_Angie_ thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: K.Universe.

I couldn't find an image where the question was strangulating the stick figure so I picked the next best thing I found.

😆 There must be good reason for that image not being found. Surrender and the strangulation loosens its hold allowing one to breathe . Yeah , you did find the best thing after all !
hindu4lyf thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
So they won't release Madras Cafe because they're scared of the tamil tigers and now 'The Lunchbox' isn't releasing here either? Grr frustrating!! I wanna watch a good quality Bollywood movie!
boreddamsel thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5
Awesome video! 😛
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hC0Ng_ajpY[/YOUTUBE]

No women .. no rape! 👏 There you go .. now you know how to stop rape! 😆
Ok, before someone comments that men get raped and attacked too, and that you should not wear provocative clothing and roam around in unsafe places .. stop and think why this video was made ..
Edited by boreddamsel - 12 years ago
hindu4lyf thumbnail
This makes me sick! Brings back horrid memories of the 26/11 attacks in Mumbai..

Some witnesses said the gunmen had told Muslims to leave and said non-Muslims would be targeted.

"They came and said: 'If you are Muslim, stand up. We've come to rescue you," said Elijah Lamau.

He said the Muslims left with their hands up, and then the gunmen shot two people.

The correspondent in Nairobi for the Economist, Daniel Howden told the BBC he spoke to one man with a Christian first name but a Muslim-sounding surname who managed to escape the attackers by putting his thumb over his first name on his ID.

However, the man told Mr Howden that an Indian man standing next to him who was asked for the name of the Prophet Muhammad's mother was shot dead when he was unable to answer.

The BBC's Mark Doyle, who is embedded with the African Union (AU) mission in Somalia, says the AU troops attack al-Shabab where they can.

Al-Shabab says the AU forces are invaders stopping their legitimate vision of creating an Islamic state and respond by mounting hit-and-run attacks, our correspondent says.

British Foreign Secretary William Hague said there would "undoubtedly" be British nationals caught up in Saturday's events.

He confirmed that the UK government's emergency committee Cobra met on Saturday afternoon.

The US State Department says it has reports that American citizens were injured in what it called "a senseless act of violence".

This is one of the worst incidents in Kenya since the attack on the US embassy in August 1998.

Full article: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-24191606

Bazigar thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: hindu4lyf

This makes me sick! Brings back horrid memories of the 26/11 attacks in Mumbai..

Some witnesses said the gunmen had told Muslims to leave and said non-Muslims would be targeted.

"They came and said: 'If you are Muslim, stand up. We've come to rescue you," said Elijah Lamau.

He said the Muslims left with their hands up, and then the gunmen shot two people.

The correspondent in Nairobi for the Economist, Daniel Howden told the BBC he spoke to one man with a Christian first name but a Muslim-sounding surname who managed to escape the attackers by putting his thumb over his first name on his ID.

However, the man told Mr Howden that an Indian man standing next to him who was asked for the name of the Prophet Muhammad's mother was shot dead when he was unable to answer.

The BBC's Mark Doyle, who is embedded with the African Union (AU) mission in Somalia, says the AU troops attack al-Shabab where they can.

Al-Shabab says the AU forces are invaders stopping their legitimate vision of creating an Islamic state and respond by mounting hit-and-run attacks, our correspondent says.

British Foreign Secretary William Hague said there would "undoubtedly" be British nationals caught up in Saturday's events.

He confirmed that the UK government's emergency committee Cobra met on Saturday afternoon.

The US State Department says it has reports that American citizens were injured in what it called "a senseless act of violence".

This is one of the worst incidents in Kenya since the attack on the US embassy in August 1998.

Full article: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-24191606

It is quite irony that media who tag same al queda affilated groups as rebel tag another al queda terrorist group on the basis of religion and try to project themselves what what those terrorists intend to project. Painting them as if savior of humans on the basis of any specific religion, paint them what those terrorists want to try to project themselves and media by enhancing the mistrust among people of different religion and community. Is it not a wrong conclusion when u highlight above para with drawing parallel comparison with mumbai attack , here is the fact about mumbai.

44 Muslims dead, 35 injured in Mumbai terror attacks

New Delhi: In the bloodiest ever terrorist attacks in the country, 195 people were killed in the attacks at hotels Taj, Trident and Oberoi, and Nariman House and Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus railway station in Mumbai. The dead include 44 Muslims and of 300 injured 35 are Muslims.

This shows that the terrorists, whatever their faith may be, had no religion in their mind when they were on a killing spree. They wanted to kill as many people as they could and thus terrorise the countrymen.

List of Muslims killed in the attack

JJ Hospital

Abdul Sheikh (5)

Siddique Sheikh (35)

Hena Sheikh (16)

Shabbir Majeed Sheikh (45)

Hasina Sheikh (20)

Manauwar Begum (45)

Mukhtar Sheikh (35)

Abdur Razzaq (22)

Farooq Nasiruddin Khaliluddin (53)

Asif Muhammad (26)

Firoz Khan (44)

Rajan Shareef (23)

Abdus Salam (50)

Faqeer Mohammad (38)

Abdur Rasheed (40)

Md Siddique (29)

Sanju Hussain Ghorpade (15)

Nafeesa Sadaf Qureshi (46)

Imran Baghban (29)

Shabbir Abdus Salam (53)

Meraj Alam (24)

Mumtaz Khan (28)

Md Ayob Ansari (21)

Habib Rahman Khan (30)

Afroz Abbas Ansari (30)

Parwez Aslam (27)

Ibrahim Abdur Rahman (40)

Asif Babu Bhai ()

Manauwwara Ali Sheikh (60)

St. George Hospital

Aziz Rampuri (55)

Shoaib Ahmad Sheikh (30)

Shahabuddin Khan (35)

Zaheer Syed (25)

K E M Hospital

Afreen Qureshi (6)

Amna Bi (28)

Md Mukhtar Malik (45)

Noor Islam Azhar (31)

Sarfaraz Ansari (38)

Habibur Rahman (18)

Murtaza Ansari (30)

Arif Ansari (40)

Bombay Hospital

Raouf Jagan (28)

Shekram Shaukat Ali (43)

Mitu Ansari (26)

http://twocircles.net/2008nov30/44_muslims_dead_35_injured_mumbai_terror_attacks.html

http://www.mid-day.com/news/2008/nov/281108-mumbai-terror-attack-list-dead-injured-casualty.htm

Edited by ramjaane - 12 years ago
enigmatic_zephy thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: hindu4lyf

So they won't release Madras Cafe because they're scared of the tamil tigers and now 'The Lunchbox' isn't releasing here either? Grr frustrating!! I wanna watch a good quality Bollywood movie!

Madras cafe will be let down if you are expecting a politicl thriller..

its more like a documentary minus the facts 😆

Originally posted by: boreddamsel

Awesome video! 😛

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hC0Ng_ajpY[/YOUTUBE]

No women .. no rape! 👏 There you go .. now you know how to stop rape! 😆
Ok, before someone comments that men get raped and attacked too, and that you should not wear provocative clothing and roam around in unsafe places .. stop and think why this video was made ..

sry cant play the video but incidentally have you heard or watched matrobhoomi?
hindu4lyf thumbnail
@ramjaane: I think you misunderstood the reason why I posted that extract of the article. Not because I care for a victim from one religion more than another. There were people from all religions and ethnicities that were affected by the 26/11 blasts. Hindus, Muslims etc at CST station, Jews at the Jewish Centre and I'm sure plenty of Christian foreigners staying at the Taj.
It's just that the people who stood up and declared themselves as Muslims despite not being a Muslim in Kenya must have been so terrified to do so but so desperate and were probably left with no other option.

I complained a lot while I was in Mumbai about how at every shopping mall (no matter how big or small) and all big hotels there are huge lines for security checks. Taking out your bags, watches, belts, shoes etc just to enter a shopping mall seemed rather unnecessary to me at the time. And it's now that I'm so glad all these checks are in place.
ok.. was reading benazir bhutto's autobiography and got curious abt the facts and points she raises abt islam, kuran and the role of the ( what do you call the instituions where they teach this?)...

And then i tried to dig deeper into more translations avaiable fo the kuran..

I am still in research mode..however, this is what I realize...

Lack of education can lead to such grave mishaps...

Kuran ( atleast the verses i read..now i wonder if translation is strong instead of the actual urdu sentences) has some real strong statements..very strong statements...but the orientation, purpose and intention of those statements is positive...however...

Quran says that these tenets are for discussion...somewhere down the line it has converted to preaching..so a maulwi explains 'HIS' meaning of the verses to the masses and masses accept it..which has given rise to this orthodox single track understanding of what Allah wants and what not...

And this I beleive is directly linked to lack of education...family sizes are big...education was limited...and thus creeped in poverty ( ofcourse including other economic, governance facotrs).. in poverty you look for hope ..and then you want to beleive in the supreme power..and thus become gullible to accepting any viewpoint on what god wants...to save you from the troubles of this life and next..

so net net..my POV till now..( still researching)..its the lack of discussion, lack of understanding of what is written when it was written and what was the purpose... has created the so observed ' kattar' nature of islam in some sects...

And if i draw parallels...same is true for hinduism in terms of things like, caste system and all..

i think it was the harappan civilization where the so called castes were still occupation linked..but somewr down the line people forgot..

similary rise of islam - that period is horrible - world had one of the best philosphers and artists and mathematicians in the now called middle east region...and parts of europe...

but crime against women was at peak..and that's how and what gives this religion its USP...of recognizinf a woman's rights in law..

Christianity..is through and through a power game...an opportunity realized...i give you food, shelter, medicine..in return .. give me your soul..😆..well religion..convert..

and a poor man's loyalty lies with his morsel...

Ah!...Religion..the most curious of all the subjects..
hindu4lyf thumbnail

Originally posted by: enigmatic_zephy

Madras cafe will be let down if you are expecting a politicl thriller..

its more like a documentary minus the facts 😆

That's the thing about watching a John Abraham movie, even if you don't like the story you can never leave the cinema feeling disappointed.😛