TheRager thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
If PRDP can be a niche movie...why not Fan?😕
Jiyagulabi_26 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
It had fight sequences, chasing sequences, illogical plots, double role, OTT drama, foreign locations a big budget and so on.
This is mostly my friends said. I haven't seen yet but those who have seen can answer you better.it has a big budget of 105 CRS.
rimi2983 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2
Even I want to know how is this a niche movie?

CDI was much more niche than Fan coz:

CDI was based on real character, focused on Hockey ( not so popular game in masses) and had SRK in jaded look...

Fan has 2SRKs, one being conventional SRK look. It has OTT and masala plot like Darr . How is it not conventional masala BW movie!!

Johnny.Balraj thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
105 crore budget film is niche lol

Pathetic execuse
Maraka_Musso89 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
A high budget has nothing to do with the fact that a movie is a niche one...
Edited by mali89 - 9 years ago
rimi2983 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: mali89

Rule out everything that doesn't suit the niche definition...

Just lack of songs, message and heroine makes it niche!!

Neerja was much more niche than Fan...

80% of Indian poplation has not travelled in a fligh...how can they relate to hijack movie !!
Breath-Mark thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: mali89

Exactly. Since this Hindi cinema in general have never handled any niche film with a budget.. Cos they know their biz side that niche don't appeal and won't be money churners..
Novarieaa thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
I don't know if it is niche but it's quite dark. It hits you hard and has quite a realistic take on the fan culture! Because we see fans similar to Gaurav all around us even in this forum itself.
It would not make you happy, it doesn't celebrate life or bravery, you don't come out feeling strong, rather it leaves you depressed or disturbed.
I am not good with words, perhaps someone who is, can describe better!
The long action scenes were the weakest part of the film.

Edited by PurpleAir - 9 years ago
Maraka_Musso89 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: rimi2983

Rule out everything that doesn't suit the niche definition...

Just lack of songs, message and heroine makes it niche!!

Neerja was much more niche than Fan...

80% of Indian poplation has not travelled in a fligh...how can they relate to hijack movie !!

A conventional mainstream hindi movie has :
- songs
- a love story (thus a heroine for the glamour quotient that's why there is such a thing as flowerpot roles)
-an heroic figure (someone you can look up to). The good and the evil are often well-defined. It seems that this fine line is blurred in Fan.

Then most often than not regarding a big budgeted movie starring a super star, it would be released during hollydays.

FAN doesn't follow the standards of an usual mainstream hindi movie thus it is a niche movie. The numbers it could achieve are solely due to SRK's presence.
I think it was commendable from a production house such as YRF to take such a risk and try to innovate on the movie front. They tried offering something new to the Hindi public. Of course such a project is costly ; that's why they needed a star to back it otherwise they couldn't have put so much money in it.
Even if the budget would have been 1000cr it would have still been a niche movie because it's nit the kind of movie which appeal to a great part of the audience. Luxe is a niche market for example as are shows for people with big foot or clothes for very tall persons. The target isn't wide and the product isn't directed for the main audience anyways.
The trade shows that single screens aren't attracted to it while the metros are loving it. It's not surprising if the metro have been exposed to Hollywood movies and like this kind of content.

Neerja WAS a niche movie. Heroine centric films are by definition niche movies because it's not what the public would usually go for. That's why the budget was of 21cr when it could have been of more if there was a hero in it. Try imagining the financial outcomes if Sonam's role had been switched with a male one? It would have been tremendeous success.
.Achillies. thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: fivestars

u jealous haterz !! when srk fans are saying its a niche bas its a niche...period

we also saying it is niche today from friday, ab darr hai kahin bilkul niche na lag jaaye week 1 ke end tak 😆