.writtenletter. thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: skm27395

@Nandani Di n sabhyata and Meet

True...if in real life an arrogant guy comes within 10 inch of me I would ich to slap him...its fiction like in real life we all would scream and book Christian Grey for inappropriate behavior but in the trilogy it is romanticizef yes I would prefer for my partner to have some qualities opposite to mine like I m messy but prefer him to be tidy n clean up also can't cook so would want him to cook m bad at math but want him to b good at it...but not poles apart in basic ideology😕

I agree, we only want opposites within limits right? Not the point where there is a difference in values, in upbringing? And even IQ at some levels. If we don't see past all these things in real life, how does it become attractive on a television show.

Neet
NandiniRaizadaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
ButterflyNeet Off course there are shows which are made on outside the box stuff. But to be honest it takes a really a very talented script writer to write such script. Then in India and maybe even globally such shows don't get TRPs
For example shows like Reporters and airlines were really different. They had love stories of professionally compatible couples. These shows also got good critic acclaim. But we're a failure TRP wise . Both were finite series, while Repirters lasted till it had been initially planned but Airlines was wrapped up before its time

Even actors of both were good but at the end of the day it boils down to revenue
Nomadic_Vibe thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: .ButterflyNeet.

I agree, we only want opposites within limits right? Not the point where there is a difference in values, in upbringing? And even IQ at some levels. If we don't see past all these things in real life, how does it become attractive on a television show.

Neet

I agree as ppl we r sensible lot but don't know what happens to our fictional sensibilities... I can only remember few shows where the concept of similar ppl falling in love is shown n only few have done it well...sheldon-amy big bang theory, to an extent zaroon-kasaf in zindagi gulzar hai, gia-azhar girls on top, jay-aditi Jane tu ya Jane na to a certain extent...only a handful
Nomadic_Vibe thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: NandiniRaizadaa

ButterflyNeet Off course there are shows which are made on outside the box stuff. But to be honest it takes a really a very talented script writer to write such script. Then in India and maybe even globally such shows don't get TRPs

For example shows like Reporters and airlines were really different. They had love stories of professionally compatible couples. These shows also got good critic acclaim. But we're a failure TRP wise . Both were finite series, while Repirters lasted till it had been initially planned but Airlines was wrapped up before its time

Even actors of both were good but at the end of the day it boils down to revenue

agree nandani Di even same happened with Dahleez n also Tammana
NandiniRaizadaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: skm27395

agree nandani Di even same happened with Dahleez n also Tammana

Yes . One can call it lack of interest of the audience or lack of talent but whenever something different has been tried on TV it has not succeeded with masses

atiest we have now started seeing shows which at least show western dress clad women. And I would give credit to Gul to slightly modernising the plots

Other wise a few years back you would only find kitchen queens on TV
Edited by NandiniRaizadaa - 9 years ago
-Sneha6- thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Hi Neet. :) Sneha here.

That is actually a wonderful point to be touched upon. I've had this discussion a number of times with a couple of friends sitting over dinner. We've talked how in actuality, we're so far off from what is shown on-screen. Most of the couples you see 'in love' are almost always from similar niches in the society. I don't necessarily mean by name or class or money, but just in terms of family matters or lifestyle. Even if from different castes or religions, it's often couples who have very similar lifestyles/ambitions who fall in love. Not demeaning the fact that opposites falling in love can make wonderful couples as well.

I think it depends. My parents are exact opposites to each other, but their's was an arranged marriage. It's an everyday compromise, yet it's a beautiful relationship on its own. I don't think we necessarily get attracted to the 'difference' in the other person. I think we get more attracted to the mystery. Look at Shivaay and Anika. They're stark opposites and everything that Shivaay has come to believe is important in a 'wife' is kind of absent in Anika. Yet, he's attracted to it because it's a mystery. Tia is a great person to settle down with, sure, but Anika is someone to discover life with. Same goes for Ishaana/Omkara; or Rudra/Soumya. Omkara sees everything as black and white. Ishana's here to show him that life is a lot more than just 'right' or 'wrong'. Riddhima has a consensus with everything he does, whereas Ishaana will show him that not everything he believes in is 'right'. And besides, 'right' and 'wrong' are subjective. There is no universality to what I may feel is right, and someone else feels is wrong. For me, however it is, maybe saving my family is right, even though I know the means of doing it is wrong.

I believe your partner should teach you to broaden your mind and look at other ways of seeing life besides the one you think you know. If that's calling it 'opposites attract', then sure, why not? Sometimes, it's more about accepting the differences in someone, even though you might not necessarily agree with it.

The only glitch about BW or Indian television that people do not IMO get, is the fact that these are NOT common love stories. It's not an everyday happening. No millionaire is going to fall in love with you because you're revolting against him. No honest artist is going to fall in love with a con woman. Rarely do playboys who look like models fall in love with a 'fat' friend. Let's not fool ourselves. Sure, there are exceptions to the rule, but let's not kid ourselves, it's not going to happen with every individual. I think people like to kid themselves that this will happen to them, therein the numerous relationship expectations in our generation.

Besides, who's going to watch a 'normal' love story. Where's the spice in that? After a tiring day, you want to watch what's not happening in your life. Gk and 4Lions know that. It's how they profit.
.writtenletter. thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: Pinks06

Hi Neet. :) Sneha here.

That is actually a wonderful point to be touched upon. I've had this discussion a number of times with a couple of friends sitting over dinner. We've talked how in actuality, we're so far off from what is shown on-screen. Most of the couples you see 'in love' are almost always from similar niches in the society. I don't necessarily mean by name or class or money, but just in terms of family matters or lifestyle. Even if from different castes or religions, it's often couples who have very similar lifestyles/ambitions who fall in love. Not demeaning the fact that opposites falling in love can make wonderful couples as well.

I think it depends. My parents are exact opposites to each other, but their's was an arranged marriage. It's an everyday compromise, yet it's a beautiful relationship on its own. I don't think we necessarily get attracted to the 'difference' in the other person. I think we get more attracted to the mystery. Look at Shivaay and Anika. They're stark opposites and everything that Shivaay has come to believe is important in a 'wife' is kind of absent in Anika. Yet, he's attracted to it because it's a mystery. Tia is a great person to settle down with, sure, but Anika is someone to discover life with. Same goes for Ishaana/Omkara; or Rudra/Soumya. Omkara sees everything as black and white. Ishana's here to show him that life is a lot more than just 'right' or 'wrong'. Riddhima has a consensus with everything he does, whereas Ishaana will show him that not everything he believes in is 'right'. And besides, 'right' and 'wrong' are subjective. There is no universality to what I may feel is right, and someone else feels is wrong. For me, however it is, maybe saving my family is right, even though I know the means of doing it is wrong.

I believe your partner should teach you to broaden your mind and look at other ways of seeing life besides the one you think you know. If that's calling it 'opposites attract', then sure, why not? Sometimes, it's more about accepting the differences in someone, even though you might not necessarily agree with it.

The only glitch about BW or Indian television that people do not IMO get, is the fact that these are NOT common love stories. It's not an everyday happening. No millionaire is going to fall in love with you because you're revolting against him. No honest artist is going to fall in love with a con woman. Rarely do playboys who look like models fall in love with a 'fat' friend. Let's not fool ourselves. Sure, there are exceptions to the rule, but let's not kid ourselves, it's not going to happen with every individual. I think people like to kid themselves that this will happen to them, therein the numerous relationship expectations in our generation.

Besides, who's going to watch a 'normal' love story. Where's the spice in that? After a tiring day, you want to watch what's not happening in your life. Gk and 4Lions know that. It's how they profit.

Thank you for sharing that, it is so sweet what you said about ur parents. And again I agree with everything you have to say that it is really about broadening your mind. I also think broadening only works within limits though. It's just tough to swallow a ruthless, educated and rich man opposite a poor uneducated girl who finds it difficult to count 0s. Or even a soft natured artist which a philosophical point of view on life pitted against a thief who is cunning. Do you get what I mean, this isn't just broadening and accepting, we are in areas where I question what is so attractive about the opposite in this case? But all that you said is absolutely correct, my only thing is can't we make the normal love story a little bit more attractive. Can't their life and similar expectations draw some pull from the viewer.
-Sneha6- thumbnail

Originally posted by: .ButterflyNeet.

Thank you for sharing that, it is so sweet what you said about ur parents. And again I agree with everything you have to say that it is really about broadening your mind. I also think broadening only works within limits though. It's just tough to swallow a ruthless, educated and rich man opposite a poor uneducated girl who finds it difficult to count 0s. Or even a soft natured artist which a philosophical point of view on life pitted against a thief who is cunning. Do you get what I mean, this isn't just broadening and accepting, we are in areas where I question what is so attractive about the opposite in this case? But all that you said is absolutely correct, my only thing is can't we make the normal love story a little bit more attractive. Can't their life and similar expectations draw some pull from the viewer.

You're most welcome. Thank you for making the post! 😛

Oh obviously they can. I've watched a number of Western shows of similar couples making it through, for seasons on. They might be differing in opinions, but not so much in ways of life.

They just don't work in this industry. And I can see why. What's there to fight about in a normal, ordinary love story? 😆

The best, closest thing to a sitcom I've seen on Indian TV is a show called 'Rishta.com'. Simple, no extravaganza, no colourful drama, phenomenal one-liners, good actors and strong messages thrown across subtly. 25 episodes and wrapped up. Yet I still feel it was one of my best watch. I wish they made more of those. Elas! I would recommend it to everyone.
Irfana15 thumbnail
I was also thinking about making a post on this y wud u want 2 b with some1 who always insults u or doesnt love u 4 the way u r n wants 2 change u that makes no sense recently I watched pak drama tum mere kya ho which showed such a sweet simple love story now ofcourse I know that drama is needed but it cud b shown in another way
OMG12399 thumbnail
Ah, you make such valid points...
And yet as a viewer, I end up drawn to these over dramatic hate love stories for God knows what reason >.>...I guess it just makes for some good drama for TV you know, not that I would call any of this 'good' drama...

But if you are looking for a v realistic show without any of this hate-love stuff check out Bade Bhaiyya Ki Dulhania on Sony, its v new but its very refreshing and the lead is not all angsty about his unrequited love, it totally surprised me, and is quite a good change to the Gul Khan esque tortured leads weve come to love ;)