I know you all are upset and angry with me for bringing Sanya in between AR, is liye some of you didnt even post a comment :( I dont like it too but believe me ahar zaroori nahi hota tou i wouldn't have brought her in. Plz stay with me for a little more and you'll see getting better for AR.
Im posting the part now. Its divided into 2. Will post part A now.
A little message: I wish all of those who are ovserving Ramadan and celebrate Eid, A very happy and prosperous Eid. May Al Mighty bless your homes with joys and love. Want to extend the festivities and my good wishes to all my readers, alike. May you all stay under God's protection.
Love lotsss..
Pakeee, i hope you like the length of this part. Its truly lambaaa. ;)
Armaan tiptoed across his parents' room to where his mother was sleeping on the bed. She looked weak but peaceful and he didn't have the heart to disturb her, so he left kissing her forehead. He walked up to his room to pick a change of clothes and few important files for his impending trip. His gaze settled on the face smiling brightly at him. He brushed his fingers gingerly across her face afraid he might ruin it with one harsh stroke. Office work had bound him to the office all morning and now this unplanned trip was going to make him stay away from his love for a few more days. A sudden workers strike had sprung up at one of their construction companies in Rampur which he had tried working out on phone but it seemed that they were adamant not to give in until all their demands were met. It was the third time in seven months that the workers had boycotted against them despite the handsome package and facilities they offered. There was something else that was going on in the background, someone who was causing this riot deliberately after every few months. So he decided to pay a surprise visit and check with the management himself what the real issue was. Armaan was loaded with work but still it couldn't over ride his worry at Riddhima's strange behaviour at dinner last night. Her pale face, half hearted conversations and the way she never met his eyes once didn't sit well with him. He so wanted to seek an explanation and give one too about all the misunderstandings between them and clear the air for once and all but it had to wait, again, as business stood as a barrier this time. He turned away with a heavy heart silently promising her to be back soon. He met his Dad downstairs who was waiting by the door to see him off.
The sun shone in full glory over the lush green gardens of Sanjeevani and the soft breeze carried on it the frangrance of various blooms. The innocent laughter of kids echoed in the air as they ran around the sprinklers spraying water on neatly trimmed grass. Riddhima stood resting against a thick tree bark looking at the scene unfolding in front of her but not looking. In reality she was far away from this place, lost in deep thoughts. Since her interaction with Sanya outside the hotel her mind had been in a turmoil. Whatever that girl said had been like a blow to her heart but somewhere deep down inside there was a corner screaming at her to not believe a word. She was bewildered, hurt and disoriented. To add to all of it was Armaan's behaviour and the increasing proximity between them. Riddhima just couldn't bring herself to think that he would come so close to her when he was tied to another woman, that was just not him. She winced internally remembering her harsh words to him during Anjie's wedding. She hadn't meant a word of it all. There had to be a mistake or something amiss but why would Sanya lie about such a sensitive issue? Urrggh. She groaned on not reaching any conclusion, once again. The only possible way out of this mess was to confront the man himself, plus if she remembered well, Armaan had told her to ask him first before coming to conclusions and that is what she would do but..
"Aaah." Riddhima's inner conflict was cut as someone grabbed her arm from behind making her shriek.
"Ri.. Riddhi.. You looked.. So.. Funny." Prem spluttered between roars of laughters clutching on his stomach.
"Funny? Abhi batati hoon what funny is." She said with narrowed eyes and within a moment her fists were punching his chest and arms making him laugh more.
"Ok. Ok. Listen. I'm sorry. I hadn't meant to scare you but your expressions were.. Ok, lets forget it." Prem said holding her wrists.
"What are you doing here?" She asked making a face.
"I couldn't reach Armaan due to some network problem, may be he's out on a site, so came to visit you and inquire about the dinner last night. Kaisa raha kal Riddhi?" He asked wiggling his eye brows.
"Very nice." She forced a smile making him shake his head.
"I was expecting to see you glowing and chirpy like that night but you seem lost so kuch to gadbad hai. Kya hua, mujhe nahin batao gi?" He asked.
"I'm just a little surprised or maybe shocked too. Hey Prem, did you know about it?"
"About what?" Her broken sentence made no sense to him.
"About Armaan and Sanya? Their relationship? Tch, what's wrong with Prem. Can't you understand? Did you know they were a couple?" Riddhima asked with irritation as he kept looking at her confusedly. In response he bellowed with laughter irking her more.
"I'm serious Prem." She said with a straight face.
"Who.. Who told you this?" He asked controlling his laugh.
"Sanya." That one word was enough to explain him what the matter was and to sober him as well.
"How can you be so naive Riddhi? Don't you know Armaan a tad bit that you believed that cunning bitch?"
"Prem. Don't speak like that." She reprimended him.
"She deserves much more than this. You just don't know what she really is."
"What do you mean?"
"Dekho Riddhi, Armaan should be the one telling you all the truth so I will say that you should talk to him before another misunderstanding separates you two. But I'll let you know that he has never been in any sort of relationship with Sanya. Not even during college days. He has always had eyes for you. All these years he was miserable without you. I've seen him long for you. Why do you look so surprised? Don't you have an inkling of idea of his feelings for you Riddhi?" He asked looking at her surprised face.
"I.. I don't know." She stuttered.
"Riddhi, do you love him? No, no looking down. This has gone on for too long. I want an answer. Now. Sahi. Main samajh gaya. You don't love him."
"I do." She replied instantly making him smile.
"I know you do. He adores you to bits too Riddhi. There's nothing that he wouldn't do for you. Both of you are very dear to me and I can't see two of you suffer anymore. Please tell me you'll talk to him?" Prem cupped her face in his palms to which she nodded her head. He bid good bye after pulling her in for a brotherly hug.
Riddhima huffed in annoyance as the lift pinged and halted for the second time as she made her way to the 11th floor of Mallik Industries. Suzzane, Armaan's receptionist, joined her with a sweet smile and her lips stretched upwards some more on recognizing her.
"Hello Riddhima Ma'am. How are you?" She asked politely.
"I'm great."
"Are you here to meet Mr. Mallik?"
"Yes."
"They aren't in the office. They had left earlier in the day itself."
"What? Why? Where did he go?" Riddhima inquired.
"I'm not sure but some outdoor business."
"Hmm. Will he return to the office?"
"No. Armaan sir gave his PA an off for the rest of the day." Riddhima punched the button 'G' on the panel angrily on listening this. She had rushed through her schedule and broken signals too to catch Armaan before he left the office but it was just her luck that he had left already.
"Ma'am would you like any refreshment?" Suzzane asked walking out of the lift behind her.
"No, thanks. I'll go now."
"Have a good evening Ma'am." Riddhima nodded with a smile but wondered why the receptionist was being so kind when she couldn't wait to get rid of her the last time she was here? Remembering the last time rang a bell in her mind. The scenes from that day played in her mind as she stepped back into her car.
"Riddhima is family." She remembered Armaan's words clearly but this was the first time she paid attention to them. Prior she was so involved and happy with the idea of going out with him that she overlooked this fact. He had called her family. She was a part of his family. She mused silently. That meant only one thing and that was he had feelings for her too. A sigh of relief escaped through her parted lips as hope blossomed in her chest. After her conversation with Prem earlier in the day, she couldn't wait for the day to be over so that she could confront Armaan but then shyness took over and she thought of leaving the matter till he approached her himself. The rest of her day had passed in agitation. When she couldn't take it any longer she decided to talk to him tonight itself and free herself of all the anxiety. So she had weaved her way through heavy traffic like a mad woman not wanting to give herself to change her mind again. All in vain, she thought with a pout but then it turned in to a small smile as she had learnt one more positive thing about their relation which was definitely a confidence booster. She revved the engine ready to face him at his home.
"I must be dreaming." Billy said rubbing his eyes and then blinking them rapidly when the image of Riddhima didn't disappear from front of him.
"Dr. Riddhima, ap yahan? Hamare ghar? Hum per aj itni meherbani kaise ki? Aray, aaye na under, apna hi ghar samjhye isey. Aaye aaye." Riddhima found Annie and Billy sitting in the lounge as she entered Mallik Mansion. Before she could greet them Billy started teasing her.
"Stop it Billy. Kyun tung kar rahey ho meri bachi ko. Aao Angel." Annie said lightly swatting Billy's arm. Riddhima took slow steps towards them, silently berating herself as she was at fault. She hadn't given them their due share of attention, love and care. Just because she was too preoccupied with her jumbled thoughts didn't give her the right to ignore the two people who became her support system and treated her like their own. She felt worse realizing today also she had come for her work and not with the aim of meeting them.
"Hey, how are you both doing?" She asked in a small voice.
"Ap ko time mil gaya hamari khairiat poochne ka?" Billy asked sarcastically.
"Billy, stop it." Annie intervened but Riddhima shook her head.
"I'm sorry. I didn't come to meet you both earlier.." She started by kneeling in front of him.
"Or call us." He added.
"Yeah. I won't give any excuse for my absence because what I've done is totally wrong and inexcusable. I shouldn't have allowed anything to keep me away from the two people who are so dear to me. Per ab to galti ho gayi na, dobara nahin ho gi. Promise. Please don't be mad at me. I'm sorry." Riddhima said in a choked tone at the verge of crying.
"Come here pagal ladki. No need to cry. I'm not mad at you, was just upset that you didn't come to see us for so many days per ab wo bhi nahi hoon, kyunki tum aa gayi ho na. Idher aao." Billy pulled her arm to make her sit on the chaise longue next to him and hugged her.
"Acha hua tum aa gayi. Ghar itna soona lag raha tha tum dono ke bina." Annie said patting her head lovingly.
"Kyun, Armaan kahan hai?" She asked wiping the moisture from under her eyes.
"He's gone out of town to some site, kuch problem thi wahan but can you believe it, he left without meeting me." Annie said getting sad.
"Annie, he didn't leave without meeting you. He just didn't wake you up because he didn't want to disturb you." Billy tried to comfort his wife.
"But he left without telling me." Riddhima mumbled under her breath and then smiled sheepishly as Billy raised his eye brows to ask what happened.
"Biii. Kaisi hain ap?" Riddhima ran towards Shehnaz Bi who came out from laundry room.
"Aray Riddhima beta, tum kab aayin?" She asked kissing her forehead.
"Bi, ap ko kitni baar bola hai Armaan ke kapde press mat kijye, ap ki knees mein dard hai. Kisi aur se bol detin ap." Annie said walking towards them.
"Koi baat nahi Annie, mujhe acha lagta hai Armaan ka kaam karna. Aur phir poora din to baithi rehti hoon main, thoda sa chalna phirne bhi chahye, kyun doctor sahiba." Bi replied.
"Bilkul theek per ab ap yeh mujhe dijye aur ja kar araam se baithye. Aj ke liye itni excercise hi kafi hai." Riddhima said taking the pressed clothes from her hands.
"Bi ap apne ladle ko samjhati kyun nahin hain? Kab tak sab log us ka kaam karien ge? He needs someone to care of him and his requirements." Annie complained once again.
"All in good time Annie. Pareshan mat ho. Woh din bhi bohat jald aaye ga jab
hamare Armaan ki shaadi hogi. Us rishtay ka kya hua jo tum dekh rahin thi?"
"Kya hona tha Bi? Ap ke ladle ne phir se mana kar dia." Annie and Bi continued their conversation walking away from Riddhima, leaving her on the base of staircase immersed in thoughts.
Riddhima closed her eyes and inhaled deeply holding his shirt close to her chest as Armaan's scent and warmth enveloped her in a loving embrace as she stepped in his bedroom. It felt as if she was home after a long time. She looked around fondly, nothing had changed since she last came here. This room used to be her abode when she stayed with the Malliks, her own room was only for sleeping and freshning up. In fact if she remembered correctly she was the one who bought this snow globe with a dancing couple now on display on his bedside table. Armaan had commented on how childish she was but still he had held on to it just like how she had grasped so many things to prevent the past memories from slipping through her fingers. Riddhima picked up the few articles of clothing strewn across the dresser and straightened the bedding. She ran a hand tenderly on each of his shirts as if touching him before hanging them in the cupboard. A big carton placed in the corner overflowing with boxes wrapped in sparkly papers caught her sight. She found it strange that Armaan had kept his gifts there in a box and that too unopened. Riddhima turned one upside down to see who the giver was but was surprised to see the name written on it. With every one that she turned over her face scrunched up in confusion and soon she had emptied the whole carton. She looked bewildered at heaps of boxes scattered around her feet. She hadn't sent him any gift then why did these packages have her name? She wondered. Unless they were meant for her. She gasped audibly realizing these were her presents from Armaan. Each one had her name, date and occassion scribbled on it in his writing. She found a small notepad amongst them which she had missed earlier.
"Hey Princess,
I heard Anjie, Uncle and Aunty are going to join your graduation ceremony. Dad's sad as he will have to give it a miss due to Mom's health. I wish I could see you collecting your degree and awards. I had always wanted to be there when you walked down the podium with a big, radiant smile and hug you tightly just like how I had wanted you to be a part of my first day at office but I guess now is not the time for my wishes to come true. Hmm. It's okay. I'll wait.
Anyways, I'm very very happy for you and immensely proud of you Riddhima. May you find success at every step you take.
Last week when I went to a mall my gaze fell on a dress by chance but it appealed me alot. I knew it instantly that it was made just for you and so bought it. It would have been perfect for the party that Uncle was planning. I would have sent it along with your graduation gift but knowing that I won't be able to do so, I'm stacking them with the rest of your gifts. I hope to see you in it some day, soon. My wait will end one day, won't it Princess?
All the best for everything you do in life. My best wishes and love are always with you.
Only Yours,
Armaan."
A sob ripped through Riddhima's throat as she read a random entry from the diary. Armaan's simple words had made such a strong impact on her heart that she felt it constricting painfully. Relief and guilt clouded her senses simultaneously. Relief at finally knowing that her love was reciprocated. Though Armaan hadn't written those three precise words, they weren't any short of a confession for her. She didn't require anymore clarifications or proofs. Guilt on realizing that she had pushed him away and hurt both of them for no reason. What she had witnessed in the depths of his eyes and interpreted as love was love in reality too. Her one folly had cost them so many years of their lives and heartache. She hadn't done anything on purpose. It was his hot and cold behaviour that made her doubt him, his feelings, heck she had even denied and rubbished her own feelings for such a long time due to this. All this time that they could have been together was spent alone; pining for each other. Riddhima collapsed on the floor struggling to breathe as her body shook with cries. It was her fault. She was the one wrong. She should have confronted him before leaving unannounced but why did he have to bear the punishment, her unjust behaviour silently? Why didn't he come and fight for his right, his love? No more tears, no more fights, no more questions and certainly no more running away, she thought wiping the tears running down her cheeks. She wasn't the only one responsible for their state, both had a share in it, but she was going to be the one to end this torturous wait. She had always wanted to hear it from him first but she was willing to give up on that small wish seeing how much he had sacrificed for her. Nothing was of more importance than his happiness to her. Now it was time to let go of the past and embrace today to build new moments, together. She pouted innocently thinking it wasn't possible as he wasn't here and she had no idea when he would return. She would have to wait, again. May be it was destiny's way of paying her back for all the pain she caused him and for all the times she turned him down when he wanted to explain things. The knowledge that her first love wasn't incomplete, her love loved her back, was enough for her to survive. She would wait for him, today, tomorrow, all her life, gladly.