Possessive pangs
Mandira returned to find Trisha's brother taking a nap in what was once Trisha's room, now Leela's, and most recently Paresh's
"Leela so rahi hai?" she asked when she found the door closed
"My brother came" Trisha said delighted
"Your brother? Which one?" Mandira's face paled
Trisha lowered her gaze understanding the implication
"No.. not him Paresh"
"Isnt his name Paresh?"
"No... its Sanchet"
Mandira looked at her unhappily
"Does Ashvin know?"
"He came for lunch na so he met him, he is jetlagged" she explained
"Ashvin is not home now?"
"He went to see someone" Trisha explained nervously
"Its great you cooked for your brother" Mandira handed a back handed compliment
The kitchen looked sparkling clean a restaretuer's daughter...
"I put too much spice in the fish" she smiled sheepishly
"Did you... I mean... all of it is gone?" Mandira asked squirming
"No a lot remains" Trisha tucked a lock of hair back behind her ear
"I skipped lunch so was wondering"
"There is rice also... means... I know you like chapati?" she offered an explanation to Mandira
"I eat dal chawal" Mandira dragged
Trisha heated some up, every things she had made, and served her MIL
Mandira was ravenous, she wiped her plate clean, no complaints about too much coconut in spinach or the mustard seeds being burnt or the fish overspiced
"Ashwin likes palak?" Trisha asked
"I can hear the "we" sound when you say his name, he doesnt" mandira was besides herself in agony
"Umm.." Trisha appeared for a second like she was about to reveal something abt Ashvin's opinion of his own name but she checked herself
"Leela came home?"
Trisha shook her head vigorously
"Ashvin is too bossy. He needs to back off" she mumbled as she ate
"he told her not to go alone. She still went" she defended her husband
"Tumhare saamne lade dono?" Mandira was apalled "He doesnt need to watch her every move" she said when she realized Trisha didnt understand what she said thankfully
"I told her I can go with her"
"You? You are from a small town" Mandira cackled
"But I speak Konkani Tulu and Kannada" Trisha said sincerely
"thats great... you should learn Hindi also"
"Umm.. I watch some movies" she claimed
"Ashvin speaks fluently" Mandira wanted to show off
When she was done eating she took her plate to the sink and attempted to help
Trisha offered to do it so she left looking at Leela's door.. thoughtfully
Paresh woke up at 7, and Trisha spent the evening in his room, Dadu had a dinner appt so he chose to not be home at 8
Mandira was on her ipad admiring her new nails, facetiming a friend
Trisha had called Aanu thrice gushing abt her brother's visit
Aanu hadnt answered once much to her sadness Rao Anna reassured her that everything was "OK"
She made poha for dinner, as Ashvin didnt return until after 9, Mandira "Wasnt hungry for poha" She said she would do takeout
Leela called to say she was at a friend's at Koramangala and would be home soon
Mandira couldnt wait to guage Ashvin's reaction to Paresh's arrival
"Did you meet him?" she chased him to his room
"i did, he seems like a nice guy" Ashvin said objectively
"He looks exactly like her" Mandira said accusingly
"i am told he is the older brother" Ashvin cracked himself up
"Jabse jaga hai wahin hai" Mandira told her son
He nodded, went to take a shower, checked the kitchen for food, warmed up a plate of leftovers from lunch along with poha. Paresh's door was almost closed but not all the way
He wanted to see Trisha but he didnt knock
Ate with his mother in the living room arguing about why he should or should not quit and how Chirag could worm his way into Dadu's heart and about controlling or not controlling Leela
She showed him pictures of his cousins and family reunions in Delhi
"Since you will be done, chal Dilli wahin pe dhoond lena, its not even our town" she said sadly
"Now you hate the city too?" he was amused
"Haan aur kya? yaha kya rakha hai" she said looking out the window
"Did she heat your food?" she asked
"She is chatting with her brother"
"She doesnt even know you are home?"
"Umm.. I guess not, I didnt ring the door bell right?" he smiled
"I mean... aaj ke zamaane mein, when there is phone and facetime who talks so much face to face?" Mandira was jealous of Paresh unknowingly
"He hasnt been home in years"
"Well you have come home after a long day too" she was pissed
"Do u actually want her to care for me?" he burts out laughing
Mandira colored self consciously
"I mean she lives here... she lives with you" she justified
"True" Ashvin agreed with a twinge of longing
It was 10, 11, midnite... he was in bed tossing, when she appeared
"dadu didnt come?" she asked
He was a lil upset she didnt ask when he came home
"Leela also stayed?" she asked abt her SIL
"Looks like it" he said
She elegantly slid on to the bed
He grabbed her quickly... "I am home too" he said trying to hide the gruffness
"I saw you at lunch" she said grinning
He rubbed his legs up and down her kaftan clad leg
"Ouch" he mumbled
"Ashwinnn" she whispered, letting him feel her up, like he was airport security
She shuddered and pulled away
"did he say anything abt me?" he asked tonguing her neck
"That u look like you are a Punjabi"
"What did u say?" he asked kissing her cheek
"I said your mother said you speak Hindi"
"Ha" he chuckled
"Are you from Punjab?" she asked curiously
"One evening with family from Ullal and you forget everything" he groaned in her neck
"i still remember you love my neck" she smiled cupping his face in her palms
His mouth played with hers, tormenting her lips into electric responsiveness until they clung to his lips and opened ardently to the aggressive thrust of his tongue
He kissed her this intimately every time, every nerve end always charged and waiting to do the dance just as it sensed his scent
"ashhh" she whispered
"Good job remembering the name" he said
"U taste like my poha" she said
"I shud go brush my teeth?" he nipped her lower lip painfully
"U ate my poha" she said kissing him back rolling over his body
"Wife was too busy" he said
She felt a wave of shame for her lack of awareness at his arrival
"I am sorry... I was listening to london story" she said
"I have so many" he promised, rolling her kaftan up to her waist and feeling her bare skin
"ashwinnn... noo" she whispered
"No stories?"
He opened his mouth on hers again making a small sounds of male satisfaction, pleasure swept over her like the full moon tidal wave back home in Ullal
she lay weakly on the bed and he was sprawled over her
"Ashwinnn" she whispered kissing him, exhausted... he cuddled her bare skin under her kaftan
"Trish"..
"Will you teach me Hindi?" she asked
"Now?" "Probably not" he muttered taking tiny bites off her shoulder
"Soon" she begged, covering his lips
"Here is a word" he whispered and spoke in her ear