Vishakha_Sakhi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

@ Janu - thank you!🤗 Yes the baby was sooo adorable! I think all the Krishnas were perfectly cast...each and every one of them! 😳

@ Lola - you're welcome, and thank you too! 😆 🤗 glad I was able to bring a new insight to the scene for you! I guess that's the greatest benefit of discussing the series with each other right? Hmmm somehow I must have missed the scene it...will try to watch again. Hehe nice observation! 😆 I will try to get the Shivji-Vishnuji thread up asap. 😉 Vijay Kavish...thanks for telling the actor's name! 😳 I had fun reading your comments as well!

@ Debi - so glad you're back, pls don't disappear again! 😆 glad you enjoyed reading my entry! Thank you! 🤗

...Mina... thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
hiiiii friends, am here and enjoying the entries by everyone !!😛 Nice job !!! Show sounds veryyy interesting, can't wait to buy the dvds and watch it !!
RamKiSeeta thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 6
Hey Guys, will post replies soon and then edit my post on Pg. 14...
Vishakha_Sakhi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

Heyy! 😃

I'm back again with my comments. Watched epis 50-52 a while ago, it was Lola who reminded me to make this post! 😆 Here goes:

Epi 50 is all about Shivji trying to get darshan of Krishna's Bal Roop. The entire epi was done in a perfectly divine manner. I also like how Shivji gives the reason for wanting to see Bal Krishna, and the importance of getting that darshan. Yashoda Maiyya's fears were justified. The contrast that is showed in her character here is great, seemingly hard-hearted when she refuses to bring her child out but soft-hearted when she kindly tells the 'Jogi Baba' to take his alms before leaving. Devi Yogmaya in Puranmasi Bua's disguise was endearing, the acting was so emotional and heartfelt here! And then Shivji finally gets darshan of Shri Krishna! I love the Vijay Kavish's expressions here! I'm glad for the scene included in the end of Shivji's footprints turning into flowers. I was wondering what would happen to his footprints after he left. The way Yashoda Maiyya questions Krishna so sweetly "tu kaun hai re?" is lovely. As Janu says...very 'siggifyable' moment! 😳

Epi 51 starts off on a very sweet note with Shri Krishna & Shivji offerinf obeisance to each other humbly! I love this leela of their's. The next scene is the song 'Kanhaiya Jhule Palna' which is very nice. Everyone is wearing something with the color yellow as they're celebrating spring and I felt like celebrating with them too. Next is 'Hari Ko Maat Sikhave Chalna'! Beautiful scene and song. The tottering steps of the baby are so cute! Totally spell binding as it should be. Moving on, the last part is Yashoda Maiyya feeding Kanhaiya makhan and Kanhaiya stealing it when she goes. I loooovvee the child who plays Kanhaiya here so much! Perfect casting once again.The whole interaction between mother and son was so adorable. The feeling I got watching that entire part can't be described, it totally has to be experienced. Epi 52 continues the song 'Haath Mein Makhan, Dhool Bara Tan' with Yashoda Maiyya seeing Makhan Chor enjoy his makhan and she watches him so lovingly. Only a mother can adore her child so much! Again the mother-son interaction here is so so delightful and the child's 'totli' speech is so endearing. Next comes Yashoda Maiyya taking Bal Gopal to the ghat for the first time and she playfully complains to the other Gopis there how he stole the butter. I like Yashoda Mata's prayer in the river. It's so cute when Maiyya bows down to Yamuna Maa and Natkhat Krishna copies her! Next comes the scene with Prithvi Maa. I love the glorification of Mother Earth by Shri Krishna in his Chaturbhuj form, it brought tears to my eyes. To me Mother Earth is the prime example of a mother's uncondtitional love. It's so true that her mud is as flavorful as nectar, that's why no child can resist eating mud! Shri Krishna accepts the mud as an offering from Prithvi Maa and eats it. The Gopis tell Yashoda Maiyaa that Kanha ate the mud and he's all "I didn't eat any mud!" Soooooo cute! I love love love this little Krishna sooo much!! I just wanna catch that kid and smother him(or her? I think I read somewhere that this child was a girl?! Can someone clarify?) Next is Krishna opening his mouth and Maiyya sees the Viraat Swaroop of the universe in it. Her penance must have been very difficult to get such a boon. Does anyone know what it was? If you read Yashoda's profile on Wiki there's this beautiful part which poses this question: "What penance have You (Mother Yashoda) undertaken to be bestowed with the powers to punish, love, and care for the supreme Lord (Narayana)?". As per his explanation, Maiyya realizes it is impossible to win Krishna over with mere knowledge and asks for the boon of devotion. The epi ends with him telling her that it is through her motherly devotion that she will attain salvation and Devi Yogmaya erasing her memory of this. Damini looked very pretty here.

So that's it for now! I just realised my wish that I expressed earlier to celebrate Spring with the villagers will come true asap as tomorrow is Basant Panchami! 😆

Happy Basant Panchami everyone!! 🤗 🤗

MagadhSundari thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
@ Vedo - another BEAutiful entry, thank you sooooo much for sharing hun 🤗 Totally agree about the many shades of Yashoda Maiya we got to see in the seen through Damini's versatile acting, from the fear and anxiety at the start to the softness and sweetness in the end... very cute 😍 And can't wait for that Hari-Har mutual devotion thread which your comment on them paying obeisance to each other reminded me of 😉 Thoroughly enjoyed your words on the Dharti Maa bit, it is so true and so touching and a rarely seen interpretation of this leela that takes it from "awww how cute," to "wow, God is really amazing and merciful!" 😍 Very well put 👏 And the kid, as I now know, is in fact a boy. His bro Jugal Kapadia posted under a youtube video about him. Similarly the nephew of Sanjay Jog (RS's Bharat) posted under a Ramayan video about him. Will try to find both comments and share the links with you guys soon. All in all verryyyyy enjoyable and enlightening write-up once again, can't wait for the next one
Edited by lola610 - 14 years ago
.anishaa. thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4
Hey! Haven't read your journal entries in a while...yay! Res 😃
PS Happy Vasant Panchami! 😃
pakhara thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
OMG! The escape of Rohini was so well done! I loved the guards! Lol, I had to tell myself that they were actually men dressed as women! Hehe. And the way they said, "Kaha ja rahi hoon? Pani bharne!" Lolzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!!! And Akrur's grim expressions throughout the entire thing were just too good. And I finally saw Yashoda Maiya!!!! She's so gentle and pretty! A total motherly character type. The only thing I have a problem with was Rohini Maiya, though. I felt that the actor who played her overdid it a bit. I mean those expressions when she took the dagger and while escaping were too pronounced.
MagadhSundari thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
@ Vedo - finally edited in my comment on your entry, enjoy ;) And can't waiiit for the next one!!

@ Aishu - aww you're getting there hun, almost to the magical Janmashtami epi woohoo 🥳 Lol the bodyguards in drag really make Rohini's escape a memorable scene since it's quite unexpected in a mytho 😆 Overall it was a well-choreographed sequence with a lot of attention to detail, the switch from the boats to the rath and all the caution and mystery in their expressions and body language gave it a perfect spy-movie feel in spite of the Dwapar Yug setting. Really glad you liked Yashoda Maiya, you'll like her even more when toddler Kanha enters the scene... but gotta agree with you about Rohini a.k.a. Sulakshana Khatri in that dagger bit, though it was cool to see a woman of those times at least prepared to defend herself though the need didn't arise. She also played Mandavi in RS Ramayan, and every now and then I found her expressions, as you put it perfectly, over-pronounced. She is super energetic and hyper in real life (even now, she was in Bidaai and whenever there were SBS interviews she was so jumpy and funny 😆) and that works in some scenes like in Ramayan during the Mithila epis and here when baby Kanha is 'born'... but sometimes, in a scene like this, that energy's not really needed and she translates it into really in-your-face face-making 😆😆 Can't wait for more from you, too ⭐️

And p.s. - any thoughts on the Kirtimaan hatya epi that preceded this, and Ugrasen's imprisonment? Since you and I are the only ones that I know of who saw and remember this early stuff in both SK and JSK, I'm really interested in your views on the objective plot differences (for example, JSK showing VD imprisoned since the wedding but free to move about when Kirtimaan is temporarily pardoned, versus SK showing them free until his murder - also Ugrasen's non-imprisonment at that point in JSK)... as well as your take on SK's rendition of them in general. Do dish plz 😉
pakhara thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Ah, I don't know. In JSK they were put in the dungeon right after the Akaashwani. I think the SK one makes more sense as Kans would have to wait for Devaki's first child to be born and his mind festering and foiling on the idea of his death that finally leads to him putting her in the dungeon. In JSK its is just snap, and he decides to imprison them, na. But if you do notice, the song was almost exactly the same when they were both taken in. In SK it was "Vidhna Tere Khel Nirale" and in JSK it was "Vidhna Tera Bhedh Na Aaya." The lyrics are almost the same and so is the tune!
RamKiSeeta thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 6

@Vedo,

LOVED reading your entry hun, I also loved the contrast in Yashoda Maiyya's character as well as Yogmaya coming as Puranmaasi, she was soooooooooo affectionate and the scene itself was just superbly taken, I was hooked throughout.👏 I loved Shivji in the scene, he's one of my favorite Shiv characters.😍
And I also looveeeeee Bal Krishna, the whole butter eating incident as well as the universe one was just sheer adorableness!❤️ I esp heart the part where he says, "I did not steal any butter!" in such an indignant tone.😆😆😆 I'm soooo with you about smothering him with kisses....oh, and it is a boy I believe, though I can see why it could be a girl too, hard to tell with Bal Krishnas.😆 And I really love the religious significance of that scene too, how Shri Krishna gave importance to Dharti Ma and ate her dirt to honor her, sooooo sweet.😍
Again, thanks for your entry, loving it bit by bit!
@Anisha,
Welcome back, hun!🤗
@Aishu,
You'll really come to love Pramod Kapoor (Akrur) even more later on, he's such a talented actor and he portrayed Akrurji soooooooooooooooooo amazingly well, esp during the battle scenes with Jarasandh and all, as well as the peace treaty with Hastinapur bit. And the way he breaks the news to Nand Yashoda later on that Krishna is not their son......he def took the limelight in that scene.👏
And yeah, Yashoda Maiyya is really pretty and young in that Rohini escape scene, and I agree about Sulakshana Khatri. She was loveable because of her chirpiness, but her overdone expressions sometimes do get on your nerves. She's good when she's serious and smiling lightly, but I too felt she could have made her expressions less pronounced at times.