566912 thumbnail

Originally posted by: atominis

I agree with Nimbu Mirchi.

The TV premiere of HAHK was huge deal. Sony promoted it like crazy and I remember watching it around Diwali. 😊

Before HAHK, most films treated marriage like a "hauwa". Only worries, scandals, tension, ladkiwale treated like slaves by ladkewale, dowry demands etc. Girl looked more like a sacrificial goat!
HAHK is the rare film that portrayed this as a happy union of two families. There is respect not a power deal being brokered in name of marriage alliance.

@bold - I did too. and no one wanted to enjoy firecrackers, I remember almost whole neighborhood was watching HAHK on Sony.
they played so many ads during it. the entire premiere of HAHK went on like 6 hours. 😆 and we still sat till 2 AM to complete it. even having watched it 5 times in theater. 😃
agree about Marriage part, they made it a positive, enjoyable experience. completely changed perceptive. Joote churana was never a huge deal, but since HAHK, I think bride side may forget to serve groom side but won't forget to fight for Joote. I have seen my cousins making plans for it since baarat arrives. 😆
923901 thumbnail

Don't think any movie will be as celebrated in coming years...

HAHK is rare.
Critics apparently had thrashed it. But the critics today loves it. Whether Rajeev Masand, Anupama Chopra, Raja Sen or whoever...
Rajeev Masand has HAHK listed in his top 3 films. And told how he watched in liberty twice in first week.
Movie is still not given the due DDLJ and KKHH is given mainly coz Rajshri, today is not as popular as YRF or Dharma. Rajshri doesn't have PR overdrive or any major films under their banner.
Hence with PRDP I hope they start producing big films too with other directors
Edited by Skuxx-Deluxx - 11 years ago
923901 thumbnail
Raja Sen @RajaSen

Twenty years ago today, a movie changed the way a nation got married. And made millionaires out of makers of purple blouses. Cheers, #HAHK.

GUYS - Only a film like HAHK can be give a tribute through serial's episode
👏👏👏
News

Star Plus' Pyar Ka Dard Hai celebrates 20 years of Hum Aapke Hai Koun

05 Aug 2014 05:40 PM | TellychakkarTeam

Weddings have always been a part of the quintessential Bollywood movie. But no one till date has been able to capture the true essence of the big fat Indian wedding like the Barjatyas in Bollywood.

Circa August 5th 1994, India witnessed its first wholesome love story spun around the elaborate rituals of a lavish North Indian wedding in Hum Aapke Hai Koun. Starring a young and handsome Salman Khan and 90s' diva Madhuri Dixit, the movie became a runaway hit.

Today the film has completed 20 glorious years evoking a sense of celebrations in the Barjatya camp. And to mark a tribute to the film, the cast of the production's popular show on Star Plus, Pyaar Ka Dard Hai...Meetha Meetha Pyaara Pyaara will be seen performing to one of the songs from the film.

Shares a source, "The show will see the birthday celebrations of Aditya (Nakuul Mehta) and during the revelery, the family will match steps to the tunes of Dhiktana dhiktana..."

We spoke to Khushwant Walia aka Rubel who shared, "It was a small gesture from our side to pay tribute to one of the most memorable films of our times. Ayesha (Disha Parmar) and Rubel will be seen bringing the entire family together during the celebrations. Rajshri Productions have always imbibed the feel of a happy family in its projects and we too will share the same aura."

This particular episode will air tonight.

CeaselessBanter thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
HAHK is just one of my most favorite movies. I don't ever want to live life of SB families in movies, but I would love to vacation with one of them. 😆
As for HAHK, just love the songs, the story the dog, the families, Nisha and Prem's love, the babhi /devar scenes, the rituals. I also love, love, love seeing Mohinish Behl play Sallu's big brother. Sallu is all bade bhaiya to two brothers and Bhai to all in RL, but seeing him play chote bhaiya to Mohinish always brings a smile to my face. plus Sallu as Prem always makes me smile.

Sallu who seems highly opposed to wearing kurtas in RL wears them a lot in this movie, something I like a lot. Just a cheesy, lovely film and even the sad parts don't last that long. I have so many memories of watching this film with family and friends. This film just makes me smile always. Love it...
923901 thumbnail
Amazing article by journalist Naomi Datta

What Hum Aapke Hain Kaun did for Bollywood

20 years down the line, you may find Hum Aapke Hain Kaun cloying and archaic but it changed the face of the Hindi movie business of the time says Naomi Datta

By Naomi Datta

Growing up in Shillong in the eighties, ours was the first family in the neighbourhood to buy a VCR. My parents were wonderfully irresponsible and let us watch whatever we wanted with no discrimination. I was a permanent fixture at the lending library which had the latest Hindi films on the day of the release. The deal was you rented a VHS tape for a day for the princely sum of Rs 25. Big releases like Amitabh Bachchan's comeback film Shahenshah were rented out on a three hourly basis - the video parlour had a person posted at your house to pick up the tape the minute the film was done. Fast forward the songs' was the counsel given by an impatient but kindly video parlour owner.

Somewhere in the glut of potboilers that I watched on a daily basis (yes I know - I need to chat with my parents about their cavalier parenting), a trailer had me intrigued. A young handsome boy steps out of a car and flings his arms out awkwardly - a demure young girl in a salwar kameez runs into them. There is a pigeon hovering around too inexplicably. I was fascinated - that minute long trailer struck a chord. And when Maine Pyar Kiya released in the December of 1989, I had already pre-booked my VHS tape. We didn't fast forward any of the songs - and in Salman Khan, I found my first movie star crush.

But there was a slight hitch - on repeated viewings I realized that in the video cassette an important plot detail was left out. Bhagyashree confesses to her love for Salman in an antakshri (song medley) which had been cut out off the video cassette. It was only there in the theatrical version. This could only mean one thing - after years of watching films on video, we would have to return to a movie theatre. My pliant parents obliged and we watched a film in a cinema hall after years. The seats were uncomfortable, there was an odd smell in the theatre but when Salman Khan turned to look directly into my eyes, I realized I was short changing myself with the VHS version.

This was the first blow that Sooraj Barjatya struck for the return of the middle classes to cinema halls. But what he did five years later with the release of Hum Aapke Hain Kaun in 1994 changed the dynamics of the Hindi movie trade irreversibly. In the years since MPK, his leading man Salman Khan had a middling career - he had followed up MPK with a string of hits, but then sank into box office indifference with disasters like Jagruti and Nischay. None of them - even the hits had tempted me back to the musty, dank theatres of Shillong.

And then Hum Aapke Hain Kaun released - I liked an odd sounding song called Didi Tera Devar Deewana' but the film didn't catch my attention. I would watch it on video I decided. Except there was no video release - in an unprecedented move, Rajshri Productions delayed the video release of the film. The theatrical release too was in a limited number of movie halls - suffice to say Dreamland in Shillong didn't make the cut. The producers insisted that if you wanted to screen the film, you would have to upgrade your theatre.

The film was initially dismissed as a long wedding video and written off as a flop - but this reworked version of Nadiya Ke Paar suddenly caught the attention of an expanding, slightly richer middle class. (Liberalization had kicked in by 1991). Theatres in the country upgraded to bring in the film which went on to monster collections at the box office. By then I was quite sure my life would be incomplete without watching the film. We finally watched the film in Calcutta two months after its release - the entire family including aunts and cousins dressed up for an evening out and bought dress circle tickets. Much to our excitement, each time a song played on the big screen, external dancing lights lit up the screen. At the end of the film, my father a hardened army man sniffed and said, I feel like we attended a close family member's wedding'. Assamese weddings are sedate and quiet affairs - so I have no idea which family he was talking about - but you get the gist!

Post HAHK, we went back to the theatres with a vengeance - watching a film on video just didn't have the same charm. And clearly we weren't alone - Hum Aapke Hain Kaun is the film held up by Bollywood trade as the film which changed the film distribution system in the country. It got the middle class with more spending power back to a dying big cinema culture. It was the precursor to the multiplex revolution which changed the way you and I watch films in this country.

So the next time you lean into that recliner chair in the multiplex and reach out for your cheese popcorn, remember you owe Tuffy. Big Time.

642126 thumbnail
Serial is paying tribute to it because it is Rajshri's own production.
But I think Rajan Shahi should have paid tribute first because all his shows, especially Yeh Rishta kya kehlata hai are direct lift from HAHK and other Barjatya films. 😆
Silvertarax thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
HPHK brings back SO many memories! It was the first ever movie I watched and still remains the best movie ever. Can't believe it's been 20 years!
923901 thumbnail

Originally posted by: atominis

Serial is paying tribute to it because it is Rajshri's own production.

But I think Rajan Shahi should have paid tribute first because all his shows, especially Yeh Rishta kya kehlata hai are direct lift from HAHK and other Barjatya films. 😆

They did with HSSH. Not tribute but used their songs. Oh and used Dil Deewana and other MPK songs last week in one of their epi, I saw the ad.
Mistyy thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
u know wat that means, gotta go watch it tonight😛
wish there was a longer interview with other actors as well.
Jiyagulabi_26 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
😊 very nice interview. One of rarest n trend setter movie.,I can watch at anytime.. 😳
one of childhood memories actually, we used to dance on hahk song😆s in every marriage.
Edited by addictedlove - 11 years ago