BABY-GIRL7 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago
grt part.....love the whole theme u started out with.....by the way my family also has a motel buisness...and i am not gujju... 😉 ....lol....i hope u cnt. soon
bheegi thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: BABY-GIRL7

grt part.....love the whole theme u started out with.....by the way my family also has a motel buisness...and i am not gujju... 😉 ....lol....i hope u cnt. soon

thanks babygirl...oh really u have a motel business too?
In the US, Gujarati motel owners is just a stereotype 😊
bheegi thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
PART 2:

"Hi Kripa! Where are you girl? I have been trying to reach you since morning," Hinna, Kripa's best friend, was finally able to reach her that evening.

Hinna and Kripa had lived in the same neighborhood since they were 7 years of age. They attended the same High School and were now both at The University of Illinois undergraduate program. Hinna's family was originally from Hyderbad, India, but she like Kripa was born and brought up in the US. Even though Kripa hated being associated with 'desis,' there was something about Hinna that drew Kripa to this Muslim friend of hers. They were complete opposites, but it had always been Hinna, who had helped Kripa in times of need.

Kripa's parents adored Hinna, and Kripa could always use Hinna as an excuse for anything or everything she did- whether it was late night movies, dates with boys, attending parties- as far as Kripa's parents knew, Kripa was with Hinna!

"Oh c'mon Hinna! Are you trying to be my mom? My cell was out of charge…what's up?" Kripa chewed on her gum and answered. Kripa was getting ready for the concert while talking to Hinna on the phone.

"Did you miss me in class today?" Hinna asked

"Oh yeah! Where were you? I was going to call you," Kripa lied as she had not even noticed Hinna's absence. She had been too absorbed thinking about the concert this evening and trying to arrange for a date. Although Kripa had a habit of gloating about her 'dates,' she seldom went out on single dates. Since High school, she had always gone out with friends in a group. Even if it was a date with another guy, there were always other people in the group too. She just didn't want her friends to think she was 'uncool.' Deb, who had always been a Queen Bee in High school and now even in college, had recently become Kripa's friend, and now that Kripa was hanging out with the 'in crowd,' she did not want to ruin her reputation.

After classes were over, she had rushed to ask her good friends, Jake and Dan to accompany her for the concert, but so far she had had no luck. Deb had sensed Kripa's problem, and rescued her by inviting her boy friend's best friend with them.

"Liar! Today is Eid….you were supposed to come home and wish us all…..mom has a gift for you too," Hinna scolded her.

"Eid? Oops….me bad….sorry sweety….forgot all about it….lots of work….next year I will come for sure," Kripa spoke with her phone resting between her ear and shoulder as she put on her boots, "Ahhh…there you go," she exclaimed as the boots finally made it into her feet.

"Are you getting ready to go somewhere?" Hinna asked, "is it a party?" she felt offended.

"Uh….Uh….well…it is a concert…..Deb was insisting…..otherwise I would have come to your house for Eid," Kripa said guiltily. There was something earnest about Hinna, which made it hard for Kripa to lie to her best friend.

"Yeah right! I know your priorities sweety….that's fine…..enjoy your concert…..but guess what?" Hinna said.

"What?" Kripa put the phone on speaker as she applied her makeup.

"Ranbir's parents want us to get married over this Christmas break," Hinna sounded really excited.

"Get outta here! You are getting married this December? In two months? That's freaky….you are not even 22…..why the hurry?" Kripa pursed her lips after applying her lipstick.

"You know we have been dating since high school…..he will start his MBA next fall….so we would rather get married soon and enjoy some time before he gets all busy with school again," Hinna said.

"You can always enjoy without getting married girl," Kripa put her new green contact lenses in her eyes and spoke, "wow SEXXXY!!" she admired herself in the mirror.

"What? No we cannot have sex without getting married," Hinna was aghast on hearing Kripa's reply.

"No, I wasn't talking about you…..I know you are too desi and old fashioned…..may be that is why you wanna get married now," Kripa brushed her hair for the 10th time and admired herself in the mirror.

"Whatever Kripa! You know my views on this pre marital stuff…..but you have to promise me one thing," Hinna said.

"What? That I don't have sex till I get married?" Kripa chuckled and mocked at her friend, "sorry sweety…..that ain't gonna happen…..because I am not going to be a virgin when I get married…..that is so clich…..so desi….can't stand these desi double standards…..they preach the Kama sutra to the world and then expect a chaste and virgin bride…..how pretentious and hypocritical!"

"Kriiipaah! You are just crazy…..any ways….you and I can never agree on some things…..so just drop it…..I just want you to promise me that you will attend my wedding," Hinna sighed.

"Of course I will," Kripa put on her red suede jacket and smiled. She thought it really went well with her short black leather skirt.

"In Mumbai…right?" Hinna asked

"What? Mumbai?" Kripa was horrified, "why Mumbai? You both live here…..then why go all the way to India?"

"Because Ranbir's family lives in Mumbai….and they want the wedding to take place there…..we will have a reception when we get back to the US," Hinna explained.

"Then count me out….I will just attend your reception in the US," Kripa picked her new Loius Vuitton handbag and admired herself one more time- "Am I hot or what?"

"I WILL NEVER TALK TO YOU THEN!" Hinna said angrily

"Really?" Kripa teased her, "Great…..mommy # 2 will not nag me anymore."

"Kripa! You can't be serious….if you don't attend my wedding, I will not get married," Hinna said sternly.

"Naaa….you love Ranbir more than you love me…..you will never do that," Kripa laughed.

"Do YOU love ME?" Hinna asked tearfully. Kripa heard her friend's voice choking; she felt bad for Hinna. She knew Hinna really cared for her, "Fine…go ahead and emotionally blackmail me….I will come…..but right now I gotta go."

"Do you have a date?" Hinna asked.

"I had a lot of options but nothing too interesting……you know I would rather be single than have a boring guy with me," Kripa raised her eyebrows and applied more mascara to highlight her green eyes!

"Liar…liar…pants on fire…..it means you don't have a date….I know you Kripa," Hinna chuckled.

"Jake was too busy helping his sister move…..Dan had another date….so it's just me, Deb, her boyfriend, Josh and some guy who is Josh's friend…..I have never met him…..but I guess he is my blind date….that sounds exotic….doesn't it? See ya…..bye Eid mubarak to you and your family," Kripa hung up and left her dorm room.

Hinna just shook her head as she hung up, "I hope Kripa doesn't get into trouble one of these days…..she is such a rebel…..unfortunately a rebel without a cause…..I really hope she finds someone nice and caring one day…phew!"

Josh and Deb picked Kripa in his new Ford Mustang. Josh was a senior at their college and had been going steady with Deb for over 2 years. Josh's dad was a rich Investment Banker and gifted his son a new car every year. Josh was essentially a nice guy, but loved to party and have a great time. He loved hanging out with Deb's friends especially Kripa, as he was fascinated by 'exotic' and 'ethnic' women. Josh's family was originally from Argentina- his blue eyes, dark hair and tall stature made women swoon over him. Kripa had always been in awe of Josh too, but she kept her distance from him as he was one of Deb's boy friend.

Kripa got into the back seat and noticed another man, "Hi…I am Peter," he extended his hand to shake hers. Kripa noticed his blue eyes in the dark, blonde hair with brown highlights and tanned look made him look like Brad Pitt for a second. She gasped and became a little sub conscious about herself.

She could not ruin this evening by making Peter know she was Indian; white guys considered desi girls too uptight and not fun loving, "I am Tanya….you could call me Tanii!" and shook his hand. Deb and Josh looked behind and grinned. They knew Kripa was trying to hide her identity again. Deb and Josh found it weird that Kripa often changed her identity in front of strangers as she did not want them to know she was of Indian origin. They had never understood that aspect of Kripa's personality; she was otherwise a sweet girl, but why was she so insecure about herself? Josh was proud of his Argentinean heritage and Deb, even though the Queen Bee in college, always wished she was 'different' from her blonde, blue eyed friends.

"Tanii? Nice name….are you Indian though?" Peter asked.

"No way!" she answered hurriedly, "I am Tanii Patellino! My grandfather was Sicilian….Sicilians can be mistaken for Indians sometimes," she clarified.

"Patellino? Never heard that last name before," Peter remarked.

"Yeah…it is a rare last name…..from the interiors of some Sicilian village," Kripa chuckled and looked away as she spoke lie after lie. Deb tried her best to suppress her laughter.

"Ahh….you are probably right…..I wish you were Indian though," he grinned.

Kripa was stunned, "Why? What is so fascinating about Indians?"

"I don't know," Peter shrugged his shoulders, "I guess I have never dated an Indian girl….just wanna try how that feels."

Kripa cursed herself; she had just lost the opportunity of a life time to date Brad Pitt himself!

The four of them had a great time at the rock concert. Peter was a perfect gentleman. He bought drinks for Kripa and kept her company while Josh and Deb smooched and necked each other in a corner after consuming a few drinks.

They all went dancing at a local club after the concert. Kripa was happy that she did not stay at home any longer; there were no more curfews, no more restrictions on when she could come home. Even Hinna was not there to remind her that it was too late to be out; sometimes Hinna could be a pain in the neck- thank god for Eid tonight!

Afterwards, Deb and Josh disappeared in Josh's car, "Hey guys….we are off….do you need a ride? Or would you take a cab?"

A normally nonchalant and 'cool' Kripa was frightened; yes she would love to be alone with her 'Brad Pitt,' but why was she getting scared then?

"Don't worry guys….I will drop Tanii to her dorm….we will just take a cab…Bye guys….had a great time," Peter waved at Deb and Josh.

Kripa's heart beat rapidly as they drove towards her dorm. Peter had his arm around her and talked to her about college, friends, movies….just general stuff. By the end of the cab ride, Kripa was a little more relaxed. Surprisingly, Peter did not make any moves to kiss or caress her like she feared he might when they were alone in the cab. A part of her really wanted him to, but somewhere inside she was relieved that he didn't…….confused Kripa….that is how she had been all her life…….she was too Indian when she was with Americans…..and too American when she was amongst Indians…..who was she really?

"Bye Tanii!" Peter kissed her cheeks as he dropped her off, "by the way…..I love your OM you are wearing….isn't that a Hindu religious symbol?"

Kripa was taken aback; she had worn her OM pendant all her life- this was her gift from her deceased nani and she held it close to her as she felt connected to her dear nani through that. Peter must have noticed it while they were dancing. What if he found out she had been lying about her heritage all this time?

"Well….yeah…I guess….I just picked it at the jewelry store the other day….it looked cool," she smiled.

"Yes it is," he winked at her and sat in the cab, "Bye Kripa Patel!" he waved as the cab took off, leaving an open-jawed, stunned Kripa behind.

MUMBAI: MORNING AFTER EID

"Zaib beta…idhar tho aa zara," Zareen called Zaib to her room after breakfast.

"Haan ammi…kya baat hai?" Zaib walked into his mom's room

"Achha bataa…tujhey Afreen kaisi lagi?" Zareen looked at him expectantly

Zaib just lowered his head, "wo ammi….abhi main usey jaanta nahin….abhi kuch keh nahin sakta," how could he tell his mom that Afreen just did not stir his heart the way he expected his first love would?

"Beta….waise tho bachpan se jaanta hai…..khair…..ab kai saalon se mila nahin na usey…..aaj aisa kar usey lunch par kahin le jaa…..jaan pehchaan badhegi tabhie tho tu faisla kar paayega…..hum nahin chaahte ki tu zabardasti kisi rishtey mein padhe….lekin Afreen se achhi ladki bhi kahin nahin milegi," Zareen said affectionately.

"Theek hai ammi," Zaib agreed; she was probably right- he had to give her a fair chance before rejecting her; after all she was abbu's best friend's daughter.

Zaib and Afreen met at a Chinese restaurant for lunch. Afreen left college a little early after she received Zaib's call, but was not too thrilled about meeting him. She really wanted to attend the student council meeting this afternoon as Azaan was supposed to give a speech to all the students. Azaan was an active member of the student body and had won a place in Afreen's heart since her first day of college. He was a final year student now. Afreen had a feeling that Azaan was attracted to her too, but besides exchanging eye-locks, they had not said a single word to each other yet.

The lunch was a tedious, boring affair for both of them. Afreen dreamt about her Azaan the whole time, whereas Zaib hummed and composed lyrics to his new song in his mind. They both knew in their minds that this alliance was not going to work……they were just fulfilling a formality to please their parents.

….to be contd….
abhilashasharma thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
Kripa - ABCD... 😆 😆 😆 American born confused desi... the caption suits her very much... so kripa gonna go to mumbai for hinna's marriage... is ranbir a relation or friend of zaib... or is he gonna attend the wedding as an artist.... 😕 so many question... hinna's character sounds promising... 👏 👏 i like her... what a tease she got from peter... so funny... 😆 😆 😆 zaib and afreen - there seems no chemistry between them... 😉
nycdesiqt thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
omg!! kripa is such a bad bad girl!!! 😆 seriosly god she is such an ABCD!! even i was born and brought up here and so were my other friends and none of them compare to her!! wow!!! lol kripa is a little whacko 😆 😆
and i can't believe she changed her name of a guy!!!
and my mouth dropped open when peter knew that she was kripa patel the whole time!!! 😆 😆 that was hilarious and a shocker...wasn't expectin that! it was too good!! 😆 😆 loved it!! as usual 😃

and another shocker!!! --> kripa believes in premarital relationship!!! tsk tsk tsk!! she is very very bad!! someone has got to teach her the values of her indian heritage!!!!! of course that will be zaib later on 😉

and i think that she takes hinna for granted
poor hinna!! 😭 but i am glad that hinna is a part of kripa's life or kripa would be a gone case 😆

lovely part!!!!!!!!!!!! 😃 😃
abhilashasharma thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: desiqt8806

omg!! kripa is such a bad bad girl!!! 😆 seriosly god she is such an ABCD!! ya totally agree 😆😆😆 even i was born and brought up here and so were my other friends and none of them compare to her!! wow!!! lol kripa is a little whacko 😆 😆 again u r right... yamraj wants to create such a character naa... 😉
and i can't believe she changed her name of a guy!!!
and my mouth dropped open when peter knew that she was kripa patel the whole time!!! 😆 😆 that was hilarious and a shocker...wasn't expectin that! it was too good!! 😆 😆 loved it!! as usual 😃 it cracked me up too... 😆 😆 😆

and another shocker!!! --> kripa believes in premarital relationship!!! tsk tsk tsk!! she is very very bad!! someone has got to teach her the values of her indian heritage!!!!! of course that will be zaib later on 😉 haan our zaib is a gem of a guy 😳

and i think that she takes hinna for granted
poor hinna!! 😭 but i am glad that hinna is a part of kripa's life or kripa would be a gone case 😆 thats obvious... see how she blackmailed kripa to attend her wedding... 😆😆😆

lovely part!!!!!!!!!!!! 😃 😃

heavenlybliss thumbnail
yea zaib is a muslim name coz thats my uncles name lolz!
WOWOWOWOWOWWOWOWOWOW im in bheegi's fanficcc:O:O:O:O:O i feel sooooo special! awwww ur getting me married to ranbir thanks so much bheegi aapne to meri life banaa di! lol! lubbb u soooo muchhhh bheegi di hugggzzzzz:D:D:D:D
i have a question though....abt myself....lmao....but u see im getting married 2 ranbir, hes an hindu right....how did my parents agree:o
oh and bheegi u surprise me....how do u know so much abt me....i mean this hinna character in ur ff IS EXACTLY LIKE ME! how do u do it....lol
hmmmm continue soon....i think this fan fic is kinda helping me out with my essay that i have to write for college....we have to write how pakistani's living in uk dont fit into the british culture or the pakistani culture:P
cont soon!!!! plzzzz!!!
>>minhal<< thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Originally posted by: desiqt8806

juss browsing through and caught the last comment...zaib is an arabic name so its muslim...the funny thing i found is that its a female's name which means beauty 😕

dear its actually ZEB u r talking abt not zaib zeb means beauty just like v say in urdu dida zeb means lookin beautiful to eyes

jiya imdad thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Part 1

Ok Di, i just read the first part and i must admit i am already hooked , count me on the top of ur fan list. the story is really very interesting. i love the fact that u donot rush with the story and have not shown zaib-kripa's meeting right away. i appreciate the way you have shown both their life styles and backgrounds first as by this we come to know about both of them individually and get a deeper view of each character .
kripa's character here is just soo different, i am used to seeing her as a sweet and innocent girl but here she is just the opposite! it is as if you have swapped kripa's character with zaib's. Ok she is not religious that is her own choice but she literally insults her own religion and culture, that is unacceptable. the way she made such a big deal of taking prasad and then her annoyance on having to put on the tika was so petty, what is the need of making such a big issue out of iy? it is a part of her culture and she should respect it atleast if she doesn't want to follow it. she is just concern about maintaining her reputation and pride in front of the world or basically in front of her American friends. she didnot say that she doesn't like putting on the tika but she emphasized on what her friends would think about it.
she is such a spoilt brat! very insensitive and immature, it was so rude of her to snap at her mom "NO AAU CHU!" she should know that one should always respect their parents and elders and not to yell at them. it basically counts as one's manners. but the way she said it was kind of cute and funny (ok may be that is because i like Gujarati language and it's the only indian language i understand besides Hindi).
God! this girl is so stubborn even though she was freezing in cold she threw away the jacket just because it wasn't fashionable according to her. she just conentrates on artificial things!
And man! is she over confident that she would get a date without any problems, lots of attitude huh?
On the other hand Khan House had such a lovely atmosphere at their house. i loved aaliya's character! she is sweet, bubbly and innocent all at once. one can see she is the princess of both her brothers who love her alot! kabir bought her an expensive gift that is his way of making her happy and to show his enthusiasm; zaib made a painting of hers that shows his love and affection towards her and it definitely touched her heart.
zaib's character is just the opposite of kripa's. he is definitely a respecting and obediant son who didnot refuse to meet his perspective bride even though he wasnot interested in her and was waiting for his 'dreamgirl'. that was very adorable about his character how he dreams about his bride should be and his confidence that he would recognise her when she enters his life.
it is good that afreen is not interested in this proposal as it would have been very painful for her to be rejected if she would have been interested in the proposal. although zaib is still waiting for his dreamgirl but afreen had already chosen someone else and so it is clear that this alliance was not meant to be.

>>minhal<< thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
i dunno y but it seems at the moment everybody is not liking kripa's character 😕 bhai hamein tou pasand aaya c angad hai naa kripa ki akal thikaane lagane k liye 😆 i m dying 2 read their first taakra @ hina's wedding btw i also hav the same ques. how come hina is gonna married 2 a hindu guy without her parents objection i mean they cant do nikkah, cant take pherre, then wat registered marriage ??? 😲i dont think she is goin 2 mumbai 4 tht sort of a shaadi u hav 2 explain this in future chapters kaise hina k parents maan gaey 😍
Edited by >>minhal<< - 17 years ago