Article - judges changing homes!

checks thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Posted: 19 years ago
Guys, there seems to be a consensus finally!!
see the article and read in between the lines.....

Sandeep gets populist Indian Idol vote
By: Vickey Lalwani
April 23, 2006
Sandeep Acharya the winner of Indian Idol 2
As the moment to announce the winner drew near, it was no surprise about who will emerge triumphant. Sandeep's victory was a foregone conclusion. The support from the crowd for Sandeep was unbelievable.

However, television channel Sony refused to divulge the exact margin by which Sandeep Acharya beat NC Karunya.

Soon after, Karunya told SUNDAY MiD-DAY, "I knew I would lose. I was expecting it. The result has not come as a shock to me. I am not shattered. The public support which Sandeep had was to be seen to be believed. But I am sure that if singing was the only criterion of winning, I was more deserving than Sandeep and would have edged him out."

Co-host to Mathur, Aman Varma said that Karunya should have won the contest. "Karunya is a far better singer. But I think the Hindi channels are not popular in South where Karunya comes from, and that did him in."

Karunya's mother chipped in, "There is a lot of multiple voting which takes place. This was one of the reasons why my son could not make it. But I think the people who matter in our country know that Karunya is the real Indian Idol even though he did not win it."

Sandeep argued, "Personally I don't believe in regional voting. The whole nation was attached to this programme and votes have been coming in for all of us, from all quarters." His mother could not control her tears of joy. She said, "Main jaanti thi mere bete ka smile sab ka dil jeet lega. Aur wohi hua."

Judge Farah Khan said that Sandeep had come a long way. "I still remember the first day of the competition. He walked in with a long kurta and lots of oil in his hair."

Sonu Nigam added, "But with in that awkward appearance, ek sone jaisi awaaz thi." And Anu Malik opined, "Sandeep took the harsh comments constructively and worked on all his grey areas. I think Karunya had this notion that he's already there."

"Indian Idol was never about singing only or else Karunya would have won over Sandeep. Unlike Karunya, Sandeep connected with the audience," said Nigam. Malik agrees with Nigam saying that Sandeep was a package of good singing, humility and charm.

Farah smiled, "I think I was brought into this competition mainly because the channel knows that I have it in me to pick a star — the person who has the potential to be a super entertainer and popular with the opposite sex. Sandy is just that."
peace....
haters, plz stay away n dont comment on anything !! this is just for your info..not to start discussions!! yeah, u read it correct, no discussion plz
(http://ww1.mid-day.com/news/city/2006/april/135836.htm)
Edited by checks - 19 years ago

giggles_2005 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
hmmmmm...thanks checks for the article!
karunya_forever thumbnail
😡 ...well i wud luv to kick the judges
checks thumbnail

Originally posted by: karunya_forever

😡 ...well i wud luv to kick the judges

hold on...they are the same...just context is different my dear...dont be so harsh on such ppl who always rooted karu.....never ever find any flaw in his singing....just think of that.....

and i know it hurt when ur favourite doesnt get good comments n support from judges....who else know this better than us - sandy fans!!

peace
sonu_nigamfan thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
thsy just were explaining the reason why Karu lost....not wat they wanted.......and its true Sandy had a tremendous likeability....and yes Indian Idol 4 the janta isnt abt singing...they proved dat....but dont worry Karu has a long way 2 go
giggles_2005 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: checks

hold on...they are the same...just context is different my dear...dont be so harsh on such ppl who always rooted karu.....never ever find any flaw in his singing....just think of that.....

and i know it hurt when ur favourite doesnt get good comments n support from judges....who else know this better than us - sandy fans!!

peace

Checks ...I am taking the liberty of giving my opinion here....Sandy is very likeable...his voice quality is wonderful...he goes off key sometimes...maybe lack of training, maybe lack of confidence.....as a singer he was Not better than Karu...other areas are very subjective, and debatable...however the bottomline is that he has won and chadte sooraj ko to sab pranam karte hain...right!

checks thumbnail

Originally posted by: giggles_2005

Checks ...I am taking the liberty of giving my opinion here....Sandy is very likeable...his voice quality is wonderful...he goes off key sometimes...maybe lack of training, maybe lack of confidence.....as a singer he was Not better than Karu...other areas are very subjective, and debatable...however the bottomline is that he has won and chadte sooraj ko to sab pranam karte hain...right!

although everyone knows that but we are still not ready. mentally, to accept the reality.....being indian, we assume that with repeated deniel, may be, wrong can turn into right as far as this judgement is concerned...anyway, who cares...

Le jayenge, Le jayenge,
contract-car to bhai log, le jayenge...

peeche bachegi to dhool...
udati rahegi inn waadiyo me jab tak waapis aisa koi toofaan nahi aata....

alvida hawa....hum jeena nahi chahte...tum kahi aur chali jaao....kyo apna waqt barbaad kar rahi ho mere saath...kyo marna chahte ho mere saath !!

just gone a bit senti...take it easy ppl.....
peace
Edited by checks - 19 years ago
crispy_choco22 thumbnail
They have no choice now except praising Sandeep after the results.
~Sanam~ thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
thanks for sharing 😊
checks thumbnail

Originally posted by: ~Sanam~

thanks for sharing 😊

Anything for Sandy !!!

peace