she looks at the stars and remembers Arnav (i guess).. Arnav, i hope you find this diary and see what a giant heart this girl has..a fact you seem to know deep in your heart..but choose to forget or ignore being the arrogant, ignorant fool that you are..! 🤔 Loved the correlation with sleeping beauty...! my fav line being-

"Nothing would move Arnav to the truth except Khushi's love.
Nothing would move Khushi to reconciliation except Arnav's love."

Also loved the reminder of the Heer-Ranjha scene...It's high time the Prince comes and kisses the beauty..high time Arnav confesses his feelings..and brings Khushi back!

Loved it! It made the episode all the more meaningful and enjoyable! 😊 Thanks for the PM!

vishakha1 thumbnail
Shalini, fantastic post as usual!!!!!!!!👏👏👏

The way last 3 episodes were handled I was so so upset, but reading your post always gives me new positive angle, you bring out the positivity so well... Hats off to you...⭐️really...
You are so good.😳... and thank you so much for PM... I really appreciate it... 😊
Fazila~ thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6
Yep, this was necessary to break him...she will get all her ans now...