Till date, I re-edit Bombay Velvet in my head: Anurag Kashyap

touch_of_pink thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 8

Till date, I re-edit Bombay Velvet in my head: Anurag Kashyap

Deccan Chronicle | Aarti Bhanushali | December 20, 2015, 22.57 pm IST
Anurag Kashyap

At a panel discussion during IIT-B's ongoing festival Mood I, director Anurag Kashyap addressed the debacle of Bombay Velvet.

In conversation with Bharathi Pradhan, Ramesh Sippy and Rajkumar Hirani about the evolution of cinema, Anurag acknowledged the things that led to the film's downfall " his arrogance being one them. "Bombay Velvet lost so much money that it was the combined cost of all my movies put together. I was experimenting with narrative storytelling. I guess there was also a bit of arrogance involved. Gangs of Wasseypur was also a narrative but there was a voiceover explaining everything. With Bombay Velvet, I refused to explain and that's how the narrative failed. I took the audience for granted.

"It was such a time lapse. People did not know the brief Jazz period in those days and taking people uninitiated, into that era and making an art film worth '90 crore somewhere did not work well.

"I stepped back and became so vulnerable with all the negativity in the press that I allowed the film to become what it became. Failure is always a director's fault because he doesn't say no' to things that he has to," he says.

He continues, "Till date when I go to sleep, I play the whole film in my head and re-edit it. A lot of other people invested in my dream and lost money; if the film had worked, it would have empowered a lot of other people. It would have paved way for a lot of other filmmakers. I don't need a blockbuster; I simply want to recover the money back. For me the biggest motivator is failure, it is the best teacher. I know I can't sit back and relax."

The experience hasn't weakened his resolve to make films though.

"I'm in a country where my films were banned and I'm still making movies; my films bombed and I'm still making movies. I only want to make movies," he adds.

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/151220/entertainment-bollywood/article/till-date-i-re-edit-bombay-velvet-my-head-anurag-kashyap

abby_girl30 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Omg I kinda feel bad for him. I hope he finds his peace with the failure of BV

So glad BM didn't have the same fate as BV cz I dont want SLB to ever go through something like this
DarkUnicorn thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail + 8
I don't think we can even imagine what this guy must be feeling.
I feel so bad.

CDlove thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 8
urgh..feel so terrible...i do know how it feels to have a dream collapse at one's feet. 😭
Farah22 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
Poor thing. I feel bad for him 😭 He's very talented, just needs to get his groove back. I want him to make a proper gangster film with Ranveer 😳
Edited by zaynmalik. - 9 years ago
divaz thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Honestly speaking I loved bombay velvet and I have no shame about it. I don't know what went wrong. The people I watched it with also loved the movie. I think people wanted it to fail fair enough but I don't get why. Ranbir's acting was impeccable. I just loved the movie. Sorry for you Anurag.
dhartiamber thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
🤣 Sleep Kashyap sleep take some rest dont give so much pressure to minds your head needs a break from your edit thoughts of Velvet.
791198 thumbnail
I don't feel bad for him. He had become too big for his boots after associating with KJo and his ilk. He had forgotten where he'd come from. Glad he was made to eat a humble pie. Hope he starts going back to making good films like Dev.D, No smoking, Gulaal again. Loved the sincerity behind his work back then.
WittyFlair thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2
He should realize that with BV, he was trying to force the audience to like his work...as a director, you have to take the taste of your audience into account if you're going to spend so much on a film.

The music alone proves my point - it was Western jazz, it was not something that would appeal to the average desi...Black & white indian films of the 50s-60s did not have music that sounded like that

Edited by rosetreasures - 9 years ago
Nishita123 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5
Better move on AK , start working on some other script.