Kudos to the CVs. Today's epi progressed the storyline by leaps and bounds … no beating round the bush, no dragging of the scene…straight and to the point…whether it is Maan's convo with NE, Geet-Arjun first meeting or Geet's logic to keep Arjun as the wedding planner. An intellectually mouth watering episode…with superb acting by GC, DD and Arjun, super dialogues, execution and storyline.
The CVs seem to have completed their gestation period and r burning rubber ….yeah. We got an inkling yesterday with Maan calling Arjun a spade, joining the dots between Geet and NE as the root cause of Geet's distress.
Maannie by the pool
Maan finds NE by the pool…in tears and comes straight to point.
NE, as usual, jumps to conclusion and blurts out in a similar way she did with Geet. Maan tries to stop her but she is on a roll….self-pity….leading upto 'I hate her.'
Enuff is enuff…Maan takes the ropes in his hand and uses a unique, effective way to drive his point home.
Let's play ur childhood game of hide-n-seek. Maan's strategy is two-fold…
- first, he wants to calm her down to the point that she can think straight
- second, drive the point home in the way she can understand
What better way than to lead her on that path with something from their childhood ? Becoz more than us, Maan knows his sister…beneath that immature attitude lies a good heart and a sharp brain. Brilliant move !
He lets her lose until she is abt to fall into the pool. The dialogue that ensues is enlightening…
MSK - See u were abt to fall in
NE - No bro, I wudnt
MSK - Why?
NE - Coz u r here…with u here nothing can happen to me. I trust u more than my life.
…and then WHAM !
MSK - And this is the same trust Geet had in Dev. But Dev not only broke her trust but destroyed her life.
NE - What r u saying bro ? Dev n Geet ….
MSK - …Ki shaadi hui thi …Even tho he was married, for Geet money he falsely married her, showed her dreams n made promises. Just one day after the wedding, he ran away…and today Geet Dev ke bachche ki maa banne wali hai.
NE is dumbfounded …Honestly Nikunj should have done a better job with her expressions. She totally diluted the importance of this scene with her below par expressions.
NE - I cant believe my own bro did something like this….n without even knowing the truth, I said so many things to Geet…and she took it all in quietly without saying a word in defense. I made a huge mistake…I must ask her forgiveness.
MSK - NE just saying sorry is not enuff…I have a better idea. Who better to know Geet's frame of mind than her Maan J
Geet-Arjun – peheli mulaakaat – extremely well done
I was always curious how this first meeting wud take place between these two…and I must say I'm not disappointed.
Geet looking pensive, tearful, forlorn … lost in thought. Arjun walks in with file and notices her. Does he not know that she is the bride ? I doubt it.
Curious he steps closer and introduces himself. Geet does not hear me. Arjun continues saying, what's wrong u seem worried. Geet wakes up from her reverie, stands up and hastily wipes her tears.
Arjun handles the situation very well…find a damsel in distress, calms her down to open up to a stranger. Some super dialogues from Barry….saving it for another day. I don't think Arjun expected to find an intelligent, thoughtful mind behind that face. He was taken in by her story and her simplicity….and I feel genuinely opens up and advises her. There seemed to be no airs around her …unlike NT, NE. What u see is what u get.
Drashti and Piyush did very well in this scene. Arjun- Geet – their first step to building up a rapport.
Arjun must have expected to see a small window into her thoughts but got a mountain load instead. He is intrigued by what he's hearing…he is drawn to this stranger girl's thinking, her fears, her past …she is an enigma…when push comes to shove…he will hesitate to exploit her….this is my initial reaction.
His male protective instinct kicks in and he tries to pacify her by giving her the analogy of different months in a year having different seasons. Phew…thank god…no more astronomy…more like the weather channel. But I liked his advice and Geet did too.
Geet feels reassured by this stranger, calms down and thanks him. She finds out that Arjun is here to meet Anwesha and goes to find her.
Geet-NE
She finds her in the dining room…both wanting to talk to each other. So Anwesha leads her outside to talk to her and takes her to the outhouse which is dark. NE turns on the light and the dhol starts playing. Geet turns around to see the office staff decked up in all finery dancing the bhangra…Maan walks in and stays in the background. NE looks at Maan and smiles
NE tells her that she brought her her coz she didn't know how to ask for forgiveness. And adds a nice touch, courtesy Maan, all the girls are Geet's maiyka and the boys are from the groom's side…a complete family. NE says she is defo on the bride's side. Geet is touched and says that she has found a sister who will always support her and hugs NE….NE gives a thumps up to bro. Maaneet exchange smiles. Geet's humility comes out when she says that NE did not have to do all this…all she needed was a hug. But NE confesses that this was planned by Maan. Maaneet exchange a smile.
Maaneet, Dadi, Arjun – another good scene
Dadi asks wots happening hearing the music. Maan is about the respond when he spies Arjun and says U ?
Geet feels guilty that she left Arjun hanging and apologizes. Maan is shocked. Dadi is surprised to see him. Before Maan can say anything she tells him that Arjun had come to return the file but feels that Arjun would be the best wedding planner for them. Maan puts his foot down and says that I've decided that Arjun will not be the wedding planner. I like the way Geet tells him…Maan agar apne yeh faisla liya hai to soch samajkar hi liya hoga. But can I ask why ? Do u know today when I was alone, he'd helped me. Maan refuses to accept her statement and enlightens her …isne jo bhi kiya tumhari madad ke liye nahi, apne maqsad ke liye kiya…that Arjun is NT's bro.
Geet is shocked. She turns around and asks Arjun – u din tell me this. One thing I liked about Arjun is that he looks Geet straight in her eye…there's still hope for him.
Arjun defends himself saying I din know who u were…I just found out today that u r the girl Maan's getting married to. I know there is a lot of hatred for NT,so I'm relinquishing this contract coz I don't want anyone to look at me with doubt…n Maan I won't justify myself any further…and hands over the file to Geet….and asks Geet's forgiveness. I asked u to forget ur past but unknowingly I reignited those same thoughts from ur past….I'm sorry.
He gives Maan one last look and turns to leave.
Geet stops Arjun. Maan is upset…Geet what r u doing ? did u forget how many zakhm NT has given u ? He is the same NT's bro.
I know Maan. I can never forget that….nor can I ever forgive NT. But this doesn't mean that we should look at everyone associated with NT with suspicion. Arjun listening keenly.
Both Maaneet are so much in character….Maan the angry, arrogant, unwilling to believe anyone that has defied the truth. For Maan once he judges a person he is unwilling to change his opinion…coz he arrives at it with a lot of thought. This might not be applicable with his opinion about Arjun. For Maan life is either black or white…nothing in between.
Geet is also still the same, in love with life, inspite of all her past unhappiness, willing to give another a chance, unwilling to paint everyone with the same brush. She would rather color them differently.
Maan tries to protest but Geet stops him saying u n Dev r bros. But u two are so diff. After what Dev did to me, I shud never have trusted u. If I think like u then I wud think that u would also one day betray me.
Dadi says Geet is right (arjun turns around and looks at Maan who is listening to Dadi's words)…all 5 fingers are not alike…n how can u forget that he saved my life this morning. This is news to Geet….another brownie point in Arjun's favor…but Arjun is not gloating.
Arjun, I feel has also had a lot of eye-openers. For starters, he met Geet and has formed his own opinion. Then he met Geet with her family, Maan and Dadi. Then he finds out that Geet has been wrong by Dev and NT…something so bad that she can never forgive NT. And then inspite of this , how she is willing to give Arjun a second chance. A lot of things that Arjun has to digest…something I'm sure his sister has not been upfront with. How do all these developments affect his mission of ruining Maan's happiness ?
Bahut nek hai yeh Dadi says. Give him another chance. (Arjun pretty soon u hav to prove or disprove Dadi).
Geet continues. Maan u always look at people with sachai ke nazar. ..so tell me, wud it be right if we look at Arjun with NT ki nazariya se? How can we judge Arjun without knowing him?
Maan cannot argue with Geet's logic but is unwilling to bring down his guard and says that tho he may go with them but does not accept their choice. Geet looks at Dadi who nods her head in acquiescence. Geet then looks at Arjun smiling and Arjun returns her smile.
A perfect game of chess …in progress.
A white king, queen and bishop ….facing off a black knight who is trying to defend his dark queen. The duel between the white king and the black knight will be fascinating. The black king is nowhere to be found….But after today, I feel Arjun will go hunt Dev down to get some answers.
Nissar, CVs, Barry – Brilliant !!!
Gurmeet, Drashti, Arjun – Fantastic performances. Arjun welcome to the team.
NE, Dadi – Good job !
Edited by starlite7 - 14 years ago