What's going on with Katrina?

Star_girl thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Okay so, all her movies since Dhoom 3 back in 2013 have been flops, except for Bang Bang which wasn't a major hit IIRC (correct me if I am wrong here). She has had three straight flops since Phantom, and if JJ also flops, it will be her fourth straight flop. So what's going on? Has her BO pull completely diminished? People still watch her dance videos on youtube and seem to enjoy her dancing but it's not pulling them to the theatres. So, what exactly is going on here? Can she bounce back with TZH?

cougarTown thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail 11th Anniversary Thumbnail + 6
she tried riskier stuff
tbh..phantom, fitoor, BBD and Jagga

none were safe sure shot hit choices

but her forthcoming look successes for sure ..we cannot be 100% sure in BW anymore..but still looks like she will surely have 3 back to back successes with the 3 khans

she is still one of the topmost stars of the country and i cannot say for the rest but Jagga is a movie which will surely not hurt anyone's filmography regardless of verdict..it happened to be one of her most well received roles
Edited by cougarTown - 8 years ago
Star_girl thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
^^ Ab koi dekhne nahi gaya tou kya well-received. Critics are bored of trashing her anyway. ALR ka project mein tou Anu will walk away with the credit, Aamir's film won't do anything for her IMHO, it will do well for Fatimah like it's supposed to. TZH, yeah, I think that will be her bounce-back role. I think it's established by now that pointless hits bring actresses nothing anymore. But her next few definitely looks certain successes. Wonder if things will turn around for her BO pull wise after.
643898 thumbnail
I dont think she has good role in either of her next 3 movies
ponymo thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4
You have to give it to Katrina. After 5 back to back unsuccessful films, when she's fast approaching her mid 30s and with everyone declaring she's over: she got back into the game and how! Bagging films opposite all the three Khans. Even if her role is not great, she has ensured she will be in limelight for the next couple of years at least.

And since when was she known for doing meaty roles anyway? 80% of her filmography has her in flowerpot roles. She just has to get three big songs in these three films and she would have got what she wanted out of the films.

But yeah, most of her fanbase has moved on to the likes of Shraddha/Disha Patani/Alia Bhatt etc. So her star power has definitely diminished. But the way she conquered IIFA, it doesn't seem like she is done just yet.
Kara_R thumbnail
7th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Looking forward to her TOH doing something classical.
Maraka_Musso89 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Don't want to be mean but I hope she won't bounce back and retire from movies. She just can't seem to improve.
2filmy thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail Commentator Level 2 Thumbnail
Her next 3 films are with the 3 Khans
May be it will not do much for her
But if they are successful at the box office
Those films will get added to her resume
Her success ratio will change somewhat
But yes her pull has surely diminished a lot
She is getting a lot of praise for Jagga Jasoos
pakeezah thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Star_girl

Okay so, all her movies since Dhoom 3 back in 2013 have been flops, except for Bang Bang which wasn't a major hit IIRC (correct me if I am wrong here). She has had three straight flops since Phantom, and if JJ also flops, it will be her fourth straight flop. So what's going on? Has her BO pull completely diminished? People still watch her dance videos on youtube and seem to enjoy her dancing but it's not pulling them to the theatres. So, what exactly is going on here? Can she bounce back with TZH?

---------

She was still the biggest star heroine at Iifa. Which heroine is doing better than her? Can you enlighten me?
QueenBolly thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Kara_R

Looking forward to her TOH doing something classical.

Same here. Although I am nervous to see how she will look in the movie.