ZoobiDoobi thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4
u guys seriously started a topic on Anu malik? ...wow!
ZoobiDoobi thumbnail
I"m listening to this song by Anu Malik. Love this song ...what a composition.
🥺Mere Hamsafar Mere Hamsafar Mere Paas Aaa🥺 🥺Humain saath chalna hai umr bhar, mere paas Aaa🥺
zanish_k thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
well i watched 3 indion idols,and i found anu malik is entertaining judje of indian idol.
he has a good precence.he is witty,funny,rude,sometimes acting very stupid.but overall i really like him.
xobile thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Here's what the famous playback singer Kunal Ganjawala has to say about Anu Malik:

And Anu's Bheegey honth tere breakthrough.
Anu is in the true sense a music director and has given the right breaks to so many talents. After Saathiya, Anu called me up to congratulate me. "You are fantastic, Kunal, and I promise you that your next big hit will be with me!" That was in 2002. During Diwali 2003, he called me for a song recording the same evening. I was in a dilemma. Our family building downtown was due for pull down and it was to be the last Diwali the joint and extended family would be celebrating together. I called up Anu's arranger Bipin Panchal, who simply said, 'Come, or you will regret it. It's a very important song and Anu has been fighting for you! We will leave you in an hour!' I learnt the song in 30 minutes. Anu made it very clear that I was to make the song sound different. He said that Sayeed Quadrisaab, the lyricist and he had re-created the Pakistani song by Najam. After that song, I never looked back.
Anu's a star-maker, Anu creates patterns that others follows. He is the only composer who fights for his singers - like he did with a big name for Sunidhi Chauhan over the title-song of Ajnabee and set her on the fast-track by breaking her "item" singer pattern.
ready2rock thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: xobile

Here's what the famous playback singer Kunal Ganjawala has to say about Anu Malik:

And Anu's Bheegey honth tere breakthrough.
Anu is in the true sense a music director and has given the right breaks to so many talents. After Saathiya, Anu called me up to congratulate me. "You are fantastic, Kunal, and I promise you that your next big hit will be with me!" That was in 2002. During Diwali 2003, he called me for a song recording the same evening. I was in a dilemma. Our family building downtown was due for pull down and it was to be the last Diwali the joint and extended family would be celebrating together. I called up Anu's arranger Bipin Panchal, who simply said, 'Come, or you will regret it. It's a very important song and Anu has been fighting for you! We will leave you in an hour!' I learnt the song in 30 minutes. Anu made it very clear that I was to make the song sound different. He said that Sayeed Quadrisaab, the lyricist and he had re-created the Pakistani song by Najam. After that song, I never looked back.
Anu's a star-maker, Anu creates patterns that others follows. He is the only composer who fights for his singers - like he did with a big name for Sunidhi Chauhan over the title-song of Ajnabee and set her on the fast-track by breaking her "item" singer pattern.

whatttt...bheegey honth tere is anu's composition😲...till today i was thinking it was preetam's😳😆
xobile thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Well, it isn't actually Anu's composition - it was lifted from an Arabic song I think. So I guess either Anu or Pritam could have 'composed' it!
ZoobiDoobi thumbnail

Well, it isn't actually Anu's composition - it was lifted from an Arabic song I think. So I guess either Anu or Pritam could have 'composed' it!

True, i think it's from the same guy who sang Kaho na Kaho in the movie murder. I like Bheege Hont Tere😳
somone999 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Najam Shiraz, a Pakistani singer, composed the song "Mainu Tere Naal", the tune for "Bheege Hont Tere" was taken from there.

Najam's album name was "Mainu Teray Naal", released in 2004.
Here is an excerpt from his interview. (source: http://blog.taragana.com/e/)

Is it true that you turned down Mahesh Bhatt's offer to compensate you for having plagiarized your hit number Menu Tere Naal?
Yes. When the promos of the film Murder started appearing in all the channels, I rang up Mahesh and introduced myself as the composer of Menu Tere Naal. He apologized to me that he could not locate me before asking my permission to record the number Bheege Hoth Tere with Kunal Ganjawala for murder and asked me point blank whether I wanted money from him. I told him that I felt bad that I was not given my due credit for the number and asked him for recognition, not money.

More sources:
- http://www.screenindia.com/news/najam-sherazs-album-on-frankfinn-music/304096/
- http://calcuttatube.com/i-asked-mahesh-bhatt-to-give-me-credit-not-money-for-lifting-my-numbr-in-murder-najam-sheraz/50669/
Edited by somone999 - 15 years ago
kamsocho thumbnail

Hey everyone!

Indian Idol 5 has now begun and I hope the II5 forum is just as successful as the Music ka Maha Muqqabla forum. One of the members in that forum, ssk13809, made a great contribution by opening appreciation threads for all the judges of that show. I'm following in his footsteps and opening similar threads for the judges of II5 on this forum.

So we begin with Anu Malik! Those who recognise me will know that I am quite a fan of his 😃!

Son of the purist composer, Shri Sardar Malik, Anu started working young. His father did not achieve great success or fame despite having a lot of talent, because showbiz is as much about knowing people as it is about knowing your work and Sardar was not a man to make contacts and ask for work. Anu realised this and was not ashamed to really follow producers and ask for work when he started his career.

Anu Malik has worked in the Hindi film music industry for around 30 years, composing for more than 200 films. In this time, Anu Malik has gone through a rollercoster ride and he has had his share of highs and lows.

Anu Malik's Lows:

1. After his debut in music direction in the early 80's, he went through a prolonged period of being out of work until the early 90's.

2. Once he did get recognition, it was often for his acts of plagiarism rather than for his original songs. The label of copycat has stuck with him since he infamously copied the Macarena song among a number of others. His contemporaries, Jatin-Lalit and Nadeem-Shravan, have escaped the copycat label despite lifting tunes too.

4. In the mid-1990's, the great lyricist Javed Akhtar had a fallout with Anu and vowed never to work with Anu Malik again. Javed Saab was upset with Anu for tampering with lyrics. The film Ishq was to be their last album together.

3. Anu Malik was not offered the music of Lage Raho Munna Bhai, Om Shanti Om or Rang De Basanti, despite giving some great music for the first films of the directors of these films: he worked with Rajkumar Hirani on Munna Bhai MBBS, with Farah Khan on Main Hoon Na and with Rakesh Mehra on Aks.

Anu Malik's Highs:

1. He is part of the distinguished group of Hindi film composers to have received the National Film Award for Best Music Direction, which he received for his work on Refugee.

2. Anu Malik produced chartbusting music throughout the nineties and early two thousands, often doing ten or more films a year.

3. He has many awards, including two Filmfare Awards for Best Music and a Filmfare Special Award for Contribution to Music in 2000. He also won the Screen Artist of the Decade Award in 2000.

4. Anu Malik created some of his best work in 1993 in Phir Teri Kahani Yaad Aayi and Baazigar, which catapulted his fame and for which he got his first Filmfare Award. The next landmark came in 1997, with Border and Virasat, when Anu Malik got recognised for his soulful, melodious numbers and was undoubtedly the numero uno in Bollywood music. And in 2000, with hits like Fiza, Josh and Refugee, Anu got another boost and offers started pouring in, even from filmmakers like Subhash Ghai and Sooraj Barjatiya, who otherwise would not have liked his work.

5. Javed Akhtar was so impressed with Anu during Border that he took his autograph and decided that he WOULD work with Anu again.

Anyway, I don't want this post to get any longer... So I am inviting you guys to share what you appreciate about Anu Malik with India Forums! What are your favourite songs composed or sung by him? What about his judging? Comment on anything you like 😃
28.may
anu malik is doing honest judgment at present.

brahmabul thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail
Anu ji has also stolen his own tunes!! Surprise Surprise.

First listen to this evergreen number from Baazigar. One of my fav.

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0E1xRnR7Ns[/YOUTUBE]

If you hear closely the initial whistling portion (between 0:10 and 0:32) was used again in the one of the songs of movie Ishq. The song was 'Ishq Hua, Kaise Hua...'
But there is no harm in re-using your own tunes...😊