parmarA thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
GM kelly from my side.
New update?really excited to read.😃
Sharlene1410 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
This ff to me is growing by leaps and bounds you are too good honestly I am enjoying more than the show
parmarA thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
Rachana and her moher's convo was beautiful.

Girl are always teen for her mother.

Gunjan want Naomi to confess and Rachana tensed about her presentation.

Dadi and Naomi's emotional attachment so cute.

Shail and dadi's convo for Naomi is sweet.

Rachana's short but effective speech with her nervousness was treat to read.

@Kelly,these days are terribly busy with me bec of Diwali preparation.

But you take care yourself dear.

Waiting for next update
Edited by parmarA - 11 years ago
crtkelly thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Princess.S786

Loved the update
Ur great writer
Thanks 4 pm

Thanks so much, more fun coming up😊
crtkelly thumbnail

Originally posted by: Pookhi

Okay so finally I managed to catch up with your story!!
I'm a little disappointed that I didn't get to read it earlier. This story is soo cool!!!😊
I just love how Kabir is supporting Rachna in everything that she is doing. And the fact that Kabir designed some outfits for Rachna was just soo cute!!😳

I wonder what Naomi will do next.
Thanks for a nice story, and yeah please continue soon!! ;)

At least you had the time to read.
Very glad you enjoyed the story. It's not going to be as sweet as my first, so hope you enjoy.
Update coming soon
crtkelly thumbnail

Originally posted by: sb1410

This ff to me is growing by leaps and bounds you are too good honestly I am enjoying more than the show

Thank you so much, I find I'm writing what I wish I could see, well the good stuff anyway😆
crtkelly thumbnail

Originally posted by: parmarA

Rachana and her moher's convo was beautiful.

Girl are always teen for her mother.

Gunjan want Naomi to confess and Rachana tensed about her presentation.

Dadi and Naomi's emotional attachment so cute.

Shail and dadi's convo for Naomi is sweet.

Rachana's short but effective speech with her nervousness was treat to read.

@Kelly,these days are terribly busy with me bec of Diwali preparation.

But you take care yourself dear.

Waiting for next update

Love what you say about Mothers and Daughters, you are absolutely right, there is a very special bond, and they will always be out babies!
Yes we have the whole gang out to support our Rachana,
And thank you so much for reading , as I know you are so busy😊
crtkelly thumbnail

Hey Readers, I have a double update today, as I will be probably be offline later this evening or by Friday due to Hurricane Gonzalo heading right for us. Hopefully will be back online next week after it passes, but that will depend on the damage to our infrastructure on the island. Hope you guys enjoy!

Chapter #9 - The Launch, part II

Only when she walked with her showstopper model, did Rachna experience the slightest hint of regret. In an ideal world, it would have been Naomi at her side, but she knew as with life, sometimes things just aren't meant to be. Plus she knew that out there in the dark expanse of the hall, Naomi was giving her all in the only way she could today, and for that, Rachna was more than grateful. She blinked rapidly to dispel the tears she could feel gathering, as she received the accolades from an appreciative audience. No matter the industry success of her collection, right now her satisfaction lay in this, that her designs had been received so well; and more importantly that her family was here to share in her success. She looked to the section where they were seated thankful that under the harsh glare of the lighting on the stage, that their location was one of the few areas that she can see clearly from her position.

Their reactions were as she expected, from her Papa's stoic expression, although she knew him to be bursting with pride for her; to her mother's and aunts', and Daadi's of course, tears , and her Uncles' uncontained joviality. For certain Gunjan would be practically jumping out her seat in her exuberance, with Mayank not that far behind his wife in his happiness for his sister. Even her Sir's lopsided grin and nod in acknowledgment of her achievement, she expected, but if she was honest, it was the man seated next to Rajeev Sir from whom she truly sought affirmation. He was the one whom she admired, he, who taught her, nurtured her talent and then gave her the confidence to spread her wings. She looked to him and her smile grew even bigger. He had his hands full with their daughter, who had latched on to the excitement of those around her and was bouncing vigorously in her father's arms while clapping herself. Still the multitasker that he was, KT somehow managed to control their toddler and blow a kiss to his wife. He was even rewarded with one back, when Aryia thought it an excellent idea to mimic her father and gift her kiss to his cheek, with a slightly more damp effect. Rachna shook her head, before holding her palms together in thanks as she turned to acknowledge entire congregation.

In accordance with the next phase, Rachna attended the business representatives who had been invited to ascend to the stage to review the collection from a closer perspective. At the same time the press and individual photographers were unrestricted from the area they had been confined to during the showing, allowing viewing and photography from different angles. To say she was pleasantly surprised at the interest level from both categories of professionals would be an understatement. She would be busy for some time, but she couldn't be happier. She took a moment to look to the back of the hall, and retracted her thought. Yes one thing would make her happier right now, but she was certain it was being taken care of right now.

Naomi sat at her camera, feeling a bit more than sorry for herself. While she was so proud of Rachna, only now could she feel the loss of not being there for her friend. Truly she should have been on that stage with her, it had been the only thing Rachna had wanted from her, and she had let an unworthy idiot prevent her from fulfilling her friend's dream. She was total fool, she thought as tears began rolling down her cheeks.

The handkerchief came into view and she automatically grasped it and mopped up her tears before, seeing who had provided it.

"Sir, You?"

Mohit smiled at the young woman. "Miss Naomi, you are officially off the clock. It's time for you to have some fun."

"I was actually thinking that maybe some extra footage at the reception would be good. That way I would have maximum material to work with and..."

She stopped when the photographer reached out and removed her headset.

"You Miss, are not the only videographer here and I will have the photography well in hand. You are not even getting the chance to pack up your equipment, which seems to be in good order anyway," he said looking at the cases near the young woman.

"I hear you have a pretty party dress to wear, and I will be seeking you out for photos." He saw the uncertainty on her face . "Naomi, Rachna is your friend, and she will never be disappointed in you. However you may hurt her feelings this evening if she doesn't see you enjoying yourself at the reception. Now off with you, young lady, and remember what I said about my photos. I've already seen one amateur attempting to usurp my position as your favorite photographer, and that won't do at all."

She laughed and impulsively hugged the photographer. "Don't worry Sir, I will be ready for my photo-op. Now I have to go and find someone."

Rachna walked up to the reception area into a vibrant atmosphere. Her models had moved to this location, and she was gratified to see that her designs were still garnering the attention of a rapt audience. She scanned the attendees and located the group she was desperate to see and headed in their direction. Along the way she received the expected attention, and took the time to greet everyone who stopped her, as she weaved her way through the throng of people. Finally she reached her destination and stopped breathless. She stood before her father for a moment, before bending to receive his blessing. He stopped her midway, and drew her into his arms.

"Rachna, Beta no father could be more proud. Your work is magnificent."

"Thank you Papa, I'm so glad you liked it" She closed her eyes in response to his hold on her tightening. Finally he released her, and passed her over to her mother's waiting hug.

"Oh Mummy please, don't cry."

"These are happy tears, Beta , very, very happy tears. You were wonderful Rachna."

"You were right Mummy, everything just went perfectly."

Her mother laughed, "How could it not with you and Naomi at the helm. Where is she by the way?"

"I'm sure she will be here shortly."

"Ah, that is quite the lure Naomi, Beta. Are you sure you are going to forgo the dupatta? The extra coverage may be a good thing."

"Nay Daadi, this is just perfect; I feel so pretty. KT is just a genius, the colour is to die for isn't it?"

"That goes without saying Beta. Okay as long as you are happy, that's all that matters. Just don't be afraid to seek me out if the attention gets too much dear."

"What do you mean Daadi?'

"Mama...Mama!"

Kabir turned to see Rachna approaching, and quickly set Aryia on the floor to avoid the full blown tantrum about to erupt when he had turned their daughter away from the view of her mother. Thankfully there were no obstacles in her way as Aryia headed towards the outstretched arms.

Kabir met and put his arm around Rachna , drawing her into the conversation with the reporter he had been talking to.

"As you can see you now have the Designer of the Hour in attendance so you no longer need suffer with second best." He laughed when Rachna discretely rolled her eyes at him.

"Rachna, I was just asking KT how the introduction of what looks to be a very successful collection by his wife will affect things for the Tripathis on a professional and personal level. Already we see him in the primary parental role this evening. Do you think, as a wife and mother that it was wise to even consider starting such a venture especially with such a young family?"

"I think that the important thing is the support that we offer each other. Yes tonight it was Kabir's turn in the supportive role, which I am especially grateful for, but tomorrow the roles could very well be reversed. The important thing is that each of us are there to support the other, and more so to be there for our daughter and any other children we may be blessed to have in the future. I am just thankful that I have the opportunity to follow my dreams, but I know I wouldn't hesitate to give any of it up for my family. All of this may not work for every couple, but I am appreciative that for now we are blessed to be able to handle it all."

"Thank you Rachna, may we get a photo of the three of you for the article?"

"Of course."

Rachna held her smile until the reporter and his photographer moved on.

"How the heck did that jerk get on the guest list, the nerve of him!"

"Welcome to the limelight Mrs. Tripathi " Kabir responded. "One thing he did get right though, is that I'm sure your collection will be a huge success." He leaned over to kiss her forehead, "

I'm so very proud of you, Rachna." He looked around for an area she could rest momentarily and led her to a vacant table. "Let me arrange something for you to eat and drink before you have to make your rounds again. In the meantime you can ask Aryia what she thought of her mummy's collection."

"Ji KT, by the way have you seen Daadi and Naomi?"

Naomi was not making much progress as she walked through the crowd. When the fourth person stopped her, she finally told Daadi it was okay to leave her and have a seat; that she would reach her soon. It was the strangest thing though, while she did know some of the people from the modelling she had done, the fact that even strangers were approaching her was just crazy. She laughed to herself figuring that Rachna had sent out a "cheer up Naomi" memo. Finally she saw a couple that she was actually interested in meeting and headed their way.

"Shekhar, Neeta, how are you? More to the point Shekhar, why do you have you wife standing instead resting."

Neeta laughed, "Oh don't rough him up Naomi, this is actually my choice. Sometimes sitting can be just as unbearable. But how are you? Shekhar told me what happened with Abhi, I'm so sorry you had to go through that."

"It's the past, all of it, so don't worry about it."

Neeta smiled, "Well girl to girl, you must tell me about your hero. I hear he was awfully intimidating."

"I'm sorry I don't know what you're talking about."

She scanned the room and finally nodded across the way from where they stood. "Over there. Shekhar pointed him out to me when we arrived. Did you not know he had words with Abhi in your defense that night? Actually, to hear Shekhar's version, you won't have to worry about Abhi ever bothering you again."

Naomi turned and looked, already knowing who she would see. Yet still she could do nothing about the butterflies in her stomach or the softening of her expression, "Neeta can you excuse me, please?"

Neeta smiled knowingly and waved her away.

Naomi turned back to face the gauntlet of the crowd, determined to make her way over to her 'hero'.

Daadi arrived at Rachna's table just in time for KT's return.

"Did you lose Naomi, Daadi?" Rachna asked scanning the crowd for her friend.

"She was losing the battle of her admirers so she sent me on my way."

Rachna looked at KT, "I didn't think she would know that many people here."

"I don't think she does. It's my guess that it's because she looks awfully appealing tonight." Daadi said.

"See KT, I told you that the outfit would suit her. Well good for her I say Daadi," Rachna said.

That his grandmother just smiled, had Kabir seeking their friend in the crowd. With his height he was able to locate her and his eyes narrowed. "Dammit Rachna what is with you two and your accessories?"

"Nanhe, you are in the presence of ladies, watch your language please!"

KT looked over to where Rajeev stood with Gunjan and Mayank. "Well we may as well settle in for the entertainment."

Edited by crtkelly - 9 years ago

DO NOT COPY THIS POST AS THIS IS EXCLUSIVE TO INDIA FORUMS

crtkelly thumbnail

Chapter #10 - The Launch, part III

There was a break in the sea of people that finally allowed them a glimpse of each other. She sent him a tentative smile as she pushed her way through the crowd, almost to her destination. Mere steps from stepping into a clearing she heard someone call to her.

"Ah, here's the Naomi, I remember!"

Naomi turned to find the photographer from earlier in the evening. She smiled in return.

"How could you not have been on that runway tonight, I will never know Naomi."

"Thank you so much, but there's a time for everything, and tonight I was just doing something else."

"Well please don't begrudge me a few photos," he said holding out his hand indicating that her would take her to the outskirts of the crowd. Since it is where she wanted to be in the first place Naomi took hold of his hand and allowed him to lead her to the outskirts of the room.

"Oh...My...God! She looks so glamourous; KT had to have designed that outfit!" Gunjan exclaimed .

It may very well have been spectacular, but all Rajeev noticed was the expanse of exposed skin, emphasized by the sparkling chain around her waist that was drawing the attention of far too many for his liking. She turned, and his jaw tightened, of course it wouldn't be a simple waist chain, he thought when he saw the dangling butterfly navel piercing the chain was attached to.

He began walking, determined to get an explanation.

"Daadi, are you sure? KT and I can hold her if necessary."

"Rachna, Beta, don't concern yourself with it. This is your night, and you and Nanhe should enjoy at least a part of it Aryia free. I have plenty of backup should I need it, thik hai?"

"Thank you Daadi."

"Heads up ladies, I think we are in for some fun here."

Rachna looked over to where Naomi was, perplexed; all she saw her friend looking beautiful in the muted green and silver lehenga choli , having her photograph taken, obviously enjoying herself.

"Kabir, is it true, did you design that outfit for Naomi?"

"I did." He raised his eybrow at the obviously agitated man in front of him.

"Didn't you think it would be inappropriate?"

"I don't see what you are getting at Rajeev." He looked around the room," I've seen a number of similar styles, obviously nothing that can compare, but.."

"You're being deliberately obtuse Kabir; why would you encourage her to dress so, so.."

"Alluring?" Rachna offered.

"Tempting; I think tempting is the word Rajeev is looking for, Rachna."

"Rajeev, beta, you can't blame the design, its beautiful and like Nanhe said it's not uncommon for young women to dress so. You just need to be honest with yourself about why you have a problem with her attire."

Kabir looked over the other man's shoulder, and smiled thinking that he had about a minute to figure it all out, and it better be the right reason, as the look in Naomi's eyes didn't bode well for any nonsensical conversation.

Mindful that if she gave into her first instinct that she would create a definite scene, at the last minute Naomi deviated from her path and went directly to her friend and hugged her.

"Congratulations Ra, everything was awesome! I can't wait to share the footage with you."

"And I can't wait to see it. Oh but look at you, you look amazing!" She put her friend away from her for further inspection. "Ah, let's see the butterfly today"

Naomi laughed, "Well better on the tummy than in don't you think? But, truly, I just love this outfit it makes me feel so special. "

"Accha Naomi ?" KT added, "What a coincidence, Rajeev was just commenting on it."

The man in question said nothing, and in fact did not even acknowledge her presence at all. To Naomi, the disapproval she saw on his face spoke volumes.

"Well I'm sure his opinion was of no consequence at any rate." Naomi said looking up at him. "After all how could he have fully appreciated it, when he didn't even stay to meet me."

Her comments got his attention, and he finally stared at the young woman whose eyes were demanding his attention.

"I know you were aware that I was coming to you, and still you left; I dare you to deny this. Perhaps you think your title of "coach" entitles you to play games with people, but let me assure you I am not one to be played with nor will I be chasing after you. Ever." She took a step closer to him. "Once you make up your mind on how you want to proceed with whatever this is between you and I, let me know. Until then keep your smiles, your winks, and your opinions to yourself. I will not be toyed with by any man."

Rajeev looked to respond, when suddenly Mohit Sir appeared and took hold of Naomi's hand. She turned abruptly in his direction.

"Come, Miss Naomi, time to keep your promise. This dress of yours was definitely worth the wait."

She smiled sweetly, "Of course Sir. Ra, will you come as well?"

Rachna and Naomi watched the two men walking towards them as they finished the taking photos.

"Are you ready for round two, Naomi? I say Sir looks awfully determined."

"Well, he obviously doesn't know who he's dealing with."

"I'll concede that the color is very becoming, and you look wonderful in it."

"Of course it is, Rajeev, KT has an eye both design and colour and design. He's never dressed me in anything less than perfection."

Apparantly she wasn't going to give an inch, so he delved directly to the heart of the matter. "Well perhaps the problem is trying to reconcile how somehow over the short time knowing you I've developed an ill-conceived notion of exclusivity when it comes to you and it's killing me for anyone else to see you looking as beautiful as you do tonight."

"Oh, okay."

"What is she's always saying? Oh yes, Rachna, I think that round went to Rajeev."

Rachna laughed as she and Kabir walked away from the couple now in deep conversation. This had just been an incredible evening, she thought, and the latest development was just the icing on the cake.

In his supportive role to his wife, Kabir observed Rachna, fully aware of the unqualified success her evening had been. As she was talking with some potential new business contact , he stepped away to have one of the wait staff refresh their drinks, and took the opportunity to divert back to check on Aryia, who was now with Shail, having joined Daadi at the table. He bent down beside his mother in-law and gently stroked his daughter's hair. She raised her head; her eyes droopy and smiled slightly, but was far more interested in the thumb she was sucking on than her Papa.

"How is she holding up, I know it has been a very long evening for her ."

"Surprisingly well, although it would probably be best to get her home sooner rather than later."

"Ji, Daadi, why don't I call the driver and we can get you guys home, and then he can collect us on his return."

"That probably would be for the best."

The arrangements made, Kabir returned to Rachna, to find her talking to a distinguished looking gentleman.

"To be honest Mrs. Tripathi, I must confess that I had initially thought not to attend the event; every year there seems to be so many new young designers entering the market, that often the industry is oversaturated with what can be only be classified as mediocrity. However, I must say that I am so glad that I did an about face with regard to viewing your collection.

"Mr. Patel, I'm indeed honoured then that you singled my collection as one you decided to attend."

She noticed KT returned, and drew him over.

"Mr. Patel, May I introduce my husband, Kabir Tripathi."

"Ah yes, KT Creations, I've heard much of your work as well. You must be very proud of your wife. I am certain that Banaras Beauty will be a grand success."

"I'm inclined to agree."

"Yes, as I was just telling your wife how I almost made a major error in overlooking the invite. However my most marvelous assistant, was familiar with your work, and for that matter yours as well Kabir, and insisted that I take the time to attend; that it would be a travesty to miss out on this event."

"Well it seems that you also surround yourself with astute people as well, Sir."

"Indeed, she hasn't been with us long having not long relocated to India but, her fashion industry experience is immeasurable."

He looked around in search of his elusive assistant. "Ah here she is, Sonal my dear, come, I've finally been able to corner Mrs. Tripathi, and her husband for that matter."

"'I'm finally one up on you my dear. While you seem to be a wealth of information on the pair of them, yet somehow, I have managed to greet these star designers before you. May I introduce Kabir and Rachna Tripathi."

"Good Evening, I'm so pleased to see the two of you. Like Mr. Patel has indicated I am a huge fan of both of you. I feel as if I know everything there is about you both, so much that I swear this feels like I'm just meeting old friends!"

"How nice. Mr. Patel tells us you have just relocated to India."

"Oh yes Rachna, I may call you Rachna right; you see over the years one's priorities change and sometimes you just have to adjust accordingly."

"I see."

"And speaking of priorities, how do you manage it all? Marriage, motherhood and now your own fashion line! I must confess that when I ran into the sweetest little girl, I knew she had to be yours. She had your eyes, I swear it was as if you were staring right at me! Such an intense stare on such a little one, I was sorely tempted to take the little doll home with me."

Rachna stiffened, and looked to KT. He reached over to rub her back, and smiled at his wife,

"I've just sent them home, Aryia was totally worn out."

"Ah, the poor sweetheart, that was probably the best thing to do for her Kabir. Aryia, oh, what a lovely name!"

The silence was awkward.

Finally Sonal's employer cleared his throat, "As I said, Sonal is an avid fan of the both of you." He turned to Rachna and extended his hand.

"Mrs. Tripathi, again please allow me to congratulate you on a job well done. I hope to be in touch with you very soon, to arrange a meeting."

"My thanks to you again Mr. Patel for your attendance, I'm very glad that you enjoyed the collection. Good Night."

"Namaste" He nodded and walked away, leaving his assistant behind.

"I guess I will be going as well, it was lovely to see you two again." She turned to walk away, "Oh and Rachna, do take care of little Aryia, children are so precious. Even during the bleakest times of your life they manage to bring such joy. When your world gets turned upside down, well sometimes they are the only thing worth living for."

Edited by crtkelly - 9 years ago

DO NOT COPY THIS POST AS THIS IS EXCLUSIVE TO INDIA FORUMS

Princess.S786 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Loved the update ❤️
Thanks 4 pm
Hope u update soon