Changing Reasons To Watch CID Over Years

prabha. thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

When CID started the reasons to watch CID were the wonderful mysteries. We did not have a fixed team then except for ACP Sir. Gradually we started getting permanent members who took the show to greater heights. Now we saw the show for the cast and the stories. We have some memorable cases with memorable performances.

With time the characters like ACP Pradyuman, Daya, Abhijit, Asha, Fredericks, Sudhakar become our extended family. What a team. The magic which could never be replicated after two of them (Asha and Sudhakar) left.

In March 2006 CID became hourly, gradually the standards started to fall, and mysteries became history. Now the only reason to see the show was to see the TEAM in action, the TRIO, the DUO - their case discussions, casual interactions, their chemistry, bonding, performances, the chases, etc. This kept the show going. In between we were blessed with some rare classic cases as well but they were just that RARE.

Come May 2010 we were blessed with another gift - CID goes Bi-Weekly. Now the mysteries are so brilliant that cases like Dead Boxer and Dance School Mass Murder which we did not like when they were originally aired have started looking like classics. The TEAM is gone, TRIO is non-existent, DUO is hardly seen and Qualis is ancient history. Now the reason to watch CID for me personally is left to seeing TRIO's faces. That's all. These days I see the show to see their faces because I don't get to see them elsewhere. If they started showing these three in casual conversations instead of cases in those two hours it will have the same effect or better infact.

CID was at its best when it was a Half Hour-Weekly, deteriorated when it became One Hour-Weekly and is in the doldrums in its current One Hour-Biweekly avatar. A detective series needs time to develop stories but they just want TRPs at any cost. FW has found an answer to all this - SONY. Whatever is going wrong is because of SONY, they are the boss and FW has no say. They are not going to change, they know there are bunch of idiots like me who will keep seeing the show no matter what - mystery or no mystery. I am gradually reaching a point where I am going to give up on FW.

Edited by prabha. - 15 years ago

JP22 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Everybody asked me this qestion daily wh r u watching this CID? what 's big in it...

I was in 7 th standered when CID stared...beacase of mystries I liked to watch CId another reason is Stam sir ,Ashitosh govarikar my favorite actors...but that time i wont impreed me that much..and due to my studies I left to watch CID..my parents didn't allowed to watch
then after 2 yers I saw one episode around 1999 stoen gun...and i liked new officer even Daya who were not very active in erli days...to i start watching little...after that our team form ACP,Abhijeet,Daya,Asha,Fredy and Sudhakkar m favorit team but still due to parents I wasn't a regular memeber..but after watching man eater episode I dont know but I have impreession like these people handle each episode hollwood type...and start watching regulary
but during the period of 2005-2006 they have added different shade..Abhi-daya's friendshi ..conversation..wow that's was amezing...sabke dil mein jaga banayi
til 2009 i used to watch due to this reason but after bi-weekaly there were fall in mystries,no abhi-Daya togather...but since I have watching since may years so it's became a part of the life...we cant skip this serial..and for our Trio and fredy I am watching this serial.thats the main reason behind it.
Edited by jiya1 - 15 years ago
sunnyp1414 thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
I personally watch episode these days as I feel there will be surprise package for me. I am fully hopeful till epsiode is aired, after epsiode is aired and I am not satisfied I keep my hopes on next weeks. and it has become part of my life as well. I share many memories with CID. I just can't resist If its Friday and Saturday night CID is coming and I am not watching (until there is some problem)

I know they need strong stories first of all, why not they held a competition they will get large number of stories among which number of them will be really good ones.

and from last few episodes I am seeing change, What we want can 't be put at its place in one go. They tried to put things back in yesterdays epsiode, had story been good (rather climax with logic) it would have been good episode. When you see you are being heard somewhere then why not give them time.

this week they tried few things for which I am happy at least they are trying to understand what their Fans want. But good stories they are missing.

Biweekly is generating TRPs for Sony so I think they will not retrieve , its to FW how they make their fans happy.
Edited by sunnyp1414 - 15 years ago
Jurassic_Shark thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
I started watching CID because of my interest in the mystery/thriller genre, and soon became very fond of the characters (and actors) too. Once the downfall in quality began, I guess my love for the regular team and nostalgic attachment to the show is what encouraged me to sit through all those awful episodes in 2008-09. Also I've always tried to be hopeful that the show will regain its quality and tried to watch every new episode with a positive frame of mind (which was often met with disappointment 😛 ).

I think the sooner they switch back to the weekly format, the better (or at least divide the episode into 2 halves and show them Fri-Sat). As is noticeable now the bi-weekly TRP's aren't exactly great, and IMO they should really consider revamping the format if they want to restore the quality (especially properly plan the stories and clues and not rush through them). Though generally speaking I felt most of this year's cases seem to be better than the 2008-09 ones, and that coupled with our team's consistent great performances encourage me to be cautiously optimistic for every new episode.

Chiinnu thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
i was a very lazy student in my class. always sit in last row, score zero in all subjects...
so if you are an idiot then you will get the freedom to do what you love,i was free. i started reading books , nonstop...and i fall in love with when i was7 yr old.so i found reading thrillers and others very interesting...i spend time on classic books ...other than texts
i read sherlock holmes once. it changed my life from zero to one.i got interest in thrillers.holmes motivated me to do something in life. i followed his words.
now one day i was simply sitting infront of tv i saw cid!!!!
after the show i thought of the theme and people in it all over again. i found it motivating....
every story ends with the criminals end..just like the quote "asathoma sadgamaya" . all officers were dedicated to their profession...
look at daya howmany times he sacrificed his life for something great....
i thought of my self and i was ashamed to be lazy like this, and i remember i do my homework after the show...may be because am so idiotic but the show is still motivationg me......
thats the reason i cant quit the show.
prabha. thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: DemonStar

Once the downfall in quality began, I guess my love for the regular team and nostalgic attachment to the show is what encouraged me to sit through all those awful episodes in 2008-09. Also I've always tried to be hopeful that the show will regain its quality......................

I think the sooner they switch back to the weekly format, the better (or at least divide the episode into 2 halves and show them Fri-Sat). As is noticeable now the bi-weekly TRP's aren't exactly great, and IMO they should really consider revamping the format if they want to restore the quality

That is part of my every day prayer now. Hope atleast GOD will listen to me one day.
Edited by prabha. - 15 years ago
visrom thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: prabha.

I am gradually reaching a point where I am going to give up on FW.

Dekho yaar...I am trying to cheer myself up after a long time....please.....
JP22 thumbnail
hamne eak siggy campaign kiya ab hum kya kar sakate hein...kya wo sunenge...we are getting fred up of this yaar...ab sehena kathin hogaya hein...what will we do for that?
Edited by jiya1 - 15 years ago
JP22 thumbnail
no one can give answer of this question? hum bhi jo karenge usaka koi fayada nahi hoga yahi khayal hamesha hamare dil mein aata hein😕😲
Chiinnu thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
the topic is reasons to watch cid?then i thought is should be nostalgic,not aggressive 😊