The Curious Case of Rudre (SS/FF RuMya)

RishuDarling thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5

As advised by one of the readers, I am reposting this short story. I hope I am not spamming you all much (this is the last one I suppose). Hope you will enjoy it.

The Curious Case of Rudre

Index

1. The Mask
  2. Midnight Encounter
  3. About Last Night
  4. The Apology
  5. Well-Wishers on a Mission

Numbed of the intense pain he felt shooting through his body, he stood there silently. As if a sharp knife had pierced through his heart without mercy. He was not able to move or speak. Rudre was on his way to his room when he noticed Soumya sitting there. All alone, crying, putting on a mask to comfort herself. She seemed so lonely and heartbroken. He never intended to intrude and listen to her conversation. But he heard all she had said. It was as if he had looked into a mirror and witnessed his naked pure soul in utter distress.

Rudre could relate to the loneliness. Yes, he was and is lucky. At least he always had his big brothers to take care of him. To make him feel safe. Omkara was always the super sensitive one. It was Shivaay who mostly picked up the pieces which all the elders left behind. There was nobody there, just him. He spoke out loud as if the mature Rudre was calming down his inner child Rudy.

I know it was not an easy task. After taking care of Om and myself, Shivaay had to pull himself together, wipe away his own tears and then at some point he would finally fall asleep. I pretended many times to be sound asleep but that was far from the truth. My brothers were there for me always. Looked out for me. Despite their differences of opinion, for him they would always put on happy face and take away his worries. I know that. Still, the fear that people around me would leave, leave me all alone, by myself, was always there. Till this date I am still scared. In the past it was mostly mom and dad fighting, Choti papa and choti mom. Divorce, lies, addiction and self destruction, mistresses and attacks on my family. People leave or are taken away from your life. Maybe that is why I shy away for commitment and fear abandonment. Why bother? It is a setup for failure. Why open myself up for more heartache? I will not cause stress on my body. Not like Om or Mom. Or Soumya even. I see what she is doing. Stress eating and pretending she is not bothered by her weight. No not me. Never. This is what I do well. This is what I can control!... Soumya..! I could help her..

Poor Soumya.. Rudre walked further to his room. He needed a few minutes to recover. How rude I have been. My name is Rudre not Rude Boy. I should make an effort and make her feel at home at least. I will do for her what my brothers have done for me. I will keep her safe, take care of her, make her smile or even fight with her (that's when she is her cutest).. Just to keep her distracted. I could be her family. I would never run away. But.. Would she stay?'

Rudre returned to the party with his camera, more alcohol and of course, with his Clown Face on. He knew what had to be done. What she needed. And tonight for once he would not hide away.

Edited by RishuDarling - 8 years ago

prachi_vrushan thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
wow this was beautiful
i really liked it
KaBhiKiBasanti thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Brilliant!!
Amazing one!
Rudy boys emotions!
Plzz write more...especially if you can on RuMya
Plzz

-Aniisha- thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Beautifully penned 👏
Edited by .Anisha. - 8 years ago
RishuDarling thumbnail

Midnight Encounter

After the past events, the boys needed their own space. They were close, but in every healthy relationship alone time is required. Om and Shivaay were two strong minded guys who clearly were not on the same page when it came down to business, status and Mr. Oberoi, as Omkara would refer to their father. Rudre was torn emotionally to see their brothers quarreling. Ever since his he could remember he had been the glue between his elder brothers. He knew they had their differences and would make up at some point, but it in the end it was affecting him. They had always comforted him when he could not fall asleep or was not at ease. They had both, separately, checked up on him. Sweet.. He pretended to be asleep. It was past 12 a.m. and he was still wide awake. Oh God please, don't give me dark circles underneath my eyes. I am so handsome. Dark circles will not look good on me. Please give it to someone else ok God? Thank You.'

All of a sudden Rudre got up. Without giving it a second thought he walked towards the in-house temple. Rudre usually prayed in his own room, without going to the mandir or any temples for that matter. On grand festivals he joined the family. But Rudre liked privacy when he prayed. It was sacred to him and in prayer, before God, he could finally remove his mask. Full Disclosure.

He stood there before Ganesh Ji's murti. The diya was still flickering brightly. "Hi Ganesh Ji.. Bappa.. It's me Rudre. I just talked to You remember? Handsome face, dark circles? Ah You know now right?" Rudre smiled and paused briefly. "I really don't know what to do to make the quarrels between my brothers stop, to get rid of all the mysteries between my dad and uncle. Please Bappa. Could You please help me to bring peace to my family? Pleeeaaase???

I don't need anything fancy. I only pretend that I give much importance to all these gadgets, expensive cars, clothes, looks and girls. But that is all not true. I only care about girls and looks."

Rudre heard footsteps. Sleepy lazy footsteps, swooshing over the floor. He turned around and saw Soumya walking towards him. "Oh God, you are impossible! Cry Baby!" Rudre was worried that she heard his full conversation to Bappa. "Uhm Sumo.. Why are you still awake? Are you following me? You could not stay away from Rudre the Gorgeous Hunk of School?" "Don't act all over smart with me. I heard everything!" "Everything? Uhm Sumo, what do you mean? I was not even here that long? And what are you doing here?"

Soumya walked away. Rudre followed right behind her. He grabbed her by one shoulder, gently but hard enough to stop her. "What? Look I don't have time for all this ok? I can't sleep and I really want some ice cream right now. If you want you can join but I really don't want any comments right now! Please.. "

They both sat at the table with one big Ben&Jerry's mix ice cream, Chunky Monkey and Chocolate Caramel Chew Chew, and two spoons. "Don't worry. I won't tell your secret Cry Baby. I won't tell anyone that you were praying for a date with Romi." "Huh? What?" "It's OK.. I heard you say I only care about girls and looks. And I know Romi is the only mantra you know. Romi please chalo coffee date pe, Romi please look at my biceps, Romi.. " "Look Saumya, please ok. I am not in the mood to fight with you. I promised to leave you alone. Have I made comments on you eating Ice cream or your weight? I am even supporting you and eating with you. Risking my six pack to become a one pack! You will feel better when I am less attractive than you. And you heard it all wrong. In Hinduism women are honored always. My comment was on that. I honor women. I only care about girls. And Hindustani girls are pretty so that is why I said good looks. My language is just different. That's why you misunderstood. Just how Shivaay Bhaiya is always misunderstanding Annika." "Rudre.. Why can't you sleep? Are you worried about your brothers? You only eat unhealthy food when you are sad. They will be fine tomorrow. They love each other too much to not talk. In fact, I am sure that bade bhaiya and bade baal wala bhaiya are also wide awake." "Do you think so?" "Do you not think so?" They ate a few bites more.

"Soumya, why are you awake? Are you missing your family? Feeling lonely? I hope you do know that you are welcome here. Shivaay and Omkara really are so fond of you. And Prinku.. You know she loves you. Sometimes I feel jealous of you." "What? Of me? Get out of here? Why?" "All three of them always take your side! Just not fair." "Rudre, are you serious? Do you know how many times I have to hear Rudre is the world's best bhaiya, He is so cute, He always make laugh when I feel low, he is the glue that keeps us together, he has a pure and good heart bla bla bla. Rudre, sometimes I think you must be some immature Saint. Hahaha ahh I have a new name for you.. Saint Immature Oberoi." Rudre did not reply. He was happy to see her laugh. She had a very cute face, especially when she was laughing. He had noticed that before. I felt quite peaceful.

As they went back upstairs they decided to peek and check on Shivaay and Om. Both were up, staring out of the window, in deep thoughts. Soumya stopped him from entering their rooms.

"Come.. Give them their space. Don't force it. They will find their way and make up." "Sumo.. You give good advise." She smiled "That's why I am the Love An... I mean The Lovable Soumya, everyone loves my advise."

Rudre had walked automatically with Soumya to her room. They stood in front of her door. Actually his door. There was this awkward silence suddenly. To break the tension Rudre said "So.. You think I am cute? That's what you said Rudre is so cute." "No.. That's what others think of you." "Arre Sumo, it's ok. You can admit it." He challenged her, without realizing it he playfully had moved a bit closer. "Come on.. Say it.. Say it.. Rudre is so cute.. He is so handsome.. Attractive.." Soumya felt Rudre coming closer and she moved her body closer against the door till she could not move any further. "Back off Rudre" "Are you scared.. Chicken.. And you call me darpok?" Rudre stood really close to her. Tilted his head down, leaning in, both hands against the door, around the height of her shoulders. Rudre raised his hand. With one finger he removed a string of stranded hair from her face. Slowly, that hand naturally followed the contour of her face, her cheek bone.

Soumya pushed him away from her to create space again. Frankly, she panicked. What was happening here? She held her head up, and her chest up saying "I am not a darpok like you. Yes you are cute sometimes. Yes you are handsome but that does not mean I will sleep with you. What do you think that every girl is dying to climb into your bed?"

"Huh.. What? Sumo what nonsense! You are already sleeping in my bed. Hello this is my room remember."

"What do you mean? Nonsense. Don't you think I know what you are doing here? Is this what you do with all those girls? First you tell them they are cute. At the pool party you told me twice and today again. You told me I was cute and right away you invited me right into your bed if I could not sleep. You can come and sleep with me! Oh.. Then you give me chocolate ice cream. Do you think I am stupid? Chocolate is an aphrodisiac."

"Afro? What? Sumo, I think the ice cream caused some sort of brain freeze or brain damage. You are talking bullshit again. " "Oh hello, in a survey of... "

"Rudre??!" A stern and strict voice silenced the two of them.

"Soumya?? Are you OK? What's going on here?"
RishuDarling thumbnail

About Last Night

The complete family sat at the table for breakfast. It seemed as if all returned back to normal. The usual chatter was going on. Pinky and Dadi were discussing wedding arrangements, pushing Shivaay to select a date. Pinky was wondering when Annika would make an entrance. Shivaay so far had ignored his mother's questions but seemed very interested to know more about Annika's whereabouts. Today they were supposed to brainstorm on original return gifts. Jhanvi had put in her two cents on adding to go for self created goodie bags. Prinku also joined in on this idea.

Tej and Shakti were discussing the recent police case against them in a softer tone than the ladies. They were worried. Who is trying to frame them? Tej would try to get hold of some well known lawyers and investigators.

Shivaay and Omkara had not said much this morning. It was not uncommon that the two young men were in disagreement. Two opposite characters are bound to disagree at some point. But usually they would resolve their issues the same day. Never would they go to sleep before setting things right. Actually.. Shivaay and Omkara both had planned to go see each other and talk things out. But in the hallway they saw Rudre and Soumya, arguing in the middle of the night. Rudre seemingly misbehaving with Soumya. They had to intervene to avoid the whole house to wake up.

Soumya and Rudre both were quiet. Other than good morning they had not uttered one word, which for these two was very unusual. The ladies had noticed, while chit chatting but so far did not comment. They must have figured they had another of their usual childish arguments. Jhanvi asked "Soumya, what is wrong my dear? Are you not feeling well? You are hardly eating anything" "No Jhanvi aunty I am not sick. Just trying to diet." Rudre whispered loud enough so only Soumya could hear him "What diet? All you can eat paratha diet?" Soumya did not respond. "Rudre Beta, you haven't finished your fruits and yogurt yet. It's almost time for school. You don't want to be late right? Come on, quick quick." Rudre smiled at his mom. He was not in the mood to eat but he sure loved his mother to go all-mommy-types on him. Saumya decided to reply to Rudre's previous comment and whispered back, for his ears only "No Rudre, you can't be late for your favourite subjects Flirtology and Science of Bangmatics'. He just looked at his plate and finished it quickly.

"Shivaay.. Do you have time now?" Omkara had followed Shivaay to his room. "Yes Om, of course I have time for you."

"Look, about last night.. Yesterday.. You, me.. Rudre, Soumya.. I think we should talk." "I agree with you. Actually.. I was on my way to your room when I saw those two.. What were you doing there? Did you wake up from their noise?" Omkara smiled "Bhai seriously. You know me right? You know I can't sleep without saying sorry to you. I was on my way to you."

The brothers just looked at each other. They knew they would agree to disagree with each other on such topics. But for some reason Omkara was getting affected more than usual. Maybe Ishana's comments on the Oberoi wealth and power had something to do with that. Om finally said "If Rudre would be here, he would tell us to hug."

"Rudre is here to tell you to hug. But before that, he would tell you to apologize to him too." Rudre had followed his brothers. As he wanted to enter the room, he remembered Soumya's advise. He could here voice even: Give them their space. Don't force it. They will find their way and make up.' Soumya, Stupid girl! Is it not enough she lives in his house, in his room, claimed his brothers and now she is in his head too!

Shivaay took the lead: "Apologize? To you? Sorry Rudre, but yesterday you were out of line! And you know that. We discussed this last night. You know, we usually don't say anything. Let you do whatever you want to do. Girls throw themselves at you. That is their choice. But what is the deal with Soumya? The two of you fight like cats and dogs." Shivaay walked towards Rudre and looked him straight in the eyes. "Look, you are my baby brother. I know you would never hurt Soumya or any other girl. You flirt around, fine, but you don't use girls. Still, somehow Soumya got this idea. You are sending weird signals out to her I suppose. Even I get confused sometimes, whether you like her or not. You fight with her, tease her, call her fat one moment and the next she is cute. Think about that. Fix that. After school we can talk about it ok? Go on now."

Rudre, Prinku and Soumya went to school together. Rudre sat in the front next to the driver. Rudre and Soumya were in the same year and followed some classes together. And today they would start of the day together in the same class.

The drive to school was quiet. Even the driver noticed it. He made eye contact with Prinku through the rear mirror. She just smiled and requested for some music. Prinku knew her brother very well. He was troubled. Upset. Music would help him ease up a bit. Soumya was a sweetheart. Ever since she came to live with them, she had brought along her bubbliness. Come to think of it, these two were quite alike and still poles apart. Most likely something happened between them. How I wish they could stop fighting and just get along."

Rudre was happy the music was on. It helped him relax a bit. He leaned back and closed his eyes briefly. Obviously, he didn't got much sleep. There was chaos in his mind at the moment. You are sending weird signals out to her' Shivaay's words echoed in his head.

"Rudre??!" A stern and strict voice silenced the two of them.

"Soumya?? Are you OK? What's going on here?"

Soumya and Rudre, were startled by these voices. It were Shivaay and Omkara, who were equally surprised to see them together. Shivaay asked "What's going on here?" There was silence. "Is anyone going to answer me? Soumya.. ? Is there anything you want to tell me or Omkara?" Again, silence. There were tears welling up, she closed her eyes.

"Rudre, why don't you go to your room? We will be there in a few minutes." Omkara had seen Soumya's tears and felt this could be a better way to find out what happened here. "Soumya, can we come with you, to your room?"

Soumya could not be happier with the music entertainment. There was a painful tension in the car. Her thoughts were also about last night. She had run into Omkara arms. He had hugged her, consoled her. Shivaay had brought water and tissues for her.

"Soumya, would you please tell us what happened? You seem very upset. And you know, you are like my baby sister. You have tied rakhi on me. I must have some right to ask you for the truth right? If Rudre misbehaved we will set him straight. He is our brother. He will listen for sure. Please tell us."

She started telling her side of the truth. "We could not sleep and had ice cream together. Afterwards, we came upstairs."She paused.

"He was teasing me again, about me being fat."

Shivaay asked "But Soumya, this is what he usually says to you right? I mean he should not do that but why are you extra upset today? And why was he standing awfully close to you? Please don't hold back. Just tell us the truth."

In hindsight, instinctively, she knew Rudre would never hurt her. He would never harm in any way. She could sense that. She looked into the OBros eyes. She just couldn't tell the truth. How she wished now she had responded to Rudre differently. More casual and composed. Now she created a drama, and the OBros came to investigate, ready to take her side. Sweet in a way. Touching, especially since she lost her brother. She did want to lie nor extend the drama. But how could she tell the truth. This is so embarrassing. How can she tell them, she thought he wanted to get intimate with her. In which universe would that happen. She is no size zero. Guys like Rudre can get the hottest girls. And here I am causing drama that he is trying to take advantage of me. What if they don't want me to live here any more? What will I do then?'

"Bade bhaiya, bade baal wala bhaiya. Rudre was showing his biceps and triceps again. Telling me to feel his muscles. Convincing me to eat apples. Look, I am very sorry for causing problems. I am afraid I overreacted. Actually, Rudre was just being Rudre. Just today I couldn't take it well. Probably because of hormone issues." "Hormone issues?" the brothers repeated. They didn't say anything but both thought of raging hormones, which is quite normal for young people.

"Uhm yes, you know.. Hormones.. Uhm.. Female problems..??" Soumya lied.

All three were silent for a few seconds. Shivaay was the first to get up and break the silence. "Uhm yes ok, Soumya, so you are good now right? It's getting late. So.. Good night."

Omkara also wished her goodnight and gave her a big hug before he left.

Omkara looked at Shivaay "After you.. "

They walked slowly towards Rudra's bedroom. "Amazing not? How Rudre has a way with the girls? Look at Soumya.. She does not even like Rudre at all, she says but.. Why does she protect him like a tigress?"

Shivaay could not suppress a smile. A tigress protecting a lion. Funny, as he could picture that mentally. But Omkara was right. Soumya did not know it but they both heard her say:

You told me I was cute and right away you invited me right into your bed if I could not sleep. You can come and sleep with me! Oh.. Then you give me chocolate ice cream. Do you think I am stupid? Chocolate is an aphrodisiac."

Let's see what Rudi Boy has to say for himself!

"Rudre...?" "Yes Bhaiya" Rudre replied in his puppy dog sad way.

"Rudre...?" "Yes O" Rudre continued his drama. He knew he was in trouble. By now Soumya must have told everything to them. Exaggerated. She is such a drama queen. He looked up at his brothers. They both stood there, fierce, arms folded.

"What's their to say? She told you everything right? You choose her above me, your baby brother. Then what is there left to say?"

"We heard everything. You are cute, she is cute, Ice cream, bedroom, chocolate aphrodisiac." Technically Shivaay was not lying. Omkara was impressed by his interrogation tactics. If it was him he would have either said nothing or that he had overheard their conversation. He took over from Shivaay.

"Rudre look, whatever happened or did not happen is between you two. We just want to make sure that you will not cross that fine line with Soumya. She is the granddaughter of Dadi's friend. She is a sweet girl who has been through a lot. Don't complicate things if you are not truly interested."

After the brothers called it a night, Soumya and Rudre also went to bed. Both had time to reflect on what really happened. They replayed that scene at the bedroom door once more. There had been a tension between them ever since they walked up towards the room.

Soumya had never been this close with a boy before. Never experienced such an intimate moment. The way he stepped up towards her. She could feel his body, his trained muscled chest against her skin. She could smell his scent, a mixture of shower gel, and his sweat. Sounds crazy, but that scent had excited her. In fact, how she wished now she could have hugged him as he tilted his face towards her ears. She touched her own face, the way Rudre had done. She can still feel how gently he had caressed her. She had closed her eyes briefly as his hand rested on her cheeks, his thumb touching the corner of her mouth.

Soumya sighed heavily. If she had not pushed him away, she would have made a huge fool out of herself. She realized she had overreacted. He was just teasing me. Tomorrow she would apologize. Something she was not looking forward to.

Rudre was quite upset. How dare she accuse him of misleading her? The idea of us together, in bed? Ridiculous! She completely misunderstood me. And the worst thing of all, she turned my brothers against me. What must they think of me now? Their lecture said it all. I know they meant well, but how could they think so low of me? As if I actually sleep with every girl I see? When am I supposed to do that. I am always in school or I am with my brothers all the time! First of all, I would never date her, she is just not my type. Secondly, Rudre Singh Oberoi can get hot girls just like that. No need to impose myself on someone or trick them.'

He went online to search for this Afro something. It didn't take him that long to find the meaning of the word.

Aphrodisiac

Meaning: a food, drink, or other thing that stimulates sexual desire

That got him even more worked up. Here I was thinking that I should be nice to her, protect her. Well now she is on her own!

Does she really think I need to drug people? That I need to drug her? Wake up Soumya! He could sense she was comfortable with him underneath his touch. He closed his eyes to see everything clear again. The way she held her face up high, which felt nice and warm, her soft big breasts against my chest. Her breathing went to a slightly faster pace. I think that sweet smell was her perfume or shampoo.

And she thinks I need drugs for this nonsense! She needs drugs for her sick mind. I am so done with her. If she thinks I will apologize to her...!!
Shabana0786 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Interesting.. love to read more especially on "Rumya"..
RishuDarling thumbnail

The Apology

"Class, as you know you can score extra marks on extracurricular activities. We would like to focus on some projects. This can be charity cases, environmental, animal rights or what not. Please check the list for options and sign up online this week. If you have any other ideas, please let me know to see what the possibilities are. Think about it guys, Caring is Sharing. And if you don't care then think of your marks."

Rudra could feel the hidden message in the eyes of Mrs. Patel, Civics and Sociology teacher, when she spoke the last sentence. He had not started this semester well. Mostly, because of the attacks and the emotional rollercoaster he was sucked into and could not get out of. In first appearance you might think he was not bothered by all what was going on. His happy go lucky attitude was a good front for sure. But as far as his grades were concerned he was just getting by. The bell rang. Morning classes were over. It was now time for a lunch break.

Chubby and Rudra walked towards the canteen to get a bite to eat. Rudra would usually bring his protein shake and a healthy lunch box from home. But today he was craving for a burger and fries, lots of it. He knew he would train it off directly after school anyway.

"Rudra? Yaar what's up?" Chubby could clearly see his friend was troubled. "Nothing. Why?" "Well.. You are awfully quiet the whole morning, you haven't paid any attention to your fangirls and.. Burger AND fries? Something is up for sure. But ok.. Don't tell me. Keep it to yourself. I mean, it's not like I am your best friend or anything." Rudra said nothing but just looked at Chubby. It was true, Chubby was and is his best friend in school. Growing up, there had been many issues of which only Chubby was aware of. Kids can be cruel. But their parents could be even worse. Vicious. Instigating their children. And of course, there was the loyal media. Loyal in the sense that one could always depend on the media to blow things up, out of proportion. It was Chubby who had taken on the burden to protect him in school. Rudra was never weak. But sensitive might be most apt for him. Training and building on a stronger physique to compensate, or to camouflage his sensitivity worked out in his advantage. Actually his body type was more like Shivaay's. However, Shivaay had a sharp tongue and a quick way to anticipate to protect himself and his family. Omkara would block the world out and lose himself in his own world of art and creativity. And Rudra had his puppy dog scared eyes requesting rescuers to unite. Chubby was one of his protectors growing up. Nowadays, nobody would dare to mess with this dynamic duo.

They walked outside to their hangout spot to have their lunch. Rudra, aware of Chubby's words earlier, started greeting some girls who giggled back at him.

At the table he got reminded of the breakfast scenario this morning and last night's events. No Rudre, you can't be late for your favourite subjects Flirtology and Science of Bangmatics'.

"Chubby.. Why are you getting so senti yaar. You know you are my best friend. Aside from my brothers I would trust you blindly. It's just..." "Just what? Just tell me man.." "It's just.. I don't know man. I am sorry Chubby. It's just embarrassing."

Both guys started eating quietly, occasionally greeting some friends and girls passing by. Rudra was very hungry. He realized he had not eaten properly this morning. After they had finished their lunch, it was Rudra who broke the silence.

"You know.. Soumya. We live together.. She lives with me.. I mean she stays in our house." "Yeah.. Ok.. So? What's the problem? You live in a huge mansion? Surely, the girl is not that big to cause space issues right? It's not that you have to share your room or anything." "Oh God Chubby it's worse! Dadi gave her my room and now I am homeless in my own house. I stray from Bhaiya's room to guest rooms." Rudra put on his sad face to win sympathy, but without success. "Yesterday some sort of confusion happened. You know, I don't like motees. Still.." "Rudra.. I am also a moti..!"

"Arre baba focus! You are not Moti. You are Chubby! And I love my Chubby. But I absolutely hate that moti. That Soumya...! Anyway, still I was being nice to her. I could understand her sadness. I walked her to her room. Which is actually MY room. Which she by the way does not respect. She replaced all my stuff. How am I supposed to find anything now?" "Rudra yaar come to the point before my class starts again." "Well.. Somehow.. She got the idea that I.. I.. Rudra Singh Oberoi! Wanted to.. Umm.. Sleep.. Sleep, with her.. Can you believe that shit?" Chubby smiled, gave a somewhat confused look, and did not really know what to say. "Uhm.. Why not? She is cute.. But what gave her that idea? I mean for a girl to get such an idea, you must have offered her some strange type of exercise tips." Rudra did not seem to appreciate that joke. "Chubby, you know I would never do anything like that. I am a flirter yes. It makes me feel good. Sue me. Yes ok, it's true, I don't mind a bit of fooling around but you know damn well I would never sleep around and take advantage of all those girls. Hello! I have a sister too. The media made a playboy out of me and at that time that image worked perfectly well for me. But now that reputation is working against me." "So what happened between you two? You guys are cool now?" "Chubby yaar, I could care less about that girl. She is on her own now. I, myself am very cool. Ice cold cool. In fact, I will give her the cold shoulder! You see how friendly I am Chubby? I am giving her something." Rudra said sarcastically smiling. "Come on, grow up!"

The bell had rung again, but now to announce that the lunch break had come to an end. Rudra had a free period in between. He thought to check Mrs. Patel's list to see for which project he could sign up as he needed the extra marks. He reached for his earphones to listen to some music.

"Rudra..?" Soumya had been watching Rudra and Chubby from a distance. She was so focused on finding the right time, the right thing to say or to do, that she even forgot to eat. She quickly came rushing in when he was sitting alone, completely out of breath.

"Rudra..? Rudra can I please sit down?" She asked, heavily panting. Rudra didn't have to look all the way up to know that it was Soumya. He could recognize her hands, holding the tray. He decided to ignore her, hoping she would leave. Without waiting for his permission she went to sit down. He wanted to leave. But Saumya reached for his hand. Out of reflex, not realizing his own strength, he pushed her hand back holding on tightly, pressing her bracelet deeper into her skin, accidentally hurting her. "OUCH" Rudra immediately let go off her hand and moved closer out of concern, gently touched her shoulder and asked "Soumya are you ok? Did I hurt you?" "No.. I am ok. I deserved that I suppose." She was rubbing her wrist which showed some red spots.

"Rudra..? Please hear me out. Look, last night.. I don't know what came over me. After you left I talked to your brothers. They were very sweet to me. It felt as if my bhaiya was with me. And then I realized.. I can't explain.. I totally overreacted. Like I said, I don't know what came over me.." Soumya continued to explain herself.Soumya was relieved to see that Rudra at least was prepared to listen to her.

Rudra had been upset all night and all morning. Determined not to give any attention to this girl. No attention, no apology, nothing. As she was talking to him, his mind went off wandering. He was looking at her. Observing here. The way she talked with her whole face and hand movements. Her bracelet charm moving up and down... Her mouth.. Her lips.. Full, round and luscious.. He thought again of last night.. Every detail came back to him sharply. He closed his eyes and inhaled deeply as he remembered her sweet scent. In fact, he noticed it again. What was that sweet rosy perfume? Was she really wrong? Had she really misjudged the situation? He could not deny that in that moment he acted without realizing what actually happened. Saumya raised her voice loudly, to get his attention.

"Rudra..?! Look! I don't like to apologize. And I don't like to beg. But I don't believe in false pride. If I am wrong.. I am wrong. My bhaiya death taught me not to waste time if you want to say something important. And this guilt I am feeling, it's not good for me. Do you realize I have not eaten hardly anything? And then rushing to see you. Maybe I lost another pound by now. Anyway, I realise now that I misjudged what happened yesterday. But I am not going to keep this bottled up inside and I am not going to say the same thing over and over. I have said sorry a couple of times now. But you are ignoring me. Just staring at me. Hello.. Are you even listening? One more time.. Rudra, I am really sorry for what I said. I totally misread the situation. You see, actually, guys usually don't come near me. And especially that close. You have to admit you were standing too close. Don't do that again. And I know you don't need to mislead girls with alcohol or drugs and all to crawl in your bed. I know we are not each other's type and all. What was I thinking right? You? Me? You are so not my type" She laughed it off.

Rudra listened to all she had to say. Even he did not have a false sense of pride. He did not always show his true emotions to the world but he was never scared of apologizing or accepting sincere apologies. She thinks I actually hop into bed with every girl. I am not going to explain myself to her. Wait a minute. What did she mean? I am so not her type? Does she need glasses? Hello, I am every girl's type.' While she was non-stop talking he thought to make her sweat some more.

"But Saumya, why did you tell my brothers everything? Why did you try and turn them against me. They thought I tried to attack and take advantage of you, like a predator. They were ready to call the cops on me. Do you know what problems await me when I get home? This could have stayed between us. We could have sorted things out. Now I might go to jail. A handsome boy like me will not survive in jail. And I haven't even dated Romi yet. You must be so happy now." He looked at her, extremely sad puppy dog faced. "I can forgive you Saumya, but only if you help me to fix a date with Romi.. Oh and tell my brothers you were hallucinating because of your medicines.. Oh and tell everyone I am not a cry baby but the nicest hottest guy you have ever met." "Kya?? What the hell?? No way dude!" "Then no forgiveness. Think about it."
twerping thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 7
Absolutely loving this! That scene where Rudra comes to her was totally sizzling! Finally caught up with the story and enjoyed every bit of it! Am really excited what you have planned for this couple! Do update soon! Thank you so much for the pm! Please let me know when you update again.
RishuDarling thumbnail

Well-Wishers on a Mission

Omkara was cleaning up his utensils in his in-house studio when he heard someone knocking at the door, gently. It was Soumya who opened the door. "Soumya? What a pleasant surprise. Come in." He welcomed her with his charming smile. "What brings you here today? In fact, this is the first time you are here right?" "Hello bhaiya. Yes. It's beautiful here. Completely different from the rest of the house." Om smiled. He enjoyed watching her as she looked around, taking everything in with a fresh outlook on things. She was fascinated with one of his new projects, which nobody else had seen yet.

"What's up Soumya ? Is there something you would like to discuss with me?" "Well bhaiya, I came to apologize. Last night.. I know we woke you and bade bhaiya up. You see.. Rudra didn't do anything wrong other than just his usual weight and diet comments. I know we fight a lot, but I also know he could never harm me. I am truly sorry for giving the wrong idea. Please don't take any harsh actions against him. Please don't be angry with him." Omkara just sat there silently listening to her. Harsh actions? What does she mean? I thought we closed yesterday's topic, with her at least.' "You will accept my apology, right bhaiya?" "Of course.. We're cool. Don't worry about it." Omkara stared at the closed after she left. He would surely discuss this with his brothers.

Soumya was on a mission. She had been waiting for Shivaay to come home. "Uhm.. Bade bhaiya?" Shivaay just entered his room when he heard Soumya's voice. The poor girl stood there before him, all out of breath. "Bade bhaiya.. Can I talk to you please?" She repeated the same rehearsed apology, as given to Omkara.

"You don't have to apologize to me. You did nothing wrong. I can understand, especially at your age, that you will sometimes find it difficult to see things for what they really are. Or.. You see it, but find it difficult to accept." He paused briefly. "I mean, I know you can't get along with Rudra but trust me, he is a sweet boy. And I hope one day you will get the chance to meet that Rudra." As she knew Shivaay always had a busy schedule, she left his room. Now the only obstacle remaining: Romi!

"OK class before you leave, if you have signed up for the project groups, please do check online the lists I have made. To make it more interesting, it's combined years so there might be people on the list you don't know. If you have any questions contact me."

At home, Rudra went to check the list:

Orphanage (10 persons)

Melanie

Natasha

Priyanka

Raghav

Rakesh (= Chubby)

Romika (= Romi)

Rudra

Sahil (classmate of Priyanka)

Soumya

Vinod

He quickly scanned for the names he knew. Arre waah re, Chubby is in the same group. And Romi too!! This is fantastic news!!' Rudra was doing his happy dance.

Soumya walked up towards him. "You're welcome." "What? Did you arrange this?" "Yup. I convinced Romi to sign up together with me. Basically, I don't need the extra points but I would like to see you get crashed and burned while trying getting close to her. Now listen cry baby, I have done what I promised. So we're even now." "Ohhohh..Remember.. No more cry baby. Seriously, thanks for arranging this, but I said date, not project. And.. You still have to tell everyone I am the hottest guy you have met in school." He smiled naughtily, as she took off in anger. Well perhaps she did do me a favor.. For the project I will have to work closely with

R O M I..'

Practical things had to be arranged. The project group needed a team leader. After voting, Priyanka was chosen. Strengthened by this vote of confidence, she immediately took actions and created a whatsapp group Well-Wishers on a Mission. The family enjoyed seeing Prinku's proactive news and pitched in with ideas and volunteered to assist if required. The whole group was motivated to make this project a success. They shared their ideas on what their contribution could be.

Rudra thought of what he could do for the children. Sports and Health was the obvious choice for him. A weekend of sport activities, information on healthy diet and cooking together was something he was looking forward to.

Soumya realised very well that a life without family was tough and that this would be difficult for the children. To talk about feelings, is not always something that is given much attention too. She wanted to brainstorm on this topic some more to see how to address this playfully.

In the end Priyanka had summed up their ideas in an email. She would discuss it with the orphanage mentor and Mrs. Patel.

"My compliments guys, I really like your enthusiasm.

Mr. Ramanand, your mentor at the orphanage liked the ideas. Please come up with a structured plan, dates and time schedules. Do keep in the mind the costs. It has to be low budget. There were so many good ideas. I would suggest to focus on these five, at least for now.

Sports and Health Care

Social Care

Arts and Handicrafts

Fund raising

Survival Camp

Please do make an appointment with Mr. Ramanand to get acquainted and of course to meet the children. And don't forget to turn in your weekly self reflection report. Good luck."

Rudra had arranged for a mini coach bus with driver for their first introduction at the orphanage. He thought that it would benefit the group bonding to travel together instead of two cars. There were people in the group he did not know yet. And of course, Romi would be there too. The thought of her made him jump up out of bed and get ready.

Sumo.. Sumo.. Please open the door. I need to come in." He knocked at the door a few more times. "Soumya? Are you there?" As there was no reply nor sound, Rudra assumed she had already left the room for breakfast. He opened the door carefully and peeped in to double check. "Soumya, I am coming in the room now." Ah.. It is safe to proceed.' He would not want to have more of those predator accusations thrown at him. He walked straight towards his cupboard to check for a nice outfit. The clothes he had taken with him to the guest bedroom, were not good enough for the occasion. It had to be casual and comfortable but it had to make him look even hotter than he was, if that was even possible. The exact right fit to show off his body and the correct color. Oh God choices. Shall I ask Annika didi? Oh.. She might not even be here yet. Idea! I will ask Soumya. Romi is her friend. She knows what she likes and what not.

He send her message: "Sumo, come quick! VIP! Very Important Problem. My room." Oh God. Yeh Soumya bhi nah! Unbelievable! She forgot her phone in the room. If this would be a life and death matter he would be dead by now.'

He selected some options, shoes and accessories. Right before he wanted to leave he thought of getting his hair gel, razor and some more items from the bathroom.

As he pulled to open the door, Soumya stood at the other side to push the door open. "OUCH!" Soumya found herself again in a predicament. By force, she was pulled into the arms of Rudra, knocking their heads together. What she felt was not only pain but, soon after, also embarrassed. The painful awareness that she was practically naked, struck her like flash of lightning. Covered by only a towel to dry her hair and a sauna towel, which, luckily because of her short height, reached right below her knees.

Soumya had taken a long relaxing bath, with her earphones in to listen to music. That was the reason why she did not respond as Rudra was calling for her.

Rudra felt also pain shooting through his head. Although the feeling of his head spinning was most likely caused from what had flown into his arms. Or more so, who was in his arms. Out of reflex, to protect her from not falling, he held on tight to her. "Somu, are you ok?" he asked softly, genuinely concerned. Still having a firm grip on her warm and soft body, he bent his head down towards her to see her face. This was his way to check whether she was truly ok or not.

Soumya did not look at him. Keeping her head and eyes dejected towards the floor. She was very conscious of the fact that she stood there, without her clothes on, with only the towel to cover her up, as the hot steam from the bath was still lightly vaporizing from her body. She felt extremely vulnerable till the extend that she just froze, after putting her hands against her chest, pressing the towel closely to her body as a protection mechanism. She felt her heart pounding loudly in her ears, thinking whether Rudra might hear that too. The fact that his warmth felt hotter than the warm bath she had just taken was driving her insane.

As she did not make eye contact, Rudra lifted her head up, softly pushing her chin up. She slowly opened up her eyes towards him. Rudra took the time to inspect her eyes, her face. In a flash he remembered again what happened merely a few days ago. As if she had remembered it too and realized that Rudra might also thought of the same, she again glanced away, a flustered glow was visible on her cheeks. She tried to push herself away, to break free from him. Without thinking he firmed up his grip on her and brought his face closer to hers. His nose gently stroking her from her temple to her ear. The towel that had covered her hair so neatly had loosened up, which he pulled loose, slowly with one hand. Her hair was still wet, spreading the sweet but fresh smell of flowers. He inhaled deeply, like an addict sniffing up his last line of cocaine to reach a state of intense ecstasy. How he enjoyed the smell of her hair, the smell of her skin. The feel of her soft fleshy arms. The way she stepped out of the bathroom, like an Enchanting Dreamy Steamy Angel.

"Rudra.." she whispered faintly. Saumya had no idea what was happening to her. She did not know what the wisest choice would be right now. Resist and break lose or stay perfectly still. Whether to blame him or be thankful to him. It was because of Rudra that she was standing there despite it being unsteadily but then again it was because of Rudra she was indeed still standing.

"Rudra.." she tried again, this time a bit louder and more decisive. She had no idea she could be such a good actress or from where she found the strength. "What are you doing? Let go of me. Now!" He released her from his arms and they both stepped back. Staring at each other. They stood there for at least a minute.

"Stay there! Rudra I mean it." He came up to her in full speed, held her head and paused.. Then finally he gently bumped his head against hers. He let go, turned around and said "Annika Di says it brings bad luck when two people bump their heads together. The antidote is to bump in with each other once again." Rudra seemed to have regained back his senses. "And especially today we should stay away from such things that could bring bad luck."

"Huh.. What?... What do you mean bad luck?" Soumya stood there, still completely confused. Rudra had not turned around to face her anymore. "Romi. Did you forget? Orphanage? And Romi will also be there. I need my outfit to be perfect. Get dressed and hurry up, please." After Rudra left, it still took her some time to understand what just happened. She got dressed slowly and applied her eyeliner and mascara, just a bit of transparent gloss and she was good to go. Soumya almost forgot her phone. She had two unread messages. One from Sahil and one from Rudra. Oh my God, Rudra. How would she face him? The way he had spoken so casually. Like nothing happened at all. She quickly replied Sahil's message before going to Rudra's room.

OK Soumya, come on. Just pretend nothing happened. You can do it.' Soumya tried to encourage herself before she entered his room. Rudra was already dressed, just fixing his hair. Their eyes met through the mirror.

"Hi.." "Hi.. So? How do I look? Presentable?" "Uhm.. Yes.. Good.."

"Good morning. Hi Rudy bhaiya. Hi Soumya. Good that you are here. You were going to be my next stop. Are you both joining me for breakfast? Today, bhaiya has made French toast and fresh fruits for us. And it smells really good."

Both were so relieved to see Prinku. It was as if God had sent her again to rescue them from the awkwardness which had come in between them.

Breakfast was delicious. "Shivaay Bhaiya, I can see you are in the weekend mood. French toasts and fruit cocktails." Rudra received one of the notorious OBros slap against the head. He smiled and went to his room to get his phone and wallet. He had decided what his strategy would be from now on. He had come to the conclusion that whatever confusion he was feeling towards Soumya was caused because of the fact that he saw her daily, almost whole day. He had not been on a date for quite a long time. Whatever magic Soumya had pulled on him, he had a mission. Ignore Soumya, Focus on Romi. Before entering the bus he quickly read his messages.

"Good morning Sahil Sweety. How are you? Oh that is a great idea. I have missed you too my cutie pie. We will hang out soon again and I can't wait to see you again. I will keep your secret safe with me ''