misty85 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Nice post... even I can't disagree with you... but I want them to join hands again for a sequel of the show with completely different set up & storyline because I believe the ph & actors can do it.
-honeydew- thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 6
looks like posts like these are synonymous with you and me...!! hi5 buddy !!!🤗😉 and no Bri comes and joins the ringa ringa roses with us 🥳

Originally posted by: skg267

I guess I am getting up on the platform with you, waiting for all the jhootis and tomatoes to start flying, but I completely agree.

i always like to make hay while the sunshines, so bring on the jootis with the likes of Aldos for parties and Reeboks for fitness😛

They are trying to turn Geet, a profoundly beautiful, romantic tale about two souls, connected by something bigger than themselves, overcoming all odds to find love, happiness and the triumph of right over wrong into a Geet, a comedic farce of a show about a huge, "quirky" Punjabi ("Desh-y") family.

They are trying to take a story that held the ideals of love and human relationships high above any concept of religion, and force it into the mould of a Hindu joint-family with a pooja every other day. Geet was Sikh, Maan an atheist, they had one of their most significant moments in a dargah. They didn't skirt the issue of religion but made it a part of the story in a beautiful fluid way showing that there are things that are more important. That is no more the case. Now the plots constantly revolve around poojas and family functions, rather than office work and events. It is truly sad to see them sacrifice these subtleties, which earlier made the story and characters so relatable to the modern viewer.

and when you beg and pray Geet-please do some work you get to see her making kheer, while working on the laptop by the side !! its like, you wanted to see this na... dekho dekho .. ab bas geet kaam hi kaam kar rahi hai ... she would be Gandhi ji's favorite child for propogating aaram haram hai in todays times !!!😆

They are trying to make us accept the erstwhile antagonist of the story as, not just a forgiven, but an accepted and beloved part of the protagonists' family and giving him a context-less, substance-less romantic track.

They are trying to make two of the best leads in Television history, who have given us such a beautiful romance, part of a mediocre ensemble cast. It is a disgrace to their immense talent.

all this i dont know, but i know i the last time my ex-boyfriend called me to say hello and check how i was doing, i hung up on him, cos i detested what he did to me before we called off the rship- and by this i just mean taking me for granted and treating me like this! what is this woman made off to allow her own sister to embrace a man like this, having said this, the makers have been careful enough not to show geet push it too much from Nandu's side, she is too lost in her own flurry of issues to think of her little sister and if she is returning home at 3 in the night, hugging a supposed best friend ten times a day, when the impression we had of this little sister was of someone who studied in another town, with a bunch of girls !! how conveneint is the bachpan ka dost card !!!you get to do everything, in the name of friendship and you are oblivious to the world around you ...😕

I don't know if the Maaneet chemistry can ever be recreated if GC and DD work with other actors, but maybe we can get a different chemistry. They are never going to get the recognition they deserve on StarOne/Desh. I am sure this was a beautiful experience for them as much as us, but like you said, all things must come to an end and I would rather see that end be beautiful and fulfilling, rather than half-hearted and unfaithful to what the show has meant to us.

i dont know about you, but for me Maaneet have almost seen it all at this moment...!! if the story has to take a drastic step before stepping into the StarDesh Land one has to see if we are ready to live with the separate maaneet ordeal ..you would constqantly want them to come together, and at this stage their lookin into each others eyes isnt Mahi enough ... he was rougher with her before they even started dating, grabbing her by the hand, pulling her by the hair and kissing her on the eyes .. and then we thot... abhi haal aisa hai, wad will happen ocne they get together-the sad story being uske baad kuch hua hi nahi ...🤪

I really respect your sentiments and hope that Geet continues only if there is a chance of retaining anything the show initially stood for.

I will, of course be left feeling a sense of emptiness when it does end but I am beginning to wonder if that temporary sense of emptiness, with the knowledge that Maan and Geet lived happily ever after is better than the daily trial of watching two immensely talented actors, wasted on 5 minutes of inadequate screen time and a forced, contrived script.

It hasn't even ended, and we are not sure if it will, but I already miss Geet! 😭

i miss it too , and feel jealous of those that see SOOO much "potential" in it... cos i really really honestly no not what they seee !! oh lord gimme their eyes... i wanna see what they see, gimme their ears, i wanna hear what they hear... and mostly gimme their heart ... cos i am dying to feel what they feel !!! gosh i feel like a wooden doll after all this, am i living at all ...

p.s: No Puns were ever intended, if they were forgive the wooden doll😉

-honeydew- thumbnail
like i said, i dont have the bats to let go Blee...😉someone throw me the ball here...!! its time to strike 😛

Originally posted by: bDgT

Nihuuu: 👍🏼 🤗 What if mein hi agar duniya beet jaaye..how nice that would be hai na :))). It's true to let go of something we love so much, but then it has to end someday so why not today? Because every end is painful, whether today or tomorrow or kingdom come :) So why not today, cause we might shed the same amount of tears today, tomorrow or forever IF WE REALLY LOVE SOMETHING and NOT just CLAIM to LOVE something - hai na

Dia: Thanks for the appreciation

-honeydew- thumbnail
so what if he didnt gimme his heart ...
I killed him ... threw his body into a marsh ...

And still preserve his heart in a jar at home...

Yes i finally have his heart...
its all mine 😈
Edited by -honeydew- - 14 years ago
aditiprem thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
luvely post and yes i agree with ur post.

i am a crazy dd fan and i want this show to end beautifully rather than butchering their characters. already many comment that they destroyed geet character and make posts bashing her. so instead more hatred against geet it is better to end on a good terms.

i feel sad but every beautiful thing comes to an end oneday and end is the next step for a good beginning.

luv uuu ddd
luv uuu geettt
LUV UUU maneettt and u will always remain in our hearts
kasuforever2009 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
u can say what u like but we maaneet fans will stick by geet through thick an thin,no one knows not even u what is gonna happen to geet but i assure u we maaneet fans disagree an would love an fight to save geet till the end,geet show is an always will be the best show ever its a unique an totally different to other shows,they still have alot to show in geet an all the storylines were brilliant an im loving the new track
jyoti06 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 8
Bri good to see u back in the forum 😳
However I will hv to disagree with your post ...I think as fans we should not b spokeperson of the PH or actors or cast or crew ..
We should limit ourselves to just fans of the show and demand for what we feel is right ...
nobody wants the show to run for 11 years like kyunki saas bhi kabhi bahu thi ..but all they want is that the show should not b sacrificed just with the excuse of a certain revamp because that is unfair on the part of the same actors and PH on whose behalf u hv made this post ..right ?😳 ...
Fans make Actors hit or flop ...fans give fame to the actors...Fans hv the right to make or break them ...And coming to Actors ..they r grown up adults and they know the best about which venture will work best for them and to what extent ...so I guess they r smart enough to take decisions for themselves😳
As a fan I feel GHSP hv lot left to b explored in terms of Maaneet relatrionship since post marriage we hv not yet seen their blissful married life .,...Actors themselves hv accepted they r small screen SRK-Kajol whom their fans adore ...fans hv day and night voted for them and gave them their first best jodi award which is the first for star one too which GC and DD themselves hv acknowledged ...so if as fans we want to see Gurti for some more time post channel's revamp ...is that a Sin ??😳...If fans want to fight and keep the show for some more time with a hope to see thier favourite actors post channel's revamp ,how is it wrong ??😳
If show is boring for 100 odd fans they always hv option to go and watch something more entertaining ..but is it fair that just for the sake of 100 odd fans ,the other 500 odd fans give up fighting for the show and let it go when they still find it entertaining and believe that there is still potential left ??😳
Edited by jyoti06 - 14 years ago
MishtyShona thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5
Hey bri, long time i saw u in the forum 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗...
Hope everyone is alright in ur house...

U know Bri when they changed the track n made Geet a Dark n Passionate lovestory of 2 flawed ppl, many of friends did not approve of it... They wanted a strong feminist story... They were like sau love stories hain, so y deviate from the social cause n show a stupid love story...They said it was sick n disgusting falling in luv with ur Rapist ka brother n not initiating action against dev n etc etc etc...

But no one asked me to stop watching or let go... It was their decision to let go n stop watching... No one asked them or forced them...

Yet the Office track had fans on their knees wanting for more n had d highest trp's... So even if some of us may not like current story then its their choice... They surely don need ppl to tell them wat they need to do...

GHSP is copied in SP as Iss pyaar ko kya Naam do... Even though i hate it n never saw a scene from that soap, i don go n make posts in dforum saying stop it since its a copy... Pll who wanna watch it will do so n who don wanna watch it will just let go...

This is just my POV n am not forcing myself on anybody...😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊
Samanalyse thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
looks like posts like these are synonymous with you and me...!! hi5 buddy !!!🤗😉 and no Bri comes and joins the ringa ringa roses with us 🥳

Bahaha! 😆 True story!
Hi5!

all this i dont know, but i know i the last time my ex-boyfriend called me to say hello and check how i was doing, i hung up on him, cos i detested what he did to me before we called off the rship- and by this i just mean taking me for granted and treating me like this! what is this woman made off to allow her own sister to embrace a man like this, having said this, the makers have been careful enough not to show geet push it too much from Nandu's side, she is too lost in her own flurry of issues to think of her little sister and if she is returning home at 3 in the night, hugging a supposed best friend ten times a day, when the impression we had of this little sister was of someone who studied in another town, with a bunch of girls !! how conveneint is the bachpan ka dost card !!!you get to do everything, in the name of friendship and you are oblivious to the world around you ...😕

They made a mess out of Nandini long before people started hating her. Without developing her character at all they have forced her down our throats as a parallel lead, apparently just as important as Geet. Her character is shallow, her romance is shallow and her acting is shallow. How did they expect this to just work?

As for Ranvir, his character is dependent on Nando because he has been introduced as her past, but we know nothing about her past so Ranbir also falls flat with no history to his name. And if he is such a good friend of hers, how does her own brother, apparently from a close-knit family not know about him?

As for Dev, I don't know who is writing these bhabi-devar bonding scenes but it is not ok. Ever since the Annie-Arjun track the show has been steadily losing its fundamental social consciousness in the shoddily written side-plots, though thankfully they have maintained a pretty consistent and good story with specific concern to Maan and Geet's relationship and I could see that being taken forward, with their relationship becoming more and more mature.

i miss it too , and feel jealous of those that see SOOO much "potential" in it... cos i really really honestly no not what they seee !! oh lord gimme their eyes... i wanna see what they see, gimme their ears, i wanna hear what they hear... and mostly gimme their heart ... cos i am dying to feel what they feel !!! gosh i feel like a wooden doll after all this, am i living at all ...

Like I mentioned above, I do see potential for the show to go forward, lots of potential BUT only for the Maan-Geet relationship. As you know, I saw tons of potential for the Rohtak track, seeing Maan and Geet negotiating their relationship as equals, and even saw lots of potential for NT's entry after ML. I loved her as a cupid for Maaneet but was really hoping for her to add spice to the Dev/Nano story as I knew their love story would come to this and I was hoping his past would be revealed before it did. Instead of introducing Ranvir as a completely useless prop, they could have kept NT on longer, and somehow written her to stay away from Maaneet, but blackmail Dev by threatening to reveal his past to Nandini.

But clearly I was wrong. This is a new GHSP where, Dev is a sweet guy who made one terrible mistake, marrying a witch like Nayantara, who was out for his money. The poor martyred saint never did anything wrong himself, oh no!

So in short, I see potential, lots of it, but I also see no potential for that potential because whoever is in charge seems intent on making this a family drama with an ensemble cast. I am not trying to be anybody's spokesperson but am expressing my feelings as an ardent fan of the show, and more importantly of Maan and Geet as characters and their love story. That is what the show was, what it got record TRPs for and what it should revert to being if the creators have any sense or sensitivity!

I have always loved the story of Maan and Geet and I still love it. Fortunately, that aspect of the show has remained consistent and well-thought out for the most part, which is why I continue to watch it loyally. As long as Maan and Geet are being shown, I will watch the show. But I can't say it doesn't hurt to watch them be sidelined for such poor characters and writing, which bear no connection whatsoever to their story. When they call it a parallel track, they really mean it! The two, it seems, will never meet!

Watching Dev/Nandini is like sliding in your favourite video casette of DDLJ and finding out that parts of it have been taped over with an Emran Hashmi movie (no offense to EH fans).

I guess this got a little angry there, but what can I do but say what I feel?
Edited by skg267 - 14 years ago
Hina.khanxxx thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Nice post dear...

Plz dont mind 2 b frank Mujhe
"geet is ending"
wala article padkar itna darr nahi laga jitna aapka post padkar...

Aapne life k kuch imp. Facts ko bataya hai...

Per wen it cums to our show geet i dont want 2 think d way u r thinking thought what u saying is true...

Now my question is "kya hum sub ne haar maan li?

If u ask me tou i wud say no i want dis show 2 continue... V all can't get bored wid our maneet...

Plz lets now giv up guys...

Hina.
Edited by Hina.khanxxx - 14 years ago