Basskarrr thumbnail
Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail 2nd Anniversary Thumbnail
Posted: 1 years ago

Originally posted by: loginidran

I don’t even think it is their original point. What they meant to say, as per my understanding at least, that people think the European looking girls are only considered as real beauties as per some people’s standards. No idea how this disintegrated into north south thing.

And then do mental gymnastics about casting as if the only " ethereal" women are eurocentric north Indian women?

From their post on page 8. Quote me a post from this thread where anybody said this idea that they introduced in the debate about the cast being plain or not

Edited by Basskarrr - 1 years ago
catchm-ifucan thumbnail
Rocker Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: NimbuMirchi

Ekdum sach bolela re tu bhidu.

Kriti Sanon ko dekhke nazar uske figure pe jati hai. Sai Pallavi ka face hich ekdum electric hai. Woh bole toh intrinsic respect.

I am excited to see her in Ramayan.

That’s the first thing that describes Sita in the actual text. Her beauty was said to be in her conduct and character. The first thing she commands by an onlooker is respect, NOT awe for her so called conventional superficial beauty.

catchm-ifucan thumbnail

Originally posted by: bollymolly

I have seen people appreciate Pooja Hegde over Kriti sanon in this very forum..I disagree with your view point.

Sorry…come again? Which viewpoint you disagree? 😳

bollymolly thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail 1st Anniversary Thumbnail

Originally posted by: blue-ice.1

hain?? How did the North/South war start??smiley36

Most of the top BW actresses are from the South and they are all gorgeous.....Hema, Aish, Deepika, Rekha, Sridevi, Jayaprada....to name a few......no one called Sai Pallavi plain because she is from the South......people called her plain....because they feel that she is plain...smiley24

But anyways.....it is difficult to dislike Sita ji.....so Sai is going to grow on us...I am sure...

And if we are going to argue about the virtues and beauty of Goddess Sita and Lord Ram......humanely it won't be possible for anyone to play Ram and Sita......Lord Ram is called Maryada Purushottam Ram.....no human can play him on screen.....

But I am sure that Ranbir and Sai will do a good job as they both are good actors..smiley20

Exactly! This should end this discussion...You put it in a perfect way

Blueeeee thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: bollymolly

Again you said Kriti is bashed..which means that it isn't about South/North eurocentric...i believe you are going off topic...Every actress will get bashed for some reason or other, even actors too...That has nothing to do with ''region''

Bruh, I never even said it was about north-South? All the alternative suggestions on this thread has been actresses who are fair-skinned, north Indian women who meet eurocentric standards of beauty. You are the first one who even suggested Deepika and Aish— who genuinely are considered two of the most beautiful women across Indian film industries.

The deflections to justify a pathetic, sick joke about Ravan being "happy to returm" his victim if played by an allegedly unattractive actor are genuinely mindboggling, and anyone calling them out is being turned into the bad guy who cannot even take an "innocuous" kidnapping abduction joke. It is truly another level of rhetorical gaslighting.

The entire conversation has turned from "kidnapping abduction jokes are sick" to "inhe issue hai north-South se" based on half of a statement' and the ones victim-shaming are the ones being "wrongfully called out by "phonies."

Truly fùcking amazing. I'd still hold out that if reverence for Sita and anger towards her kidnapper abductor is contingent on whether the actor playing her is ethereally beautiful or not, then this movie should not be made.

catchm-ifucan thumbnail

Btw as per the Valmiki Ramayana, it’s Rama who is supposed to be a breathtakingly handsome person. He was so handsome that even a shy and reserved person like Sita couldn’t take her eyes off him making even Rama feel self conscious and shy🥰. There was absolutely no clear description of Sita ma’s beauty like how Valmiki goes to lengths in establishing the beauty of Rama. So if anything, it’s Ranbir who is miscast here.

Ye topic kaha se kaha pahunch gaya smiley44

bollymolly thumbnail
Explorer Thumbnail 1st Anniversary Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Blueeeee

Bruh, I never even said it was about north-South? All the alternative suggestions on this thread has been actresses who are fair-skinned, north Indian women who meet eurocentric standards of beauty. You are the first one who even suggested Deepika and Aish— who genuinely are considered two of the most beautiful women across Indian film industries.

The deflections to justify a pathetic, sick joke about Ravan being "happy to returm" his victim if played by an allegedly unattractive actor are genuinely mindboggling, and anyone calling them out is being turned into the bad guy who cannot even take an "innocuous" kidnapping abduction joke. It is truly another level of rhetorical gaslighting.

The entire conversation has turned from "kidnapping abduction jokes are sick" to "inhe issue hai north-South se" based on half of a statement' and the ones victim-shaming are the ones being "wrongfully called out by "phonies."

Truly fùcking amazing. I'd still hold out that if reverence for Sita and anger towards her kidnapper abductor is contingent on whether the actor playing her is ethereally beautiful or not, then this movie should not be made.

Sai Pallavi is ''fair skinned '' woman...if skin color is concerned..And she is not considered ''beauty'' by South Indian standards too..I don't know what you are trying to imply here...People expect Sita's role should be done by some one look regal you made a huge regionlstic fight....

People also bash ""Jahnvi '' when there was rumour that she will be Sita...You are not getting the point and going in cycles....

Edited by bollymolly - 1 years ago
CuckooCutter7 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: loginidran

Btw as per the Valmiki Ramayana, it’s Rama who is supposed to be a breathtakingly handsome person. He was so handsome that even a shy and reserved person like Sita couldn’t take her eyes off him making even Rama feel self conscious and shy🥰. There was absolutely no clear description of Sita ma’s beauty like how Valmiki goes to lengths in establishing the beauty of Rama. So if anything, it’s Ranbir who is miscast here.

As per the versions i read, both Sita ji and Ram ji were breathtakingly good looking and made for each other in that regard. Dont know where you get your Sita ji being any less His equal from. But even so, there were other characters like Ahalya and Nakula who were more good looking. Let me know if you need links from the net... you can get them yourself by asking about the good looking figures in Ramayan.

Btw, since some folks brought up the topic, Sita ji was supposed to be fair skinned while Ram ji had a plain mustard/ olive hue complexion. Of course, someone can be verybattractuve irrespective of skin tone.

Ps- it is amusing that folks (not you please!) wax eloquent about the epics but can't differentiate between abduction and kidnapping. Makes the rest of their comprehension highly suspect.smiley36

hasini009 thumbnail

Super.Gif GIF - Super Saipallavi Showing Thump GIFs