1101232 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Anachronist

haan today was my weekly off toh chala gaya tha😆
Vidya was excellent , surprisingly arjun gives a restrained and good performance . Ending bit predictable. Tota roy should not have done this movie , wasted totally. Haldar babu was nice . Overall if you dont compare it to kahani then you will enjoy but climax ne maja kirkira kar dia thoda sa🥱.

Tell me honestly was Vidya's performance on the same patch like The Dirty Picture/Kahaani? I mean is it worth of national/best actress award? 😊
Anachronist thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: FilmyyFanatic

Tell me honestly was Vidya's performance on the same patch like The Dirty Picture/Kahaani? I mean is it worth of national/best actress award? 😊

let me just say she was very convincing in her role 😛 .
1101232 thumbnail

let me just say she was very convincing in her role😛.

Actually, till now I've not read any review where critics have said this that it was an award winning performance like they had said for Vidya's previous performances that's why I asked. I really want her to win national award 😆😭 I still remember how she was robbed off for Kahaani, she indeed deserved NA for Kahaani IMO. That's why I wanted her to win this time.🥺
Edited by FilmyyFanatic - 8 years ago
Anachronist thumbnail
@filmy
I dont think she would win NA , sorry 😳
1101232 thumbnail

@filmy

I dont think she would win NA , sorry😳

& what about other award shows like FF, IIFA, Star Screen, Zee Cine etc?
Anachronist thumbnail

Originally posted by: FilmyyFanatic

& what about other award shows like FF, IIFA, Star Screen, Zee Cine etc?

wo sab toh already alia bhatt type ke log ke liye fix ho gaye honge 😆
RamSiyaRam thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

MOVIE REVIEW: Kahaani 2

BY LOKESH DHARMANI Thursday, 01 December 2016

Here's City 1016's Lokesh Dharmani's verdict on the film

I have questions. Many, many questions.

Why would a kidnapping case be suddenly reported after eight long years? Why would an uncle report that case when he himself wants to settle a score with the kidnapper? Why would they forcefully insert a love story when there was no need? And, most importantly, why would anyone cast Arjun Rampal as a cop? It's like Fendi just walked into Fab India. Though Arjun is extremely earnest, alas his character is hardly fleshed out.

Kahaani 2 starts on a very promising note. It's pacy, gripping and engaging. The flashback in the first half deals with child abuse and is written and enacted so well that you genuinely root for the leading lady and her brave ways. You are emotionally invested in the little child's story. There are no disturbing visuals in the movie yet the danger looms large. And it breaks for the interval, just at the right time. You go and fetch yourself that big bucket of popcorn (damn those 35 dirhams) anticipating an edge-of-the-seat, bite-your-nails kind of a climax.

Alas, it's a bummer. Surprisingly the film resorts to such Hindi film clichs that I found myself Googling to check who really the director of the movie was: Sujoy Ghosh or Rohit Shetty.

Sample this: The leading lady is in coma. The villain wants to kill her. So kill her. No, there is full, I will spare you now, will later give you a painful death' bull crap that happens for no rhyme or reason. At this point, I wanted to become Bob Biswas from Kahaani, look at the writer and say, "Nomoshkaar...ek minute...BANG!" Oh how much I missed Bob and his menace!!

Then our leading lady wakes up from coma, her wounds are fresh, her stitches still intact. A normal person in that condition won't be able to move a muscle. Our dearest Durga pulls out the drip and bandages and marches out to save her daughter. Wait, is she Vidya Sinha of Kahaani 2 or Sunny Deol of Ghayal?

It's this improbability that makes you lose interest in the film. I mean we all know, she will bleed, she will sweat, she will run, she will fight, she will outshine the professionals and the police...short of standing on two bikes like Ajay Devgn, she will do everything and come out unscathed and we will have to believe it. Yawn!

Even the surprise at the climax is so underwhelming that the Sherlock Holmes in you has already cracked it much before it's shown. Sadly, the climax is also devoid of any logic. Some people are caught in a house on fire. No one cares to check. It's assumed they are dead. No dead bodies recovered, no postmortem, nothing. Everyone shakes head, Oh ho, they are dead!?!? Come, let's go back home and watch a film on Netflix.' I mean your uniform suggests you are the Army, the Police. Your actions reveal you are some extras in an Ekta Kapoor show.

Vidya Balan ditches layers of makeup to prove what a fab actor she is. Anyway the equation in Hindi films is simple: no makeup makes it meaningful cinema. I don't have any problem with that. In fact, it's heartwarming to see such simple women as desirable in the movie...but what's the point, bro? Vidya is a fine actor, no doubt, but she doesn't surprise us with anything extraordinary.

I really wanted to like this film. But sorry, it left me a bit underwhelmed!!

Anachronist thumbnail
@Ram
yaar yeh lokesh dharmani ke reviews mat post kiya karo , seems like a douche to be honest , sirf apne fav log ke bakwaas movies ko like karta hai . apshabd nikal jaenge aise log ke liye 😆
1101232 thumbnail

wo sab toh already alia bhatt type ke log ke liye fix ho gaye honge😆

I feel sick just thinking about actresses like Alia/Sonam winning best actress award. I mean just imagine the standards Sonam & Alia are the strongest contenders for the best actress category this year. Like the competition level is so downgraded 😆
Edited by FilmyyFanatic - 8 years ago
ponymo thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Kahaani 2 movie review: Vidya Balan is the hero in this thriller

Kahaani 2, starring Vidya Balan and Arjun Rampal, is in theatres today. Will it match up to Kahaani? Here is our Kahaani 2 movie review.

Ananya Bhattacharya | Posted by Samrudhi Ghosh
New Delhi, December 2, 2016 | UPDATED 15:58 IST
A +A -

Kahaani 2, starring Vidya Balan and Arjun Rampal in the lead roles, is the big Bollywood release today. Directed by Sujoy Ghosh, will Kahaani 2 be able to match the success of Kahaani? Here is our Kahaani 2 movie review.

Kahaani 2 Cast: Vidya Balan, Arjun Rampal, Tunisha Sharma, Jugal Hansraj, Kharaj Mukherjee

Kahaani 2 Direction: Sujoy Ghosh

Kahaani 2 Rating:4 Star Rating: Recommended4 Star Rating: Recommended (2.5/5)

Almost five years since Sujoy Ghosh and Vidya Balan gifted us the gem called Kahaani, the two are here with a sequel. But if you expect a thriller as riveting as Kahaani, Kahaani 2 won't live up to your high expectations.

Titled Kahaani 2: Durga Rani Singh, the sequel is the story of Vidya Sinha (Vidya Balan) and her daughter Minni (Tunisha Sharma), who live in Chandan Nagar. The story is set in West Bengal, from Kalimpong to Kolkata, and Chandan Nagar in between; Bengal and its people, everything is captured well on camera. The ponds and roads are just like you see in a small town, not through rose-tinted glasses.

Vidya's daughter is paralysed waist down, and she wants to get her daughter treated at the New York Children's Hospital. This lower-middle class family has Vidya striving hard to save money, saving the rickshaw fare to the station and continuing with a 'dabba' phone, while Minni keeps reminding her mother to not be 'kanjoos'. Vidya leaves for office one fine morning and comes back to find Minni missing. A stray call on her phone asks her to come to a certain place if she wants to see her daughter alive. On the way, she met with an accident.

While Vidya slips into a coma, sub-inspector Inderjit Singh (Arjun Rampal) gets the case. At the Chandan Nagar police station, Inder's senior, Pranab Haldar (Kharaj Mukherjee), tells him that they are looking for a woman called Durga Rani Singh, wanted for kidnapping and murder. Except, Durga Rani Singh is the spitting image of Vidya Sinha.

The biggest strength of Kahaani 2 lies in the performances of its hero, Vidya Balan, and Arjun Rampal, who shines as Inderjit. Balan is terrific in her role. She is hysterical, near-mad when her daughter is kidnapped. She makes you feel her pain, but there are scenes when you want the Vidya Bagchi of Kahaani to come back on screen. Balan overdoes some of the bits and you wish she were a bit understated in her role.

Arjun Rampal is a revelation in Kahaani 2. He plays Inder with elan, even though he is yet to reach emoting perfection, if there exists such a thing. Much like Vidya Bagchi, you miss her charioteer Satyaki/Rana (Parambrata Chakrabarty) too in the sequel. Jugal Hansraj is hardly a Bob Biswas. The Kahaani nostalgia is crippling in Kahaani 2. Therein lies the biggest problem of Kahaani 2.

You are unable to get out of the first film. The twists are predictable, including the climax. There's this problem with most thrillers Bollywood has been giving us these days. Deciphering the twists is not a difficult task at all. In the near-five years that have passed since Kahaani, our senses too have become a bit sharper, and it doesn't help dumbing them down and pretending to jump in your seat at the contrived twists.

When a director like Sujoy Ghosh expects his audience to accept a guessable twist in Kahaani 2, it doesn't work. The flair of Ghosh in Kahaani is missing in Kahaani 2. The script doesn't give enough for a person to be happy about. Kahaani 2 touches upon the subject of child sexual abuse, and that's left dangling.

After Kahaani, you couldn't walk out of the theatre without carrying Vidya Bagchi home. In Kahaani 2, you're not bothered.

Kahaani 2 is alive in its little details. Like the stray comment a streetside madman makes or the lighter exchanges between Kharaj and Inder. The cinematography is commendable. Mehram is a hummable song in Kahaani 2. Aur Main Khush Hoon reminds you of Aashiyan from Barfi.

Want to watch Kahaani 2? Make sure you don't for a moment think of Kahaani. A decent one-time watch if you're able to.

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/kahaani-2-movie-review-vidya-balan-arjun-rampal/1/825092.html