Champion Chaalbaaz No.1--Articles Archive

TrustYourSelf thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Posted: 18 years ago

Champion Chaalbaaz No.1--Articles Archive

All articles related to Champion Chaalbaaz No.1 should be posted here!

No comments allowed!

TrustYourSelf thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
Who's 'Chaalbaaz No1'?
Friday, December 21, 2007 04:00 [IST]

Host and director Sajid Khan will now be judging the show, which will laud the greatest prankster reports Sapana Patil Poojary

He is naturally funny and the effect is contagious. One of the best hosts on TV, Sajid Khan, will now turn judge for 'Champion Chaalbaaz No. 1' (Sony) —where participants will outdo each other in playing pranks. Sajid will be accompanied by humourist and anchor Cyrus Broacha.

Sajid says, "This show is fun and honestly, I don't have much work here; I am just judging it." Given that Sajid and Cyrus profess a different line of humour, do the two have any creative clashes? "No, no" refutes Sajid adding, "Cyrus and I have hosted live events together. We have a judgment of each other's humour. Hence, there have been no clashes. I feel we complement each other. And in fact, I connect to him because I am half-Parsi."

Although Sajid recently made his directorial debut with the hit 'Heyy Babyy', he says he can't detach himself from TV. "I had debuted on TV. And these days, all successful people are on TV—be it Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan or Farah Khan,"
he says.

Sajid had made his TV debut by anchoring a game show called 'Main Bhi Detective' (one of the first shows on Zee) 13 years ago and went on to give several hit shows including 'Kehne Mein Kya Harz Hai' and 'Sajid No 1'. In fact, his 'Ikke Pe Ikka', is till running. "It is the 'DDLJ' of TV, as it is in its 619th week. It is running on a no-profit, no loss basis. We are running the show because it is the channel's heritage and I will do it even from the hospital bed," laughs Sajid.

Ask him if he too believes that comedy is a difficult genre to explore and he says, "Emotional and action scenes are liked by most the people. You don't' need language to communicate emotions. But comedy is a divided medium. What may be liked by critics may not be liked by masses and vice versa."

Quiz him if he would give himself a second chance at acting and he says, "I was terrible in 'Jhooth Bole Kauwa Kaate'. I have realised that I am not a good actor but am a good performer. I'd like to act on TV though not with the so-called stars."

Sajid is set to do three more TV shows; one similar to 'Koffee with Karan', one a film-based show and another a stand-up comedy.

Sajid, who recently turned 37, says he got a long lecture from his mother advising him to settle down. Sajid's repartee to his mother was, "You settle down first."

https://movies.indiainfo.com/2007/12/21/0712210404_sajid.html

shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
By A.L. Chougule

It's barely a week since Jhalak Dikhla Jaa ended but Sony is launching not one but two reality shows on its weekend band this week. K for Kishore will be telecast on Friday and Saturday at 9 pm and Champion Chaalbaaz No. 1 Saturday at 10 pm.

As the name suggests, K for Kishore is a unique concept that will recreate the magic of legendary singer Kishore Kumar. This reality show will run for 10 weeks with 12 contestants, all professional singers, competing and aiming at being the voice closest to that of the late Kishore Kumar. The judges for the show are music director and singer Bappi Lahiri who knew Kishore as a friend and musician, and singer Sudesh Bhonsle, who completed all of Kishore's incomplete songs after his death. Says Sudesh, "The 12 contestants have been chosen through auditions in several cities. They all are professional singers, some of who have also sung cover versions of Kishoreda's songs."

Champion Chaalbaaz No. 1 is an Indian version of the international format Prankstar. It is a simple reality-based comedy format show that will feature 33 contestants putting their 'mischievous best' foot forward. Each episode will showcase three participants who will pull of an individual prank followed by them getting together to pull off a combined prank. Every episode will also feature a celebrity prank as well. The contestants will be judged by a live studio audience as well as Cyrus and Saajid.

www.deccan.com

shruti thumbnail
Playing pranks on Sony
THIS one's for pranksters. Sony's latest reality show Champion Chaalbaz No 1 will have some of the biggest pranksters from across the country vying for the title by pulling off some of the most audacious pranks. What's more , Cyrus Broacha and Sajid Khan who are known to play bakra on unsuspecting souls will be hosting and judging them. Be it a celebrity, politician or the common man on the street, Cyrus and Sajid will now encounter people who are out to beat them in what they do best! The contest will have 33 contestants with each episode showcasing three pranksters who will pull off an individual prank followed by them getting together to play a combined prank. Every episode will also feature a celebrity prank. The show is the Indian version of the international format Prankster from Endemol India. For the first time, this format show will be simultaneously launched in India and the US. It goes on air from December 22 every Saturday at 10 pm.

http://www.screenindia.com/fullstory.php?content_id=18373
shruti thumbnail
Sajid Khan gets lighter
Author: Shaheen Parkar Date: 21 Dec 2007

The anchor-director weighed 99 kilos; has now shed 17 kilos and wants to lose some more

There's one more addition to B-Town's 'lost it' category Sajid Khan. He has already knocked off 17 kilos and aims to shed another seven.

The anchor-director owes his fitness regime to Shah Rukh Khan. "I was greatly inspired by SRK; if he could do it at 40-plus; why can't I at 37 years? I weighed 99 kilos, now I am 82 but my aim is to be 75."

Khaana mana hai

Sajid says that he is already begun receiving compliments, "It is noticeable and people are asking me about it," says the younger brother of director Farah Khan.

"I am not following any prescribed diet. I only eat soups and toasts. I also hit the gym daily, especially the treadmill."

Apart from Shah Rukh, what also goaded Sajid into a weight loss programme was that he had just left himself go. "When I was directing Heyy Babyy, nothing else mattered. Now that I have time, I can concentrate on shedding the flab."

Chaalbaaz wanted

The audience can see his trim look from this weekend in Sony's new reality show Champion Chaalbaaz No 1. He will co-judge the show with Cyrus Broacha. This desi version of the American show Prankster has them judging a bunch of funsters.

Each episode showcases three people who will pull off an individual prank and they will get together to pull off a combined prank. There will also be a celebrity prank.

"A Champion Chaalbaaz is one who can pull off a gag; make a complete bakra of someone and say a joke that appeals to all," says Sajid who appears as a judge for the first time on the small screen.

"This will be the only reality show where the judges will not squabble. Both Cyrus and myself have anchored several shows earlier, so we know what to do. Cyrus is Parsi and I am half Parsi, so we both complement each other."

Of course, Sajid will also be ready with a box of scotchtape knowing Cyrus's penchant of talking non-stop! "I think we both will have to restrain ourselves."

http://www.mid-day.com/entertainment/bollywood/article?_EX T_5_articleId=838287&_EXT_5_groupId=14