RTee thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
Ladies smoking is not new in India and not aping the West.
Beedis were invented here and most women working the tobacco fields used to smoke them.

Smoking is a no no, whether man or woman.

Fast food is like Jaitser Ayurved factory and America is Shyamal bhai. Wants to get the world addicted to unhealthy but addictive stuff, so that one is enslaved for life...😃
dixie123 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

@Arti: I didn't mean smoking was aping the west. Baaki SAb.

But, I agree, as part of globalization all these companies go round the world opening their stores. And people get into their trap.

The problem is therre is no moderation. And the youngsters think it is hip to do all that Americans do.

GoodDoc_2105 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Alcohol consumption is quite common at our parties both men and women do

Smoking is a bit less probably because of the profession😕
Muktchand thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 2
arre its easy blame westernization its depend on person to person...can't blame...on western effect

but here anything happen blame on west

arre even in my family...people said it...😆

People gaining weight blame IT Divorce rate increasing Blame IT

Girls Boys way too modern blame IT
Edited by blushing - 11 years ago
Muktchand thumbnail
In fact people blame my folks for my still not married status since I am in IT...😆

its fashion here whatever happen put blame on IT and IT people 😈
adi2512 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: aparnauma

Alcohol consumption is quite common at our parties both men and women do

Smoking is a bit less probably because of the profession😕

Though I do not drink, am' cool with alcohol, if one maintains their limits.
Though it is a taboo in my maternal family, got pretty used to witnessing same, while working ( parties etc., )...and then being married into a family who is into ex service men parties etc., where Men and Women enjoy their drink with same gusto 😆
My MIL is a teetotaller and hubby does not go beyond a peg of Brandy with Hot water once in a while ( for medicinal purpose ) in the privacy of home.
My FIL when he was alive, used to have a large collection of various expensive brands , I believe...😆
Muktchand thumbnail
hummm drinking within limit is ok...fine but yah smoking is bit 🤔
i never feel its cool sign...way peeps hold it in their hands...

smell...oh...its 🤢 after one point one can't breath...😡
Muktchand thumbnail
helloz...

so Mr Murthy and his son move out from Infy
adi2512 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: blushing

helloz...

so Mr Murthy and his son move out from Infy

Is it ?
😲
Totally ? 😕
Muktchand thumbnail
BANGALORE: Infosys has appointed Vishal Sikka, former CTO of SAP, as the chief executive officer and managing director of the company. Sikka will be inducted as a whole time director of the board and CEO & MD on June 14, 2014. He will take over as CEO & MD from S D Shibulal on August 1.

Executive chairman N R Narayana Murthy and his son Rohan Murty will leave the company by October, almost four years ahead of Murthy's designated term.

Vishal Sikka was, until recently, a member of the executive board of SAP, leading all products and driving innovation globally.

The Baroda-born Sikka, the brain behind game-changing HANA platform that converges database and application platform capabilities in-memory to transform transactions, analytics, text analysis, predictive and spatial processing so businesses can operate in real-time. At SAP, he was responsible for all products, from traditional and cloud-based applications to technology and platform products including HANA, analytics, mobile and middleware. In addition, Sikka led multiple initiatives to accelerate innovation and research at SAP. He holds a PhD in computer science from Stanford University.
The board has also elevated UB Pravin Rao, president and whole-time director, as chief operating officer, with effect from June 14.

"I am pleased with the selection of Vishal Sikka as our new CEO." said executive chairman, NR Narayana Murthy. "Vishal brings valuable experience as a leader of a large, global corporation. His illustrious track record and value system make him an ideal choice to lead Infosys. On behalf of all of us at Infosys, I would like to thank Gopalakrishnan, Shibulal and Batni for their contributions."

Murthy and S Gopalakrishnan will voluntarily step down as executive chairman and executive vice chairman, respectively, on June 14. Murthy will be designated as chairman emeritus with effect from October 11, 2014 in recognition of his contributions to the company. In order to facilitate a smooth transition of responsibilities, they will continue on the board till October 10 as the non-executive chairman and non-executive vice chairman, respectively. Srinath Batni, whole-time director of the company, will step down from the board on July 31.

"I am pleased with the selection of Vishal Sikka as our new CEO," said executive chairman NR Narayana Murthy. "Vishal brings valuable experience as a leader of a large, global corporation. His illustrious track record and value system make him an ideal choice to lead Infosys. On behalf of all of us at Infosys, I would like to thank Gopalakrishnan, Shibulal and Batni for their contributions."

Sikka said, "I am honored to lead Infosys, an iconic company built by pioneers in the technology industry. I look forward to working with and learning from talented Infoscions around the world. Computing technology is reshaping every industry across every walk of life. We, at Infosys, have a unique opportunity to deliver breakthrough solutions that will bring greater value to our clients, employees, investors and other stakeholders. I am grateful to the Infosys Nominations and Governance Committee, Kamath, Murthy and the board for this opportunity."

Murthy and Gopalakrishnan will voluntarily step down as executive chairman and executive vice chairman on June 14. In order to facilitate a smooth transition of responsibilities, they will continue on the board till October 10, 2014 as the non-executive chairman and non-executive vice chairman, respectively.

The executive chairman's office will be dissolved with effect from June 14. Rohan Murty, whose appointment was co-terminus with the executive chairman, will leave the company on June 14. The remaining members of the chairman's office will take up other responsibilities in the company.