roni_berna thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: Mallika-E-Bhais

Lol. Ash calls her Maa to spite Jaya B & NOTHING will make me change my view. It makes no bloody sense why she calls a lady, who has been known & whispered & talked about & has big scandals to her name along with her father-in-law, B Sr, makes NO sense why the daughter in law of the house refers to THAT woman, as Maa. I knew the gloves had been shoved to the ground & stomped on, the day Ash was on stage at the Stardust awards last year, and bent & touched Rekha's feet & in front of the entire film industry + outsiders, called her "Maa." Nope. No other explanation. The woman can play at a very high level when she wants to. Daaayum!! That's super-cold!

True. Rekha is considered Jaya's souten and I can't buy that 'respect' logic when it comes to affairs. The bahurani is not so adarsh 😆
d-_-b thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: ponymo

But who likes logic when the idea is to bash?

Your logic being that most South Indians go around calling everyone Ma as in mother? Ma is used as a suffix to make the sentence a bit more endearing. Take your example.

[quote]Our class teacher herself would say, "No ma, that's wrong".[/quote]

Do you mean you class teacher is calling you mother? No. Its what elders say to ppl younger to them in an endearing way. While Amma is used generally for mother, vendors use it to call middle aged ladies in the market(Behenji is used in North) etc.

As for what Ash said [quote]she said, ''It's great to receive it from Maa.''[/quote]

This means she is calling her equivalent to mother.Ma is used mostly by North Indians to show respect. Radha Ma, Geeta Ma, Rekha Ma. Ok its fine.

But given the history between Bachchans and Rekha,it would have been better to call her Rekha ji. But then if she wants to spite her MIL. 😆

Edited by CuttingChai - 9 years ago
Mrignaini thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4
So AB senior can hobnob with Salman Khan on KBC, single him out from the Khans to bend over backwards to praise him but Aish can't do it's equivalence. This forum and its selective amnesia. 😆
222149 thumbnail

Originally posted by: .rasgulla.

The same way that the B family can be close to Salman

no one is close to salman in B family except bachchan sr. who keeps it as a professional relationship plus his prior association with salim khan..rest maybe just do hi bye at occasions..
ponymo thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: CuttingChai

Your logic being that most South Indians go around calling everyone Ma as in mother? Ma is used as a suffix to make the sentence a bit more endearing. Take your example.

[quote]Our class teacher herself would say, "No ma, that's wrong".[/quote]

Do you mean you class teacher is calling you mother? No. Its what elders say to ppl younger to them in an endearing way. While Amma is used generally for mother, vendors use it to call middle aged ladies in the market(Behenji is used in North) etc.

As for what Ash said [quote]she said, ''It's great to receive it from Maa.''[/quote]

This means she is calling her equivalent to mother.Ma is used mostly by North Indians to show respect. Radha Ma, Geeta Ma, Rekha Ma. Ok its fine.

But given the history between Bachchans and Rekha,it would have been better to call her Rekha ji. But then if she wants to spite her MIL. 😆

The logic has already been given by Shalini.

And no, it's not just from elders to younger ppl, we used it in an endearing way to elders too. Like my friend would use "ma" when speaking to mothers of her friends. It's not unheard of, at least for me.

And if I remember it correctly, she did say "It's great to receive it from Maa", she said, looking at Rekha, that "It is great receiving it from you, ma".

Her association with Rekha is at least 15 years from before she became a Bachchan Bahu. Why would she change it now? To spite her MIL? Well, Jaya herself doesnt seem to mind mingling with Rekha. I am sure she doesnt mind Ash referring to Rekha endearingly.
d-_-b thumbnail
^ The quote is from article.
d-_-b thumbnail

Originally posted by: MiniRulz

no one is close to salman in B family except bachchan sr. who keeps it as a professional relationship plus his prior association with salim khan..rest maybe just do hi bye at occasions..

Yeah it would be wrong of AB Sr if he calls Salman, beta or bete jaisa. Imagine AB Sr repeatedly calling Salman , beta, on stage. Like Aish is calling Rekha, Maa. Otherwise don't think anyone really has any problem with Aish and Rekha interacting with each other.
zehreeli.kheer thumbnail
Visit Streak 750 Thumbnail 16th Anniversary Thumbnail + 7

Originally posted by: MiniRulz

Aish and Rekha also seem to be hy and Bye at occasions.. I am yet to see pics of her visiting Rekha anytime... When Bachchan family like Amitabh meet Salman, they hug and are chummy.. So I still say, if they can be all fine with Salman, I don't see why Aish can't be fine with Rekha and treat her the same way that she used to before her marriage
ponymo thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: CuttingChai

^ The quote is from article.

It's been misquoted, like most articles are. The video is up online if you want to validate it.
1017676 thumbnail
[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhs8-GCmZe8[/YOUTUBE]

Maa ko Maa nahin bolengey Kya? 😉😉😉

http://www.pinkvilla.com/entertainment/video/364268/aa-rahe-hai-watch-rekha-literally-making-way-big-b-event

There have been many a complicated relationship in Bollywood over the years. One of them would be the Amitabh Bachchan - Rekha saga. The veteran actors, who have led their lives with dignity and grace are seen here at a recent awards show. It is sweet to see how Rekha literally made way for Big B, thus avoiding a awkward moment of them both.

Rekha is seen posing for the shutterbugs at the event. However, the gorgeous veteran actress did not want to stop for long. The reason being that Big B was catching up and Rekha perhaps did not want to be caught in an embarrassing situation.

Rekha however was open about it as she said, "Aa rahe hai" and rushed off from the spotlight.

Isn't that sweet?